Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • nick6300

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue September 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Free upgrade to peferred room, quick service options
      Cons: Slow transportation, pool and dining hours

       
      Prior to arrival, I requested ground level, Surf's Up Bldg (closest to main pool/dining/transportation), but only paid for a standard room. Upon check-in, I was given the total opposite (far from buses, 3rd floor, etc). After asking for a reassignment, I was given one of the best rooms, even for a peferred level (ground floor, maybe the 4th closest to pool/dining/busses). I'm sure that staying during 9/1-9/8 off-peak helped. But the lesson here is that it doesn't hurt to ask for better accomodations.


      There are only the All Stars, Pop Century, and the new Art of Animation choices for Value Resorts at Disney. I've stayed at the All Stars a few times before staying at Pop for the past a dozen or so stays. As expected, the busses for Pop came more frequently. I chose Sports over the others because the busses can also stop at Music and Movies Resorts if the bus to the parks isn't quite full. Similarily, the All Star buses can stop at all 3 resorts coming back from the parks. Sports is the first stop. During this trip, we often waited 30 minutes for a bus in the am. They were better from the parks. We also only stopped at Music and Movies only 1-2 times that I can recall as the buses tended to be full (because they didn't come every 20 min!). The trip to Downtown Disney took us over an hr. Some of this is due to Music's dining going through renovations and the guests there being escorted to Sports or Movies for dinning (they would eat breakfast at Sports/Movies and use Sports/Movies buses). I still came back from the trip thinking the transportation was the biggest reason I'd chose Pop over the All Stars.


      On the plus side, the dining area has been completely remodeled. It looks as nice as the newer Pop dining area. It also had several nice choices for meals such as create your own salads, pastas, burgers. We often got the chicken parm or alfredo w/ salad, smootie for drink, and either ice cream or a bag of gummies for dessert. We had the free quick service dining plan, and for the choices, we found our resort dining to be better than most restaruants, other than Wolfgang Puck Express.
      The rooms were fine, we had enough towels, soaps. The beds were comfortable. TV actually had some channels vs. just the disney parks previews w/ Stacy - like in the past. They preset your room temp to about 72, so some people who like a lot of AC, it was annoying to find that you couldn't really bring it down more than a degree or 2 from the preset.


      All in all, I really loved the room location and the food. But I'm probably paying the extra $10 night to go back to Pop for the more frequent buses.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kyliesmom1115

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Kentucky
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue August 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): We were close to the main area
      Cons: BUSES

       
      We were there for just one night. We stayed in a corner room in the football section that was actually nearest to the dining area. Great location especially since we were on the first floor. Our room smelled a little "musty" each time we entered the room. The room was clean but the curtain to the area between the bathroom and sleeping area was torn and hanging. My biggest complaint is that the buses was shared. We were there for Villains Unleashed and it looks like that someone would have made it so that each of the all stars resorts would have had there own buse for just one night since Hollywood Studios was the only park open. We ate in teh food court twice. and did not bother with refillable mugs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      debsil4

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: New Orleans
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Wed February 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Lawn care at 8AM

       
      I stayed here last week for my daughter's cheerleading competition. It is basically the same as all the other value resorts. As long as your expectations aren't that high, it serves its purpose as a hotel that caters to sports teams.


      The only issue I had was I was in a stretch of rooms in Building 9 (Baseball) that faced a grassy area. The last two mornings of our stay, landscapers began tearing up the grass next to the walkway at 8AM. By tearing up, I mean with heavy machinery. Now the MK had stayed open until 1AM one of these mornings so many of our group were definitely not ready to be woken up that early and that obnoxiously.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rebelbuddhist

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, not crowded, excellent service
      Cons: None

       
      We were very pleasantly surprised. We have stayed at all the value resorts and find that we liked Sports the best. It never seemed crowded even though we were there 21-31 December. DME bus service was great-- we never waited long nor did we ever have to stand unlike we did at other value resorts. Sports is now our first choice among the value resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Thu December 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price
      Cons: Some

       
      Stayed at the All Star Sports 12/01-12/04. Room was ready at 2pm. However, I had asked for a 3rd floor room in Homerun section and was given 3rd Floor in Football section. We had a room facing the parking lot/road so noise from the courtyard was not a problem. If you are facing the courtyard (especially in football) be prepared for noise. The football field in the courtyard is a popular place for people to play. Our room was too close to the loading dock area and we were awakened each morning by delivery trucks, sometimes as early as 4:30am! The walls are thin and you can hear surrounding rooms plumbing. The room and bathroom were clean. Our housekeeper came late one day (3pm). We told her to come back in an hour. I assumed she would not, but to my surprise she did. The bus transportation is adequate at best. At certain times a single bus is used for all three All Star resorts. The Sports is the first pickup and first drop off. The bus stop has no shade and that would be uncomfortable during extreme heat. The food court was closed, but we knew that. I was not aware that refridgerators were not available. If you have kids and need to keep drinks or other snacks cold that could be a problem. I would rate this overal exoperience as average at best. I have stayed at the Boardwalk, Yacht, Saratoga, Old Key West, Ft. Wilderness, and French Quarter. All things being considered if you are on a family vacation and not on an extreme budget then do not stay at the All Star resorts. For a quick trip the value resorts are fine. It will not be a top choice for a normal family vacation for me.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mem0914

