Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    magic-band-closeup1.JPG


    magic-band-closeup1.JPG
    supersize

    magic-bands.jpg
    supersize

    magic-band-in-use.jpg
    supersize

    new-fastpass-reader-1.jpg
    supersize






    • Pin It


    • MagicBand (wristband)

      • Reviews Views
        64 20685
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        88% of reviewers 7.7
      • Description: Worn on the wrist, an all-in-one device that connects all the choices you made online. Use it to buy food, enter your Disney hotel room, purchase merchandise and allows you to access FastPass+, connects you to PhotoPass and more.


        The program is being rolled out over time.


  • Author
    • StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease of use
      Cons: doesn't always work

       
      Using the band for park entry is great. Waterproof--great. Connecting credit card to it--great. Using the band for fastpass+ did NOT work well for us--see that posting under Fast Pass+. We were not able to use or update our fast passes/bands with portable readers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dailey71

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun June 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience
      Cons: system can be glitchy sometimes

       
      We stayed for a week and had only minor issues with using it to get into parks. I had to have mine reset at the gate one day which involved a cast member using their iPad to reset it. I didn't have any issues after that. I had heard of friends having worse issues with their band not working at the park gate and the cast member not being helpful at all. It was nice not to have to worry about losing the card that we used to carry for park access.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Time2Talk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I recommend wearing the magic band on your left wrist so you can easily put your right index finger to scan when entering a park. It saves some time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WDWDad1974

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed May 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome. Just awesome.
      Cons: None.

       
      This thing is just awesome. After leaving the park, I found myself raising my hand at the gas station, grocery story, coffee shop, wishing I could just pay for my order with a swipe of the wrist and entering my pin. It always worked for me. I wore it in the pool with no adverse effects. My kids loved being able to let themselves into the room. And I did not have to carry my wallet anywhere!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seymourmomof3

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Seymour, TN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun May 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We used the bands for the first time on our recent visit and we loved them. No issues, kids loved going up and using them to get in park and room it was fun for them. No worries about losing key to world cards nice not to have to dig them out each time needed just pop your wrist up. We liked them better!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyduet

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): It is getting better week by week.
      Cons: Popular rides are pretty backed up

       
      There are improvements made regularly - I would like to see more availabilty earlier in the day and also like to see castmember eligibility. Hope it's coming soon. DD
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dragonsbreath

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Multi use
      Cons: 1 park restriction for fast pass

       
      Having just got back from WDW with my family (wife, 15yo daughter & me) and being from the UK, I thought I might add and reinforce Debra’s review in #763.
      Having been reading some pretty harsh reviews of magic bands from about January onwards, I can’t say I was looking forward to the new experience with any enthusiasm – this is my sixth visit. However, after one day in the sun, I was converted. Of course there are little annoyances but the benefits far, far outweigh those niggles. It is vital that visitors create a My Disney Experience (MDE) account well before travelling even if you are not a serial planner. A few weeks before our holiday, we were asked what colour magic band we all wanted, pink (by far the most popular and in descending order), blue, red, grey, green and orange were available when we picked but I did see yellow in the park shops so this might be an option now. Other things we booked using MDE before leaving were our dining experiences – Fantasmic package (book early as The Brown Derby was the only available choice and this might not be to everyone’s taste), character breakfast at The Tusker House (recommended) and Hoop-Dee-Doo and buying and linking our Memory Maker to the account so, by default, the magic band. Accommodation was automatically linked. MM is great and worth the money but must be bought before you go for a $50 saving and ensuring you get the pictures from day one. We managed 180 photos for £149.99 meaning less than a dollar a photo! The magic bands were waiting for us on check-in at the Caribbean Beach – lovely keepsake box – and the band being the door key was very useful. I thought I’d miss the tickets but no, scanning the band with a fingerprint was quick, charging items to the band was great and even your dining plan details were stored (we didn’t have this package but others seemed to use this without problems).
      Booking fast passes is a breeze (even though we tended to book them the day before). Select your 3 rides and the system comes back with four options. Generally the recommended option is one that has all your rides with a suggested time (with an hour spread i.e. 10:40 – 11:40). The other options may give you your three selected rides or substitute another. Look at them all and accept one. You can then change the time of individual rides (if available). Initially, I thought the restriction of on-line booking of three fast passes per day (soon to go up to 4?), was a mistake but now I’m sure this is right. Having too many fast passes means you may not use them and as the number per time slot is restricted, others could miss out.
      The only irritating thing was the one park restriction. It would be great to have, say, 2 fast passes at MK and another at Epcot for your evening trip to watch Illuminations. You cannot do this (yet?). Also some rides are categorised so you can’t have say both Soarin’ (what a disappointment that the film is identical to my last visit 6 years ago) and Test Track but this is reasonably sensible.
      Summing up, this is a giant step forward and with the crinkles now seemingly sorted, something to pat Disney on the back. With more things being added, it can only get better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      deaner

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease of movement around Walt Disney World
      Cons: sometimes it doens't read the band and you have to keep trying.

