Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Ladies4Disney

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Wed April 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons: None

       
      We thought we would try this restaurant during our vacation. This was a wonderful dining experience. Service was outstanding, the food was delicious, and the decor was beautiful. This restaurant was quiet compared to many of the other restaurants we experienced. Now it is one of our favorite restaurants!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 62
      Review Date: Sun December 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service and food
      Cons: None

       
      My wife and I enjoyed a very romantic dinner at Monsieur Paul's. We had a window seat with a good view of Epcot in the evening. Also we arrived an hour before our ADR, but were quickly seated. We both had the Prix Fixe Menu with the rib-eye for two and it was excellent. The service that we received there from our young waitress was superb.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      anicolausk

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue November 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere, service
      Cons: None

       
      Easily the best meal we had on our entire trip. Though the food and drinks are expensive, they are totally worth it.


      My wife and I enjoyed the entire scope of our meal and cannot recommend it enough to friends and family.


      Any trip to Disney without dinner here is wasteful.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BirdsOfPreyDave

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue July 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food, the atmosphere, the service, special night out
      Cons: Les bill

       
      This was our first visit since the conversion from Bistro de Paris, where we had eaten once before for a F&W special event. We arrived for our 7:15 reservation, and only had to wait a few minutes before being shown upstairs to our table. We were a party of two, and were seated one table away from a window. Our table was a little close to the couple next to us, but all worked out as we had a lovely conversation with them at one point in the evening. (She heard me mention the Tables in Wonderland card to the waiter, and wanted to know what it was.)


      I have to admit that I would not have realized the room had been decorated from our last visit if I hadn't read it online. Very classy and tasteful, yet nothing distinctive. I notice in several reviews people discuss paper placemats. Linen tablecloths were in use, last night.


      An amuse bouche was presented, with the chef's compliments, while we were reviewing the menu. It was a small cheese puff. The flavor of the cheese was nice, without being overpowering.


      I knew we wanted a bottle of wine with dinner, but have to admit to being very intimidated by the wine list. (One mis-step and I'd be out a mortgage payment.) The waiter asked us about our preferences, and suggested a bottle of G. Blanchet Pouilly Fume 2010, a Sauvignon blanc and Chenin blanc in the $50 range. While neither of us fancy ourselves to know anything about wine, we both enjoyed this one.


      From the bread bowl, we chose a bacon and mushroom roll and a dried tomato and pesto bread. The tomato and pesto bread certainly lived up to its name, with very bold flavors of each of these ingredients. Its green color and whimsical design also added to the experience. The mushroom and bacon roll, while quite tasty, had a very subtle flavor. I'm not sure I could have discerned the ingredients had I not had them described to me. My Americanized palette found the unsalted butter served with these breads to be too bland. A little crunchy sea salt on top would have made a world of difference for me.


      Both of us chose the prix fixe menu without hesitation.


      The appetizer, a lightly-cooked piece of salmon, let us know that we were in for a real treat with this meal. I'm usually not a big fan of salmon, but this dish was simply delicious. The salmon wasn't fishy in the slightest. It flaked apart, and had the slightest crunch from the sear that gave it the perfect texture. We weren't able to identify the herb, but a small serving of a pesto-like condiment accompanied the salmon, and really enhanced the flavor. We both enjoyed the crisp cucumber salad, which had a slight hint of dill, and was served inside a little edible cup, which I believe was a hollowed-out roasted potato. This was covered with a blini.


      For the next course, I ordered the Maine lobster with sauteed mushrooms, mollet quail egg, and creamy black truffle bouillon. The flavor profile of this dish was exquisite! The lobster (several large pieces that included an entire claw) was sweet and perfectly cooked. The mushrooms and broth screamed with flavor. It was all I could do not to ask for more bread to get every last drop. (Not to worry, I didn’t lose my couth until later in the meal.) My friend ordered the Soupe aux truffes V.G.E., a beef broth with oxtail, vegetables, black winter truffle and covered with a puff pastry. The pastry was huge and absolutely beautiful. It was a shame to have to punch it in with a spoon to get to the soup. This dish, too, had a wonderful flavor. We had a spirited and good-natured argument that the other had ordered the wrong item from the menu. Discrete spoons across the table proved that both were superb.


      We both decided on the lamb. While this worked out well for us because it was what we each wanted, I can see that it might be disappointing for other couples that the rib-eye portion is for two. This forces you both to have the same protein for this third course.


      I can’t think of descriptive word that would do justice to how wonderful the lamb was. I’ve never had it cooked so perfectly, or with such flavor. There wasn’t even a hint of gaminess. The dish was served as individual ribs which had, of course, been frenched. Each plate had a generous portion size, with four ribs each, and a wonderful little potato and onion dish. The herb crust on the ribs was predominantly mint leaves, and was heavenly with the lamb. (I’ll never go back to mint jelly again when I cook lamb at home.) On the side was a small bowl of beans (fava, perhaps) with ham. This had a hearty flavor from the tomato-based sauce, and a nice crunch of slightly au dente beans. I mentioned earlier that I’d lost my couth at one point during this meal. As much as I was trying to mind my manners in such an upscale restaurant, I couldn’t stop myself from picking up each rib and giving the bone a little gnaw. It was just that good!


      Then came dessert. Oh my goodness, how does one decide when there are so many wonderful choices? I finally picked the Le Mille-feuille, a puff pastry filled with pastry cream and topped with a light lemon cream. It was served with fresh berries and strawberry sorbet. When I read the term pastry cream, I was expecting something along the lines of an éclair filling. This had a much different texture and taste. There was nothing about this plate that wasn’t suited for a sugar addict, and the plate that was later picked up was quite cleaned. My friend opted for Le Moelleux. This was a warm chocolate and almond cake with a hazelnut crust. When he cut into it with his fork, a wonderful raspberry coulis ran out from the center to cover the plate. It was accompanied by a quenelle of hazelnut ice cream. His plate was cleaned too, and there were smiles all around.


