Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » MyMagic+ (Next Gen; RFID Cards/Wristbands)

    fp.JPG


    fp.JPG
    supersize









    • Pin It


    • FastPass+

      • Reviews Views
        51 21841
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        55% of reviewers 4.5
      • Description: Program that allows you to select FastPass Attractions and Entertainment before you leave home AND make changes on the go. You are able to reserve firework and parade viewing areas, Character Greetings and more. Certain restrictions apply.


  • Author
    • Heintd

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue April 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Planning ahead and no paper passes
      Cons: Need more options

       
      I LOVED THIS! Hated having to pull out my paper pass, run to machines, then back to the attractions. We don't Park hop since we love each park and spend the entire day there, neither do we leave to go swim, we stay all day - so for us - this was such a time saver. It would be great to have additional options - ie, with Epcot you had to choose either Test Track or Soarin....couldn't get both...so a bit more flexibility would be great. It was very easy to reschedule our selections with our phones during the day -
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Sometimes easy to make changes, diminished waits
      Cons: Tier system, difficult to make changes depending on time of day or park

       
      Some aspects of FP+ worked great; some did not. My annual pass voucher was purchased by a CM friend and for whatever reason, the voucher couldn't be linked in to MDE. Because of that, I was unable to make FP+ choices until the first day in the parks when I exchanged the voucher. However, two of my friends purchased convention tickets and I was able to link them up and get their FP+ with no problem. My CM friend can't link his admission in and has to wait until each day in the park if he wants to use it.


      Our first day was at Epcot and we didn't get there until 1:45pm. I went to a FP+ kiosk and they only had FPs available for Captain EO at that point. Who needs a FP for that? But I kept checking back on the app and eventually was able to get a Test Track FP for the same time as my friends.


      We went to DHS one night and I had made FP choices for Rock 'n' Roller Coaster and Tower of Terror. When my friend went to a kiosk to make his choices, we couldn't get him those two as they were standby only. He was able to get one for Star Tours, but I was not; it kept saying it wasn't available. We ended up doing single riders at RNR and I used my FP by myself at ToT.


      For my last day at Magic Kingdom I really wanted a FP for Festival of Fantasy, but it was standby only, and actually ended up being canceled anyway due to rain. That day was pretty easy to make adjustments in the MDE app because many people were leaving the park because of the storm.


      Clearly there are still some kinks to work out but on the whole this system worked mostly well for me. I still don't like being limited to three per day and in only one park, but I'm learning to live with it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 74
      Review Date: Sat March 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): can choose ahead of time
      Cons: not enough big rides to choose from

       
      I only rated this a 3 because I feel that the prices you pay to go to the parks is high and only allowing 1 or maybe 2 "big name rides" to be chosen per day at only 1 park isn't what we expect from our beloved Disney. It eliminates the need to purchase Park Hopper tickets. Maybe Disney can tweak this product to better suit it's guests. Even offering Resort guests more options would be great. I realize this is a new product, so I hope by our next trip to the World, they have made it a little friendlier. Why was the old system put to rest? Day visitors are really paying the price because they are wasting precious park time standing in line to obtain passes. Not everyone wants to be on their smart phones and computers all the time. We go to Disney because we want to create memories, not be glued to our smart phones. Hopefully Disney will modify the Fast Pass + .
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisJ

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu March 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): NONE
      Cons: EVERYTHING!

       
      I have been coming to Disney with my family every year, sometimes twice a year for a long time. I have never been so completely disappointed as I am with fast pass+. Disney is controlling the way we vacation and that is not acceptable!
      First we have to make fast pass reservations 60 days in advance!...and that is if you stay on site! How can anyone plan their days 60 days in advance when the weather there is so unpredictable??? I liked getting to the parks and getting my fast passes as I needed them.
      Then you get not so great fast pass times. If you are someone who likes to go to parks early then back to the hotel to use the pool, that gets ruined.
      Second, during the testing phase, you were able to get fast passes to the rides you wanted and now you CAN'T! In HS and EPCOT, there is a "one or the other"
      Click here to see this users profile  
      snovak

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: wisconsin
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): having a fast pass before you leave home
      Cons:

       
      I liked the old way of obtaining fast passes, hopefully there will be some changes to the new system. What I observed is if you decide at the last minute to go to Disney ( march 13th - 18th ) your fast pass times are not that great. That happened to us. We decided at the last minute to go, and our options were either very early morning or late in the day, and then our choices were not at close together times so we spent a lot of time roaming all over the park just to get our fast passes in. Then you have to have dining reservations and you want to make sure there is time for both. I don't understand why getting a park hopper is worth the extra cost anymore because you can only get fast passes for one park per day, and when it comes time to picking out your passes your choice is usually one popular ride and 2 others that usually don't have that long of a wait time to begin with. Before, all you had to worry about was making dining reservations, now it's fast pass too and I think the spontaneity is gone. I think Disney needs to revamp their method.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kg25

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun March 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Planning ahead, changing

