Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • patersonprattle

      Registered: June 2018
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat June 9, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, Great Service
      Cons: seafood stew could have been more filling for growing boys

       
      We enjoyed a late lunch at Jungle Navigation Co. Skipper Canteen on Sunday, with our family of 7 adults. The service provided by Skipper Zita was excellent. Three of us had the "Tastes like chicken because it is" meal, and all of us loved it. My husband had the lamb chops, which he immensely enjoyed last trip, and he was not disappointed! He says it's one of the best lamb entrees he's ever had. My adult sons both ordered the seafood stew, and though they enjoyed it very much, they both felt it just wasn't enough food. We will definitely eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      joplin

      Registered: October 2006
      Location: Kentucky
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun May 27, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, new f&b selections
      Cons: none

       
      Pleasantly surprised on our last visit in May 2018.
      Fantastic vegetarian dish (Thai noodles without the meat) and fish of the day. Excited too with the Kungaloosh beer and best Sangria on property.
      Favorite desserts are here too.
      A new WDW tradition for my family - not to be missed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 199
      Review Date: Wed April 11, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor and Food
      Cons: Waited 20 Minutes Past Reservation

       
      Let me just say that I love Skipper Canteen's and have reservations booked again for October (I have already had dinner here twice). Our service was great and the food was very flavorful on March 26th. However, check-in was very disorganized. We waited to be seated 20 minutes past our reserved time, only to be seated in a half empty restaurant. I don't understand...Needlesstosay, we are coming back. This is a really great restaurant, and the menu options are unique and very tasty. I'm just hoping our late seating was a fluke...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      reese_angie

      Registered: April 2018
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 11, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service, food, and atmosphere; text when table is ready, so you can leave waiting area
      Cons: We were there a long time

       
      We love the Jungle Cruise and were excited to visit this restaurant. The staff offered laughs and great service. The food was excellent. The kids are somewhat picky, but were happy to see some standard items on the menu. My oldest and youngest got macaroni and cheese and were able to substitute the broccoli for french fries. My middle daughter ordered the chicken noodle soup and thought it was excellent. They all got the volcano cake as their dessert and it looked fun and delicious to eat. My husband and I got the cachapas as an appetizer and they were so delicious. I got the "Tastes like chicken" entree and it was really good--just the right amount of spicy and the portion was big. My husband got the Char Siu Pork and when our plates arrived, he wished he had gotten the chicken. However, the pork was delicious and was also a big portion. We split the plates and were able to enjoy both. Overall, this was an excellent experience and the only negative was the amount of time it took to get the check. If we hadn't been trying to make it to the fireworks though, I doubt we would have even noticed. Great restaurant!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 199
      Review Date: Sat November 11, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Food and Service
      Cons: None

       
      Skipper Canteen's was wonderful, from food to service. We were seated right after we checked in and enjoyed one of the best meals of our vacation. I had the "Tastes Like Chicken" Because it is! and my husband had the Sustainable Fish. We will definitely dine here again!!! I wasn't thrilled about dining here when I made the reservation, but was sooooo happy I did!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allec999

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 66
      Review Date: Fri November 3, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, variety
      Cons: none

       
      Had lunch here on Oct 23. Entree choices were not the usual, which was nice. Food was very good, with an Asian and African flair. Not my cup of tea, but what I had (tastes like chicken) was really good, and my wife and friends loved it. Solid choice.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NJDzneMom

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Sun October 8, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Decor and Entertaining Staff
      Cons: Sit Down = Time Away from Rides

       
      Since we're fans of the Jungle Cruise, we thought we'd try this new restaurant. It was a nice experience, as we appreciate the better food choices offered here. We enjoyed the same whitty, corny humor offered here by the staff as offered on the ride. The rooms are nicely decorated to fit with the adventure motif. I had the "tastes like chicken" and it was good though I would've appreciated a little more spice or flavoring. My husband had the lamb chops and really enjoyed them. We would recommend this dining option within MK but just keep in mind, it is a sit-down experience and does take time away from the park ride/show features. If you're okay with that, then I definitely recommend giving this a try.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NSLoon

