Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • iwuvdisney

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue October 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Big, nice, and clean!
      Cons: Traffic

       
      Booked this hotel as a pricline.com express deal. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Our stay here was absolutely wonderful. From the very friendly and helpful check-in, to the large very nice room that included a very nice sized bathroom and a fridge and microwave. I am used to staying at Disney value resorts, but I have to say I may be addicted to the cheaper price and larger room! The traffic to get to Disney was not the greatest, but nothing terribly awful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Mon June 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): bunk beds, plenty of room for big family
      Cons: traffic, no hot water,

       
      We stayed here Dec 2010 for a trip to Sea World, when they first opened the new kid suites and LOVED it! I had since recommended it to several people. We are passholders and usually stay on property, but stayed here again on a last minute, short (2 night) Disney Trip. They were running an allears.net special and it was cheaper for our family of 6 than staying on property in June. We were really disappointed.


      The front desk check-in was slow and disorganized. The clerk forgot to give us the free kids meal vouchers for Applebees so we had to go back and get those during our dinner the next night. Our room was freezing! This may not seem like an issue in June, but it rained all day on us in the parks and we came back to a room that was turned down to 55 degrees. We tried to turn on the heat and only cold air blowed out. There were no blankets on the bed so we had to walk down to the front desk and ask for some to be delivered. (The buttons on the phone did not dial directly to house keeping or the front deak.) A hot shower would have felt great, but there was no hot water! It didn't seem to matter what time we wanted hot water - early morning, late night, etc. There just was NONE. The hair dryer snapped and started blowing smoke when I tried to use it.
      The traffic was horrible. It took us almost an hour to get back to the hotel from HS. We ate at Applebees instead of having a counter service at HS that night. It was nice to not have to pay for the kids meals, but we did have to wait a little bit for a table at 8pm.
      We will NOT stay off property again, and after this visit I will direct my friends to stay elsewhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vics

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: SW Florida
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu February 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, big room
      Cons: Traffic, traffic, traffic

       
      When I made the reservation, I didn't know the area. I wanted to stay at the closest Holiday Inn to WDW (not realizing there was one on Disney property). When I called reservations, I wasn't exactly lied to, but was definitely misled. Apparently the hotels are franchises and are in competition with each other, so this hotel didn't disclose to me that they weren't the one I wanted. As it turned out, it was very close, but it took at least 2-3 times as long to get anywhere because of the traffic. We checked in on a Friday and out that Sunday (Presidents Day weekend), so we were back and forth several times throughout our stay, even late at night. No matter the time of day, the traffic was insane, bumper-to-bumper with long waits at lights. I read about the traffic in other reviews, and thought those folks must be from farm towns or something. But they weren't kidding! The off and on ramps to the I-4 were between the parks and the hotel, so I think that's what made the traffic so difficult to navigate through. When we checked in, we were instructed to go to another desk for a "welcome packet" which consisted of nothing more than a brochure about the Magic Kingdom...not that big of a deal, but I waited several minutes in a deep line for something I could have gotten anywhere! The hotel also has an Applebees, which had several empty tables, several people waiting for tables, a 25 minute wait, and a sticky menu for me to look at while I waited. We braved the traffic and went somewhere else. My advice: stay off SR 535! To stay at a non-Disney hotel on Disney property, stay on Hotel Plaza Blvd. (I've also stayed close to Maingate South and while it was further away, it was faster to get to WDW.) The room was nice, but it sure didn't make up for the other drawbacks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allisonwonderland

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon December 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Spacious room, clean
      Cons: None

       
      We were pleasantly surprised at how large the room was! Normally we stay in a moderate hotel on Disney property, but this trip was short and spur of the moment, we weren't going to the theme parks, or needing the Dining Plan, so we opted for this hotel. It was very clean, the staff was very friendly, and it was conveniently located to everything. It was very quiet at night, and the beds were comfortable. The comforters had a nice weight to them - not too hot, and not too cold in the air conditioning. The bathroom was large and well-lit for grooming. The refrigerator and microwave were convenient,too. The pool was also very welcoming. Sparkling clean and refreshing!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      repto

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Blue Island, IL
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu August 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): -convenient to Universal and Disney (esp. Downtown Disney), -spacious room that was VERY kid friendly, -awesome pool area, -good value for the money, -24 hr Walgreens across the street, -Grocery store about 4 blocks away
      Cons: -Rt 535 had a LOT of traffic which made it difficult to get into and out of the resort parking lot, -kids bunks needed to be made up by us (came with clean folded linens)

       
      There were many things to like about this hotel. It was extremely clean and the room was significantly larger than your typical hotel room. We are a family of 5 (one teenage son, teenage daughter and an 8 yr old), so the extra room was very appreciated.