       
      I do not like having to plan so far in advance. If you wait times can be filled.. Way too many rides have fast passes even the ones that are usually not crowded....the old way seemed like it helped the standby lines , but all it's done this way is made the standby line longer and the fast pass line is even a long wait. I feel like the way the fast passes are now is just a way to track where people are...plus the more people stand in line the less time they are buying things...the purpose was to get people in and out quicker and in my opinion that is not what is happening.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lw

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun March 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Some good
      Cons: Some bad

       
      Technically this is a great tool for a Disney vacation. A positive aspect was when we were at AK we were able to move a ride earlier in the day as it was more suitable as our day unfolded.
      However, the wifi can be spotty. We found if 3 adults were on the my experience(all linked) then they would not show up on the other my experience screens. For example, my husband was looking at dining reservations when I was. It showed 10 in our party of eleven and his name was not on my screen. It seemed to be a common problem amongst our group.
      It does have promise. Once the kinks are worked out.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      miketp

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sat March 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ability to preschedule
      Cons: Limited to one park, no benefit for staying at Deluxe or buying park hopper tickets

       
      It's nice to get fast passes without running through park at opening but being limited to one park ruins the benefit of buying Park Hopper tickets. You won't be able to get on popular rides at the 2nd park you visit. We were there in October and most Fastpasses were gone early in the day. So even though Disney allows you to change choices there were not many options. We are going again this summer and staying at Yacht which makes EPCOT and Hollywood convenient but not as accessible as when we could get passes in both parks. There should be a benefit for staying onsite.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jrnevins

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed March 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Guaranteed 3 rides per day
      Cons: Too planned

       
      We have visited WDW 5x in in the last 5 years with 1-3 children ranging from 8 months to 7 1/2 years old. We mastered the fast pass & loved it. It made visiting the parks manageable with littles. We never had to wait in line for any ride more than 15-20 mins. We got fast passes for all the high wait times averaging 1 every hour or two we were in the park whichever park. The new system gives you only 3 fast passes per day. With the old system, we got a lot more. You also only can use them at one park. For Park Hoppers this is not a plus. The previous system allowed you to go with the flow of your day not schedule everything before you leave home. Unfortunately we missed a lot of ours due to delayed nap or travel time. Supposedly there is the option to change them but when we tried there was no fast passes left. Not flexible. Scheduling around dining reservations is enough planning. I don't want to have to plan around rides too. The old fast pass system worked very well. Why change it? When we asked why it was changed, we were told because some people like us mastered it but others never used the system and WDW wanted to make it fair/equal. I don't understand that. I think a nice compromise would be to allow guests to choose 3 per day but continue the one/hour for those who can master it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmc55

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Tue March 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Minimum choices/only 1 park per day/no real bevations at popular restaurantsnefits

       
      OK it is nice to pre-select before arriving BUT! If it has no benefit once you arrive what good is it? At the AK Mickey Meet&Greet we waited LONGER than the standby line. At Illuminations FASTPASS+ only got us a standing view with 1000 other FP+ users - and the line to use FP+ began forming at 8:10p. At Fantasmic there was absolutely no difference between the FP+ area and standby. When making you selections there is limited times available. The worst thing is you only get one choice for the most popular attractions. The old Fastpass was 100x better. Disney has developed FP+ for their benefit If they expand it to all four per day that might change my mind. Or for Dinner reservations at popular restaurants. Also you are continually checking on your smartphone to make sure you can follow the designated times. I would give FP+ a zero if it were on the scale. At Star Tours the FP+ line was longer than standby.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slapps

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Mon February 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): O.k. when it works
      Cons: Did not work most of the time and forced you to adhere to a schedule

       
      My family and friends stayed at Old Key West Grand villas. We had 13 in our villa. We stayed during the Christmas holiday, December 18th through December 28th, this was our 10th time we stayed for the holidays in the past 11 years. We did not find the fast pass plus to be a great, or any improvement at all over the regular fast pass. We found that it took a lot of the fun out of our trip. We had a lot of people in our party so we changed plans on occasion. When this happened we found it difficult to change the passes. We tried at guest services and the kiosks located inside the parks. The site was very slow (My Disney Experience) if you could get on at all. We also found that it was a pain to hop and use the passes. We think, with the price it costs to go to Disney, that you should be able to fast pass in different parks. Even if Disney wants you to have only 3 passes, you should be able to use them in multiple parks. We also did not like the tiering system where you could only do certain rides in certain parks. I.E. Epcot. You could not do Test Track and Soarin together. I think there needs to be modifications made.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kmb261

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Cleveland, ohio
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed February 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Planned fast passes, less running around at parks
      Cons: None

       
      I think the new fastpass+ system is great. My family of 4 goes to Disneyworld at least once a year. The last few years, we have stayed at YC. I am a big planner and love this new planning tool. Being able to set my fast passes before we leave is priceless. I know I will get on the major attractions before I get to the park.


