Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Dawnmh

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue March 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful experience!
      Cons: Stopping at nassau

       
      We have just returned from a Feb. 3 night cruise on the Dream. It was our first cruise and we could not have asked for a greater time!


      The staff was more than great! So attentive and friendly! The ship was super clean and comfortable. The check in and boarding process was a breeze! I definitely recommend the online check in prior to getting there it makes it speedy. I would have liked someone taking a picture as you walked in and they announced your name, I'm sure my little boy's face was precious, an expression that's a once in a lifetime.


      We had a cat 4E room with a larger balcony and it was wonderful! Perfect amt of space. Again, I would love a complete smoke free cruise, it was annoying to try to enjoy the outside and smell smoke from another balcony. I was afraid of the bathroom sizes but they were great! With the split baths, I didn't even notice they were smaller! Loved the storage under the bed too.


      Our room host was great! Always there when we needed him or just a friendly face to say hi when you walked by!


      I loved that I picked a floor that was not totally all rooms. I think it kept traffic down and it felt very private.


      The dinners were good and I did like that the wait staff followed you through the different restaurants, it was very personal. You were seated at the same table number every night which was easy to remember. The food was good in the dining rooms, not excellent but good. I loved the potato soup at Artists Palate and the next night our server even got it for me, it wasn't even on the menu.


      Lots of characters to see but the experiences were very short and limited. I thought that there may be roaming characters throughout the day for chance encounters but none of that. Make sure you get in line 15-30 m before the character is supposed to be there bc they cut off the line at a certain point. They have the times spread out during the day but not enough spread. Plus the pirate dressed ones only come out on the pirate day and in limited times. How about characters at the dinners? The longer cruises include a character breakfast, why not a character dinner on the shorter ones?


      My only major complaint was the photos. What a rip off! Come on Disney, if I can get all my photopass pics(that are a greater amt of photos) on a disc for less than 175, then the limited amt of photos from the cruise should be affordable. We had two staterooms and we couldn't get the cheapest package (10 photos) bc there has to be someone from the stateroom ordering it in each pic and we had one of just my parents alone! Ridiculous! I paid the bill for both staterooms! I felt really let down by this bc pictures are the only permanently captured memories, at least make them affordable! Very disappointing!


      I would definitely do another cruise but the one that stops twice at Castaway Cay. Nassau was a waste!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fluffy30

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 79
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful Cruise
      Cons: None

       
      We just returned from our first Disney cruise on the Dream and had a wonderful time. Husband and I sailed with our three sons (16,4,4) and we all agreed it was the perfect vacation. The ship was immaculate and the staff were amazing. From cleaners, guest services, dining rooms to security everyone was helpful and courteous. I was particularly amazed when one of our twins got lost in Cabanas and upon approaching a staff member there was an immediate jump into action and with one call staff everywhere were looking for him. He was found within a few minuets. It was handled with care and professionalism. Disney knows how to take care of every detail and we will be cruising with them again soon.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GregMV

      Registered: June 2009
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu June 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All
      Cons: None

       
      Just returned on a great cruise on the Disney Dream. Everything went perfect. I don't understand some of the reviews that degrade the ship and crew. I guess if the world doesn't revolve around them, they aren't happy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lucijoy

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: Taylors, SC
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri May 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, magical
      Cons: Hard to navigate through Shutters especially later in the trip

       
      Just returned from the Mother's Day cruise on Dream. We had a wonderful experience. Got to the port around 11:30. As Castaway Club members we got right on. My parents were with us--first time with Disney but boarded maybe 5 minutes behind us. Had planned to head to Cabanas but when hubby asked CM for directions she told us to go to Enchanted Garden--Cabanas was full. Great suggestion and perfect timing! After a good lunch we explored the ship and found Vibe for 17-year old son. Got him checked in (they get a Vibe key card to replace KTTW card) and checked out the area--nice pools just for the teens. He enjoyed the first night get acquainted time and late-night dodgeball. He went to Vibe several times but did most things with the fam, mainly with older brother (22). 22-year old was caught in the gap--young singles group is 18-21; not into clubbing and bar. But he found enough to do that he is interested in going again with friends. Glad the boys had each other. Had no problems or delays getting into our stateroom (6150). My parents were happy with their inside stateroom. Although we had different dinner times (by choice due to personal schedule differences), we were still able to do a lot together. Dining was wonderful! Loved all of the MDRs. Animator's Palate on the Dream is greatly improved from the Magic. Nothing but praise for the shows and movies (theater does get cold!) and AquaDuck is fantastic! Great time to go is during port days. I can't think of anything that would have made it better. Looking forward to checking out the Fantasy in September 2014!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Thu April 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Adult only areas, staff, Castaway Cay
      Cons: Noise in main restaurants

       
      My wife, daughter and I sailed on the Disney Dream on April 4, 2013 for a three day cruise to Nassau and Castaway Cay. We had cabin 7517 – an inside stateroom. My wife’s parents also sailed with us. We are DCV members and paid for our cruise with points.


