Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • pcoleman

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Hubbard Lake, MI
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): view of castle, characters, our server
      Cons: cost

       
      First time eating here. Loved it. our server was fabulous. On top of things all the time. Loved the food. only placed i found with that many vegetables on buffet. Can't wait to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon September 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great waiter
      Cons: none

       
      The food was very good. Our waiter checked with us lots of times and the kids had enough time with the characters even with it as crowed as it was. Our waiter even asked if we had seen everyone and if we need more time. We have done this twice and have loved it both times.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneylover97

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue August 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters, got to see wishes
      Cons: food

       
      The first time I tried this restaurant was in 2008 and it was one of the best in Disney World.


      I went back last week and the food was horrible. I had some mac and cheese and chicken fingers. The mac and cheese was cold and tasted horrible and the chicken fingers were hard. The rest of my family also disliked the food. There wasn't much of a variety. Also, it was suppose to be a buffet but they stopped putting out new food so I only got one plate. The service was alright, I have received better. The only good part of this dinner was the characters came around and took many pictures with me and my family. Right when we were leaving wishes had started so they let us stand near the door and watch it from the porch. That was very nice.


      I will never ever come back to this restaurant. I was very disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrtoad2015

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu July 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pooh, Piglet and their friends / View of the Castle
      Cons: Food has been consistently declining in quality year to year

       
      Oh, Crystal Palace, how far you have fallen!


      Look, in all seriousness, this used to be my family's absolute favorite place in WDW to eat during our annual week in Disney vacation. Atmosphere: terrific, considering you have a full view of Cinderella's Castle and the (relatively) hard to find Pooh characters come to your table at least once, but often twice.


      Three years ago, this place was still a smash hit, including the food. Two years ago (circa 2012) we noticed subtle changes (for the worse) in the food quality for the lunch and dinner buffets. Prime rib was replaced with a tougher cut of meat - still carved, but not quite as good. In addition, the bottomless steamed clams and mussels dish in the popular buffet line was reduced to mussels only. These weren't the only changes. As a result The place went from an A+ to more of a B+ - still worth one reservation during a week long stay.


      In 2013, we found ourselves traveling to Disneyland and comparing Crystal Palace to Goofy's Kitchen, located at the Disneyland Hotel (the latter of which is now far superior) and debating which was better (the vote then was 3-1 for Goofy's Kitchen).


      Back to WDW in 2014, and we had two visits scheduled for Crystal Palace. Carved meats had decreased in quality (much higher fat content) and the former bottomless clams/mussels dish (reduced to just mussels in 2012) was now an esoteric rice dish with just a few mussels sprinkled in along with a tasteless sausage companion. It was a joke how fast people in the buffet line tried to pick out just the mussels before returning to their table (they probably remembered and missed the former dish the same way I do).


      Suffice it to say, if you are not picky about your food (i.e. if you are the type who thoroughly enjoys C+ chain restaurants like Applebees) you will still enjoy this restaurant if you are willing to pay $50 per person for dinner - plus a healthy tax and tip. However, for those of us who have been dining here for years, it is hard to justify the cost in light of the declining food quality.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      manatee2420

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon July 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): character meal, decor, food
      Cons: crowded

       
      This was the best surprise for food quality. We went for the characters, but really enjoyed the food. The Mediterranean Chicken is great. The ice cream machine was broken when we went and the rest of the deserts were so so. Interacting with the characters got a little tricky due to space issues. Eeyore could barely move without knocking stuff over. Poor guy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ROCCOFIRE

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: ROCHESTER, NY
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri July 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): characters staff
      Cons: busy noise levels

       
      The service, and staff did a great job. The food was good, and the variety was good as well. The characters did a great job with the kids and adults. The negative aspect this place is very busy, a lot of noise, kids running around, but more than usual. The lines are long, and now days all Disney restaurants are very busy, you must make reservations.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dfan79

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Mon May 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters
      Cons: What they called Food, Atmosphere

       
      I went for dinner with my family at Crystal Palace. The characters are a big reason why kids will love this place. The food is a major reason why they won’t though. I guess Disney figured they could serve anything because of the character interaction with Pooh and his gang are so great. But I wouldn’t serve this food to a dog.


      Even the usually dependable ice cream had no flavor. There was also a hard cookie section, the day old ones at my local supermarket tasted fresher. The Macaroni and Cheese looked like it was left over Stouffers from the night before and I didn’t want to even go near the chicken either.


