Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • SNC

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun November 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relaxing, Animals right outside your window
      Cons: Rooms are far from facilities/restaurants, dark interior

       
      We stayed at the AK Lodge Jambo House for one night to complete our weeklong Honeymoon at Disney (Started at Poly, Next Beach Club, then AK). We were so impressed! Neither of us had ever been to this resort. It was absolutely Amazing! Friendly, warm, super clean and inviting and full of beautiful details in the decor. The lobby was gorgeous, with big overstuffed chairs and couches and the most beautiful Christmas tree I have ever seen. I loved the fire pit in the lobby and the viewing platforms and looking at the amazing African Art throughout the resort. Stayed in Savannah View room on the third floor. Loved the Decor! Mosquito netting and warm earth tones. The animals of course stole the show! Zebras, Giraffes, Ostrich and Wildebeast right outside our window. We loved looking out and sitting on the patio. This is a great resort to stay at if you want to avoid the parks and just have a restful vacation. Only drawbacks were the lighting was dim (easy to bump into something) and it took forever to walk from our room to Mara to grab sandwiches and drinks. But I'm not complaining! It was terrific and we really want to spend more time here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      powlen21

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon September 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): animals, atmosphere, pool
      Cons: uncomfortable bed sheets, not the most knowledgeable staff, didn't care for food court

       
      We stayed at The Animal Kingdom Lodge for our honeymoon. Overall, we were very pleased. Be sure to try the night vision goggles to view the animals. I recommend paying for a standard room. There are plenty of areas throughout the resort to view the animals.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RSZB

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Allentown, PA
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun June 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      This was my first stay at the Animal Kingdom Lodge. We checked in early (7:30am) with plans to arrive at Hollywood Studios by 9:00am. Check–in was a bit bumpy – our early arrival and reservation request were both met with disapproval and uncharacteristic resistance from the attending cast member. Even though I supplied a cell phone number, I wasn’t notified when our room became available. I’m choosing to believe it was a coincidence. All the other cast members we encountered here were friendly and conversational.
      We stayed in room 2308 (Sunset Savanna – which was a reservation request) and had wonderful views of giraffes, zebras, cattle, cranes, and an ostrich. The animals tended to stay close to what looked like a viewing platform at the Kidani Village. The room was amply sized for the 2 of us on a girls’ trip, but the size would work for a family with 4 adults.
      The lobby is beautiful and worth checking out in detail. There is art work on display throughout the resort. I enjoyed exploring the pathways that wind through the inside and outside of the resort. There are many opportunities to sit and view animals. The gift shop has a variety of merchandise including refrigerated drinks.
      Two restaurants are located inside Jambo House and a quick serve is accessible from an outside covered walkway. We ate breakfast at Mara (quick serve), which had hot and cold selections with indoor and outdoor seating available. We ate dinner at Jiko, which was relaxing and enjoyable.
      At night, we walked around the large zero entry pool and there was a fire pit with rocking chairs outside the main back doors from the lobby. The animal viewing areas around the pool were closed when we passed by around 10pm.
      The bus service was fine. A longer ride is to be expected due to the remote location of the resort. We rode the bus to and from Hollywood Studios, Animal Kingdom, and EPCOT.
      The guest laundry area came in handy. There seemed to be more dryers than washing machines. I used a dryer which was $2 for 20-30 minutes. A change machine was available.
      I would recommend the Animal Kingdom Lodge for a “more than going to the parks” vacation. The inviting atmosphere encourages planning time to spend at this resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Breeze1979

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu May 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Animals
      Cons: Room size

       
      The overall experience of staying at Animal Kingdom was good. The resort is true to its name!


      However, we had a pool view, bunk bed room. The view of the pool was poor....it was more of a view of the outside seating area of The Mara. Our room was tiny....we had stayed at Coronado right before checking into AKL so we were saw a contrast in the size. There is a lot of room in the sink area but the bathroom size and lighting is terrible! Also we didn't feel wowed by the amenities.....a bit disappointing.


      We are glad we tried this once though.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Breeze1979

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Animals, atmosphere
      Cons: Price vs. value, size of room

       
      Stayed May 11-16. Loved being able to see the animals and the overall atmosphere of the resort.