      The pool view was quite attractive and despite the incredible amount of activity in and around the pool, the window soundproofing was excellent. We got the benefit of having a nice view without the hassle of hearing kids screaming all day and night.


      The bunk beds were awesome. The kids (even the big ones) loved them! Each kid got their own bed--what is not to like about that? The only negative was that the bunks were not made up (came with clean, but folded, linens). The separation of each area also went a long way toward containing clutter. My husband and I appreciated the king size (and well appointed) bed on the "adult side" of the room. Nice linens, good pillows, and a good mattress.


      Free internet was a nice plus. Speeds were good. There were two TVs... one flat screen in the main area/king bed area, another tv in the kids area. A fairly decent selection of cable channels, including all the kid favorites like Nickleodeon and Disney.


      We liked the fridge and microwave option as we did breakfast and some dinners in the room. There is a decent grocery store nearby, but you can get most everything you'd need at the 24 hour Walgreens which is right across the street (larger than normal selection of foodstuffs).


      We didn't use the in-house restaurant, but it was nice to know that it was available.


      We used the internet/office center to print out our prepaid tickets for Universal Islands of Adventure, but had to wait in line! There were a bazillion Argentine teens at the hotel and they were all logging in online to chat with friends at home. Thankfully, the hotel staff swooped in to clear things up (you were supposed to be over 18 to use the business center).


      A huge positive was the wonderful swimming pool area. We spent one whole day by the pool relaxing. There was a kid coordinator and DJ who kept the kids entertained for several hours with games, treasure hunts, music, etc. while my dh and I read on the nice lounge chairs. The poolside bar was well appreciated. On Sat. night they even had a poolside movie (we saw Cars).


      Probably the only serious negative was the fact that the street that the hotel is located on was *insanely* traffic clogged almost round the clock. This was exacerbated by some shoulder construction going on, but trust me, the traffic was *that* bad that I might reconsider staying here due to it. We obviously had a car for this trip to the Orlando area--and we used it. A lot more than I would have liked, but there was no safe and easy way to walk or bike to the nearby Downtown Disney from the hotel. I'm a very hard core cyclist and while I might have tackled it, there was no way in h*ll I would have taken my kids on it!


      We spent 9 days in and around Orlando, 6 of them at Disney's Port Orleans. Our room was nicer at the Holiday Inn, but you can't beat the convenience of staying on Disney property when doing the World. For what it's worth, the HI was roughly half the cost of the PO.


      Overall a great stay (3 days). Very cost effective for our needs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      motarpey

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu June 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, comfortable
      Cons: shoddy exterior, LOUD, motel quality

       
      I booked the room during the Princess Half Marathon this year. I was told that we could have a late check out because of the race. When I arrived they had no notice of it. It was supposed to be clear but housekeeping showed up right at 11am and was insistent that we leave VERY soon. Regardless, I booked the room for the "resort" aspect and was told online that it was a 4 star hotel. It absolutely was not. It is motel quality at best. While the lobby and rooms are clean, I did not feel like I received the value I paid for. There was a wedding there and people were still running around outside and drinking when we left at 4am for the race. We got no rest because of how loud it was. I called the front desk to complain and it got worse. I wouldn't stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cadencebelle

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sat June 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice staff, kids eat free
      Cons: parking fee

       
      This place was nice. A lot like a value resort but no Disney and a bit bigger room. Staff was nice. Place was clean. Pool was nice. A bit misleading with photos making it appear larger then it really is. But is was still clean and nice. There are no ice machines on the floors in the tower and only on every other floor in the other part. Internet was free and was super fast. Restaurant was good for being tired and not feeling like going out. If you are up to it, go to Downtown Disney instead to eat. This place was way better and nicer then the Best Western down the street.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.