      There wasn’t many choices and what they did have wasn’t good. I looked around the corner to see if there was another section that I might have missed, but nope there was just more tables.


      The atmosphere is abnormally bright inside because of all the windows and the unusually large amount of round lights.


      Another strike against Crystal was the price. It was the most expensive meal I have ever had at Disney and it was the worst.


      Stay away.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elsaandannasmom

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): always a favorite
      Cons: characters

       
      This has been a favorite for over 20 years for us. We dined here when our children were small and have continued as empty nesters. The buffett is well appointed and the characters very attentive. Love Love Love it!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kmdebree

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: PA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Got to see the characters
      Cons: Service, automatic gratuity, Dining room was very crowded

       
      We ate here on January 6, 2014. We last ate here 2 years ago and it has gone down since then. The tables are jammed in so that it is hard to pass to get to the buffet. The bathroom has 3 stalls total. Our waitress was very sour and even made faces while clearing other tables etc. , this was upsetting because we had a table larger than 6 so our gratuity was already included. The food was good, but some things that the girls remembered from the last time were gone. We had to have the waitress flag down two characters that totally skipped our whole seating area. I want to say that we will try again, however, I am a little warey.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Fri January 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): charcters
      Cons: food

       
      The food was old and cold. Nothing appealing to my DD 10. The desserts were good, only found a few things I liked, and I'm not picky. Would much rather visit chacters for breakfast.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mirner77

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters and handlers
      Cons: Service

       
      This was our least favorite buffet. We ate here on January 7th, 2014. The wait area was outside and it was freezing! I asked the check in girl how long the wait was and she answered me it was our reservation time. Our reservation was for 6, but we never got inside until past 6:20 despite the fact that there were several tables inside with no one sitting there and they were clean, so no idea why the delay. Our waiter seemed really lost. Not sure if this was his first day, but we waited a long time for our bill and service was not fantastic. Had to ask three times for coffee. The food wasn't great. The roast was really smoky which is great if you're into that flavor. Salads were good, especially the beef and the garlic butter rolls were really good too. My 7 year old enjoyed the corn dogs, chicken nuggets and mac n' cheese as well as the fruit. The paella was good and the salmon was very good also. The mashed potatoes were delicious. The apple cobbler, bread pudding, and all of the desserts were very good! My 7 year old missed Eeyore, but the hander was so nice and intercepted Eeyore so that we could meet him. He was so nice and gave us lots of good suggestions and was very funny! The food was acceptable, but just not as good as the rest of the food we'd had on this trip including other buffets. It was nice to have Pooh and everyone else together though. Perhaps next time, I'd try breakfast instead of dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sarhend

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue November 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good selection of food
      Cons: Noisy

       
      We enjoyed our lunch at the Crystal Palace. There was a wide selection of food. Lots of salads and different meats. The service was very good. The kids enjoyed the characters.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Mon November 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters
      Cons: None

       
      We ate here on 11/9/13 for dinner. I love the food on this buffet. To give a fair review, I probably liked the food better than anyone else in my party of 4. I love salads and this place has a great salad bar. I also love the fire roasted spoon bread (and several other menu items). Since I can only find these items here, I always want to eat here when we come. My kids are really too old to care about Pooh, but I just love the buffet. Service was fine and characters were great.


      So take what you will from this review. 1 AWESOME, EXCELLENT, WISH I COULD EAT HERE EVERYDAY review and 3 it's fine reviews. However, since I do all the planning and reservations, we will be eating here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Brandon

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu September 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food Selection, Room when seated
      Cons: N/A

       
      This was the best of the character dining experiences for us on our trip. We had a character meal everyday and this was by far and away the one I would recommend. The food selection is the most diverse and tastes the best of all of them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      eeyore74

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: NY
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sat August 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, characters
      Cons: Waitress

       
      I love this place. The Pooh characters are my favorites. We eat here at least once every time we go to Disney. The only thing I didn't like this time was the waitress. I was figuring out what else I wanted to eat and she came over with a cupcake for my daughter's birthday. We told her we were still eating dinner and she seemed a little upset, but in the end she did the cupcake at a better time. The manager and a chef came out to help me figure out what I wanted. In the end one of the chefs made me a stir fry that could feed my whole family. The chefs here are great when it comes to food allergies they will make you anything you want that they have on hand.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.