Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu January 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Princesses, good food
      Cons: WAY overpriced, no photos

      This was our third time here (first time for dinner). When I booked, the photos were still advertised. I never learned that we weren't receiving the free photos until after dinner, which made me pretty mad as I didn't take a lot of pictures with Belle since I expected the free ones later. As an aside, the price has NOT decreased with you no longer receiving the pictures, so the two of us plus an infant paid over $100.

      The food was good, but was not a lot for the price. Also, the lamb was off the menu which is what I was looking forward to the most. I will say that with they still gave a full meal to our under 3 year old for free (so no sharing needed).

      All three times we have had the same princesses (Aurora, Snow White, Cinderella, and Ariel). Honestly, without the photos, we won't be back. It is way too much money for what you get. It's worth doing once (I suggest breakfast personally) in place of the SUPER expensive castle, but beyond that, you can find all of the characters in the parks, and if you go early enough, without much of a line either.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue January 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): children get to meet princesses
      Cons: Really poor food for the money!

      When you see New York Strip on a menu you expect a nice piece of steak. 3 Adults ordered this in our party and were surprised to get a piece of roast beef 1/4 thick X 3" X 7"...I can honestly say my "Beef"was barely warm next to the equivelant of 2 ice cream scoops of cold mashed potatoes and 26 cold long string beans. My meat was so tough that the butter knife they provided would not cut through the gristle. The 3 year old child received a bowl of Macaroni and Cheese which was hot and a glass of milk for $27.99. The service was average considering gratuity is already part of the bill and there is no incentive to be better. I'm disappointed in quality of the food that is offered in the Disney Parks considering the premium price that is charged.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sat January 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Little ones meeting princesses
      Cons: Food, price, crowded, and noisy

      The staff was very nice and the princess greeting for the little ones was done very well. The food was very mediocre compared to other Disney restaurants. When I saw the nearly $50 per person price tag (for dinner) I decided that for the value I would prefer to stand in line to meet the princesses and eat at some of Disney's other great places.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu January 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Get to meet some princesses
      Cons: Food was poor,no printed photos now,poor service,limited time with characters

      Third time taking daughter to Akershus over the last two years.
      All previous times were ok. This time the food on the menu is the same but the preparation is much different. They do not give you a printed photo anymore, you have to go online and print it out yourself. The princess's only made one round in the time we were there. Previous visits they made two and had a parade for the children twice. And the service was very lacking.
      A huge difference than our previous experience in April of 2014.
      I diff entry would recommend people to save there money and spend it at another dining experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Spartanburg, SC
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat November 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good staff and character interaction
      Cons: steak not the best

      We have been to Norway for dinner several times. The appetizer buffet is good but the steak I ordered was not good. Otherwise the staff was nice and the princess interaction with my daughters was very good. Good value for one dining credit to meet the princesses without long lines.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Wed October 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, princesses, service
      Cons: None

      We were at Disney in later August, a trip which was planned well in advance. There were 9 of us (4 children under the age of 10). I have had dinner here before and thoroughly enjoyed everything about the restaurant. This time we had princesses, which not only 2 granddaughters enjoyed, but the boys as well. Again, food very good, many princesses. The experience was new to my son-in-law and the kids, and they are still talking about it.
      One incredible thing - when I was here in 1996, I had THE most delicious drink - yes, it was alcoholic. I described it to our waiter, never expecting anything to happen. Guess what, he knew what I was talking about and I got to enjoy it again!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue March 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was wonderful; lots of selections. Salad/Apetizer Bar had lots of choices and allowed you to try new things
      Cons: Tables are somewhat crowded together making it hard to get in and out.

      We did not go to the restaurant for the Princesses (although that would be a great attraction for families with children.) We chose this restaurant for the menu. They have many varied choices on the main menu and the portions served are very adequate-large. The dessert selection was really nice because you could try many things. The best part according to many of us in our large group of 18, was the Salad/Appetizer buffet bar. WOW, what a varied selection and all of it very tasty. Our server was wonderful and hearing about their home country of Norway was an added bonus. Even though our server had 18 of us...she did a great job at keeping drinks filled and bringing us our food quickly. This was the first restaurant we ate at during our week long visit and was one of our favorites!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, character interaction, atmosphere
      Cons: I have yet to find the negatives

      This is easily my favorite character dining experience. It is my husband's favorite restaurant in all of Disney. We most recently dined here in Monday, January 27 and it was just as great this time. I have yet to experience better princess dining at Disney World. The princesses never seem rushed and are attentive whether we are with children or doing an adults-only dinner. I have yet to have a dish here I don't like, but would like to specifically mention the meatballs. They are excellent. The cold appetizer buffet is excellent with different kinds of salmon, meats, cheese, and salads. And as for the desserts, my family and I can't agree on which one is the best. I love the apple cake, my husband adores the rice cream, and each member of my family seems to disagree on which one is the best. No one disliked any of the desserts. We have never left this restaurant disappointed or hungry. We highly recommend it to anyone who wants to experience a different dining experience or wants excellent princess interaction.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Wed January 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, selection, and good princess interation
      Cons: long wait even with reservations