      We were able to get to HS at 10 am and still have a fastpass to Toy Story Mania. Since that ride opened, if you were not there at park opening and ready to do a 40 yard dash you did not get a fastpass. People would be pushing and shoving just for a fastpass in the past. At every park, we got fast passes for good times that we were never able to get before. Some days we did go to the parks at rope drop and were able to enjoy many rides without a wait. Then go to our FP later in the day. I did not have to run and get a fastpass because I already had them all planned.


      I changed attractions and times a few times without issues with the MDE app. 3 passes are plenty. Planning our FP around dining reservations was also a added bonus. We were able to have a much more relaxing trip and enjoy the parks. We don't park hop so it is not an issue for us. One morning, we decided to sleep in and I was able to change all our FP at Epcot to later in the day without any problem.


      After we checked in at our resort, I got an Email to participate in a BOG lunch FP+ test. We were able to pick the time and order our food from my phone. At our scheduled time, we were able to walk right by the huge line and have lunch. We were done with lunch and taking pictures in less then an hour. Some people in line were waiting almost an hour just to get in. We did not have to replace a ride FP+ to the FP+ at BOG. I think Disney will continue to add perks like this to on property resort guests.


      I think everyone just needs to let Disney work their magic and will love the new system. Something new always takes time to adjust. Having my room key, FP+, dining ressies and charge card on a wrist band was also an added bonus. No more having to keep track of everyone's KTTW cards and FP in my pocket. Disney does not charge for FP as some other parks do. I would like it if Disney let me choose more FP for staying on Disney property, but I am also fine with the 3 they currently allow.


      My family thought this was the best trip because we never felt rushed. The FP+ system was the biggest reason for this.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TuckMan

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue February 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Can Pre-Arrange via web or use app, Automatic free pass if ride is down.
      Cons: Limit of three a day and at only one park

       
      Just got back from President's Day weekend. Everyone was using this new system. We stayed on property and it was a big advantage to pre-arrange passes before we arrived, but I hate having to lock in what I am doing before I arrive. I like to make decisions on the fly at the park, but this forces me to commit to one park and a schedule before I arrive.


      The fact that you are limited to three a day and at only one park really limits park hopping. I tried to reschedule one pass but the system crashed and my pass was listed as "Unknown". On busy days, if you do try to reschedule, good luck as most everything is already booked out.


      I feel for the people who were staying off-site. They had long lines to book their passes at kiosks, and those lines seemed to be long all day.


      Speaking of lines, what was a surprise is that the fastpass return line for attractions was really long. They even had a cast member holding a sign so people could see where the end of the line was. The problem was that everyone had to match their bands or cards with the sensors to get in the fastpass line. Many people were having trouble matching the mickey on their wristband with the mickey on the sensor, or were waving their bands instead of holding them to the sensor, slowing down the line.


      There was one good thing however. We had a fastpass for the Rockin' Rollercoaster and that ride was shut down during our fastpass time. We got an e-mail and a note on our app that we got an unrestricted one-time fastpass for any ride that day, only at Hollywood Studios though.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Villeguy

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri February 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Too Many to Mention

       
      What are the powers that be in Disney thinking! We were able to experience the Fastpass+ on our visit in October 2013. It was horrible then and now they are making it even worse. I have been monitoring the wait times on My Disney Experience app, what I have noticed is the standby wait times have increased approximately 15 to 30 minutes. We have had the pleasure of visiting the World in February a few times in the past. The wait times then were non-existence. I cannot imagine what the wait times are going to be during the busy season. My spouse and I have been true Disneyworld fans from New Jersey, visiting the World once a year since 1991. As I mentioned earlier we had a terrifying experience using the Magic Bands last year. When I mentioned the additional changes to the Fastpass+ system i.e. choosing one Fastpass from Category A and two from Category B (noting that Category B are the rides that you really do not need a Fastpass to ride), my spouse turned to me and said “Maybe we should think about vacationing somewhere else this year.” I felt as if I had the wind knocked out of me. I never thought in a million years I would hear those words come out of his mouth. Then to make things even worse, while watching television we witnessed a Disneyworld commercial praising the Fastpass+ and Magic Band systems. Now every time that commercial comes on my spouse can’t change the channel fast enough. I pray changes are made to the system or the old Fast Pass system is restored, because I don’t think I can change my spouse’s mind and I will truly miss my Disney family. Somehow I don’t think Vegas will be the same.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dksyooper

      Registered: February 2011
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon February 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Went on fewer rides, waited in more lines

       
      Disney made a terrible decision with the new fast pass system. Although my family and I were able to easily find a kiosk (I recommend going to the back of the park to avoid lines), we were very limited as to which rides we could get a pass for, and for which times. Consequently, we enjoyed fewer attractions on this trip and waited in longer lines. On top of everything else, we constantly had to retrieve our Disney ticket in order to scan it on the fast pass machine. The new system makes no sense, and it only benefits Disney in the long run (they are limiting how many rides you will be able to enjoy). We will not return to Disney again until they either return to the old system, or eliminate fast passes altogether. If you're going to use the new fast passes, I recommend reserving three attractions during the afternoon when lines are the longest, then visit as many attractions during the morning that you can.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.