Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    magic-band-closeup1.JPG


    magic-band-closeup1.JPG
    supersize

    magic-bands.jpg
    supersize

    magic-band-in-use.jpg
    supersize

    new-fastpass-reader-1.jpg
    supersize






    • Pin It


    • MagicBand (wristband)

      • Reviews Views
        56 17172
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        86% of reviewers 7.5
      • Description: Worn on the wrist, an all-in-one device that connects all the choices you made online. Use it to buy food, enter your Disney hotel room, purchase merchandise and allows you to access FastPass+, connects you to PhotoPass and more.


        The program is being rolled out over time.


  • Author
    • teller7

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon April 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): use for everything
      Cons: entry to parks/not large enough if u have large wrist

       
      Husband and I had a couple issues entering the parks. Also if you have large wrist it could be tight on you my husband carried his with him. Otherwise convenient for fast pass and charging items to your room. You also had to pick a pin number to use it for charging this put my mind at ease in case you lose it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tink

      Registered: April 2006
      Location: new york
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu April 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to use, water proof
      Cons:

       
      Received customized wristband in the mail. I was able to link my park ticket with no problem. I also
      made purchases easily. I like that you can wear in it the pool and not have to leave your room key
      near a chair.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use, actually worked this time around
      Cons: Minor glitch at second hotel

       
      In early January I had written a review about how it took the front desk staff 2.5 hours to activate our MagicBands. I'm happy to say that this time there were no problems at all!


      From the beginning at Magical Express, they pulled up our reservation right away. We had no problems charging to the room (on separate credit cards), opening up the room door, and I was even able to attach my Annual Pass almost instantly after exchanging the voucher for the real thing. Once I got FP+ set up, it worked for that too, no problem. I took the leap and bought a couple of the Mickey head MagicBandits because I plan to use this band for the rest of my AP year. I only wish they had purple bands, but I'll settle for pink.


      There was a slight problem when we switched over to the Boardwalk unexpectedly for an extra night. The reservation had been made by someone else and then transferred to me, so I couldn't link it in my MDE account. As such, my current band couldn't link up. We were given a KTTW card (and told to guard it with our lives!) for the night. Lobby concierge said they could give us new gray bands, and did try to link the reservation to my current band, but it was not working and we said the KTTW card would be fine.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 74
      Review Date: Sat March 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to use
      Cons:

       
      We just returned from a trip to the World and used Magic Bands for the first time. We had no issues at all with them. In fact, they allowed us to use the express entry for "guests without bags" the entire trip. We are a couple without children traveling with us so there were no backpacks, diaper bags, strollers etc. We saved a lot of time not having to wait in the bag check lines. Everything we needed was on the bands. Fast Passes worked fine. It was really nice not having to fish around for our Key to the World Cards every time we entered our resort room or a park. They truly are waterproof, as we swam with them and wore them in the hot tubs repeatedly. They were not uncomfortable at all and never came off until we took them off ourselves. We were skeptical about them at first, but had no issues and are believers now.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lw

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun March 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simplicity. No need to carry money credit cards in park.
      Cons: A few snags to be worked on by Disney.

       
      Having just returned from a Disney vacation over Spring Break I feel this was the first real 'test run' for Fastpass+. The concept in theory is great if everything is working and that is where the problem rests. An example for our party of eleven was a visit to Typhoon Lagoon on Tuesday March 11th. As we are patrons from Canada our bands are not shipped to us prior to vacation departure but we receive them upon check-in which seems reasonable. Unfortunately, 4 members of our party 2adults and 2 children were denied access to a Typhoon Lagoon as it was not synchronized on their passes. The ipad carrying Fastpass resolvers explained they had not paid for this product and denied them access to the park. Which was highly upsetting. Our family members were then shuffled to wait in line at guest services to pay for a product which they had. At this point a very expensive telephone call was made to Canada where our travel agent scanned and emailed documentation showing payment for waterpark and more. This was a very upsetting situation. The Disney Fastpass resolvers were rude and it seemed their job is to push people through lines or ask for payment. It just was not the Disney hospitality that one expects.
      I hope that once these glitches are resolved the Fastpass+ is a success.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Scrapping in Ontario

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu March 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to wear, love not carrying a card, easily accessible
      Cons:

       
      We have used MagicBands for our last 3 trips and love, love, love them! It's so nice having everything easily accessible - room key, park pass, dining plan, charging, etc.


      The one time my nice accidentally keyed in the wrong pin a couple of times it only took a quick was to Guest Services to fix the problem.


