Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • wwhawkeye

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Banana split!
      Cons: No more dinner reservations

       
      I just learned today that the Plaza Restaurant will no longer be taking reservations for dinner (lunch reservations still available). 100% walk up and wait.
      The Plaza has become my favorite MK dining spot, so I will definitely be waiting next time!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyDana

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri June 24, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): always able to get a reservation, good food
      Cons: not very Disney themed

       
      I was pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. I had been hesitant to try it because of the lack of Disney theme and there are so many other places to try. This trip we were trying to save a little money so checking out the menu and the fact that I don't care for counter service, this seemed like a good spot. I had the meatloaf and my Dad got the reuben. The portions were perfect and the cost was a nice change from the ridiculous prices at other restaurants. We had actually cancelled our ADR's at Crystal Palace due to the price and booked The Plaza instead and we were not disappointed. I will definitely be eating here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CHIPSTER

      Registered: June 2016
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon June 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Always Consistent
      Cons: No ADRs accepted

       
      This has been the only consistent restaurant in Disney for the past 40 years. Recommend the Reuben or the chicken and strawberry salad. Nice break from the hustle and bustle of the park and not as Disneyfied as some of the other restaurants. Unfortunately their potato salad has been taken off the menu but I do like their homemade potato chips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Sat June 18, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location and price
      Cons: small inside for large groups

       
      First time eating her 5/26 our last day of trip and although on dp we were out of credits so wanted somewhere inexpensive. Party of 6 and was crammed into a small table that didn't fit us. The couple next to us wasn't able to get out of their seats because of us. Our waitress seemed overwhelmed and it took forever to get drinks and orders. She scanned our bands first which it seemed all restaurants did. We were on dp but was out of credits. Waitress said no that we did have 1 meal left and scanned our bands twice to make sure so we used them. I had reuban which was average but good. others had chicken sandwiches and hamburgers and again average. I probably will not eat here again just average. Just a note that I ended up getting billed for this meal and I didn't have any credits left. I didn't find this out until I checked my bank account several days later and seen it posted to my account even though I asked at checkout if I had anything pending.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Swin1989

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sat May 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We dined here on April 17, 2016 around 1pm. I can't remember what time we checked in but I do remember we only waited about 5 minutes for our table. There were just two of us, adults. Our table was right by the door to the kitchen. Some might find this annoying but it didn't make much difference to us. Our waiter was very nice. I really need to write their names down. I always say I'll remember but I never do. Anyhow, both hubby and I ordered the meatloaf. It came with corn and mashed potatoes. It was delicious. Portions perfect. Would definitely eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Tue April 12, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Great service and excellent food. I think this is kind of an unhidden gem. The prices are reasonable when compared to other sit down restaurants. Loved it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 87
      Review Date: Sat December 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and quality service
      Cons: none

       
      My wife and I ate at the Plaza, for the first time, during our recent visit and found it to be great. We both had the Reuben Sandwich and it was excellent. I would much rather eat here then at Pecos Bill's and it was much cheaper in price.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Quiltinlady

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri October 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful food!
      Cons: small

       
      We decided at the last minute to visit MK on a Saturday because there was no Halloween party that nigh. It took a while, but I finally got an ADR for dinner on Saturday On Oct.3rd at the Plaza Restaurant. I had heard mixed reviews about how it was a "sandwich shop". We were pleasantly surprised with the Meatloaf plate. It was delicious! The desert was so fantastic, I wish we could have carried it back to our hotel. Our waitress, Lisa was very attentive, informative and helpful. I plan to make it a regular on any future trips!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommom

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Sun October 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, price
      Cons:

       
      was the first one to check in for lunch. there was 11 in our party. we were seated 20 minutes after checking in.


      our waiter was great. the food was good and received the food in a timely manner. 8 of us ordered the milk shakes. simply - they are sooooo good. we were seated by the kitchen door so there was alot of action going on. would prefer not to be seated there next time.


      this is a must for us each time we visit Disney, just love this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JeffFrmJoisey

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon September 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Ambiance, Able to get Walk-Up Seating
      Cons: None

       
      On my last day at WDW, 08-26-15, and running out of my Bay Lake Tower villa with no breakfast to meet former AllEars Blogger Jack Spence, I found myself very, very hungry in the Magic Kingdom. I knew I'd never make it back to the Contempo Cafe for breakfast, so where was I going to have "Lunch for Breakfast?" Casey's Corner or The Plaza. Having a "Tables In Wonderland" card, it was a toss up. I walked over to The Plaza right after it opened at 11 AM and asked how long it would take to get a table for myself. 15-20 minutes was the CM's reply. Too long I thought. After some hemming and hawing and a cold, sugary soda to restore brain function I returned to The Plaza and told the CM I accepted her previous offer. No more than five (5) minutes went by before the restaurant pager came to life. I was seated in the round, glass walled Conservatory room for the first time ever. What a wonderful place to sit! It was cozy and airy at the same time while being aea. The Plaza even had a little bit of entertainment! The "Mayor of Main Street U.S.A." and his buddies were there to entertain us for a few minutes. They gave out Mickey Stickers to the kids when they were done.


