Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    fp.JPG


    fp.JPG
    supersize

    FastPassPlus.png








    • Pin It


    • FastPass+

      • Reviews Views
        65 33557
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        55% of reviewers 4.5
      • Description: Program that allows you to select FastPass Attractions and Entertainment before you leave home AND make changes on the go. You are able to reserve firework and parade viewing areas, Character Greetings and more. Certain restrictions apply.


  • Author
    • featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Don't have to run ahead to get passes
      Cons: not easy to change

       
      We found that if we had to change plans all of the fast passes we would want were gone for the day. Rides were down during our fast pass time and since we had a tight schedule it made it hard to get back to the rides. We had two rides down one day and you can't get another pass till you use all your passes. We also couldn't figure were the kiosk to help with the passes were.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 218
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Planning in advance
      Cons: Planning in advance, difficult to make same day changes, problems getting more than 3 FPs

       
      I have a love/hate relationship with FP+. This was the first trip where I was able to make my choices 60 days out. The "tiers" at Epcot and DHS don't even bother me that much, because both Test Track and Rock 'n' Roller Coaster have single rider lines, and I travel by myself quite often. Only downside for Test Track is that you can't truly design your own car in the singles line.


      It is nearly impossible to make day of changes, and the touted ability to make more than 3 FP choices per day is a joke. By the time you've finished your three options, it's already noon at the earliest and you're left with ridiculous choices like Figment and Captain EO.


      I made my FP+ choices 60 days out and scored a prime Anna & Elsa FP for 9:20am...but then I had to change my dates and literally the only one available for them in a 7 day span was 6:20pm on an EMH night. Certainly not ideal but I wasn't going to wait 90+ minutes either.


      While it is gratifying to see that Mickey head turn green, there has to be a way to make some changes. I wish there was a compromise between the old and new systems-such as tapping your band to get a return time, rather than a paper ticket. And judging by the "Standby" tickets that have recently been instituted at the A&E meet and greet and BOG lunch, Disney has also realized that guests are unhappy and changes need to be made.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xxjess10

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Wed August 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Planning ahead of time,, no more wasting time getting fastpasses
      Cons: Can't make new fastpasses from My Disney Experience, can't choose 3 major rides

       
      We were really impressed with the new system. As a family that LOVES to plan ahead and has been to WDW many times, we knew exactly what we wanted to do and had already picked our fastpasses out well in advance of the actual date to create them. On said date, we were a little disappointed to find that you can really only pick one major attraction to Fastpass, but we found that once we were in the park it didn't matter! With the time that we saved running from ride to ride to make new Fastpasses, we were able to spend more time running to rides to ride them instead. We did find, however, that after using our three fastpasses it was tedious to find a kiosk to make another one. There aren't many of these in the parks, and there was almost always a line. I know it is a work in progress, and I'm excited to see what Disney will come up with regarding this new system.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StacyLovesDisney

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Virginia
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sat July 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: inability to change attractions when plans change, waiting for more fast passes after 3 are used, sometimes I did NOT need to use fast pass because line was short--waste!!!

       
      I am a planner by nature and thought I would love this product. However, after using the FastPass+ system twice, I have decided this is not a great addition to Walt Disney World.


      Problem #1--My family got the flu as soon as we arrived to WDW--domino style. First son, then me. I had to spend a day and a half in the hotel room. This meant all of my fast passes for Tues. were unusable. I had to switch around my park days to accommodate a must do breakfast at Hollywood Studios. What did this mean?
      *Some attractions were already "sold out" because people get to choose what they want before arrival. We missed a few of our favs.
      *When the grandpa got the flu, grandma had to switch around her days to join my kids and me. She had to go wait at Guest Relations for them to change around her Fast Passes.
      *The grandma's fast pass times did not sync up with what we had scheduled.
      *All the fast passes that were wasted and unused on the days the family couldn't make it to the theme parks could have been used by others who were actually at the parks.


      Problem#2 I do not have a smart phone. I have to carry around return times on a piece of paper. Terrible on the day when I forgot my sheet of paper with the times.


      Problem #3 The portable iPads would not work on my MagicBand, so I was told I'd have to go to Guest Services at the FRONT of each park to have a Fast Pass modified.


      Problem #4 Waiting in Line to get a Fast Pass at a Kiosk. LONG LINES!!! I did the parks a couple of days w/ 2 kids, age 8 and age5-by myself w/o adult help. They couldn't last in a long line in the heat.


      Problem #5--My husband decided at the last minute to join us at MK on our last day (he had been golfing each day minus the sick days) When we got to MK NONE of our Fast Pass times would sync with our band. Here we go again. He could not ride any of those rides with us---one of which was Splash Mountain. Kids disappointed Daddy couldn't go with them.


