Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    magic-band-closeup1.JPG


    magic-band-closeup1.JPG
    supersize

    magic-bands.jpg
    supersize

    magic-band-in-use.jpg
    supersize

    new-fastpass-reader-1.jpg
    supersize






    • Pin It


    • MagicBand (wristband)

      • Reviews Views
        71 22887
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        86% of reviewers 7.6
      • Description: Worn on the wrist, an all-in-one device that connects all the choices you made online. Use it to buy food, enter your Disney hotel room, purchase merchandise and allows you to access FastPass+, connects you to PhotoPass and more.


        The program is being rolled out over time.


  • Author
    • Tigger82

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None for a blind person
      Cons: Couldn't see the Mickey head

       
      If I weren't blind, I'm sure my rating would be much different, or cast members more helpful. Being unable to see the mickey head, thank goodness my mother was there because almost all the cast members just stood there uselessly, most not even saying a word. If I were alone, I'd have to align the Mickey heads by trial and error I guess.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      annebill

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): no more fishing for cards!!!
      Cons:

       
      This was our first experience with the wristbands and it was totally positive. We custom ordered our bands and had them delivered prior to leaving on the trip. From the moment of check in to our last use, it all went ticket-boo:) And we put it to the test for everything!!!.....room key, meals, fast passes, charging privileges. How wonderful to have it all right there and never have to find the card and then put it away again.


      Out of the whole week, there was only one wee glitch, where the band wouldn't read for a park entrance one day....but there are cast members on the spot to assist and it was taken care of immediately.


      Loved it!!!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy charging
      Cons: It seemed to take longer to enter park.

       
      The band seemed to take longer than the cards to get in the park and made the fast pass line take a little longer. Some of our partys' bands registered fast others took a long time. My wrist broke out in bumps from the band so I just kept switching arms during the visit. They will probably be great when they work out all the glitches.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Thu August 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient
      Cons: Accessories tend to fall off

       
      I have four bands right now, all in different colors. One was from a stay in March, one is my AP band, and two were for my recent split stay last week. I love that they can all be used interchangeably, allowing me to color coordinate with whatever I'm wearing. Any and all will get me into my room and the parks, register my FP+, dining plan, and Memory Maker entitlements.


      I have also purchased several packs of Mickey head "jibbits" to decorate the bands, but I don't recommend putting more than two on at a time. Each time I've put three on, I've lost the third, never to be seen again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xxjess10

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Wed August 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient, not easily lost
      Cons: Sweaty, odd shape

       
      We thought the MagicBands were a great new product! Being able to customize them and receive them in advance really helped get us excited for the trip (as if we needed any help!) Because it is almost always on your wrist, we did not have much trouble keeping track of all of our party's bands. They are easily deactivated/reactivated from the My Disney Experience app, which does remove some of the stress of losing it should it happen. Although none of us needed it, I really liked how the band can be adjusted to become smaller for the little ones - Disney does think of everything.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      geneticallyempowered

      Registered: August 2014
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun August 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease of use
      Cons: none

       
      My husband and I used the bands while on our honeymoon back in June. They worked perfectly! They were a breeze to use and we didn't have a single problem the entire week we were there. We wore ours in the pools and everything - they were just great. So easy to use and keep track of.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ears2you

      Registered: December 2006
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Tue August 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): hotel entry
      Cons: numerous FP glitches just like the rides!

       
      terrible for FP entry--looks like it works fine for all the "groups" that file past you in the hundreds. no wonder that the rides are constantly broken. will NEVER go again during summer. not impressed with the service of this item-I think WDW is using it in a way they are not admitting as it in no way made FP easy for us. all the other perks are kind-of so-what to us-we can manage our tickets, credit cards and hotel keys. We are not "new" to Disney, we always stay on property and this is or 23rd trip.......
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease of use
      Cons: doesn't always work

       
      Using the band for park entry is great. Waterproof--great. Connecting credit card to it--great. Using the band for fastpass+ did NOT work well for us--see that posting under Fast Pass+. We were not able to use or update our fast passes/bands with portable readers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dailey71

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun June 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience
      Cons: system can be glitchy sometimes

       
      We stayed for a week and had only minor issues with using it to get into parks. I had to have mine reset at the gate one day which involved a cast member using their iPad to reset it. I didn't have any issues after that. I had heard of friends having worse issues with their band not working at the park gate and the cast member not being helpful at all. It was nice not to have to worry about losing the card that we used to carry for park access.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Time2Talk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I recommend wearing the magic band on your left wrist so you can easily put your right index finger to scan when entering a park. It saves some time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WDWDad1974

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed May 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome. Just awesome.
      Cons: None.

