Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    magic-band-closeup1.JPG


    magic-band-closeup1.JPG
    supersize

    magic-bands.jpg
    supersize

    magic-band-in-use.jpg
    supersize

    new-fastpass-reader-1.jpg
    supersize






    • Pin It


    • MagicBand (wristband)

      • Reviews Views
        82 28745
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        85% of reviewers 7.6
      • Description: Worn on the wrist, an all-in-one device that connects all the choices you made online. Use it to buy food, enter your Disney hotel room, purchase merchandise and allows you to access FastPass+, connects you to PhotoPass and more.


        The program is being rolled out over time.


  • Author
    • Cyrnanc

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue July 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use for purchases
      Cons: Had trouble a few times using-needs a clock

       
      I really liked the magic bands. It was almost too easy to make purchases. I liked it better than the only cards since they are right on your wrist-no digging for cards. Just like the other review I kept looking at it for a watch which was ver annoying. They did sell a slide on clock for it in the gift shop but it was $20. I would have bought it if it was less money. Next time I would be sure to wear a watch along with the magic band. It didn't work a few times when trying to make a purchase so I would also bring a credit card with you. I liked the magic band and what better way to get excited about your upcoming Disney trip than to open your box of magic bands in the mail?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 135
      Review Date: Mon June 29, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient
      Cons: None

       
      I absolutely love the MagicBands! I have used them 3 times now, the last being in June at POFQ. It's so nice to have all your reservations linked to this bracelet, as well as it being the key to your resort room. I never had to worry about carrying cash, or fumbling in my purse for the room key at the end of a busy day.


      The only issue we had was when checking into POR, the bands were trying to link a past trip, so they all had to be reprogrammed. This took about a half hour and many apologies from the cast members assisting us. Because of our inconvenience, we (my party of 4) were all given 2 extra fast passes per person to use as we liked at MK.


      I hope this is something Disney keeps for a very long time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dreams

      Registered: May 2010
      Location: Guilford, CT
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue May 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience
      Cons: uncomfortable

       
      It's probably my age but I found the band uncomfortable to wear. I wear a wristwatch on my left arm which is the arm I needed to wear the magic band to have it work on the hotel door and to get into the parks, being right-handed. It fell off my husband's wrist as we were getting off the safari but thankfully a woman behind us noticed and stopped us. I ended up carrying them like the old cards and taking them out when we needed them. They did not seem to help get people in the parks any faster.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MCMod

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri April 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): handy, convenient, somewhat stylish
      Cons: kept looking at it like it was a watch

       
      Originally posted by LFellows


      I have issues with FP+, but I actually liked the Magic Bands. We found them to be very convenient. The kids could come and go from the room without having to track us down to get the key. We never had to carry cash as everything can be charged to the magic band. The Magic Band works very well with the FP+ readers in the parks. You can access your room, entry to parks, and use fastpasses with just a tap of the band. Purchases require a tap of the band and a 4-digit passcode.



      Just a couple of issues we encountered;
      1) If I had a dollar for every time I looked at the band thinking it was a watch, I could have paid for the trip. Maybe a future upgrade could include a cheap digital watch in the band?



      2) We got really used to not carrying money - which became a problem. If you want to get a snack and use it as your snack in your meal plan - no problem. If you want to get something cheaper, like a bottle of water, the default is for that to be charged as a snack - not a good value, and a real pain if the cahier has to back the purchase out and charge it like a credit card on the band! Better to carry a little cash for small purchases where you don't want to use a meal plan snack credit. Same goes for tips - these aren't included in the meal plan.



      Not sure what the procedure is if you lose the thing. We saw one on the Autopia track so it must happen all of the time. They get knocked off pretty easy if you are digging around in a bag.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Fri April 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use, nice to have everything literally at your fingertips
      Cons: Occasionally finnicky bands

       
      I now have a full set of all seven color bands, which is totally unnecessary. They're reusable for up to three years, so I think Disney needs to figure out a way to actually let them be reused and stop sending new ones!


      We got the text that our room was ready while on Magical Express, so we could skip the check in desk. That was nice, and our bands worked to open the door right away. We did have to visit the desk later to add a second credit card to my traveling partner's band, separate from mine.


      I've used MagicBands on four trips now, so I'm pretty experienced with getting the Mickey head to turn green when paying for things, but one of my bands was particularly finnicky about that. It often took me several tries to line it up juuuust right-and only with that band. Also, depending how you wear it and on which wrist, it can be difficult to open your room door without either just taking it off or pulling a muscle in your wrist!