      Disliked the size of the room.....way too small for price we paid. The bathroom size was very small and the lighting terrible. For a deluxe resort we didn't feel we received any upgrade compared to a moderate.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hougher

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Grounds loved the animals!
      Cons: NON

       
      Stayed her April 27- May 2nd and we couldn't be happier. We usually stay at Port Orleans but couldn't resist taking the deal and staying here. Upon entrance you are welcomed and you feel like you are at home. They only negative thing was noise from the hallway. We were on Floor number 3 which is the off the main Check in and gift shop area. I don't know if I noticed the noise more since the doors are inside vs having an outside entrance at a moderate. The food at the Mara was great and my daughter enjoyed seeing the animals from her room. I suggest staying here at least once in your lifetime.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momtoone

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun April 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!!!!
      Cons:

       
      This was our first time staying in a Disney resort, let me tell you, it will never be forgotten.


      From the moment we stepped on the property to the moment we left was amazing!!! We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at 1130am our room was ready. The rooms were a bit small, but we managed. Every one of the staff of friendly and knowledgeable.


      Even though we were further from all the parks and other resorts, it was great. The resort felt sucluted and tropical, it also never felt busy or overwhelming. The resort was our tranquility from the busi ness of the parks and Disney experience. We actually did spend a lot of time there, it was absolutely perfect. WE WILL BE BACK!!! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SusieH212

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri February 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything....ambiance, music, mood, ANIMALS!
      Cons: Check in...although we did online checkin took quite awhile @8am?

       
      Third time at AKL. Usually stay @POFQ, but this was a special trip. Can't imagine staying anywhere else! Just walking into that lobby. Loved our rooms and paying extra for Arusha view was worth it! Unfortunately it rained everyday, but AKL helped. Only wish we had more time for the firepit. Back Dec. 2015.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      2SweetFlowers

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu December 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ambiance, Animals
      Cons: Bus Transportation, Distance to Room

       
      We love staying at AKL Jambo House for the ambiance -- especially the lobby area -- and the great views of animals. We stayed here two nights in December 2013. Our DVC room was about a two minute brisk walk from the lobby, which was a real problem for one of my traveling companions with health issues. Unfortunately, no other rooms closer to the lobby were available. The deluxe studio was comfortable for two, but a little challenging with four in the room. The wait time for bus transportation to the parks was very long -- especially for those of us heading to Animal Kingdom park. We waited over 20 minutes -- and some guests waited over 35 minutes -- before a bus arrived. It quickly filled to standing capacity leaving about 20 of us waiting to board. Another 5 or 6 minutes wait -- and then success -- only a short drive to Animal Kingdom park and we were even able to get seats on the bus! I would stay here again, but would definitely call in advance to request a room close to the lobby.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emmhorton

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Unique, beautiful resort
      Cons: distance to parks, room size

       
      AKL is a beautiful, warm, welcoming resort! The moment you step into the doors you are greeted with the tranquility of the resort. A great feeling after the hustle and bustle of the parks! We stayed in an Arusha View room and it was well worth the price. We had zebras, giraffes, and many more animals outside our balcony. What a treat to see while relaxing. The rooms are smaller than expected, but nicely done, and very comfortable. Plenty of drawer space, closet space and enough space to store your luggage under the beds. We found this to be very convienent with the kids suitcases and backpacks. The bathroom is small and does not leave much space for dressing. I wish the sink area had a curtain that you could close off for dressing as some of the other resorts have. House keeping was outstanding! We ate at Boma and at Mara which is the food court. Both were very good. Very impressed with the food court. Quick and easy to get in and out- not crowded at all! Being so far our it was a longer bus ride to the parks, however, we never waited longer than 5 or 10 minutes. The ride did not bother us. We used the kids club one night and we, and our son, were very happy with it. The pool area was fantastic. When we go back, I will be sure to schedule in more resort time!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hstuck

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: boston
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Savannah!
      Cons: cost and distance