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Los Angeles
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: everything

       
      For the price it was ok. Nothing I would rave about. We arrive at 10am well before the 3pm check in. But decided to try anyways to see if our rooms were ready. Well our friends' room was ready when we got there and so was my cousin's room. However my husband & I's room and my grandmother's room were both unavailable. So we were told that the rooms would be ready in the next hour or so and we would be notified via text or a phone call. We went and walked around Downtown Disney til about 4pm. We decided to go back to the hotel and were informed our room had been ready since about 11:30am. We were upset at not being called but oh well. Every time we went to the concierge desk or called to get info or reservations the person helping acted like we were out of line. The night before we checked out we went to the front desk (granted it was around midnight so maybe this one IS our fault) to pay the charges on our room and clear the bill. The man at the desk was sluggish and was acting like we were bothering him and he had better things to do than help us. So after my husband clears up the bill. I ask if there is a comment card I can fill out because one person made the trip wonderful. He asked if that was it or if I needed anything else. So I said yes I needed ten complaint cards for every day I had been there. When I said I wanted to make a complaint as well his whole attitude changed and he was now the friendliest person ever.


      There was no fridge in the rooms. When we asked they said the fridges were recalled. Odd I was at the All Star Movies in March and no problems then. The cafeteria was closed and you had to go to the other all star resorts.


      I'll definitely pay the extra money and stay at the Animal Kingdom or Polynesian IF I decided to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kvogel11202

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: Woburn Ma
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu August 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: everything except price

       
      My husband and I stayed here for a quick trip, we thought we would stay somewhere less expensive than our usual and much loved Yacht Club. We went in with very low expectations, and even those were not met. The entire stay was chaos and disappointment. From groups of cheerleaders allowed to run around at all hours "practicing" at the top of their lungs while the chaperones crowded around the small bar and ignored them, to the paper thin walls allowing us to know each time one of our neighbors flushed, to the rude cast members.


      The unpleasant girl in the gift shop didn't want to retrieve the package I had sent back to the hotel, so she tried to tell me it wasn't there. When I pointed out that it was marked in the book as having arrived, she was forced to go get it, and made plain her anger at me for her having to do her job. When she told me I "have to sign for it" I asked - very nicely- if I could have a pen, and she literally threw it at me. It bounced off my chest onto the counter. My husband began slowly backing away at this point. I kept my cool but her attitude was pretty prevalent among the staff here. Don't even get me started on the bus stop queue, all with no cover so you stand in the sun baking! Never again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kare423

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Michigan, USA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu August 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, friendly staff
      Cons: small rooms, crowded buses, walking distnace to/from bust stops

       
      My trip was from 8/7/13 - 8/14/13. I stayed on the 3rd floor of Building 6 (Surf's Up). This is a good resort, for the most part. It is clean and has a nice pool. Though, the dining area was under construction for the Sports resort, they had a shuttle to take you to the Music or Movies resort to use their dining area. Some of the park buses only picked up people from the Sports resort, but others picked up all the All-Star resort locations. It seemed like it wan't consistent though. Going to the park the bus would only pick up the Sports resort people, but leaving the park had people from all the All-star resorts. Tended to be a very crowded bus ride back to the resort.


      I went over to the Movies resort for dinner one night and I was jealous at the theming at that resort compared to the Sports. The Sports pool located near the main building lacked much theming or decoration.


      I would recommend this resort for people wanting to save money, but stay on Disney property.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Missymouse18

      Registered: June 2013
      Location: Mississippi
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat June 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, nice pool area, good food court
      Cons: none

       
      It has been three years since I stayed here. It is a nice hotel, but because I am not a sports enthusiast, (unlike my hubby) it is my least fave of the three All-Stars. still overall, a great resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cop447

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Spartanburg, SC
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat June 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Updated rooms
      Cons: refrigerator

       
      We got back from our trip on 6/6/13 and stayed at the All Star Sports. The room was updated since my last stay many years ago and was nice a clean. The mouse-keeping did a good job all week keeping the room fresh. The rooms are smaller then other resorts on property so judge how much you will stay in the room. My only complaint this trip is the cooler style refrigeration units take about two full days to cool drinks. I drove so I had a large cooler but for those who don't have the luxury of driving you may want a normal refrigerator. Overall the landscaping was done well and it is the first stop on the bus route which was HUGE! Bus service was good all days that we used it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Princess Tiana

      Registered: February 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun February 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean rooms, friendly staff
      Cons: Far walk from bus stop to park

