Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ramonaromano

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri November 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      On October 5 went to downtown Disney. Took
      boat over to Westside to check out the limited time magic chalk art festival. It was great!
      Some drawing were 3-D, all were very colorful
      and amazing. What a neat surprise. They were
      all Disney characters on the sidewalks next to
      House of Blues and on the wall by theater and
      old AMC entrance. Luckily, I checked the
      Internet before we left home or I never would
      have found it since the event wasn't really
      posted anywhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kazcostello76

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue November 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Talking Mickey is AMAZING!
      Cons: Takes longer, FP definitely is the way to go here

       
      I attended the Not So Scary Party on 10/22 (had a great time, will do a separate review). On the way out, I noticed the wait for Town Sq Mickey was only 10 minutes so I got in line. When the door to Mickey's room opened, I realized it was the new talking Mickey. I had just seen a report on the Orlando news the day before but hadn't known it would be in the parks that quickly! Talking Mickey was just amazing, even to the adults in the room. When it was my turn, Mickey looked at me & said, "you made it! Great to see you, pal!" I have to be honest, it felt a bit odd to be trying to carry on a conversation with him, LOL. He asked where I was from, & when I said Boston, he said "I meet the nicest people from Massachusetts." We got a few photopass pictures & as I was leaving he said "thanks for visiting me". When I was leaving, I asked a cast member when they started it, and that's when I was told he was limited time magic for now. Not sure if talking Mickey will become a permanent fixture at Town Square, but if he does, definitely check him out. It's awesome to see him in action.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JazzyPatti

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed October 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Entertaining and good for all ages
      Cons: Getting food was disruptive

       
      The Haunted Horseshoe (at the Diamond Horseshoe) was thoroughly entertaining. The performers were all at the top of their game and interacted with the guests throughout the show -- everyone from adults to kids got involved. The cornball jokes were great fun, the singing was awesome (I really loved the harmonies of the Cadaver Dans) and the magician (Abner Cadaver) was hilarious!


      The only drawback was that if you didn't see the snack/food bar prior to sitting down, it felt disruptive to get up to get something since the performers were walking amongst us (and I wanted to try one of the seasonal cupcakes).


      Highly recommend.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good idea
      Cons: poor execution

       
      Attended Unleash the Villains on Sept 13. I was excited for this event when I first heard of it last year - like so many other people. We usually go to WDW in Sept, so it fit in with our vacation plans. As I read other Disney websites, I started to wonder if we should go to another park that day and avoid LTM all togheter. (We got stuck in the mess that was Leap Day 2012.) But, in the end decided to just go to HS that morning and see what happened.


      The crowds started to build that afternoon. i saw people lined up outside a store and asked what they were doing. I hadn't been able to find any merchandise earlier at other stores. Evidently, it was only at one store.


      We had dinner at Brown Derby so at least we had that covered. Heard of people having to wait over an hour at CS restaurants. But by the time we got out of dinner, there was no "dance party". It was just a mob of people surrounding the hat. My husband tried to see where the villains were doing meet and greets and found the lines to be 4-5 across with little direction from CMs.


      It really wasn't a family friendly event. There were villain fans and there were 20 somethings that were just there to "party". Not a place for my 4 young kids.


      We had FPs to RR and ToT but could barely make it down Sunset Blvd. We decided to just cut our loses and get out of there. Didn't realize until later that people had been on buses for hours trying to get to HS that night. Disney clearly underestimated the popularity of this event. I don't know why I just don't learn my lesson and stay away from these events that don't have separate hard tickets....sigh.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      there7777

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Sulphur Springs, Texas
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue September 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful idea with villan event
      Cons: disney unprepared for event on every aspect

       
      My daughter and I were so excited to plan and go to this event until we arrived at the event. I have never seen Disney so ill prepared for an event!!! The special merchandise for the event didn't event last a couple hours in to the event and you had to wait in line to get in to the store that had it!! There was so many people try to attend the event, it was difficult to move!!! It was a limited time magic event all right-The magic ended when we entered the front gate. It was a real disappointment for me!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tampa Mom

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat September 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Live shows, spectacular fireworks
      Cons: Crowds, crowds, crowds! Also, tiny amount of event merchandise

       
      My family and I went to the Friday the Thirteenth Unleash the Villains event at the Hollywood Studios. It was a bit of a mixed bag.


      The music from the stage set up in front of the Sorcerer Hat was fun, and the villain 'musicians' were a hoot. We decided not to fight the lines for the meet and greets, but there were quite a few villains out, which was good. And the fireworks were simply amazing. They were as good as the Magic Kingdom Halloween party.


      However, there were problems with the event due to Disney seriously underestimating the attraction of a villain night. The event items, which were limited to a shirt and hat, vanished before we even saw them. Even cast members told us they were gone so fast they never saw what they looked like. But there was no event pin or any other item.


      The crowd problems continued. Since it was not a hard ticket event, we expected that since the park was supposed to open until 1 AM, it would actually be open until 1 AM. But they started closing rides around 9 PM, and all the restaurants were open no later than 10PM. They set up ropes to limit where you could go, so the massive crowds were squashed into an ever-smaller area. Since they didn't expect so many people, there were no additional snack carts. Lines just to get a bottled drink were huge. Lines for beer or other alcoholic drinks were even longer, which in a way is good since it cut down on the drunks, but irritated many people.