       
      This thing is just awesome. After leaving the park, I found myself raising my hand at the gas station, grocery story, coffee shop, wishing I could just pay for my order with a swipe of the wrist and entering my pin. It always worked for me. I wore it in the pool with no adverse effects. My kids loved being able to let themselves into the room. And I did not have to carry my wallet anywhere!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seymourmomof3

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Seymour, TN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun May 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We used the bands for the first time on our recent visit and we loved them. No issues, kids loved going up and using them to get in park and room it was fun for them. No worries about losing key to world cards nice not to have to dig them out each time needed just pop your wrist up. We liked them better!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyduet

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): It is getting better week by week.
      Cons: Popular rides are pretty backed up

       
      There are improvements made regularly - I would like to see more availabilty earlier in the day and also like to see castmember eligibility. Hope it's coming soon. DD
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dragonsbreath

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Multi use
      Cons: 1 park restriction for fast pass

       
      Having just got back from WDW with my family (wife, 15yo daughter & me) and being from the UK, I thought I might add and reinforce Debra’s review in #763.
      Having been reading some pretty harsh reviews of magic bands from about January onwards, I can’t say I was looking forward to the new experience with any enthusiasm – this is my sixth visit. However, after one day in the sun, I was converted. Of course there are little annoyances but the benefits far, far outweigh those niggles. It is vital that visitors create a My Disney Experience (MDE) account well before travelling even if you are not a serial planner. A few weeks before our holiday, we were asked what colour magic band we all wanted, pink (by far the most popular and in descending order), blue, red, grey, green and orange were available when we picked but I did see yellow in the park shops so this might be an option now. Other things we booked using MDE before leaving were our dining experiences – Fantasmic package (book early as The Brown Derby was the only available choice and this might not be to everyone’s taste), character breakfast at The Tusker House (recommended) and Hoop-Dee-Doo and buying and linking our Memory Maker to the account so, by default, the magic band. Accommodation was automatically linked. MM is great and worth the money but must be bought before you go for a $50 saving and ensuring you get the pictures from day one. We managed 180 photos for £149.99 meaning less than a dollar a photo! The magic bands were waiting for us on check-in at the Caribbean Beach – lovely keepsake box – and the band being the door key was very useful. I thought I’d miss the tickets but no, scanning the band with a fingerprint was quick, charging items to the band was great and even your dining plan details were stored (we didn’t have this package but others seemed to use this without problems).
      Booking fast passes is a breeze (even though we tended to book them the day before). Select your 3 rides and the system comes back with four options. Generally the recommended option is one that has all your rides with a suggested time (with an hour spread i.e. 10:40 – 11:40). The other options may give you your three selected rides or substitute another. Look at them all and accept one. You can then change the time of individual rides (if available). Initially, I thought the restriction of on-line booking of three fast passes per day (soon to go up to 4?), was a mistake but now I’m sure this is right. Having too many fast passes means you may not use them and as the number per time slot is restricted, others could miss out.
      The only irritating thing was the one park restriction. It would be great to have, say, 2 fast passes at MK and another at Epcot for your evening trip to watch Illuminations. You cannot do this (yet?). Also some rides are categorised so you can’t have say both Soarin’ (what a disappointment that the film is identical to my last visit 6 years ago) and Test Track but this is reasonably sensible.
      Summing up, this is a giant step forward and with the crinkles now seemingly sorted, something to pat Disney on the back. With more things being added, it can only get better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      deaner

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease of movement around Walt Disney World
      Cons: sometimes it doens't read the band and you have to keep trying.

       
      My husband and I just returned home from Walt Disney World last week after spending 4 days at Bay Lake Tower. I know my husband was skeptical of wearing the bands as he doesn't wear any kind of jewelry, including a watch. He carried his in his pocket. BUT, he really enjoyed how easy it was to use and he most certainly liked sitting in our room in the evening and planning the next day on the computer. It worked so well for us and I can't wait to go back and to it all again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.