      GREAT improvement Disney! Hope to see them on your ships for all to use soon!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BMGDISNEY

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue March 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ease of use
      Cons: Everyone that is able to use it in your party needs the PIN number to use their credits

       
      We received our bands before we had left for Disney. We made sure they were in our carry on bags so they would be able to use when we arrived at the airport. We did not realize that the bands could be used to check in and check out of the resort so keep that in mind. Never had a problem with any of the bands. They all worked for the room, the dining plan, and the fast passes. The only problem I kept running into is when I would have my daughter go in one line, such as at Cosmic Ray's, and I in another, that I would forget to tell her the PIN number so that she could get her meal. Or if she was getting a snack from one place, and myself from another, she would have to track me down to once again get the PIN number. I appreciate the security so no one can use your band in case you lose it however. I just need to remember next year to give her the PIN number each time. The last thing on a teenagers mind is remembering a PIN number to get a snack. Also, since I do not include charging privileges on any of the bands, I don't mind her having the PIN number. Also saves me from unbudgeted and frivolous purchases. All in all, fantastic system, and the bugs had been worked out.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      mmc55

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Mon March 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient/Fashionable
      Cons: Too Convenient

       
      Great convenience to enter your Resort room. No problems when entering the parks. Somewhat cool to wear - makes WDW even more special. But - and this is a big but - it's easy to lose track of your spending. Just see something you want or eat and instantly you have it - works real good. I was at CBR and a lady in front of me in line was proud how easily she completed her Magicband transaction, she said she had lots of practice - I said that's a bad thing - she didn't laugh. I bet I beat her by the end of our visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 63
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything goes on band
      Cons: Slows down park entrance

       
      Jury is still out on this one. I was able to connect my room key, annual passes, and charging on the band. In the past I would have to carry a stack of cards for passes and room key. Disney also offers accessories for the bands to make even more $$. Well played Disney, well played! We did not have any issues with the bands and they worked fine. However, I did notice multiple issues when entering the parks. One bad band or problem will hold up an entire line. One morning at Hollywood Studies the entry line was moving at a snails pace due to the entire system running slow. What happens if system crashes even for 15-20 minutes? I'm giving the bands a solid 6 because it is a good concept. I can't say the same about Fastpass+.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rlaneyd

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue January 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything loaded on it
      Cons: Didn't function properly every time, not comfortable

       
      NOT A FAN OF THE BAND!!! Sorry, but I do prefer the Key to the World card that I slip in/out with ease in my Passporter pouch holder. No matter how I adjusted it the band just wasn't fitting me to suit. Sometimes it would work in the restaurants, sometimes it wouldn't. My husband had trouble with his band entering the parks a few times. Disney needs a better option for people who do not want wear the band around their wrist and fearful of losing it if attached elsewhere, like looped thru my wristwatch band.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sun January 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): don't have to keep digging the card out
      Cons: A few bugs still in the system

       
      I enjoyed useing the new Magic Band system. It was fun customising the band online and I love The Incredible box it came in.


      To enter your room, use a dining plan credit. use photopass, and enter the parks all you do is tap the band.


      I only had two issues with the band itself. One was when i first checked in they didn't have me set up a pin so when I tried to get my refillable mug there was a slight issue but it was easily fixed. Then at Test Track the first time I rode my band deleted my car after the ride not allowing me to do the fun post-show things with it. The second time i rode it saved my car so I did get to do all that.


      Is the My magic + system perfect? no. That's why it is still in testing. Everyone should keep that in mind.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pls

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Wed January 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No need to fumble for a park ticket/room key
      Cons: multiple

       
      I was part of a family group of 10, and we spend HOURS of park time both at our resort and at Epcot trying to link up our bands (to be fair, each cast member who tried to help us gave us extra fast passes, and one gave us a $50 Epcot merchandise certificate because we had so many issues) to each other and to the memory maker. We and the cast members were never able to link my mother's band to the rest of ours. Several of our group had problems at the park entrance when the bands did not work. If we wanted to park hop, we could not split our fast pass selections between the parks (you can only select one park for the three fast passes each day). We did not have a problem with the meal plan or charging things back to the rooms. We were all upset that there were so many kinks with the band, all the expense of our time and aggrevation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jackiejzhou

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon January 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience
      Cons: Can't choose FastPass+ in multiple parks per day

       
      Convenient to enter the parks, room, pay for food and merchindice. Can't choose FastPass+ in multiple parks each day. We had park hopping tickets. Could only book fastpass online for one park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Sat January 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient
      Cons: Difficulties with activation

       
      I was not a fan of the Magic Bands, and I don't like the whole next gen thing in general. Our problems started upon arrival at our resort. We came to the desk at 8:30pm after a long day of traveling. There was some glitch with activating our bands, and repeated reassurances of "it will only take five minutes to fix" turned into two and a half HOURS of waiting and waiting to get into our room. Ridiculous. We had no issues charging or using the dining plan. Because we used cast member admission, that was not linked to the band and we were also unable to take advantage of FP+. I found the band itself to be irritating to my skin and I disliked the texture. Wish they'd offer an alternative for people like me, but alas, they've totally done away with the Key to the World Cards!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 132
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I was skeptical, but they worked every time for everything we had programmed, such as fast passes, magical express, etc. I am not sure how comfortable they will be in the heat of the summer, but in December they were fine.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.