       
      Just back from our visit to the World Jan. 25-30 2013. We were originally booked for All Star Music, but there was a mix up with our two rooms so we were offered rooms at the Sport Resort, after reading poor reviews on the Sport Resort I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of our rooms and how nice the resort was everything was so clean. I noticed one of the complaints was the size of the rooms at the All Star Resorts, so I reserved two rooms one for my teenage daughters and another for my son and me. The price of the rooms is affordable enough that instead of complaining about how small the rooms are why not get two rooms. People complained in the reviews about the noise in the rooms facing the pools well our rooms were facing the pool and we hardly heard any noise from the pool. I enjoyed the convience of being able to watch my tween son from the balcony walk to the food court for drinks and breakfast. We ate most of our meals at the resort the food was cooked to order and always hot and fresh, I was surprised at the selection of food at the food court, I assumed because we were staying at the Sport Resort they would only offer hamburgers and chicken nuggets, but was surprised by their menu which varied from london broil steak to turkey to salads made to order. My only complaint was how far we got dropped off from the parks via disney buses. Who wants to walk a mile or two before entering or leaving the parks. Overall I was very pleased with my experience and look forward to staying at All Star Sport again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melanieinma

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat December 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price,Food court
      Cons: Mouse keeping, hard mattress

       
      Went Dec. 8-11, room 5137. Had to call to have toilet paper replenished, then call again for tissues and again for plastic cups. Mattresses hard as a rock, had a hard time sleeping. Not good after a night at Merry Christmas party. All four of us had sore backs and tired. Food court was excellent, did not have anything bad there. We probably won't stay there again but for price, might be worth it for some one else.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      princess minnie

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue October 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theme is cute
      Cons: Bugs

       
      Checked in Sept. 22-24 after our week stay at AoA. This was our first time staying at All Star Sports and was looking forward to staying here. The room was clean the beds were pretty comfortable. We never ate here so I can't say anything on the food but from what I saw, something look yummy.


      We were gone to the park all on the 22 and came back to sleep. The next day when we came back to pack our bags, we saw some very very small little bug by the sink and a very large bug. I left my room cause I was scared. The kids thought it was pretty funny, I not so much. I went to the front desk. He was very sorry bout what had happened and moved us.


      Bus shares with the other All Stars. I had stayed at All Star Music in 2008 and don't remember them sharing. The longest wait we had was to DTD. The kids used the music pool, the main pool at sports was closed. I like themeing of Sports.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jesster64

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: cost of small items

       
      We went to Disney for a quick weekend and to experience 10 mile race. All Star Sports was one of the host hotels. Still great for the price. Main pool was closed for refurbishing. One thing that really bugs me is the cost of little things. Two dollars for a postcard in the shop. Length of stay for a soda mug is $15.50. Come on, fifteen dollars buys you 2 cases of soda, who's going to drink that much in a few days. Food was very good and a variety was fine. Maid services were especially friendly. Music by pool can be annoying, same songs. The walks aren't bad. I like pop century a bit more. But nothing like that feeling when you walk in the main lobby from the pool. Air conditioning and smell from cafeteria hits you at once. Fantastic.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tjm6515

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Mon September 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, surprisingly quiet, cost, transportation
      Cons: hard beds, small room if more than 2 in room

       
      We stayed at AS Sports for two nights, on 9/21 & 9/22. This was our first stay at a value, we usually stay at POR, POFQ, or SOG so was not looking forward to the 'value experience' from reviews I have read on AllEars. We traveled with family who were on a constrained budget. However, we did splurge for the preferred rooms in the Surf section. I will say I was surprised with the resort on many levels. Of course my experience may be different as it was off season and my guess the resort was not even 1/3 full.


      The Good:


      - We asked for a room not facing the pool (obvious noise). We had a 'parking lot view' room, but there was a buffer of trees and landscaping so we did not see the parking lot at all, quiet and serene.


      - The rooms and grounds were very clean, at least in our 'Surfs Up' section.


      - The theming is nice in the rooms, modern furniture and hidden Mickeys everywhere.


      - The transportation actually was well, buses were half full and we never waited more than 10 minutes to and from the parks. According to the signage at Magic Kingdom, each AS Resort (Sport, Music, Movies) has their own bus. Not sure about the other parks (Epcot, DHS)


      - Clean resort grounds and room.


      - Food court had a decent variety of food and menu varied at different meal times.


      The Bad:


      - Beds were hard, but so tired at the end of the day didn't really matter, I could have slept on a concrete brick.


      - Resort was quieter than I imagined, now I'm sure the pool view rooms and rooms facing the play areas are loud when guests are at play. So if you are a light sleeper ask for non-poolside rooms.


      - Rooms are very small, it was just the me and the wife in one room, good enough for the both of us. The other room in our party had 4 people, not a lot of room for them. I would say it would be rough for a group of 3 or more for trips with duration of more than 2 nights.


      Conclusion:


      If it is just me & the wife and off-peak season, we will stay here again! You can't beat the cost savings of value over moderate and even deluxe resorts. I'd rather stay 2 nights at a value for a weekend getaway then 1 night at a moderate. Transportation was never an issue, although I would reserve a 'highly recommend' until I experience this resort at peak season.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.