      Parking – There is ample parking at the terminal in the parking deck next to the ship. Regardless of where you park in the deck, you are only a short distance to the elevators or stairs. The deck is clean and seemed secure. I was very comfortable leaving the car. Parking is $15 per day for the deck and there is the option to park in an uncovered “preferred lot” for $20 more.


      Boarding Process – Once you enter the terminal, you encounter security on the ground floor. Here you put your luggage through the x-ray machine and walk through a metal detector. This process took us a total of about 10 minutes – including waiting in line and screening.


      Ticketing/Keys – Once through security you climb an escalator to the second floor of the terminal building and encounter Disney’s embarkation process. You enter a line based on your past Disney cruising experience. This was our first Disney cruise so we joined the longest line . Even though the line was long, the wait was less than 10 minutes to get to a counter agent. Once all of our paperwork was reviewed, we received our “Keys.” With keys in hand, we got in the line to board the ship. This line did take a few minutes because you’re forced to take pictures before boarding the ship.


      Once on Board – When you reach the ship, you are asked for your family’s name and they announce your arrival to everyone in the boarding area. Little kids seemed to be impressed, but most adults seemed to think it was a little hokie. The main boarding area is pure Disney – well themed and beautiful. A large statue of Admiral Donald Duck is in the lobby and everyone is trying to get their pictures with Donald. The six elevators in the main area are all crowed! We went further forward on the ship and found another set of elevators that no one seemed to be using and got on one within 30 seconds of pushing the elevator button. Staterooms are not available until 1:30 so I took my daughter to the teen club, and my wife took her parents to the Enchanted Garden for the lunch buffet.


      From the time we parked, got out of the car, and walked on board the ship, it was about 35 minutes. We got there right at noon, and my in-laws were there at 11:00a.m. My in-laws said it took them about an hour to board.


      Stateroom – Our stateroom was on deck seven closer the bow (forward) of the ship. The signage in the halls is easy to follow and well positioned throughout the ship. Our cabin had a queen bed with a fold out sofa bed and a fold down ceiling bunk bed. We did not use the bunk bed as my daughter used the sofa bed. There is plenty of storage space under the bed and in the closets. The bathroom was large enough so as not to make you feel claustrophobic. The bathroom had a bathtub that was not quite full sized, but was large enough to take a bath in if needed. Towels were very thick and changed every day by our cabin steward.


      Food – The lunch buffet in the Enchanted Garden restaurant on Deck two was very good. The lamb chops were the best I’ve ever had!! There is rotational dinning on the Disney Dream – meaning that you eat at a different restaurant every night, but keep the same serving staff. Our first night was in the Enchanted Garden, second night was in the Royal Palace, and our third night was in the Animators Palate. The food was good, not great. The only real complaint I had was the escargot in the Royal Palace was way over cooked and was very tough – life chewing on a rubber ball. I could not eat any of the snails. So I asked for and received another appetizer. Service was excellent when we were at table #63, but when we changed to table #100, it was not as good. The last night, our server pressured us to provide only “excellent” ratings on the comment cards for her service.


      Activities and Ports of Call – We stopped in Nassau and at Disney’s private island Castaway Cay. We went to the Pirates’ Museum in Nassau, after it stopped raining! The museum is a short walk from the ship and is well worth the time. We all enjoyed the museum’s exhibits –including the life sized pirate ship you get to walk through! Castaway Cay is a lovely beach island. Disney does a good job of providing enough beach chairs and floats for everyone. The only downer about Castaway Cay is the food – it’s bad. Way over cooked and bland - what I thought was a piece of chicken was actually a piece of over cooked fish. Even the hamburgers were over cooked and cold – could not even begin to melt the cheese on the cheese burgers. If we ever go back, we’ll come ashore after having our lunch on the ship. There are current movies shown in the movie theater. We saw “Oz the Great and Powerful” one afternoon. The Aquaduck water ride is not to be missed – it’s a complete blast for all ages. My wife and I rode it twice!! Lines can get long so go in the morning, or after 5:30pm.


