Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 198
      Review Date: Mon August 28, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We had been here before with a less than stellar experience with the food. My son loves the Jungle Cruise, so we returned despite that. I am so glad we did. We made different food choices this time and everything was amazing. Our waitress was very nice if not in on the whole corny joke thing. We really enjoyed the meal and can't wait to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun June 11, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, wait staff, jokes
      Cons: food choices are exotic

       
      I enjoyed Skipper Canteen, but for my less adventurous family members the food left something to be desired. The wait staff is hilarious and the corny jokes from the Jungle Cruise ride are a mainstay at this restaurant. We were on the dining plan and this was new which was why I chose this as one of our options, but if we weren't on the dining plan it wouldn't have been an option. I enjoyed it, but if your party is not made up of foodies that are willing to try new things its probably not the place for you!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Swin1989

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 57
      Review Date: Sun April 30, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service, atmosphere
      Cons: interesting food choices

       
      DH and I ate here on March 9, 2017. We aren't the adventurous type when it comes to food. Me a little more than DH. So we took a risk eating here. We did OK. I had the Nile Nellie's noodle bowl with chicken. Wasn't quite what I thought it would be. It was basically a big bowl of soup. It tasted fine and filled me up. DH got Skip's beefy baked pasta. It was similar to lasagna in the way it was layered. DH said it was good. However, this isn't a place on our must do list. It's a fairly new restaurant and we are glad we tried it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mamavogel74

      Registered: April 2017
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue April 25, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything !
      Cons: None

       
      From check in to check out this was one of our top meals of the trip! Skipper Jackie was our waitress and she was great. The menu seems a little funky, and my dad was wary but he ended up getting one of the best NY Strip steaks he's had on property. For me, I had the "it tastes like chicken because it is" fried chicken, since it's offered as a gluten free option ! It was served with rice and a chili sauce. The taste was so good, and the coating was actually crispy and delicious. Other dishes eaten by our table- SEA Shu Mai, the sustainable fish of the day, and Skips Beefy Baked Pasta. All our plates were clean.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      feenie20

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: New Hampshire
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Wed April 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great theme
      Cons: strange food

       
      My Husband and I shared the pork dish which was well seasoned and we enjoyed it. The menu is over all a little strange, but if you don't mind being a little adventurous, then this may be the place for you!
      The bread they serve as a starter is not for everyone. It has some exotic spices and comes with fennel-honey dipping sauce. I thought the whole thing tasted like potpourri, but my husband enjoyed it.
      Our server was fine, tried a few jokes on us and made good recommendations.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Thu March 9, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service
      Cons: price

       
      This restaurant is a lovely addition to the Magic Kingdom, the theming is well thought out and the atmosphere is perfect match for the Jungle Cruise ride. Our server was attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu and helped point out the best items on the menu. On our server’s suggestion, we started with the Schweitzer Slush, which turned out to be an excellent choice; it was very refreshing after an afternoon in the park. We also ordered the Shu Mai appetizer, steak and fish entrees. All the dishes were great, making this one of the best places to eat in the Magic Kingdom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monorailmom

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Sat March 4, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      We had yet another truly enjoyable meal here! We checked in and were told we could wait to be called either out by the check in stand, or inside. Well we went inside, but found two wicker chairs on an outside little patio looking out onto Adventureland. That alone was so magical! We stayed out there looking at all the people go by until our name was called. The food was again delicious. I tried the "tastes like chicken" this time, and I just loved it. I will definitely order this again in the future! My husband and son loved their meals as well, and they can both be picky eaters.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JoanneS

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Peterborough, NH
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Mon November 21, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean
      Cons: Price, and push for comedy

       
      We dined here 11/4/16 for lunch. It was a short wait before we were brought to our table. The server seemed to be trying too hard to be funny. The menu is different, which we liked, but I made a bad decision. I ordered the fish and I really wish I hadn't. It was a weird consistency, like mashed potatoes almost and quite salty. I only ate about a third of the dish and told the waiter that I didn't really like it. He just replied, "oh, I'm sorry." We ended up paying $80 for a meal I didn't enjoy at all. My DH said is vegetable dish was ok and the bread was good. Next time, we try something else.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lauri

      Registered: October 2016
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sat October 8, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and ambiance
      Cons: little bit of a wait

       
      We ate here on the last night of our trip, on the 45th birthday of the Magic Kingdom. This was our longest wait for a table, but we were not in a hurry. The cast members seating people were very nice and had a great time sharing corny jokes and chatting with them. Our food was great, although, the kitchen was running slow. We were given a fast past to any attraction (except for Frozen), which we used on Test Track the next day. This is now my favorite table service in the Magic Kingdom!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 198
      Review Date: Thu October 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      The Jungle Cruise is my son's favorite ride, so we were looking forward to the antics at this new restaurant. Our waitress was great and really got into character.


