Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » Archives

    babycakes1.jpg


    babycakes1.jpg
    supersize

    babycakes2.jpg
    supersize








    • Pin It


    • BabyCakes

      • Reviews Views
        6 14582
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        100% of reviewers 8.0
      • Description: BabyCakes


        Downtown Disney inside the former McDonald's building where Pollo Compano and Fresh-a-Peel are located.


        VEGAN - GLUTEN FREE - amazing desserts.


  • Author
    • Mich97

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri August 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): none
      Cons:

       
      Stopped in this past July. I had heard they had good cupcakes. I feel bad for the people who have to have such restrictive diets. We tried the chocolate, vanilla and blondie cupcakes. I took one bite and I could barely swallow it. It was like sawdust and the frosting had like a funky taste to it. Everyone in my party agreed that theirs were the same. We all threw our cupcakes away.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Fri March 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious Vegan snacks
      Cons: none

       
      I was enjoying an evening at Downtown Disney and had heard Babycakes NYC was a great place to get a snack.


      I was a little surprised at first. I thought Babycakes was a separate bakery. Instead it's one corner of the Pollo Campero restaurant.


      I had the French Toast cupcake and it was melt in your mouth good. It tasted exactly like French Toast. If you didn't know ahead of time it's impossible to tell it's 100% Vegan so don't let that scare you off from this wonderful taste experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ADJ

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Denver, CO
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat December 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A tasty option if you have allergies
      Cons: Expensive! Much of it has a slight coconut aftertaste

       
      First tip: I got there on a Monday, and they had a special "Monday Madness" box. 3 randomly selected cupcakes for $5, which is a definite bargain. If you are on a budget and have a sense of adventure, go for it!
      I ended up with a chocolate mint cupcake and two chocolate chip cupcakes, one with a berry frosting and one with plain frosting. I was *very* happy with the taste and texture of the cupcakes - just a little crumbly, but not too much. The cakes did not taste gluten-free, to me. The frosting was a little dense, and the frosting flavors were not that strong - also I detected a slight coconut flavor in all of them (they use a lot of coconut oil). It was not bad, but it was noticeable. My personal favorite was the chocolate mint cupcake, which was truly excellent. Note that leftovers must be refrigerated because the frosting will melt - but I recommend you let the cupcakes come to room temp before eating; the flavors and textures are better. The only real drawback is that it is very pricey - it would be nice to see some daily specials, not just on Mondays.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nnelsonmandela

      Registered: February 2010
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Tue October 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Doesn't taste vegan
      Cons: none

       
      I've tasted many vegan/gluten-free baked goods in my day. There was always something a bit...off...about them. These didn't seem to have that odd flavor to them. Very good!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      girldrgn8

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Wed June 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cupcakes
      Cons: None

       
      We loved the cupcakes here. My husband really wanted to try them and we were not disappointed. My DH had a chocolate cupcake with chocolate icing, DS has a cupcake top with mint icing, and I had chocolate cupcake with mocha icing. We will definitely be eating here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tloach

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat February 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious, fantastic options for the gf/df/vegan/etc!!
      Cons: It is kind of expensive.

       
      I absolutely love Babycakes - I dream about the amazing options they have there, and I crave them until I go back to Disney World or have my husband bring items back for me.


      But a HUGE note: If you eat a normal diet, you may not like this bakery. Gluten free/vegan/dairy free/etc. food tastes really different from it's full-of-gluten/butter/fat/sugar cousins. I am really limited in my diet (gluten-free, dairy-free, and soft foods/pureed foods only), and I'm used to eating the substitutes for those. If you are vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, or on a really limited diet you will LOVE this bakery. If you are on a normal diet with no restrictions and don't need to substitute bakery items on a regular basis, you may not like this bakery. Please don't expect the food to taste the same, because it really doesn't. End of Note.


      On his recent trip to Disney World, my husband flew back (across the border, on an airplane) a half-dozen donuts for me to enjoy, housed in a bright pink Babycakes box. They were the most wonderful, delicious donuts that I have ever tasted - and being fresh (which is a treat for most people who eat gluten-free!) were soft and moist. We had two maple dip, two vanilla dip, and two chocolate dip. The chocolate dip especially were the most fabulous vegan chocolate treats ever.


      So good. I can't wait to go back!!
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.