      Debarkation – The ship docks around 5:30am. Everyone is expected to be out of their cabins by 8:00am, and be off the ship by 9:00am. You have the option of carrying your own luggage off the ship, or having the porters take it to the terminal for you to find later. We chose to carry our own luggage and were we off the ship by 8:00am and in line for customs by 8:10am. Customs took a while as the lines were rather long. We were at our car in the parking garage by 8:45. Parking was $15 per day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mickeymom5

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Sat April 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons: small and crowded pools; tons of kids in the hot tubs

       
      This was my family's first cruise. It was everything we dreamed it would be. We had awesome servers: Tony and Guillame. The food was awesome! Castaway Cay was a great place. Our crab won the crab race! Woohoo! We didn't really care for Nassau. We just got off the ship and got back on so we could say we had been to the Bahamas. I wish Disney would stop somewhere else. The Mid-Ship Detective Agency game was a big hit with my six year old. She really enjoyed it. The pools were super crowded; even though it was really too cool to swim. Our stateroom was beautiful (6618)! We loved the verandah. All the common areas were beautiful...we will definitely be cruisin' again real soon!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Mon December 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Ship
      Cons:

       
      The Dream is just beautiful. We were on a cruise that I think was full (a holiday cruise), and unless you were around when a show let out, it did not seem overwhelmingly crowded. There was always something to do. We just loved it and can't wait to go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xrayvision

      Registered: August 2009
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sun October 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Large, Beautiful and Clean
      Cons: None

       
      We took our immediate family on a Dream cruise in Dec 2011. We had 3 Balcony staterooms on the back of the ship. Verandahs were large. We all enjoyed the Aquaduck. The dining and meals were wonderful and room stewards were exceptional. The shows were great and we were able to catch some great movies in the theatre as well. Shopping was fun!! Private island, Castaway Cay, is the best private island of any cruise line, in my opinion. It is fantastic!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      furgy234

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon September 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great staterooms !
      Cons: no wait staff entertainment

       
      We sailed Aug.29th- 4 night cruise- we were in cabine 8682- it is an accessible cabin and very roomy the back of the ship. This is our 5th Disney cruise and the first on the Dream. The weather was lovely- the staff exceptional. In the past the wait staff usually has a musical presentation at end of the meal- nothing this trip and no explanation. The food did not seem as good perhaps because of the large passenger list. Our dining partners had cruised on other lines and were also disappointed there was no dining room entertainment even on Pirate night. Overall a great trip - with an exceptional job with fireworks!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disfam4

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Davis Junction, IL
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat June 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Attention to detail
      Cons: Too much to do!

       
      Sailed a 5 night cruise on the Dream, May 27-June 1 with family of 4, kids 12 and 14. We were happy with every aspect - attentive staff, excellent food quality and variety, the ship was always so clean, and the attention to detail by Disney is unmatched. We had an oceanview cabin which was plenty of room with comfortable beds. My only complaint is that there was so much I wanted to do and didn't have time to try it all. The Aquaduck was a hit with my whole family, very fun. We had two stops at Castaway Cay. Never had a problem finding chairs on the beach and never waited in line for food at Cookies or Cookies Too. Liked that Cookies offered more than just burgers and dogs - there was cajun chicken, salmon, mahi mahi, and ribs too. Evening shows on the ship were excellent. Villians Tonight was probably my least favorite but the qaulity of entertainment was still good. Liked that the menus in the main dining rooms were different each night. We are DVC members so we used points to pay for this cruise, but feel that it was well worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Michigan Mom

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed May 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Ship, Terrific Staff, Great food
      Cons: Way too crowded at pools

       
      We had a wonderful cruise aboard the Disney Dream at the beginning of April Our stateroom on deck 9, 9666, had a verandah and was perfect. Beds were the most comfortable I have ever had on a ship, maybe even any hotel! Stateroom attendant was very attentive and room was always clean. Food was different, not your plain old fare. But, there were always enough choices that my 12 and 15 year olds could find something they liked. Castaway Cay, they best place to relax anywhere. Would go back on a Disney Cruise absolutely!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mindylee847

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon April 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun, relaxing, enjoyable
      Cons: not that much to do

       
      This was probably the best decision we made for our honeymoon. We went on a 4 night Bahamian cruise. Overall, we had a great experience. The cast members were great, the food was generally good if not great, the activities were fun, and I got to nap a LOT.