      We left well contented, and were just in time to view Wishes – the perfect way to end such a lovely evening. Our food was indescribably wonderful, the service was spot-on, and although the check is the highest we’ve seen during the entire vacation even with the $49 Tables in Wonderland discount, we felt we got a wonderful value for what we spent.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Brygida

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed July 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Could use more menu item choices

       
      We ate here twice in June 2013, it was that good!


      The meal started with a small treat from the chef, a cheese puff that was delicious. I had hot decaf tea with my meal and we had the bottled Evian water - both top shelf. Once we ordered, the waiter called over the bread service waitress. There were several breads we could try - a baguette, a multigrain roll, mushroom rolls, and many other selections. Every one we tried was delicious. I ordered the salad with pears and pecans that was absolutely phenomenal. I had asked for it without cheese and the French mustard dressing was soooooooo good. The pears were crisp and sweet - very much like a dessert. For entree, I had the tenderloin with mushroom top - it is so hard to get a great well done steak, but this was perfect! The entree came with a cappuccino mashed potatoes - which was a layer of mashed potatoes, topped with a truffle foam - um! yum! For dessert, I had to have the meringue with various creams and raspberry sorbet - OMG - so good! Arguably, the BEST dessert on WDW property. My son had the kids sirloin and fries. I can't even remember what my husband had, but I know he thought it was delicious and spot-on-French, having lived in France for a few years. He also thought the wine pairing was phenomenal! Thank God for Tables In Wonderland taking 20% off this meal! In response to prior posts, this restaurant was completely quiet, all guests talking in table whispers - even though there were several young kids - impeccably behaved.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alfy

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed March 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, food
      Cons: Confused ambiance

       
      We were greeted at the downstairs door and quickly shown to our table by a hostess. There seemed to be a small army of helpful waitstaff on hand. Very professional, France-like service. The waitress explained a couple of menu items for us, discussed the wine list and even tolerated my fractured French. Items were served quickly and were very attractively prepared. An amuse-bouche was served alongside excellent French bread before the meal. The duck was an unusual presentation, and very good, cooked exactly right. There is a deluxe prix fixe menu for $89 pp which we did not try.


      Dress code mentioned during the reservation process was "business casual." Apparently T-shirts and flip-flops qualify here as business casual, but I suppose it's WDW policy to not turn away any diner. Also, the use of paper place mats instead of cloths seems a little incongruous given the atmosphere. There were a few well-behaved children during our visit, and the noise level, while not quiet, was better than at most WDW restaurants.


      Cost for two people -- two appetizers, two entrees, dessert and a bottle of wine, about $225. Thanks, WDW, for Tables in Wonderland!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      eeh25

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Orlando, FL
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon March 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Very Noisy

       
      My wife and I dined at Monsieur Paul, at Epcot, the new French restaurant. It was certainly an interesting (and disappointing) dining experience as much has changed from the previous "format". The tables were rearranged so that tables for 4, 6 or 8 were positioned along the windows. Tables for two were positioned along a row of tables at the rear wall of the restaurant. We were seated at one of these very tight tables literally sitting elbow to elbow with adjacent diners. Also, unfortunately, there were approximately 8 families with very young children (ages infant to about 3 yrs old) seated across from us. The children (I counted about 14 of them) were extremely noisy all evening. They were crying, yelling, banging on the table and more crying throughout. I complained to the maitre d and all he offered were his apologies. I requested to be seated elsewhere, which fell on "deaf ears",

      We noticed a more casual ambience when we entered the restaurant. There are no more tablecloths, only paper place mats, no flowers or decorations. The menu does not reflect a casual ambience as all entrees "hovered" around $42. The menu offerings were brief as compared to previous. My wife and I selected the red snapper. The "snapper" was quite delicious, however, when you order snapper, that is all that is on the plate (a 4" x 4" square filet). The sauce that accompanied the snapper was quite good. The cost for two dinners, two small dinner salads, one glass of wine, one Perrier was $145.00 (no coffee, no dessert). The service was ok and not great. We could not hear our server, as the adjacent noise from the small children and overall noise in the restaurant made it impossible to carry on any kind of conversation.

      Needless to say, we will not be returning to this restaurant.

      Monsieur Paul needs to change their name to Monsieur NO NO!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slamborne

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Rockledge, FL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Thu January 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): you are not rushed through your meal. great service
      Cons: the elevator

       
      I made my reservation for Bistro de Paris, and it was automatically changed to Monsieur Paul. We were seated quickly (by the window, which was nice) and the service was great. The prices are high, but the food was delicious. We had the scallops and my parents had the beef. i thought the best part of dinner was the orange souffle. It took some time to come out, which gave us time to chat and relax,and was excellent.
      The only downfall was that if one of your party members needs an elevator, it only seats one person and takes what seems like an eternity to go up and down.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      EK4636

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat December 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, cast members, location
      Cons: Noise

       
      We visited Monsieur Paul about a week after it reopened. The food was great. The Homard du Maine a l'Armoricaine (lobster with bisque reduction) was amazing. We had the roasted duck breast for dinner. The duck was done beautifully with a hint of Asian spices. I highly recommend the warm chocolate and almond cake for dessert...it was a great ending to the meal.


      The only downside to our dinner was the ambiance. Aside from some noisy children (it is Disney), Monsieur Paul dress code seems to have become more relaxed. We felt like we were in a more expensive quick service instead of a signature restaurant...not the ambiance we were hoping for for our anniversary dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.