Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    magic-band-closeup1.JPG


    magic-band-closeup1.JPG
    supersize

    magic-bands.jpg
    supersize

    magic-band-in-use.jpg
    supersize

    new-fastpass-reader-1.jpg
    supersize






    • Pin It


    • MagicBand (wristband)

      • Reviews Views
        73 23971
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        85% of reviewers 7.5
      • Description: Worn on the wrist, an all-in-one device that connects all the choices you made online. Use it to buy food, enter your Disney hotel room, purchase merchandise and allows you to access FastPass+, connects you to PhotoPass and more.


        The program is being rolled out over time.


  • Author
    • bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed December 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No glitches for us
      Cons: park entry no faster

       
      We had no glitches on hotel doors or park entry or fast passes. I assumed park entry for crowds would be faster with new system. If anything, it was a little slower. The bands work fine...but don't get me started on the new Fast Pass Plus system Smile.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 65
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Don't work all the time

       
      When we checked in they asked us to make sure we could access our room with the Magic Bands. They all worked fine. Then we went to the Magic Kingdom and my grandson's would not allow him access to the park. We were told we had to go to Guest Relations, but because it was raining and I did not want to stand out in the rain we went back to the hotel to get in straight. When we got there it took over an hour to finally get it cleared up and then my grandson's "Tragic Band" was the only one that could access the room. Luckily we had Key to the World Cards which would also work to access the room.
      Also My son and daughter-in-law could not use their Bands to charge meals or other items.


      I wish Disney would not have messed with a system that was pretty good before.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tigger82

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None for a blind person
      Cons: Couldn't see the Mickey head

       
      If I weren't blind, I'm sure my rating would be much different, or cast members more helpful. Being unable to see the mickey head, thank goodness my mother was there because almost all the cast members just stood there uselessly, most not even saying a word. If I were alone, I'd have to align the Mickey heads by trial and error I guess.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      annebill

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): no more fishing for cards!!!
      Cons:

       
      This was our first experience with the wristbands and it was totally positive. We custom ordered our bands and had them delivered prior to leaving on the trip. From the moment of check in to our last use, it all went ticket-boo:) And we put it to the test for everything!!!.....room key, meals, fast passes, charging privileges. How wonderful to have it all right there and never have to find the card and then put it away again.


      Out of the whole week, there was only one wee glitch, where the band wouldn't read for a park entrance one day....but there are cast members on the spot to assist and it was taken care of immediately.


      Loved it!!!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy charging
      Cons: It seemed to take longer to enter park.

       
      The band seemed to take longer than the cards to get in the park and made the fast pass line take a little longer. Some of our partys' bands registered fast others took a long time. My wrist broke out in bumps from the band so I just kept switching arms during the visit. They will probably be great when they work out all the glitches.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Thu August 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient
      Cons: Accessories tend to fall off

       
      I have four bands right now, all in different colors. One was from a stay in March, one is my AP band, and two were for my recent split stay last week. I love that they can all be used interchangeably, allowing me to color coordinate with whatever I'm wearing. Any and all will get me into my room and the parks, register my FP+, dining plan, and Memory Maker entitlements.


      I have also purchased several packs of Mickey head "jibbits" to decorate the bands, but I don't recommend putting more than two on at a time. Each time I've put three on, I've lost the third, never to be seen again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xxjess10

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Wed August 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient, not easily lost
      Cons: Sweaty, odd shape

       
      We thought the MagicBands were a great new product! Being able to customize them and receive them in advance really helped get us excited for the trip (as if we needed any help!) Because it is almost always on your wrist, we did not have much trouble keeping track of all of our party's bands. They are easily deactivated/reactivated from the My Disney Experience app, which does remove some of the stress of losing it should it happen. Although none of us needed it, I really liked how the band can be adjusted to become smaller for the little ones - Disney does think of everything.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      geneticallyempowered

      Registered: August 2014
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun August 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease of use
      Cons: none

       
      My husband and I used the bands while on our honeymoon back in June. They worked perfectly! They were a breeze to use and we didn't have a single problem the entire week we were there. We wore ours in the pools and everything - they were just great. So easy to use and keep track of.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ears2you

      Registered: December 2006
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Tue August 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): hotel entry
      Cons: numerous FP glitches just like the rides!

       
      terrible for FP entry--looks like it works fine for all the "groups" that file past you in the hundreds. no wonder that the rides are constantly broken. will NEVER go again during summer. not impressed with the service of this item-I think WDW is using it in a way they are not admitting as it in no way made FP easy for us. all the other perks are kind-of so-what to us-we can manage our tickets, credit cards and hotel keys. We are not "new" to Disney, we always stay on property and this is or 23rd trip.......
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease of use
      Cons: doesn't always work

       
      Using the band for park entry is great. Waterproof--great. Connecting credit card to it--great. Using the band for fastpass+ did NOT work well for us--see that posting under Fast Pass+. We were not able to use or update our fast passes/bands with portable readers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dailey71

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun June 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience
      Cons: system can be glitchy sometimes

       
      We stayed for a week and had only minor issues with using it to get into parks. I had to have mine reset at the gate one day which involved a cast member using their iPad to reset it. I didn't have any issues after that. I had heard of friends having worse issues with their band not working at the park gate and the cast member not being helpful at all. It was nice not to have to worry about losing the card that we used to carry for park access.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Time2Talk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I recommend wearing the magic band on your left wrist so you can easily put your right index finger to scan when entering a park. It saves some time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WDWDad1974

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed May 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome. Just awesome.
      Cons: None.

       
      This thing is just awesome. After leaving the park, I found myself raising my hand at the gas station, grocery story, coffee shop, wishing I could just pay for my order with a swipe of the wrist and entering my pin. It always worked for me. I wore it in the pool with no adverse effects. My kids loved being able to let themselves into the room. And I did not have to carry my wallet anywhere!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seymourmomof3

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Seymour, TN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun May 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We used the bands for the first time on our recent visit and we loved them. No issues, kids loved going up and using them to get in park and room it was fun for them. No worries about losing key to world cards nice not to have to dig them out each time needed just pop your wrist up. We liked them better!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyduet

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): It is getting better week by week.
      Cons: Popular rides are pretty backed up

       
      There are improvements made regularly - I would like to see more availabilty earlier in the day and also like to see castmember eligibility. Hope it's coming soon. DD
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.