      It is very nice to be able to not have go digging for a Key to the World card, tickets, credit cards, Fastpasses, etc. Now if only they could figure out a way for a) a person's ID to be embedded (for drinking at Epcot, for example) and b) passholders to attach a credit card without staying at a resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 84
      Review Date: Wed April 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy
      Cons: none

       
      We love the magic bands. They are easy, convenient, and worked very well for us the entire trip. We used them to get on the Magical Express, to purchase food and items from the shops, and to get into our resort rooms without having to go through the normal check in at the main desk. We swam in them and never had any problems. Entry into the parks was a snap. This was a great idea.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      becca3205

      Registered: March 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue March 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): all in one
      Cons: none

       
      I love the magicband. it was so convenient and easy to use. I only carried a small bag for other items did not have to go into it for any purchases or room key very nice
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Elaine Hammond

      Registered: January 2007
      Location: Voorhees, NJ
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Thu March 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very conveinent to use
      Cons: Sometimes doesn't work at first

       
      At first we did not think we were going to like the Magic Bands, but as the kinks are getting worked out we find that they are very convenient indeed. It eliminates the need to carry credit cards and/or a lot of cash.
      They worked great with the Fast Pass feature.
      They do tend to get rather uncomfortable in the warmer weather and the little "add ons" they have for the bands make it tighter.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinderellaGirl

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun January 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenience, water proof
      Cons: None!

       
      LOVE the magic bands! You can choose what color you want, and they are delivered to your house in a really cool Incredibles box! It's so convenient having everything in the band, as opposed to having to fiddle around with room key cards, tickets, and fastpasses. Everything is right there on your wrist!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed December 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No glitches for us
      Cons: park entry no faster

       
      We had no glitches on hotel doors or park entry or fast passes. I assumed park entry for crowds would be faster with new system. If anything, it was a little slower. The bands work fine...but don't get me started on the new Fast Pass Plus system Smile.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Don't work all the time

       
      When we checked in they asked us to make sure we could access our room with the Magic Bands. They all worked fine. Then we went to the Magic Kingdom and my grandson's would not allow him access to the park. We were told we had to go to Guest Relations, but because it was raining and I did not want to stand out in the rain we went back to the hotel to get in straight. When we got there it took over an hour to finally get it cleared up and then my grandson's "Tragic Band" was the only one that could access the room. Luckily we had Key to the World Cards which would also work to access the room.
      Also My son and daughter-in-law could not use their Bands to charge meals or other items.


      I wish Disney would not have messed with a system that was pretty good before.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tigger82

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None for a blind person
      Cons: Couldn't see the Mickey head

       
      If I weren't blind, I'm sure my rating would be much different, or cast members more helpful. Being unable to see the mickey head, thank goodness my mother was there because almost all the cast members just stood there uselessly, most not even saying a word. If I were alone, I'd have to align the Mickey heads by trial and error I guess.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      annebill

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): no more fishing for cards!!!
      Cons:

       
      This was our first experience with the wristbands and it was totally positive. We custom ordered our bands and had them delivered prior to leaving on the trip. From the moment of check in to our last use, it all went ticket-boo:) And we put it to the test for everything!!!.....room key, meals, fast passes, charging privileges. How wonderful to have it all right there and never have to find the card and then put it away again.


      Out of the whole week, there was only one wee glitch, where the band wouldn't read for a park entrance one day....but there are cast members on the spot to assist and it was taken care of immediately.


      Loved it!!!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy charging
      Cons: It seemed to take longer to enter park.

       
      The band seemed to take longer than the cards to get in the park and made the fast pass line take a little longer. Some of our partys' bands registered fast others took a long time. My wrist broke out in bumps from the band so I just kept switching arms during the visit. They will probably be great when they work out all the glitches.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Thu August 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient
      Cons: Accessories tend to fall off

       
      I have four bands right now, all in different colors. One was from a stay in March, one is my AP band, and two were for my recent split stay last week. I love that they can all be used interchangeably, allowing me to color coordinate with whatever I'm wearing. Any and all will get me into my room and the parks, register my FP+, dining plan, and Memory Maker entitlements.


      I have also purchased several packs of Mickey head "jibbits" to decorate the bands, but I don't recommend putting more than two on at a time. Each time I've put three on, I've lost the third, never to be seen again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.