      I didn't really like how few activities were provided for adults. I don't like to stay up til the crack of dawn and I don't work out on vacation... I just take the stairs instead. Smile Disney Trivia was actually quite difficult and if you weren't at least 70, you hadn't lived through those cartoon releases that they asked you about. Match Your Mate was funny and so was adult Dream Quest but that really was only available one night. The Quiet Cove was far from quite so we passed on that and the pool deck is scorching hot without shoes on. I just wish there was a bit more to offer since I'm not huge into drinking either.


      I enjoyed the shows and dinners. I definitely was able to relax so that was great. I would do this again... but I'm going to save up and go to Alaska where the port adventures sound a bit more fun! Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      babagogi

      Registered: March 2012
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon March 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantastic vacation for all ages
      Cons: Nothing

       
      We just returned from a 5 day Bahamian cruise aboard the Disney Dream! The thrill of our first cruise was fueled even more by the organization of embarking. We did on-line boarding that made it much easier. We were given our Keys to the World and a number. We were able to enjoy pictures with Captain Mickey before embarking even though our number had been called for swift entry onto the shift.


      In no time at all, we were enjoying a delicious buffet style lunch in the Enchanted Garden. It had every kind of food you could think of to fill the appetites of all in our party. (my mom, me, my 17 year old son and 9 year old son)


      We were told luggage may not arrive in room til 9 pm but our room and luggage were ready for 1:30! Our host, Robbi, introduced himself to us and from that moment on greeted us every time he saw us by our names. I have never experienced such an immaculate room as the one he provided including towel creatures at turndown and chocolates! Our stateroom was huge with the queen bed, fold out couch, ceiling bunk bed and murphy bed so we all had our own bed.


      Restaurants were on a rotational basis each night with a stage show before or after. We had 2nd seating at 8:15 so we were able to enjoy the events and excursions longer during the day. Our servers were Anthony and Gusti and we will never forget them! We wanted to bring them home!!! They knew us by name and knew our preferences for drinks every night and had it all ready for us! Anthony entertained my 9 year old with jokes and magic during dinner and suggested the most scrumptious food. Servings were small but we were able to try anything and everything more than once. If we needed changes to the menu they were very obliging.


      The pirate deck party was out of this world with dancing and a DJ and beautiful fireworks while at sea! They even supplied us with pirate attire! My 17 year old practically lived at the Vibe doing a ghost night and karaoke and a game based on The Dating Game! They even had a late night pool party! My son hung out at the Oceaneers Club/Lab where he played computers, danced on a lit up dance floor, made wands and learned to cook! Disney movies played all day on the pool deck so you could swim AND watch movies!


      I did snorkeling with the family at Castaway Cay and parasailing! Everyone one on the ship treated you like they had known you for years and we were all great friends. I felt so at home! The last night had the Going Home party with all the characters dancing and posing for pictures.


      I know this seemed long and winded but there are not enough words or praise I can give to Disney! I definitely am going back and hope to see my friends still there making my vacation a magical one again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sonya07

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ship was fantastic, lots to do, very inviting atmosphere
      Cons: pools were to crowded

       
      Went on the Dream couple of months ago and it was wonderful experience. Nine of us went ages ranging from 40 to 3 and we had so much fun I'm ready to do it all again!


      The food leaves your mouth watering for more. I also liked that we had the same wait staff each time we were to eat dinner. That made it very personal.


      The entire boat is exquisite. From the views of the ocean to the detailed paintings on the walls. My three year old at the time was amazed by the rooms of so many activities and the in room free Disney movies.


      We are planning another Disney cruise next Sept for his birthday. I'm sure we will have the same great time!!!


      Oh and castaway cay is AMAZING. Loved to of stayed longer!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ranger275

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue February 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ship is beautiful and very clean
      Cons: Lots of people, kids pool area is really crowded

       
      Went on the 4 day cruise from Feb 5th thru 9th. Our 5th cruise with Disney, 2nd on Dream. Great time and great ship. Food was very good and we also loved Palo. We had a great time both on the ship and at Castaway Cay but we stayed on board for Nassau as it isn't worth getting off for unless you have a excursion planned. We were adults only on this trip. So we had a great time at all the adult nightclubs, at the adult pool and at the adult beach at Castaway Cay. Very relaxing time.


      We had cruised the same week last year but this year the ship had at least 800 more people at it. The only time it was noticable was at the buffet which was more crowded but still not bad. Also the middle family pool area was a mad house. It really makes me wonder about bringing our family back as hanging out there for a day would be crazy. Just so crowded and the pools are so close together.


      Everything else was great, meals were all good and while we only went to one show this time it was also great as usual. Our servers and all the staff were great, love getting to know them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.