Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Mattingly5

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue July 7, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Character photo op, location
      Cons: Expensive for a buffet, food mediocre

       
      At the Crystal Palace you are definitely paying for the opportunity to see the Winnie the Pooh characters up close. The food is average, at best. My favorite thing ended up being the Moroccan chicken and the corn dogs from the kids buffet! We ended up having to tip our server $38 and all she had to do was bring us drinks! I love Disney but were shocked by the price of this meal!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bigmamajo

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat July 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent service
      Cons:

       
      This a place we visit each trip, for the characters, not necessarily the food. This visit was exceptional, from the time we arrived, the outside hostess, Nell, offered us water, talked with us, kept us updated on how much longer and eventually sat us. We had Mickey confetti on our table for our anniversary, she wished us a happy anniversary and even asked how everything was on a trip by our table. The characters were fun and the meal was good. Yes, the price is way too high, but it is the experience and meeting Pooh and friends that make it worth while.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MissWendyBird

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun May 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, location
      Cons: Price, food

       
      My dad and I went to the Crystal Palace for dinner last Tuesday, 05/12/2015 and were less than impressed. We had a reservation for 7:40 pm but weren't seated until around 8:20. While the food wasn't bad, I expected better. The mashed potatoes were very good, along with the shrimp. I've had much better roast beef at places that weren't nearly as expensive as Crystal Palace. While I might go back again, it won't be for dinner which was sub-par for the price.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cue_chik

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Character Experience
      Cons: Food ws just OK

       
      We arrived for our reservation early and were seated promptly. Our server was on top of things from the start. We were celebrating my son's birthday and she brought him a Birthday card signed by the characters along with a cupcake.


      The choices at the buffet were limited, but all were good. not spectacular, just OK.


      The characters made the rounds twice while we were there and we got photos with all of them.


      If we were to do this again, it would be for the character experience and not so much about the food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      destinie

      Registered: March 2015
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon March 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food Options, Characters, Beautiful Environment
      Cons: None

       
      Crystal Palace is incredibly accommodating for restricted diets. Our server was helpful and the Chef was wonderful. The chef will show you what you can eat and will also offer to make fresh food from the kitchen. I'm GF/DF and received fresh gf dinner rolls and df "butter". For dessert they had a gf/df brownie they brought out for me. MM! The food was delicious and fresh and we loved it. The food I grabbed consisted of fresh greens (green beans, broccoli), rice, roasted chicken, and Salmon in a honey-cilantro pesto. Fantastic.


      The characters were great and fun! The Cast Members made sure that we got to meet Pooh and all of his friends while we were there. At one point there was a little dance party so it was fun to see the kids romp around with the characters.


      The environment was nice and we had a nice view outside of Cinderella's castle. The Cast Members and Chef worked really hard to give us a magical evening! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Character experience
      Cons: Food was okay

       
      This was our first time eating at Crystal Palace (11/18). The food was mediocre with not as many choices as some other Disney buffets. The characters were very nice and they were the best part of the meal. The atmosphere and building are beautiful. I would probably not visit here again unless it was to specifically see the characters.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PeterPanFam

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri November 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful restaurant, fun characters
      Cons: Food quality is going downhill

       
      We eat here every trip, and this time really noticed a dip in the quality and variety of food on the buffet. Still good, but not sure it's really worth the price anymore. The characters were great with us even though our family has no little kids in it, especially Tigger and Piglet. Waiter was very personable, but very slow to get drinks and refills.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pcoleman

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Hubbard Lake, MI
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): view of castle, characters, our server
      Cons: cost

       
      First time eating here. Loved it. our server was fabulous. On top of things all the time. Loved the food. only placed i found with that many vegetables on buffet. Can't wait to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon September 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great waiter
      Cons: none

       
      The food was very good. Our waiter checked with us lots of times and the kids had enough time with the characters even with it as crowed as it was. Our waiter even asked if we had seen everyone and if we need more time. We have done this twice and have loved it both times.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneylover97

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue August 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters, got to see wishes
      Cons: food

       
      The first time I tried this restaurant was in 2008 and it was one of the best in Disney World.


