Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » WALT DISNEY WORLD DINING » Walt Disney World Resort Dining » Contemporary

    chef-mickeys.jpg


    chef-mickeys.jpg
    supersize

    dining_location_image_1009.jpg
    supersize

    dining_location_image_1013.jpg
    supersize

    dining_location_image_1015.jpg
    supersize

    dining_location_image_1008.jpg
    supersize

    dining_location_image_1006.jpg
    supersize

    menu_item_image_290.jpg
    supersize

    dining_location_image_1007.jpg
    supersize

    dining_location_image_1017.jpg
    supersize

    • Pin It


    • Chef Mickey's Brunch

      • Reviews Views
        6 3659
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        67% of reviewers 7.3
      • Description: Chef Mickey's at the Contemporary Resort opened for brunch as of May 31, 2015. The brunch menu includes breakfast favorites like Mickey waffles, as well as soup and salads, and hot dishes such as barbecued ribs, seafood etouffee and baked salmon. The ice cream bar and Contemporary bakery sweets also are part of the buffet. Just as at the restaurant's breakfast and dinner, Chef Mickey and his pals make a stop at each table. Hours for brunch are 11:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Meals are one table-service entitlement on the Disney Dining Plan. For reservations, visit www.disneyworld.com/dine or call 407-WDW-DINE.


  • Author
    • MinnieMouse2570

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun March 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Characters
      Cons: None

       
      My daughter and I ate brunch here on 3-1-17. We both thought the food and selection was very good. I especially liked that breakfast and lunch options were available. The Mickey waffles were awesome of course, but so was the fresh fruit, salmon, and my daughter Loved the mickey shaped mac n cheese. I loved the small bite sized desserts. The Character interaction was great! We got some of our best pictures of the whole trip!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Mon September 26, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters
      Cons: Food, Service

       
      This was the worst experience we had this trip (and one of the worst I have had in years). After checking in 5 minutes early, we were seated 15 minutes late. We were a table of 3 and watched as other tables of 3 showed up after us and got seated before us. But I can live with that.


      Once seated (in a section with about 4 other tables at this point), we waited 3-4 minutes until I finally told my wife to take our daughter (they were both starving) to the buffet and that I would get the drinks. The waitress finally showed up as they got back from the buffet. The drinks arrived after I had been to the buffet and back. The characters then made their way around, and they were great. after 30 minutes, we had seen them all, and had stuffed ourselves enough. 25 minutes later, our bill came. For a 11:45 reservation, we were out of the place at 1:10. Just unacceptable to me.


      As for the food, it was mediocre at best. Shrimp were fine but tiny, the cheese potatoes were good. Pancakes were pancakes. I laughed at one point someone else in line made some comment along the lines of "Nothing is better on a 96 degree day in Orlando than Navy Bean Soup."


      Overall, there is no chance we will be back. You can find the same characters at other places with much better food and service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jchuges7

      Registered: February 2015
      Location: Cincinnati
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon November 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of choices, Mickey waffles, Rice Krispy Treats with Froot Loops!
      Cons: Long wait after checking in (30+ minutes), mac & cheese

       
      Our experience started as breakfast but ended as brunch. Waited quite a while after we checked in for our 10:30 am reservation, we were not seated until after 11 am. Plenty of Mickey waffles, crispy bacon and other choices for breakfast. Loved the fact that they switched to brunch around 11:30. Enjoyed the chicken nuggets which tasted freshly prepared, not frozen. Mac & cheese looked great but was a big disappointment, tasted like buttered noodles and had very little cheese flavor. Fiance enjoyed the salmon and there were plenty of new desserts and the ice cream machine was available after the brunch change. Made myself a Mickey waffle sundae which was incredible.


      Normally would be a bit pricey, character meet and photo ops aren't big deals for us since we don't have kids yet, but was a great value on DDP. Would definitely come again if we could get the breakfast/brunch time slot!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      floridianny

      Registered: November 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed November 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Mickey Waffles
      Cons: Rushed and dirty

       
      Let me start by saying we have been to Chef Mickey's many times since my first son was born almost 18 years ago. We came here to celebrate my little nephews birthday. My boys are 17 and 12 but still love Mickey waffles so they were happy to come. This was actually the brunch that they had started. What we encountered was dirty chairs with food stuck to them (a lot of food!), there was food smashed and stepped on all around the dessert area that was never cleaned up the whole time. There was soup but no signs to identify it. People kept looking in the pot and walked away. Food selection was OK. The two sides were inconsistent as far as what was put out and the quality. The breakfast items were mostly all good. The characters barely stopped for one picture. We had literally 5 seconds to take a picture with Mickey and he ran to next table. We are not the type to take dozens of pictures. We just put all the kids in from of the character, snap a pic, thank them and let them go. We couldn't even do that. It was the worst character meal we have ever done..and we have done MANY over the years. Just a shame that it is one of the most expensive and we felt completely ripped off. I would warn people to save their money and enjoy one of the other character meals offered on property.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cobryan

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon October 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: none

       
      This was our first time eating at Chef Mickey's. Only reservation I could get was for brunch. Which in the long run worked out well as we had tickets for the MNSSHP. We had a 2:20 seating but checked in early and were seated early. It was not insane with crowds which made it nice.
      My expectation level for the quality of food was pretty low based on reviews I had read. However, I was surprised that the food was pretty decent. It was an eclectic mix of food though. They may want to rethink the food combinations for brunch. The kids portion of the buffet seemed limited...chicken nuggets, tater tots and waffles. The rest of the buffet had a nice variety of salads. There were BBQ ribs, ham...that the chef didn't seem interested in carving for the guests, salmon and sausages. There were some sides that just didn't seem to "go" with any of the meats. However, they were good individually. We really didn't part take too much of the dessert because we were going to have treats at the halloween party. Overall, it was a good experience and I will go back to Chef Mickey's but maybe not for brunch. I think I would like to try the dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommom

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Sun October 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: the wait to be seated and the widow was dirty

       
      We were a party of 11 and we were seated at a window which was really dirty. The restaurant itself was clean.


      the food was good and they had both breakfast and lunch items. the potatoes were a big hit. my dad really enjoyed the ham. the salads were fresh and a nice selection of desserts.


      being a big party it is hard to please everyone but Chef Mickey did a great job.


      they photographer spent a nice amount of time with us and we got a great picture of my great granddaughter.


      did use my tables in wonderland to get a discount but still this was one of my most expensive meals.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.