      Once seated, being a Reuben Maven, I ordered the Grilled Reuben with Broccoli Slaw and Unsweetened Iced Tea for "Lunchfast." My Reuben was wonderful! Absolutely scrumptious! The Corned Beef, and Sauerkraut were spot on, the Marble Rye was grilled to perfection. Disney done good! As it was my last park day, I splurged and had Desert (I rarely, if ever, order or eat desert). I chose the Brownie Sundae. I was not disappointed. The brownies were very rich, the Hot Fudge and Ice Cream were perfect.


      As I waited for my check, a Cast Member carrying an iPad came to my table. She was amazed I finished the sundae by myself! She said she and her 3 grand-kids split the Banana Split which is the same size as the Brownie Sundae and have some left over. And gobbling that sundae up after eating my Grilled Reuben blew her mind! She told me she wished Disney had a "Wall of Fame" in the restaurant for people who do what I did - eat a sandwich with side and a sundae by themselves (which really wasn't a big deal in my opinion). The CM's attention to me was icing on the cake!


      Try The Plaza - I hope you enjoy it! It's a great alternative to Magic Kingdom Counter Service restaurants! For just a little more money, you can eat great food in a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. Being Table Service means you don't have to balance your meal and beverage while you search for a place to sit as you would with Casey's Corner. You can sit comfortably and have your food and drink brought to you.


      I will definitely return to The Plaza!!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      ssdh90

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed August 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and service were terrific!
      Cons: nothing

       
      Ate there with a party of ten for lunch last week. What a wonderful find! Everyone loved their food - our vegetarian member raved about the veggie sandwich. Highly recommend!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CLHoward72

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Bloomington, Illinois
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Thu July 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sandwiches are just right for lunch
      Cons: Long wait for food

       
      This was our first time at the Plaza. We made ADR for lunch and showed up about 20 minutes early. They were able to seat us within about 10 minutes which was nice. The ambiance is very quaint and this is not a big restaurant. We had a very nice lunch and our sandwiches were great, not to mention the awesome steak fries! We even saved room for dessert (ice cream from next door). This was a nice addition because we normally get ice cream there anyway, but this way we got to sit inside the air conditioning and eat it! For this being a sandwich place, I was surprised at how slow everything was and our meal took a full hour, but it was a nice break in the day. Overall, this was a good meal and we had no complaints. We are happy we did it once, but I don’t know if this will be a “must do” on future trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mschu2112

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Fri July 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and atmosphere
      Cons: Small and wait time

       
      We dined here on June 27 for the first time ever. We had made a point to try this place as we discovered it a few years back but could not get in. We had a reservation at 425 but waited some 25 minutes to be seated. There were plenty of tables that were empty but had yet to be bused. It appeared that the wait staff had to do the busing, table setup and service so this delayed seating. At one point during our meal over 1/2 the place was empty with tables not setup while people waited.


      Aside from that the service was very good and quick. The food we had was excellent and plentiful. The milkshakes were a highlight of the meal as everyone had them. These are hand dipped and very good and well worth the $.


      This restaurant is very small and holds less than 100 so the noise is low. Atmosphere while dated was nice and it was a welcome break. Would definetly come here again.


      Note: Have a reservation because they are always full.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 155
      Review Date: Wed June 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, and Really Good Food
      Cons: Hostess Staff

       
      My family of 4 dined here for dinner on Monday, June 8th. We had 5:30 reservations and weren't seated until close to 6. This was the only restaurant during our 6 night stay that we had to wait to be seated. There were many empty tables inside when we were seated, so I don't understand the holdup. The 3 hostesses outside were goofing around, so maybe that had something to do with it. There were a lot more people outside waiting for tables than inside eating.


      Our server was Jordan, and he was AWESOME!!!! He was courteous and polite, and our drink glasses were always kept full. When we noticed a hair in my daughter's sundae, he immediately took it away, brought the manager over (we didn't ask for her), and returned with a new dessert.


      The food was delicious. I had the club sandwich. My husband had the strawberry salad. One daughter had a hamburger, and the other had the grilled chicken sandwich. Desserts ranged from sundaes to fresh fruit.


      The decor could use some updating. It seemed old and tired. The tables are very close together (as are a lot of the sit down restaurants in Disney).
      I recommend giving The Plaza a go. I couldn't give it a 10, because of the long wait to be seated, which I feel could have been avoided had the hostesses been a little more attentive.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monorailmom

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Sat May 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food for the price
      Cons: Tables are a little tight

       
      We dined here on our arrival day. While our table was a little closer to those around us than we typically like, we had a good experience here. DH had the grilled chicken sandwich, and I had the cheesesteak. Both were excellent. Service was very good, and from my seat I could see out onto the the new garden areas in front of the Castle. As a couple, this was a nice lunch experience. I'm not sure if we had our 4 kids with us that we would find it comfortable in there, though.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.