      My family group of 10 really enjoyed this meal. It began with a buffet of appetizers, which could have been a meal in itself. Then our delicious entrees and desserts (shared plates) topped off a nice experience with the princesses, who were happy to interact with a group of all adults. I had dined here many years ago and I was not happy with the meal. I approached this meal with some fear, but I was really pleasantly surprised. The wait was a bit long for the 10 of us, even with reservations.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: PA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The princesses were wonderful
      Cons: Food and service were very poor

      I would give this an excellent rating based upon the fact that your princess can meet all of her favorite princesses at her table. The negative aspects were the following, pictures were taken directly in the dining area which was very cold and distracting to the dining experience. The cold salad bar was ok, however, the dinner offerings were not appetizing to our crew. I had the chicken which looked microwaved, my daughter had the meatballs which were very big and tough, my youngest had the childrens chicken which was char grilled and not appealing to an 8 year old and my husband had the salmon which normally he loves, however he picked at it. Our waitress was not attentive and if not for the pictures and princessed I would be very disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food & characters
      Cons: Outdoor waiting area in the rain !

      This was a FABULOUS meal! We visited and dined here on January 2nd, 2014. It was raining on this day, so the outside wait was a bit of a pain, but other than that, the princess photo at the beginning was great and since we had the PhotoPass+, we received two packages (as we were 6) as well as digital copies. The appetizer buffet was fantastic! Lots of salads, wonderful breads, different food! Everyone loved it including my 15 and 7 year old. Our waitress was amazingly helpful and kind. We had the meatballs, two of my party had the rack of lamb, two of us had the ribs and my youngest daughter had the pasta. Everyone LOVED their meal. The rice pudding for dessert was out of this world! Everyone loved the chocolate mousse cake also. This was our favorite meal of all of them! The princesses were amazing! The little parade of princesses was so sweet, we really enjoyed this meal and I would not hesitate to return. It was a nice little break from the traditional buffets.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Stratford, Ontario
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Meal Expeirence
      Cons: None

      We dined here for our first time on Dec 19. This restaurant is sure a hidden secret as it was not busy but the meal was fantastic, From starting off with the seafood/salad buffet to the entrée was our best meal at WDW. Photo ops were great for our grandchild. We WILL be back!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Tue December 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Short wait - nice decor - polite servers
      Cons: not a fan of desserts

      Would recommend. All of the Princesses stop by every table for autographs/photos. Waiter was very polite. Appetizer bar was very good, could be a meal in itself. Entrées were good too. Dessert was a platter of very traditional Norwegian sweets, which we did not care for.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Sat December 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): picture package
      Cons: seating

      This was our first time eating here. I liked that the picture package was included. It was our last meal in Disney and I don't think I would leave it for last as it wasn't a wow meal. We did like it and would go back but for me I would need to order something else. The salad bar helped. We sat right on it so that wasn't that great but it was convenient. The chicken salad was awesome! the shrimp salad not bad the cheeses rolls and salami and turkey made up for my son not enjoying his cheese pizza. Oh and he loves smoked salmon so that helped to. As I said DS got the cheese pizza. he said it was too saucy and not cheesy enough. My husband and father had the salmon. No complaints. MY mom and I had the meatball. We found it was one of the chefs aunts recipes from Norway. Um we got 3 meatballs after 1 I was done. My mom noticed the way I was moving around the plate and asked if I liked it. It was fine just not a favorite and would order something different next time. The mashed potatoes were yummy and the green beans cooked well not mushy. Our meal just wasn't awesome the child at the next table threw up and then there was the smell and the clean up show but no ones fault. The waitress loosened up a little at the end and was nice. We walked out sat on the stone wall and waited for illuminations. The characters were alright. everyone this trip characters seemed to be quick, and only interested in the child. I've read about good interaction here but just didn't see it. Would try again. Every place has an off night. We used the DP.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri November 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Princesses
      Cons: Wait to get in

      This was my first visit to Arkeshus, heard it was a good alternative to Cinderellas Dinner at the MK which we tried on a previous visit.

      My family includes myself, wife 2 daughters (10,17). We were on Deluxe Dining Plan and had Photo Pass Plus.

      We arrived on time, just barely, for a reservation at 1:40PM. The queue was huge and we waited for a good 30 minutes to get to a table. My wife was very unhappy with the wait and I was worried this would affect her enjoyment of the meal.

      We eventually were called to the podium where my Norwegian sounding surname was recognized and commented on by the staff.

      After another wait for photos we eventually got to a table. Our server was very friendly and explained the appetizer bar. This VERY quickly became a huge plus, my wife (pretty grumpy at this point) was thrilled by the food at the appetizer bar, asparagus, fish, salad. Awesome!! This can easily be a meal in and of itself. We got drinks and ordered our main course. We had two for the meatballs and two for the pasta. The meatballs were very good, and my wife really liked the pasta. By this time, we were pretty stuffed but still tried the desserts which we ordered a variety and everyone got a taste. They were all quite good.

      Then the princesses came around and they were delightful. Extremely personable and sweet. They were hands down the BEST character members I've dealt with in 20 years of visiting WDW. My wife who is a huge Dopey fan asked Snow White where Dopey was and as quick as a whip, Snow White giggled and said he was her favorite dwarf because he makes her laugh and that he was busy getting diamonds from the mine.

      I can't recommend Akershus highly enough, food was great, characters were great. This was one of the highlights of our entire visit. The bad thoughts about the long wait in line were wiped out by the wonderful characters and food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.