      Problem #6--We finish our day in the parks around 2-3pm so kids can go enjoy resort pool. When one has to modify a fast pass the morning times or early afternoon times have been taken. So, we either didn't get to ride some of them. We had to leave Hollywood Studios in the early afternoon and return at 5:45 just so we could ride Toy Story Mania!


      Problem 7# --A couple of times we arrived to use our fast pass and there was only a 0-15 minute wait! For example, Character Greetings at Epcot for Mickey was a 5 minute wait! We could have used that fast pass for something else. Yet, more waste.


      Problem #8 -I was thinking about going to Disney at the last minute in a couple of weeks. (I've been so many times I don't need that much time for planning....) Then I remembered about the new fast pass system. Because guests can reserve their attractions so far in advance, I bet the fast passes have already been taken.


      Here is my suggestion....BRING BACK the old Fast Pass system and modify it so you can tap your Magic Band and get a fast pass return time on the spot. The old system let you plan SOOOO much better by actually not really letting people plan that much into the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DonLSJ

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): can choose 3 in advance
      Cons: everything else

       
      The old Fastpass system worked well. This new FP+ system is totally messed up. They SAY you can make a 4th FP+ pick after the using the first 3, but by that time the ones for major attractions are all taken. I had my 3 FP+ picks used by 1pm at MK on 6/18... then after a 45 min wait at a kiosk, none were left for the big rides. My kids are used to doing Splash Mt 3 or 4 times, it's their fav. Can't do that now. If they don't fix this, I doubt we will return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dailey71

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun June 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): no having to run for fast pass kiosks when park opens
      Cons: limited amount of fast passes, ride categories

       
      While it was nice to not have to make a mad dash for a fast pass kiosk as soon as the park gate opened, you were limited to which rides you could reserve them. The system also wouldn't let you get passes for only certain members of your group. It was all or nothing. We did find that if you let your pass time expire, you could then set up any fast pass you wanted to replace it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Time2Talk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat June 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenience
      Cons: Must use 3 fast passes before getting more from a kiosk in a disney park

       
      I just returned from WDW. I've been to WDW before and knew what rides I wanted to ride. I can't imagine how overwhelming it must have been to someone who didn't pre-book their major rides.


      I liked the convenience of the new system, but just wanted more passes. I wish the system would allow you to schedule fast passes in different parks not just one park at a time. By the time I used my 3 fast passes, it was too late to get more passes on the major rides. They were all gone for the day. You can get more fast passes after the 3 uses, but you need to get it from a kiosk in a Disney Park. Really don't understand why you can book more passes on the disney app or online after you use the first 3. Crazy! It would have been more convenient than finding a kiosk.


      I couldn't get fast passes to both Tower of Terror and Rockin' Roller Coaster at Hollywood Studios. Bummer! But, I rode Rockin' Roller Coaster as a single rider with no problem. In fact, I highly recommend riding Rockin' Roller Coaster and Expedition Everest (Animal Kingdom) as a single rider. It's much quicker and you can ride them numerous times in a row.


      The extra magic hours for resort guests helped with riding the major rides with the exception of the new Snow White mine ride in Magic Kingdom (the wait was as long as 180 minutes). I was never able to get another fast pass because they were gone so quickly. Also, the magic bands really made it quicker for the extra magic hours.


      I found that some stand-by lines were shorter in some rides because of the fast passes.


      There were a few times that my disney experience online indicated a different time than my disney experience app on my phone. When I showed the disney cast members, they overrode the system and let me in. Also, you will be let in 5 minutes before the start time on the fast pass.


      The cell phone app is very convenient and you can view wait times for rides. People were constantly engrossed in their cell phones while waiting for lines. Not a problem until the line wasn't moving because they didn't look up. It really made me want to pass them in line, especially when I waited for over an hour for a few rides. Even though I didn't pass anyone, I really don't think the folks would have even noticed.


      The magic bands are waterproof, however I had a black residue on my wrist after wearing it all day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Mon June 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Getting a little better, but not much
      Cons: Too many

       
      This system is still a failure in my opinion. The only positive is that it allows you to reserve three rides ahead of time. Even in July I was able to score up to 5 fastpasses before 3pm using the old paper system. Did it require some walking and park criss-crossing? Yes. The new concept of getting additional fastpasses once you have used the 3 is also flawed. I have to schedule my 3 fastpasses in the morning when you don't need them as much. If you don't get to the kiosk by 11am forget about getting fastpasses for any rides other than Small World or Figment. The line for Test Track's Fastpass was still 30+ minutes and stretched 200 feet passed the entrance both times we visited. It appears Disney is giving too many fastpasses for this ride. I am not a fan of spending all the $$$$ to stay on the resort and I still only get the same number of passes as non-resort guests. Disney resort guests should get more choices end of story. Deluxe resort guests should get even more. I am all for non-resort folks getting 1-2 or even none. There should be a benefit to paying the $$$$ to stay on resort. The only exception should be Annual Pass holders.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jserianni

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun June 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience and adaptability
      Cons: too restrictive

       
      Long before I heard about Faspass+ I always wondered why Disney did not have a more adaptable fastpass system. When I heard about fastpass+ I was excited and still am.


