Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » Archives

    babycakes1.jpg


    babycakes1.jpg
    supersize

    babycakes2.jpg
    supersize








    • Pin It


    • BabyCakes

      • Reviews Views
        12 14490
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        75% of reviewers 6.6
      • Description: BabyCakes


        Downtown Disney inside the former McDonald's building where Pollo Compano and Fresh-a-Peel are located.


        VEGAN - GLUTEN FREE - amazing desserts.


  • Author
    • Mich97

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri August 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): none
      Cons:

       
      Stopped in this past July. I had heard they had good cupcakes. I feel bad for the people who have to have such restrictive diets. We tried the chocolate, vanilla and blondie cupcakes. I took one bite and I could barely swallow it. It was like sawdust and the frosting had like a funky taste to it. Everyone in my party agreed that theirs were the same. We all threw our cupcakes away.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Fri March 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious Vegan snacks
      Cons: none

       
      I was enjoying an evening at Downtown Disney and had heard Babycakes NYC was a great place to get a snack.


      I was a little surprised at first. I thought Babycakes was a separate bakery. Instead it's one corner of the Pollo Campero restaurant.


      I had the French Toast cupcake and it was melt in your mouth good. It tasted exactly like French Toast. If you didn't know ahead of time it's impossible to tell it's 100% Vegan so don't let that scare you off from this wonderful taste experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ADJ

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Denver, CO
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat December 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A tasty option if you have allergies
      Cons: Expensive! Much of it has a slight coconut aftertaste

       
      First tip: I got there on a Monday, and they had a special "Monday Madness" box. 3 randomly selected cupcakes for $5, which is a definite bargain. If you are on a budget and have a sense of adventure, go for it!
      I ended up with a chocolate mint cupcake and two chocolate chip cupcakes, one with a berry frosting and one with plain frosting. I was *very* happy with the taste and texture of the cupcakes - just a little crumbly, but not too much. The cakes did not taste gluten-free, to me. The frosting was a little dense, and the frosting flavors were not that strong - also I detected a slight coconut flavor in all of them (they use a lot of coconut oil). It was not bad, but it was noticeable. My personal favorite was the chocolate mint cupcake, which was truly excellent. Note that leftovers must be refrigerated because the frosting will melt - but I recommend you let the cupcakes come to room temp before eating; the flavors and textures are better. The only real drawback is that it is very pricey - it would be nice to see some daily specials, not just on Mondays.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nnelsonmandela

      Registered: February 2010
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Tue October 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Doesn't taste vegan
      Cons: none

       
      I've tasted many vegan/gluten-free baked goods in my day. There was always something a bit...off...about them. These didn't seem to have that odd flavor to them. Very good!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      girldrgn8

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed June 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cupcakes
      Cons: None

       
      We loved the cupcakes here. My husband really wanted to try them and we were not disappointed. My DH had a chocolate cupcake with chocolate icing, DS has a cupcake top with mint icing, and I had chocolate cupcake with mocha icing. We will definitely be eating here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tloach

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat February 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious, fantastic options for the gf/df/vegan/etc!!
      Cons: It is kind of expensive.

       
      I absolutely love Babycakes - I dream about the amazing options they have there, and I crave them until I go back to Disney World or have my husband bring items back for me.


      But a HUGE note: If you eat a normal diet, you may not like this bakery. Gluten free/vegan/dairy free/etc. food tastes really different from it's full-of-gluten/butter/fat/sugar cousins. I am really limited in my diet (gluten-free, dairy-free, and soft foods/pureed foods only), and I'm used to eating the substitutes for those. If you are vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, or on a really limited diet you will LOVE this bakery. If you are on a normal diet with no restrictions and don't need to substitute bakery items on a regular basis, you may not like this bakery. Please don't expect the food to taste the same, because it really doesn't. End of Note.


      On his recent trip to Disney World, my husband flew back (across the border, on an airplane) a half-dozen donuts for me to enjoy, housed in a bright pink Babycakes box. They were the most wonderful, delicious donuts that I have ever tasted - and being fresh (which is a treat for most people who eat gluten-free!) were soft and moist. We had two maple dip, two vanilla dip, and two chocolate dip. The chocolate dip especially were the most fabulous vegan chocolate treats ever.


      So good. I can't wait to go back!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kaits Inside Dish

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat December 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): a Utopia for people with Special Dietary needs
      Cons: None

       
      Imagine my excitement when I learned that there was a Vegan Bakery, Babycakes only ten minutes away in Downtown Disney, obviously I was beyond thrilled. For those of you that are unfamiliar with Babycakes Bakery it is basically heaven on earth for vegan dessert lovers everywhere. Babycakes is a vegan bakery which first originated in New York City, there are now also locations in LA and Disney World!


      All night I was filled with excitement and anticipation for a delicious vegan dessert at Babycakes. From the moment I walked through the door my heart began to race as I quickly scanned the selection of desserts, a plethora of neatly decorated cupcakes, chewy chocolate chip cookies, fudgy brownie bites, scrumptious looking doughnuts, and thick slices of various dessert loaves were all on display, beckoning me to order one of everything! After all it’s not every day you find a bakery offering any type of vegan baked good let alone an entire bakery filled with delicious vegan goodies!