      I cannot confirm it, but the rumor was that they had to close admission, or limit it to only let people in as others left. I know for a fact that a friend of my husband was stuck on a Disney bus from her hotel for over two hours because traffic was so jammed. And I have never seen cast members standing in store doorways to limit how many people could come it. This happened at the Villains in Vogue store, and the candy store next door. Having to stand in line just to shop??? Around midnight we left, no longer able to stand the crush of bodies.


      Despite all this, we had fun. My family came away exhausted but smiling. And the reason I said yes, I would recommend it is that hopefully now that Disney has proof that an event like this will be strongly attended, they will be better prepared. This event would have gone much better if they had taken the steps to deal with the situation beforehand.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jjcscanlon

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sat August 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: hype about nothing

       
      I think Limited Time Magic sounded good in theory, but is being poorly executed. We were in Disney for 9 days and the only "magic" they were promoting was a special Monsters Inc Sundae you could purchase at the Ice Cream Shop at Plaza Restaurant. I feel the "magic" should be more organic than paying for "extra" magic beyond the top dollar I'm already paying to be in the "everlasting" magic. In this case, you really had to go out of your to search down what the limited magic was. I still think Wishes is pretty magical - more so than some ice cream...and I didn't have to pay more for it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Wed July 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fireworks!
      Cons: None

       
      My family of 6 attended the Limited Time Magic 4th of July celebration. We were visiting WDW from July 1st through the 6th.
      We had the privledge of watching the fireworks on the 4th of July from the dock of the Grand Floridian. The view was amazing! The fireworks were shot off from 3 separate locations, giving its audience a 360 degree view of the show. The fireworks were in sync with patriotic music that could be heard from the speakers around the dock area.
      This was honestly the best fireworks show I have ever seen in my whole life, and I'm 43 years old. Great job Disney!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dizney2

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Disney constantly outdoes themself!
      Cons:

       
      We just returned from Disneyworld in Florida as we had planned our trip in order to experience the 4th of July for the first time. The fireworks left myself and my family speechless. We found that the best view (since they are 360 degrees) happened to be on the bridge connecting the Contemporary to Bay Lake Towers. The music is piped in, but was very low in volume.


      We also were lucky enough to attend the block party dedicated to the 4th behind Main Street which had DJs, food, and bars set up for extra viewing. This was great as well, not to mention a way to get from Tomorrow Land to the front of the park without walking through a heavy stream of people.


      The Celebrate the Magic light show on the castle was phenomenal! I am still trying to figure out...How do they do that?!?! My family seriously hopes that Disney continues this show for when we return next summer.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cortlandteacher

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): AMAZING!
      Cons: crowded

       
      We attended the Independence week fireworks show on Monday night. It was AMAZING! Disney's "Concert in the Sky" featured numerous patriotic songs with perfectly timed fireworks and ended in classic Disney style with a stunning display of red, white and blue filling the sky.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MarLL55

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Ohio
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed March 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): To see things that was in the past
      Cons: none

       
      The week we were at WDW we got to see the Dapper Dans and the Main Street Musical Trolley Car. My first visit to WDW was in 1971 it was great to see the horse drawn trolley car-brought back memories
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pinsrmyfun
      Lisha

      Registered: June 2007
      Location: San Francisco
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue March 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Limited Time Magic _ Disneyland Resort
      Cons:

       
      Went to see the Annual Passholder show of the Golden Horseshoe Review. It was WONDERFUL!!!
      Yes it was a short show (20mins) but that's how it was originally. Some of the Can-Can dancers were daughters of the original dancers. It was great to be able to take my 20-something year old Daughter, who never had a chance to see it originally. - We received a CD/Mug... The memories were the best part.


      Loved IT!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Tue February 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): meeting the princes
      Cons: not enough information or notice of LTM offerings

       
      We happened to have a vacation planned that overlapped two different LTM weeks. The first week we got soup. We checked in after the Super Bowl parade, so all we got was soup at Cosmic Rays. I didn't much care for it and it really was kind of funny that was our LTM.


      The next week was True Love Week. We were excited to meet the princes. However, apart from that and getting a picture in front of Cinderella's carriage, I don't know what else was going on. There is not enough notice of special events and the information is very limited. I didn't see much for special merchandise in the stores, other than a Valentine pin (and by Tuesday there were only a few left).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jenbort

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue January 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons:

       
      We arrived January 9th. I couldn't find anything on the blog about what the "magic" was that week so I was excited that it would be a surprise for us. We asked everyone, from the check-in desk to people at all the parks, and no one even knew what I was talking about. As far as I can tell there was no extra magic that week. We were really disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Tue January 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rare character meets
      Cons: Only a few days notice

       
      I had been waiting for Long Lost Friends week since October 2012, when Disney first teased at the possibility. When I heard rumors that is was going to happen about 5 days ahead of the official announcement, I made resort reservations. Being a pass holder and living within driving distance, I could do this. I held my breath waiting for the official announcement which was made only three days before my visit. I feared that the characters might be some I had already met. Fortunately, I was not disappointed. There were 15 Long Lost characters out for meets and we had never met 11 of them. There were plenty of locals and character hunters in line, but I'm sure many people just can't make a last minute trip. I'll probably try to make future last minute trips for limited time magic but it sure would be nice if Disney gave a schedule a little further out.
      On another note, the lines moved quickly and we met all 5 sets within an hour and a half. Only other complaint is that we felt a bit rushed with characters. It was "take a pic and go." I was ok with not getting autographs but felt like they didn't want the kids to interact with the characters at all.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.