      I went back last week and the food was horrible. I had some mac and cheese and chicken fingers. The mac and cheese was cold and tasted horrible and the chicken fingers were hard. The rest of my family also disliked the food. There wasn't much of a variety. Also, it was suppose to be a buffet but they stopped putting out new food so I only got one plate. The service was alright, I have received better. The only good part of this dinner was the characters came around and took many pictures with me and my family. Right when we were leaving wishes had started so they let us stand near the door and watch it from the porch. That was very nice.


      I will never ever come back to this restaurant. I was very disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrtoad2015

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu July 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pooh, Piglet and their friends / View of the Castle
      Cons: Food has been consistently declining in quality year to year

       
      Oh, Crystal Palace, how far you have fallen!


      Look, in all seriousness, this used to be my family's absolute favorite place in WDW to eat during our annual week in Disney vacation. Atmosphere: terrific, considering you have a full view of Cinderella's Castle and the (relatively) hard to find Pooh characters come to your table at least once, but often twice.


      Three years ago, this place was still a smash hit, including the food. Two years ago (circa 2012) we noticed subtle changes (for the worse) in the food quality for the lunch and dinner buffets. Prime rib was replaced with a tougher cut of meat - still carved, but not quite as good. In addition, the bottomless steamed clams and mussels dish in the popular buffet line was reduced to mussels only. These weren't the only changes. As a result The place went from an A+ to more of a B+ - still worth one reservation during a week long stay.


      In 2013, we found ourselves traveling to Disneyland and comparing Crystal Palace to Goofy's Kitchen, located at the Disneyland Hotel (the latter of which is now far superior) and debating which was better (the vote then was 3-1 for Goofy's Kitchen).


      Back to WDW in 2014, and we had two visits scheduled for Crystal Palace. Carved meats had decreased in quality (much higher fat content) and the former bottomless clams/mussels dish (reduced to just mussels in 2012) was now an esoteric rice dish with just a few mussels sprinkled in along with a tasteless sausage companion. It was a joke how fast people in the buffet line tried to pick out just the mussels before returning to their table (they probably remembered and missed the former dish the same way I do).


      Suffice it to say, if you are not picky about your food (i.e. if you are the type who thoroughly enjoys C+ chain restaurants like Applebees) you will still enjoy this restaurant if you are willing to pay $50 per person for dinner - plus a healthy tax and tip. However, for those of us who have been dining here for years, it is hard to justify the cost in light of the declining food quality.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      manatee2420

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon July 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): character meal, decor, food
      Cons: crowded

       
      This was the best surprise for food quality. We went for the characters, but really enjoyed the food. The Mediterranean Chicken is great. The ice cream machine was broken when we went and the rest of the deserts were so so. Interacting with the characters got a little tricky due to space issues. Eeyore could barely move without knocking stuff over. Poor guy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ROCCOFIRE

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: ROCHESTER, NY
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri July 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters staff
      Cons: busy noise levels

       
      The service, and staff did a great job. The food was good, and the variety was good as well. The characters did a great job with the kids and adults. The negative aspect this place is very busy, a lot of noise, kids running around, but more than usual. The lines are long, and now days all Disney restaurants are very busy, you must make reservations.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dfan79

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Mon May 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters
      Cons: What they called Food, Atmosphere

       
      I went for dinner with my family at Crystal Palace. The characters are a big reason why kids will love this place. The food is a major reason why they won’t though. I guess Disney figured they could serve anything because of the character interaction with Pooh and his gang are so great. But I wouldn’t serve this food to a dog.


      Even the usually dependable ice cream had no flavor. There was also a hard cookie section, the day old ones at my local supermarket tasted fresher. The Macaroni and Cheese looked like it was left over Stouffers from the night before and I didn’t want to even go near the chicken either.


      There wasn’t many choices and what they did have wasn’t good. I looked around the corner to see if there was another section that I might have missed, but nope there was just more tables.


      The atmosphere is abnormally bright inside because of all the windows and the unusually large amount of round lights.


      Another strike against Crystal was the price. It was the most expensive meal I have ever had at Disney and it was the worst.


      Stay away.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elsaandannasmom

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): always a favorite
      Cons: characters

       
      This has been a favorite for over 20 years for us. We dined here when our children were small and have continued as empty nesters. The buffett is well appointed and the characters very attentive. Love Love Love it!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.