      The food was just OK. They serve the bread with some kind of tea and honey sipping sauce and some of it is on the bread...did not like it. I ordered the noodle bowl and it was just OK. My husband had the steak salad and had the same opinion. My son LOVED his mahi mahi and we also like the appetizer we had. I think I would try it again and order something different.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Sat October 1, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): large seating, cast members interactions
      Cons: food ok tables for 2 very small

       
      Ate here 9/14 on DP. Arrived 1/2 hr early and was told they could seat us right away. Ended up waiting 1/2 hr so really took us on our actual ressie time. This was our first time here. dh & I was celebrating our 25th anniv with a no kids trip and wanted to try restaurants that the kids wouldn't. Was seated at a very small table for two and had a very nice server Paul who explained items on menu (as you have to be able to eat different things). Ordered shu mai dumplings as app. Really enjoyed them but afterwards figured out the meal had a lot of salt in it as my dh swelled up. I ordered the chicken and dh ordered char sui pork. Food was ok my chicken had a panko crust but not seasoned at all. everything was served over rice and mixed veg. We are everything cuz we were hungry but really satisfied. Had coconut bar and jasmine rice for dessert and out of the two liked the jasmine rice the best. Restrooms were small and it seems that when your a party of two you end up sitting right next to the restrooms and/or you sit right next to a very noisy family. This was the first time in our 25 yrs to be actually be without kids and really wanted the peace and quiet and just didn't get it here. The waiter was nice but never even acknowledged our anniversary
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tanasigirl

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor, especially stained glass light fixtures
      Cons: Can be noisy

       
      My hubby and I ate an early dinner here on September 13, 2016, before the start of the MNSS Halloween Party. Of the three dining rooms, I can really only recommend the Library. The main mess hall is open air and can be a bit noisy and the other back room was near the waiter's station, so silverware clatter was constant. We asked nicely to be moved to the Library and were quickly and politely accommodated. In my opinion, it is the coolest room. Quieter, but decorated so beautifully with carved dragons and snakes. One circular table is surrounded by beautifully-mounted butterflies. Unusual stained glass light fixtures everywhere, even in the bathrooms. I loved the decor!


      The food is fine, but nothing we got too excited about. I had the Tastes Like Chicken because it is! and it was a decent-sized portion of white meat that had been cooked a bit too long and the coating a bit too thick for my taste. My hubby had the Char Sui Pork and he enjoyed the flavor of the meat. The rice was a little bland and the Chinese broccoli was just okay. So, I would have liked maybe better side options or something to help it out.


      Don't know if we will go back or not, but it's a nice one-time adventure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Sat September 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): interesting menu
      Cons: not enough flavor

       
      Full disclosure: we are adventurous eaters. My 10 year old dd likes curry and Ethiopian food. DD age 16 likes pad thai and chia seeds. We found this location a delight. In fact we had hoped for more spice. Not heat. Spice. Flavor! We find traveling at Disney a culinary bore. (Does Mickey hate garlic?) Skipper Canteen was a treat. The arapes appetizer is more than enough for an entree. The mac and cheese is not Stouffer's out of the freezer section. Steamed dumplings needed more ginger but the dipping sauce was nice. The steak salad was "good enough" with plenty of protein. The soda options were fun. (No Beverly?) The only other table service location in MK we can stand is Be Our Guest. This was a welcomed surprise.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Collette

      Registered: June 2016
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed August 10, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, small dining rooms very nice
      Cons: no wine

       
      We came as soon as they announced they would take Tables in Wonderland. The hostess was very entertaining; the servers less so, but they were quite busy. The hot and sour soup was the most delicious I ever had, but it is very very spicy hot. My husband liked the arepas appetizer very much. I had the duck noodle bowl and was very surprised that the duck pieces were way too large to easily handle with chopsticks, and worse yet, still had the fatty skin attached. I think they should trim off the skin and cut the pieces bite-size. The broth had a very good flavor and it was fun slurping up the noodles. My husband's stew was good-tasting and interesting; it had a lot of potatoes. We shared a kungaloosh dessert, and I really liked the bananas and ice cream part. I love chocolate, but the cake part seemed more like a brownie and was more dried out than it should have been around the edges. I didn't like the coffee dust stuff at all. We got plenty to eat here and it was very tasty overall.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PolynesianStitch

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Minnesota
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Tue June 21, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Server, appetizer
      Cons:

       
      Server was outstanding and very much into the theme of the restaurant, also extremely prompt with drink refills. The dumpling appetizer was outstanding. We also had the chicken entrée and the Char sui pork. The chicken was excellent and pork just a little bit dry, but still pretty good. The chocolate volcano dessert was quite tasty. Décor was great. Nice to have another table service choice at the Magic Kingdom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.