      I love that you can book fastpasses ahead of time whether that be at home or in the morning before you head to the park. I love that with the phone app you do not need to run to each ride to get the pass. I really love that you can pick your own time.


      What I do not like are the restrictions. I like to park-hop but you cannot get passes in multiple parks on the same day. I really do not like the category limitations. It is really bad in Hollywood Studios where you can only get one from the big three attractions (Rockin Roller Coaster, Tower of Terror and Toy Story Mainia). I get that Disney does not want the system bogged down with people hogging up passes for one ride, however, I do not see why the new system cannot put the same limitations as the old as it pertains to fastpasses. I have to imagine that Disney has the technology to limit fastpasses to one per attraction at a time and once you use a pass for a particular ride, you could immediately get another one in an available time slot. As far as logistics go I don't see why it can't be the same as the old system in that once a time-frame is booked up, you can no longer get a pass for it. This is a big deal to me because most of my Disney trips are when I chaperone trips our school makes. I know that the teens like to hit Tower of Terror and Rockin Roller Coaster over and over. I'd like to see that ability restored in fastpass+ I also do not like that you have to use all three passes before you can get a new one and it still has to be in the same park.


      Here is what I would like to see out of the fastpass+ system in the future. No limitations on parks. No ride category restrictions. The ability to always hold three passes at one time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jlnasl

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): none
      Cons: No more spontaneity

       
      First, I must say that I am a huge planner. I love to plan my vacations. That said, I found this system restrictive, rigid and left no time for a spontaneous moment. I hated using my phone constantly in the park. And to add to the frustration, the system was not always accessible. I do not want to plan my days 60 days in advance because the weather in Florida is so unpredicable. A rainy day can mean a drastic change of plans, which doesnt work out when fastpasses are no longer available. As for the new parkhopping feature, you must use your three fastpasses at one park, then go to the other park and make your selection for one additional fastpass at the kiosk. The kiosks had tremendous lines when we were at the park in late April, after spring break. I dont think it is possible to decide the night before which park you would like to visit. I will not visit again until the system is changed which makes me very sad. I love Disney and have been to the parks multiple times per year. I do not live anywhere near Florida and have visited 30 days per year. I cannot imagine the confusion and lack of fastpass selections in the summer when the thousands of tour groups descend on the theme parks. I am so disappointed in this system and eagerly await the day that it is revised.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      May3

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon May 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Conveniently computerized
      Cons: Lost the paper fastpasses!!!

       
      I just found out that the paper fastpasses are gone! I am so shocked that I am posting a review here. Normally, I just read the stuff here, I'm too lazy to write anything.


      Last fall, I was picked for testing the Magic Band. In all fairness, it worked nicely for getting into the hotel and into the park and buying stuff and all, replacing the Key to the World card in such a way that I no longer needed to take the Key out so often. Anything I wanted, scan the band, and everything worked instantly!


      So back then, I was quite happy. The three fastpass+ we got each day all worked nicely. It was all great until last night, when I found out that those three fastpass+ things are all that we get now. Oh, no!


      One thing I love about Disney is the fastpasses, being able to get them when I need them. I was OK with the three extra fastpass+, but thought they were kind of unnecessary. They eliminate walking, but I love walking in Disney World. That's why I go there. Plus I don't know when I might feel like doing a certain ride, depending on the kids' needs, my feelings, whether there is a parade walking by that we should stop to watch, etc. I don't want to sell myself into having to do Splash Mountain at 11 a.m. I'll do it when I feel like it.


      I love the feeling of the fastpass tickets in my hands. I love showing them to cast members, as if they are tickets to a special place. (They are!) I love the mad dash towards Toy Story Mania. It gives meaning to life at Disney World! And in case you think I'm some young, energetic dude, I'm not. I'm a middle aged mother of three sons. I spend most my days suffering from chronic fatigue, but in Disney World I have energy to spare! I push my youngest in the stroller as I speed across Hollywood studios while I holler at my teens to WALK FASTER!!!


      And now all that is gone, gone, GONE! It is a huge part of why Disney World is more wonderful than your average amusement, why I spend so much to go there every year!


      Please Disney, bring the paper fastpasses back!


