Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • DisneyDana

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri June 24, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, food,
      Cons: very loud, hard to get reservations

       
      My best friend and I got lucky and scored ADR's here and to be honest I wasn't expecting great food being in the middle of a theme park but boy were we surprised! My friend had the steak and I tried it and it was very good and well seasoned. Even her fries were better than most. I had the pork chop and it was amazing! The only thing we didn't care for was the much touted "gray stuff". It wasn't a cupcake when we went, which I think would be MUCH better. It was some sort of skinny hard brownie with gray stuff on top. It was tiny, about the size of a snickers bar and tough and crumbly. The gray stuff on top was actually wonderful, but we both agreed that we wouldn't ever have to try it again, at least not in brownie form. All in all, this has become my favorite meal in the Magic Kingdom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beachpup

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed June 8, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): West Wing atmosphere is excellent, great service
      Cons: Can be too noisy if you don't hit it just right

       
      We had dinner here two years ago, and I was underwhelmed with the steak I had, but we decided to give it another shot this year for dinner. Boy, what a difference! Although our server last time was adequate, this year was superb. Kurt fit the atmosphere perfectly and really made the experience great for us. He was polite, attentive, friendly and always had a smile. This time I had the braised pork, which was so delicious, and I loved the pureed cauliflower that was with it. It was an excellent meal. We asked if the Beast would be appearing, as last time he would come in, wave, then leave to pose for pics, he didn't do that this time. He told us he wasn't, but then came back and told us he would be in later, and gave us a card to come back and have our photo with him anytime we wanted, that was really nice. The West Wing, or 'man cave' as we call it, is so cool, and can be quieter, even with the thunder sound effects every so often. The main dining room, or Ballroom, is noisy, try to avoid sitting there for dinner if you want a quieter experience. The grey stuff was still delicious!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jkkd

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Birmingham
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Mon May 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful
      Cons: some confusion in our order on this trip

       
      This place is SO beautiful!! It is lovely. The food is great! We had steaks - they were so good. The fries that they serve with the steaks are outstanding. I really enjoyed my meal.
      We did have to laugh a little bit at our wait for our food. We kind of sensed that we should have already had our food by now and then we also noticed the table next to us, who were seated after us, already got their steaks. Shortly after my husband I were discussing this amongst ourselves, our server came to us very apologetically to say that our food had been delivered to the wrong table. He assured us that our food was coming soon and he was so very sorry. We understood and were glad that he at least acknowledged what went wrong. Not long after that, the restaurant manager came to our table to apologize as well. She had a fast pass in hand to give us as a way to say they were sorry. It was for use for any ride we selected. Very sweet - not necessary - but we did accept it of course. Smile
      At any rate - our food was great and the atmosphere is so great. I would recommend this meal and location!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BacktoDisney

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Winnipeg, MB
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Sun January 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): you get to see inside the "castle"
      Cons: food/service

       
      First of all, I want to mention that we did have a QS meal here, and I would recommend that, but please save your money on the table service.
      The food was mediocre at best. We ordered appetizers, and our entree was delivered just a couple of minutes later. Dessert time, 2 of us ordered the "grey stuff" having read so much about it. The cake was STALE, and as I kept trying to figure out what the fuss was, one son said, what's so special about this, I've had icing before....and he was right.
      Bottom line, use QS at lunch and you will save some money, have better food, and still see inside the castle.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LuceB

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: Bend, Oregon
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue November 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Taste of Food
      Cons: Service/Price for Entrees (size)/atmosphere

       
      I worked long & hard to get these reservations and now wish I hadn't wasted my time. To begin with, we were seated at what I believe is a smaller than average table for two. Our server was at the very next table when we were seated but could not recognize our presence as he was too busy flirting. When finally he greeted us, it was perfunctory. OK, we're in our 60's/70's, but we know good service and food. He forgot to have our bread delivered, our immediately ordered wine finally arrived after our salads, all of which barely fit on the table! The Ballroom is huge and extremely noisy...no private conversations here, sort of reminding me of a large coffee shop. The lamb, however, was absolutely fantastic. But overall, we will definitely not return, nor recommended this place to anyone. As a huge Disney Parks fan since 1955, this was honestly the most looked forward to and most disappointing event ever!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kenkro

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere, very good service
      Cons: Value, food quality at dinner

       
      In short, lunch is a much better value. We ate dinner here in October. We checked in and after few minutes we were escorted by our server to the West Wing area. We were seated at a table for two. Our server was very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. If it were not for our server my rating would be a couple of points lower. The restaurant is extremely well themed but I'm guessing that most users of this site know already know that so I won't go into the details. I had the mussels as a starter. The portion size was large but about 1/4 to 1/3 of the shells were closed. I've always been told not to eat mussels if they haven't opened during the cooking process. I thought that the wine and butter sauce accompanying the mussels was too salty. I've had both the soups on menu at lunch and I wish that I would have ordered either of them instead of the mussels. I ordered the pork rack chop as an entree. The presentation was good. The meat was fatty and tough. The red wine jus was too salty tasting. It seemed saltier than the sauce that came with the mussels. My wife had the strip steak which she liked but she was not wowed by it.
      This is an amazingly themed restaurant but dinner is expensive and the food really wasn't that good. We had lunch here in August and that was much better. Everyone really liked what they ordered at lunch -the soups, the croque monsieur and the roast beef.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allec999

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Thu October 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: pricey

       
      Ate dinner here Sept 13. Food and service were excellent. Atmosphere can't be beat. Pricey, but that's not a surprise. Overall, it was cool to drink a bottle of wine in the Magic Kingdom!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BDev

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Price

       
      We ate here at the beginning of July. The food was ok. I got the steak and it was on the level of a Outback or Longhorn...not the high level you might expect based on the price.