      After about 10 minutes of standing in front of the dessert case contemplating what to order ( I think this annoyed the cashier who clearly was waiting for me to finally make a decision and order) and one game of eenie meenie miney moe (this probably really irritated the cashier) I had finally made a decision, a piece of the pumpkin loaf. I pretty much love all things pumpkin and I haven't had any pumpkin bread since fall has begun so the pumpkin loaf was something I absolutely could not resist!


      The pumpkin bread was delicious and had a cake like texture. The slight gingery flavor mixed together with the warm fall flavors of cinnamon and nutmeg nicely complimented the rich pumpkin taste.


      I will definitely be making a return visit to try some of the other scrumptious goodies such as the cinnamon and sugar doughnut and the brownie cupcake! This delicious vegan bakery is an answer to our prayers fellow vegans and defiantly worth a trip(vegan or not)!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      snovak

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: wisconsin
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Fri November 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): none
      Cons: pricey for no taste

       
      We have heard of this place before so decided to give it a try during this visit..Nov.5th. I am glad you have the choice between buying a whole cupcake or just the cupcake top. We decided on the pumpkin cupcake top, and it was not what we expected or are used to. Very dense in texture, dry with no flavor...if the tag by them wouldn't have said pumpkin we would have had a hard time telling what the flavor was. Not for us!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JoyceArlene

      Registered: October 2008
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu September 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): allows options for those with dietary needs
      Cons: really really didn't like the cupcake

       
      Had taken a bite of a vanilla cupcake in January but couldn't eat it so wanted to try again to see if I'd had a bad batch. Tried the red velvet but still couldn't..texture of the frosting was odd. No flavor. Would recommend trying one first before spending a lot of money. I know there are some who really do like them so do try, but we won't again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcjbunny

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: New York City
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue August 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): frosting, taste, very good for people with special dietary needs
      Cons: cost, not the regular texture of a cupcake

       
      As New Yorkers we often try BabyCakes NYC and we also have the cook book. This is why we never flinch at the prices. If you read the cook book and buy all the necessary ingredients for a recipe it can run you about $75. Xanthan gum alone is $17 for a small pack. So if you are looking for a cheap sugar fix, this probably isn't the place to go. We ordered the red velvet and lemon cupcakes. We cannot eat eggs and my dad is diabetic so it is always convenient to get BabyCakes. The frosting is not what you normally get on a cup. It is not airy like regular frosting and it is less sweet (we have eaten regular cupcakes with only subtracting the eggs so we know how different BabyCakes is). But if you go in with an open mind it is very good. Everyone in my family loves it. The cupcake itself is denser than a regular cupcake and less fluffy. It is not what my family usually looks for in a cupcake but it is still very good. Considering that the cupcakes are sugar free, gluten free, wheat free, soy free and egg free it's hard to see what are in them but if you try them you would see that whatever it is, it's really delicious.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FoodieBearz

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: U.S.
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat August 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good cupcake
      Cons: Small portion size, pricey, have to pay at restaurant

       
      August 2011, I had heard about this place and wanted to try a red velvet cupcake. The cupcake was very small (smaller than an average cupcake) and yet it cost $3.50 (more when you add in tax). When you consider you can get a 6 pack of cupcakes for less at your local market this is pretty steep. The cupcake was good but nothing great. I know their products are gluten-free (which doesn't matter to me or my family) but I know is great for people who cannot have gluten. Maybe gluten-free ingredients are much more expensive. So if you are looking for gluten-free desserts you may want to try this. If you don't need gluten-free desserts, you are much better off getting a sweet at nearby Earl of Sandwich, which offers a bigger, frosted with sprinkles cupcake that is awesome, a great brownie, bread pudding, and huge very good cookies. At Earl of Sandwich the desserts are bigger and they are all around just $2.00. Also, you have to pay for your little cupcake in the same line where the people having meals at Pollo Campero and Fresh Appeal pay which is not convenient.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fleur-de-lis

      Registered: November 2008
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Wed June 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nicely decorated cupcakes
      Cons: dry cupcakes, poor service

       
      I stopped by Babycakes at Downtown Disney on the evening of June 6. Though the serving lines from Fresh A-peel and Pollo Campero were bustling, no one was manning the Babycakes counter. Plenty of pastries were on display; there was simply no one there to sell them. I finally asked a cast member if Babycakes was open, and she went into the back and found someone to take my order.


      We picked up two cupcakes: a carrot cake cupcake and another one described as a blondie. (It was plain with chocolate chips, so I'm not sure why it is called a blondie.) We took the treats back to our hotel for a snack later.


      I must say that we WANTED to like these cupcakes. The idea of vegan, gluten-free, mostly sugar-free dessert seems wonderful in theory. Nevertheless, our cupcakes were dry and had very little flavor.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.