       
      My husband and I just returned home from Walt Disney World last week after spending 4 days at Bay Lake Tower. I know my husband was skeptical of wearing the bands as he doesn't wear any kind of jewelry, including a watch. He carried his in his pocket. BUT, he really enjoyed how easy it was to use and he most certainly liked sitting in our room in the evening and planning the next day on the computer. It worked so well for us and I can't wait to go back and to it all again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      teller7

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon April 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): use for everything
      Cons: entry to parks/not large enough if u have large wrist

       
      Husband and I had a couple issues entering the parks. Also if you have large wrist it could be tight on you my husband carried his with him. Otherwise convenient for fast pass and charging items to your room. You also had to pick a pin number to use it for charging this put my mind at ease in case you lose it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tink

      Registered: April 2006
      Location: new york
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Thu April 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to use, water proof
      Cons:

       
      Received customized wristband in the mail. I was able to link my park ticket with no problem. I also
      made purchases easily. I like that you can wear in it the pool and not have to leave your room key
      near a chair.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 194
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to use, actually worked this time around
      Cons: Minor glitch at second hotel

       
      In early January I had written a review about how it took the front desk staff 2.5 hours to activate our MagicBands. I'm happy to say that this time there were no problems at all!


      From the beginning at Magical Express, they pulled up our reservation right away. We had no problems charging to the room (on separate credit cards), opening up the room door, and I was even able to attach my Annual Pass almost instantly after exchanging the voucher for the real thing. Once I got FP+ set up, it worked for that too, no problem. I took the leap and bought a couple of the Mickey head MagicBandits because I plan to use this band for the rest of my AP year. I only wish they had purple bands, but I'll settle for pink.


      There was a slight problem when we switched over to the Boardwalk unexpectedly for an extra night. The reservation had been made by someone else and then transferred to me, so I couldn't link it in my MDE account. As such, my current band couldn't link up. We were given a KTTW card (and told to guard it with our lives!) for the night. Lobby concierge said they could give us new gray bands, and did try to link the reservation to my current band, but it was not working and we said the KTTW card would be fine.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Sat March 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to use
      Cons:

       
      We just returned from a trip to the World and used Magic Bands for the first time. We had no issues at all with them. In fact, they allowed us to use the express entry for "guests without bags" the entire trip. We are a couple without children traveling with us so there were no backpacks, diaper bags, strollers etc. We saved a lot of time not having to wait in the bag check lines. Everything we needed was on the bands. Fast Passes worked fine. It was really nice not having to fish around for our Key to the World Cards every time we entered our resort room or a park. They truly are waterproof, as we swam with them and wore them in the hot tubs repeatedly. They were not uncomfortable at all and never came off until we took them off ourselves. We were skeptical about them at first, but had no issues and are believers now.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lw

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun March 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Simplicity. No need to carry money credit cards in park.
      Cons: A few snags to be worked on by Disney.

       
      Having just returned from a Disney vacation over Spring Break I feel this was the first real 'test run' for Fastpass+. The concept in theory is great if everything is working and that is where the problem rests. An example for our party of eleven was a visit to Typhoon Lagoon on Tuesday March 11th. As we are patrons from Canada our bands are not shipped to us prior to vacation departure but we receive them upon check-in which seems reasonable. Unfortunately, 4 members of our party 2adults and 2 children were denied access to a Typhoon Lagoon as it was not synchronized on their passes. The ipad carrying Fastpass resolvers explained they had not paid for this product and denied them access to the park. Which was highly upsetting. Our family members were then shuffled to wait in line at guest services to pay for a product which they had. At this point a very expensive telephone call was made to Canada where our travel agent scanned and emailed documentation showing payment for waterpark and more. This was a very upsetting situation. The Disney Fastpass resolvers were rude and it seemed their job is to push people through lines or ask for payment. It just was not the Disney hospitality that one expects.
      I hope that once these glitches are resolved the Fastpass+ is a success.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Scrapping in Ontario

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu March 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to wear, love not carrying a card, easily accessible
      Cons:

       
      We have used MagicBands for our last 3 trips and love, love, love them! It's so nice having everything easily accessible - room key, park pass, dining plan, charging, etc.


      The one time my nice accidentally keyed in the wrong pin a couple of times it only took a quick was to Guest Services to fix the problem.


      GREAT improvement Disney! Hope to see them on your ships for all to use soon!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BMGDISNEY

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue March 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ease of use
      Cons: Everyone that is able to use it in your party needs the PIN number to use their credits

       
      We received our bands before we had left for Disney. We made sure they were in our carry on bags so they would be able to use when we arrived at the airport. We did not realize that the bands could be used to check in and check out of the resort so keep that in mind. Never had a problem with any of the bands. They all worked for the room, the dining plan, and the fast passes. The only problem I kept running into is when I would have my daughter go in one line, such as at Cosmic Ray's, and I in another, that I would forget to tell her the PIN number so that she could get her meal. Or if she was getting a snack from one place, and myself from another, she would have to track me down to once again get the PIN number. I appreciate the security so no one can use your band in case you lose it however. I just need to remember next year to give her the PIN number each time. The last thing on a teenagers mind is remembering a PIN number to get a snack. Also, since I do not include charging privileges on any of the bands, I don't mind her having the PIN number. Also saves me from unbudgeted and frivolous purchases. All in all, fantastic system, and the bugs had been worked out.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.