      The reason to eat here is the atmosphere. We were seated in the West Wing...and it was great. The entire restaurant is awesome to see.


      I'd recommend doing it once for the experience, but I won't rush back now that we've done it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      grammie523

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri August 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No wait time with reservation, Best service of all restaurants!
      Cons: none

       
      Our family of 6 ate here for dinner the middle of June. The 3 year old fell asleep, as soon as we ordered dinner. The waitress packed up his food to take with us & was the best waitress we have ever had! The food was fabulous! For those of you who do not know, you can substitute the side item that is generally served with each Entree. I have seen complaints about the Steak & Fries, people not liking the fries, & I had mine substituted for fingerling potatoes, delicious! I was told I was the Princess & could have whatever I wanted as a side! Trying to get a reservation here is tough, so book 180 days out as requested or you will not get to enjoy this awesome restaurant! Our favorite at Disney! Have the strawberry cupcake for dessert, it is so creamy & yummy! Will be going back for our next trip!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kw1411

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun August 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent Food
      Cons:

       
      This was the first dinner I had to book at my 180 day mark and had no issues. We dined here on 7/21. I requested the West Wing and was told it could be an extra 30 minute wait, however we were seated right at our reservation time. The restaurant was beautiful, we sat right by the fireplace. There was constant traffic around us with guests looking around and taking pictures. My DH ordered the Shrimp and Scallops in puffed pastry and it was delicious, much larger than expected with alot of shrimp and scallops. My DS ordered the Strip Steak and it was average. My Braised Pork was very tender and I enjoyed it. The star dish was my DD's Pork Chop...it was not dry, wonderful sauce served on the side and she loved the mac and cheese. We shared they grey stuff, chocolate and lemon cupcakes. A very enjoyable first night in Disney!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Junebug21981

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: St. Joseph, IL
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Sun August 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Seeing the Beast in his Castle
      Cons: Service, Food is good no great like i would want

       
      DH and I shared the French Onion Soup and it was the one great thing we had here. DH and I both ordered the Strip Steak medium and should have ordered them medium rare because they came out well done. I feel that a steak should done how you order it from a sit down restaurant and should also come with a better side than fries. However, the dipping sauce for the fries is great! We both had the grey stuff for dessert which is yummy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 79
      Review Date: Sat June 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      This is our second time doing dinner at the castle. We ate there on June 2. We were on the dining plan and we all go the steak. DS found it fatty but overall it was good and to everyone's liking. For dessert we had the grey stuff cupcake lemon meringue cupcake and lemon raspberry ceam puff. As a special treat they brough out little amounts of greay stuff on two plates that said had happy anniversary! After dinner we saw the beast and had our picture taken with him. It was good as always. I think this is a good choice for a dinner in the park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jbald

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun June 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and atmosphere
      Cons: wish Belle was there

       
      I asked if we could eat in the rose room and we were able to, very quiet. The food and wait staff were amazing. We had the panseared chicken and the steak and strawberry cupcake for dessert. All of the food was delicious. We saw the Beast.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cue_chik

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Atmoshphere, Delicious Menu
      Cons: A bit too dark.

       
      I can't say enough about this restaurant. Our server Joann was fantastic! It was my son's 17th birthday and she brought him out a card that thanked the 'Young Prince' for sharing his birthday celebration with them, signed by Belle and The Beast. She also brought him a plate with 'The Grey Stuff' and Happy Birthday Prince T' written in raspberry sauce.


      I had the French Onion Soup for an appetizer along with the small french rolls they bring to your table. This was a meal in itself. A bowl full of savory onion soup and croutons bubbling over with Gruyere cheese.. it was amazing. DS & DH shared the 'Assorted Cured Meats and Sausage' - they loved it.


      DS and I both ordered the Sauteed Shrimp and Scallops and DH ordered Braised Pork. Both were absolutely delicious and very large...lol. I couldn't finish mine and DS barely finished his.


      I had triple Chocolate something for dessert and it was yummy. Son had a brownie iced in Grey Stuff along with a plate of more Grey Stuff for his Bday. DH had cheesecake.


      after dinner, we were told to walk around into the other rooms and take photos, which we did. he West wing was beautiful and I wished we would have dined there, but it was even darker than the Grand ballroom where we had our dinner, which was dim enough. The Rose room was pretty as well, better lighting. We then made our way over to the Study where we had our photos taken with The Beast.


      Not once did we feel rushed or ignored. Everyone was attentive and kind and it made for a 'magical' experience. Our server was wonderful and very friendly. We will definitely be doing this again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 170
      Review Date: Sat April 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We really enjoy taking people here when we are here...it is just beautiful. The food this time was very good, with the exception of the French fries. They were so salty I think it raised my blood pressure Smile. Other than that, it was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.