       
      I love this resort....it's my 4th time here and each time it impresses me! I didn't splurge for a savannah room this time but my pool room was perfect. I love staying here because of the animals (as I think most would say), but also the staff is great, the pool is amazing, all the restaurants are wonderful (especially JIKO). Had an amazing dinner at Jiko. The rooms have a nice balcony too! It was a nice touch that my room was ready at 11:30...well before designated check-in. Mousekeeping was great per usual. Just another lovely stay and I cannot wait to return next year! I do agree with most that the distance to other parks is far but it's a worthy trade off to have the animals right there! Truly a great experience. With the planned changes to the Animal Kingdom Park, I'm looking forward to staying close to that park! Thank you again AKL staff for a lovely stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Sat September 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Restaurants, Pool, Staff, Decor/Details
      Cons: Distance to Parks

       
      I was nervous about staying at AKL because everyone seems to draw so many comparisons to WL. Not that WL is bad, but I didn't love it either. Thankfully, AKL was nothing like WL.


      The CM who assisted us at check in was wonderful, Mousekeeping was very attentive, and really everyone we encountered was just so friendly and helpful.


      The Mara is so far the best deluxe resort QS we've experienced, we enjoy Boma, and love that Kidani is a quick and easy walk- since Sanaa is divine!


      The room was nice and felt much brighter and happier than the WL rooms. And while we were upgraded to a savannah view, it's one of the few resorts where the view really seems worth it.


      The pool was also nice...felt like this wonderful oasis. It was clean, the slide was fun, and it's nice how things like flamingos are so close by.


      All in all, we've stayed in 4 of the deluxe resorts and been inside all of them...and so far AKL does the best job of really transporting you - i.e. making you feel like you're in a totally different exotic destination.


      My only complaint is transportation. The buses were always there in a timely manner, but AKL is just so far from practically everything else that you always burned more time getting from pt A to pt B. We were also told by their CMs that it's pretty much impossible to get from AKL to a 7am breakfast without taking a cab. So, that was kind of annoying.


      Still, the attention to detail and the amazing and informative cast members make it worth a visit or even a split stay if you have some downtime planned into your trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Brandon

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu September 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, Friendly Knowledgable Staff, More than exptected
      Cons: N/A

       
      My son and wife love animals so this resort met and exceeded our expectations. We had a Savanna side room and it was amazing. Giraffes were litterally at your balcony.


      The room was clean, well maintained, and well worth the price.


      The restaurants were very good. The Mara (quick service) was outstanding. Everything was always well stocked and they had a great helpful staff.


      I would recommend staying here, it was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      David Carrano

      Registered: January 2007
      Location: North Branford CT
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed September 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quite, Friendly check-in, Nice theme, Animals, Pool
      Cons: Out of the way, long bus rides, small rooms

       
      Stayed at the AKL the week of Sept 8, 2013. Overall a very nice experience, friendly staff. The resort is beautiful,clean and nicely themed. Somewhat disappointed with the room, small in comparison to Disney's other Deluxe resorts. Our room was showing signs of wear and tear, has a worn look not what you would expect from a deluxe resort and price. Lighting was a big issue, very poor in the bathroom sink area. Had an issue second day with house keeping. We returned back to our room at 3:30 p.m. from being gone all day and our room was still not cleaned. I complained and they said that they have until 4p.m. By 4p.m still no show. We had early dinner reservations and needed to shower. After making a fuss, they came back at some point after we left and cleaned the room. No other issues for the remaining days. Overall the resort is beautiful, well themed. The rooms are not great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LoriC

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cleanliness, Service, Pool Area, Food
      Cons: Air Conditioning Too High In Common Areas

       
      We checked in for a seven night stay at Jambo house on July 10th and were thrilled to be upgraded from a pool view to a savannah view. Our room was on the second floor of the Zebra trail facing the Uzima savannah. We love the Zebra trail because you have the savannahs on one side and the pool and restaurants on the other side. Very quick walk to anything you need. My children love the pools and Jacuzzis at both the Jambo and Kidani sides of the resort. The pool games, though, were a bit of a disappointment. However, the nightly movies were a big hit.
      Mousekeeping did a great job keeping our room clean, and left my boys towel animals upon request.
      The food at Boma and Sanaa was great, but we really like room service. The food is plentiful and delicious, and the room service is prompt and polite.
      My only complaint was that the air conditioning in the common areas is very high. We had to take sweatshirts with us to eat or even to grab a refill in our mugs!
      My son used Simba's clubhouse twice and had a great time!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.