      Now you have to get more fastpasses only after the first 3 are used. Yeah, what if your third fastpass is late in the night? Well, sucks for you! So you think, just get the three in the morning and hope for more openings later. But Disney says "Additional FastPass+ selections must be made at a FastPass+ kiosk within the same park as the FastPass+ experience that you wish to select." In other words, you can't do this on your iPhone; it has to be done at their kiosk. Guess how many kiosks there are compared to the number of guests, and how slow it is to use them compared to fastpass machines? And guess how many people are stuck with fastpasses they don't want (because you have to have 3) and therefore prevent others from getting them? And guess how slow it is to scan in the magic bands compared to just showing a handful of fastpass tickets to a cast member?


      In fact, even last fall I remember there being a big line in front of the Test Track fastpass+ lane because the scanning procedure was so slow. I didn't give it much thought then, but now I realize what a disaster that is going to be


      I only know of one way to handle this. Get up early and make it to the park before everybody else does. Kick my kids out of bed no matter how late they swam the night before.


      Here is what I think Disney should do: let everybody prebook one fastpass+ per day on the magic band. The rest of the fastpasses stay in ticket form so that we can have both. Then people can get the one ride they really have to do, and everything else is fair game.


      Or even just allow the deluxe guests to get one fastpass+ while the rest use the paper fastpasses. They pay such a horrendous amount for so little that they deserve it. There aren't that many deluxe guests, so they won't make a difference. The rest of the resort guests can enjoy the magic band, which is still very cool and better than offsite guests can enjoy. Offsite guests can get magic bands too, but they don't get to open their hotel rooms with it.


      I love the magic band, I think it's very nice the way I can do everything with it. But if I had to pick, I'd rather lose the magic band than lose the paper fastpasses. I can do the same thing the magic band does with the Key to the World card, just a little more clumsily. But without paper fastpasses, I can't even clumsily get fastpasses when I want them. That is a big step backwards, Disney.


      And I wish Disney had spend the billion dollars building new rides or improving on old ones, rather than installing fastpass+.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyStrong86

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu May 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): You get a nice bracelet
      Cons: EVERYTHING ELSE

       
      I really dislike the new fast pass program. I was unable to cancel remaining (unused) fastpasses when I only used 1 of the 3 fast passes. This is a waste.


      I was not able to use my Tower of Terror fast pass and 1 of the 2 fastpasses I got for Toy Story Mania which are two of the popular rides because I used my Space Mountain fastpasses in the morning.


      Not a huge fan of having to waste time on a computer screen to get more fast passes especially when you find out you can't get new ones...


      what a joke this is.. With Billions of Dollars, Disney could have easily built a new park in Florida or else where.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      WDWDad1974

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed May 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient, powerful, informative
      Cons: Sloooooowww...sometimes unreliable

       
      I was on the app for months beforehand--it is a great time suck at work, in line, on the subway. And I found the app very useful in the park. You can figure out dining menus when you need a quick meal, and changing FastPass+ selections is super easy (as long as times are available). We could really shift our plans quickly as circumstances required, and it really enhanced our experience.


      However, the app can be slow--it takes far too long to load new screens. And for one whole, rainy day at Epcot the whole system was down, which meant that we lost all of our FastPass+ selections because we could not change them. When that kind of thing happens, the thing seems pretty disastrous. Oh, and there's this glitch: sometimes when you think you're going to hit the "Change FastPass+ Time" link, the page suddenly changes to the calendar view, which will cause you to select a date two weeks in the future, and getting back just takes more time.


      That said, the power of the app--when it works--is impressive. You're missing out if you don't get it early, link all your magic bands and photo passes, and familiarize yourself with it so that you're not staring at your phone while your family runs ahead to Dumbo.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seymourmomof3

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Seymour, TN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun May 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selections
      Cons: Not enough

       
      Loved being able to select Fastpasses in advance to the trip. I am a planner and it made it nice to be able to plan the park day. It was also very nice to use the Disney mobile app and change selections while at park, because a few times there was no wait for the rides and no use wasting FP so that was a blessing. I know they have changed it now, 3 days after our vacation ended Sad boo Disney, but only being able to select 3 FP options a day was just not enough.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Heintd

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue April 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Planning ahead and no paper passes
      Cons: Need more options

       
      I LOVED THIS! Hated having to pull out my paper pass, run to machines, then back to the attractions. We don't Park hop since we love each park and spend the entire day there, neither do we leave to go swim, we stay all day - so for us - this was such a time saver. It would be great to have additional options - ie, with Epcot you had to choose either Test Track or Soarin....couldn't get both...so a bit more flexibility would be great. It was very easy to reschedule our selections with our phones during the day -
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.