      Registered: October 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat October 7, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good service, great food
      Cons:

       
      This was our first meal at Skipper Canteen, but it will not be the last. We ate there last week. I had the whole fried fish - nicely fried and flavored. My wife had the sustainable fish "not piranha." It also was excellent. I have already recommended the specific items and the restaurant in general to some friends. The price may be a bit off as I did not add tax & tip, and used TIW for a discount.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 198
      Review Date: Mon August 28, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We had been here before with a less than stellar experience with the food. My son loves the Jungle Cruise, so we returned despite that. I am so glad we did. We made different food choices this time and everything was amazing. Our waitress was very nice if not in on the whole corny joke thing. We really enjoyed the meal and can't wait to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun June 11, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, wait staff, jokes
      Cons: food choices are exotic

       
      I enjoyed Skipper Canteen, but for my less adventurous family members the food left something to be desired. The wait staff is hilarious and the corny jokes from the Jungle Cruise ride are a mainstay at this restaurant. We were on the dining plan and this was new which was why I chose this as one of our options, but if we weren't on the dining plan it wouldn't have been an option. I enjoyed it, but if your party is not made up of foodies that are willing to try new things its probably not the place for you!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Swin1989

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 57
      Review Date: Sun April 30, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service, atmosphere
      Cons: interesting food choices

       
      DH and I ate here on March 9, 2017. We aren't the adventurous type when it comes to food. Me a little more than DH. So we took a risk eating here. We did OK. I had the Nile Nellie's noodle bowl with chicken. Wasn't quite what I thought it would be. It was basically a big bowl of soup. It tasted fine and filled me up. DH got Skip's beefy baked pasta. It was similar to lasagna in the way it was layered. DH said it was good. However, this isn't a place on our must do list. It's a fairly new restaurant and we are glad we tried it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mamavogel74

      Registered: April 2017
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue April 25, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything !
      Cons: None

       
      From check in to check out this was one of our top meals of the trip! Skipper Jackie was our waitress and she was great. The menu seems a little funky, and my dad was wary but he ended up getting one of the best NY Strip steaks he's had on property. For me, I had the "it tastes like chicken because it is" fried chicken, since it's offered as a gluten free option ! It was served with rice and a chili sauce. The taste was so good, and the coating was actually crispy and delicious. Other dishes eaten by our table- SEA Shu Mai, the sustainable fish of the day, and Skips Beefy Baked Pasta. All our plates were clean.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      feenie20

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: New Hampshire
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Wed April 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great theme
      Cons: strange food

       
      My Husband and I shared the pork dish which was well seasoned and we enjoyed it. The menu is over all a little strange, but if you don't mind being a little adventurous, then this may be the place for you!
      The bread they serve as a starter is not for everyone. It has some exotic spices and comes with fennel-honey dipping sauce. I thought the whole thing tasted like potpourri, but my husband enjoyed it.
      Our server was fine, tried a few jokes on us and made good recommendations.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Thu March 9, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service
      Cons: price

       
      This restaurant is a lovely addition to the Magic Kingdom, the theming is well thought out and the atmosphere is perfect match for the Jungle Cruise ride. Our server was attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu and helped point out the best items on the menu. On our server’s suggestion, we started with the Schweitzer Slush, which turned out to be an excellent choice; it was very refreshing after an afternoon in the park. We also ordered the Shu Mai appetizer, steak and fish entrees. All the dishes were great, making this one of the best places to eat in the Magic Kingdom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monorailmom

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Sat March 4, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      We had yet another truly enjoyable meal here! We checked in and were told we could wait to be called either out by the check in stand, or inside. Well we went inside, but found two wicker chairs on an outside little patio looking out onto Adventureland. That alone was so magical! We stayed out there looking at all the people go by until our name was called. The food was again delicious. I tried the "tastes like chicken" this time, and I just loved it. I will definitely order this again in the future! My husband and son loved their meals as well, and they can both be picky eaters.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.