Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ars0525

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: only 130 miles from WDW now
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Tue November 14, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): behind the scenes, extra info, food, animals
      Cons:

       
      We had 11 people in our group & Macie & Katie did a GREAT job of keeping everyone involved. Loved getting to hike on the trails in the woods & see animals. I have ridden the safari ride many times, but getting to stop by the animals & discuss in further depth was amazing! We did the 12:30 tour so had the lunch food options--all was delish & a good amount of food was served. I would take this tour every time if it wasn't so pricey! My 75 yo dad who's in average shape had no trouble keeping up or participating. We all loved it! And when the rain sprinkles started--we all got ponchos so bonus gift!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Pallantides1

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): up close with animals, away from crowds
      Cons: it ends eventually

       
      Just got back from our Honeymoon in October and we really enjoyed this excursion. Its so nice to spend time in a small group away from the crowds and get some quality time discussing the animals with knowledgeable guides. The tour focuses primarily on crocodiles and hippos but you also go out to the savannah at the end.


      The food is also nice and the physical demands of the trek are minimal. The bridge crossing could be a problem if you have a fear of heights but other than that I can't think of anything that could cause someone any problems.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alcmom

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: minnesota
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri August 26, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Backstage and up close views of animals
      Cons: None

       
      Excellent , well organized tour with extremely knowledgable guides. Up close view of hippos, alligators, giraffes. Safari bus goes off road for even closer views of the safari. Great snack and stop with view over looking safari. The time flys!! Ours was a small. Group, four of us and another group of three plus two guides
      Click here to see this users profile  
      weheartdisney

      Registered: March 2008
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon December 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Animal viewing, snack
      Cons: none

       
      My husband and I took the Wild Africa Trek tour on November 17, 2015. We loved everything about this tour--the length, the animal viewing opportunities, and the learning experience. We took the last tour of the day. The price was the discounted amount offered by Disney, and we added a DVC discount to bring the cost down even more.


      My husband is very afraid of heights when there is too much open space around him. (Frame of reference: Big Thunder Mountain Railroad and Expedition Everest are okay but Space Mountain, Soarin', and ferris wheels are not.) I showed him pictures in advance of the bridge crossings and assured him that if he was uncomfortable with them that there was an alternate route. He crossed those bridges like a pro! He even stopped to look around. He said he felt safe the entire time.


      The snack, as they called it, was delicious. I felt there was quite a bit of food and would have actually called it lunch. We were disappointed to hear that we could not purchase that exact chicken dish anywhere else on property.


      The time spent viewing the animals was excellent. It was nice to pull off to the side of the road and be able to take in the surrounding areas. We had a group of 13 and had plenty of room to move around the truck. The pictures the guides took came out great and were available online to download the next day.


      The only negative, and I'm not even taking off on the rating for this, is when you start the tour you are walking through the regular park crowds to get to the trek entrance.


      We would do this tour again in the future since we know that no two trips on the safari are the same.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Terry C

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon July 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great experience!
      Cons: None

       
      My granddaughter (age 11) and I took this great experience on Wednesday July 22nd, 2015. I would like to comment on the care and kindness we were shown by Becky and Karen. They were excellent guides and knew a lot about the animals and their habitats. My granddaughter, Macey was a little frightened at first because it was a total surprise that she was even doing this event! Becky and Karen put her at ease immediately and we had so much fun with them. Macey misses them and are in hopes they come to CA. some day so we can meet up with them again! I hope they are able to see this post!! If you can do this Trek I highly recommend the fun! Tell Becky and Karen that Terry and Macey said "Hello!"
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jbald

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun June 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: nothing

       
      Big thank you to Davis and Frank for an awesome tour. If you can take this tour DO IT you will not regret it. The guides are very knowledgeable, funny and so enthusiastic about their job. You get to stop and see the animals up close. The snack is more like a meal and is delicious. The actual foot tour is not strenuous.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annebill

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): guides, knowledge, getting up close
      Cons: the rain

       
      We two "60 something" ladies took this tour last week and it was amazing!. Our guides, Paola & Stephanie, did an incredible job. Safety is obviously their first priority and that overall feeling did a lot to help with some jitters regarding the unknown. The "up close and personal" aspect of the trek was more than special and the knowledge these two young women imparted was fascinating. They obviously love their work and did a great job of passing along their enthusiasm. I have done many, many backstage tours at Disney and this is one I would certainly consider repeating. Even the pouring rain couldn't put a damper on the experience ...thumbs up!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      manatee2420

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon July 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): animal viewing, safety, length
      Cons: weather prone

       
      This was a great tour. My husband and I went our last day at Disney. We had several thunderstorms throughout the week and were worried it would be canceled, but we only heard one clap as we were suiting up before the storm blew past. Whew. Disney makes a big deal about the intensity of this tour. Unless you're really out of shape or really old, I don't think it's very intense. My husband and I are relatively active late 20 year-olds and we had no problem at all. An older man in our group walked a bit slower, but made it through with no issues either. The bridges were not as scary as I thought they might be. Your safety gear gets checked what seems like every 30 seconds. I stepped down into the rope net under the bridge since I felt more comfortable doing that than taking a large step to the next wooden slat. When I did, I felt my harness pull on my back. I knew that even if I somehow managed to fall off the bridge (highly unlikely), the harness was only going to let me go a few inches. We saw lots of animals on the safari portion of the tour. I really enjoyed the snacks at the lookout station. I watched a giraffe trying to eat leaves from a tree that was just a little too tall. That was funny and worth the price of the tour by itself!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      practicalwdwmom

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri July 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): In depth, guided tour, fun, interesting
      Cons: None

       
      Just did Wild Africa Trek for the 3rd time. We became concerned the tour would be a bust when it started raining, but it turned out to be our best trek of all. The rain seemed to bring the animals out, except for the giraffes who tried to hide under the palms. We've had different guides each time and have enjoyed all, Davis and Stephanie were the most fun. They were also very knowledgeable about the animals. We got to stop for quite a while so that we could get a good look at the animals. You can take a camera if it is on a strap, but honestly the photos they take are great and trying to take photos just detracts from the experience. I don't remember what we paid for this tour, but it was well worth it and would absolutely do it again. Oh yes, the lunch we had was amazing!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EPCOTCitizn

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed May 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Guides, Photos, Light Lunch
      Cons: none

       
      This tour is Kilimanjaro Safaris in-depth. It shares the same savannah as Kilimanjaro Safaris, but you see the animals closer and from different vantage points. We had 2 guides and 7 people on our tour. My parents (late 60's) were worried that the activity would be intense with walking and climbing. However, the activity was very mild. If you can walk in the parks all day, you’ll be ok on this 3 hour tour. We had 2 great guides with us throughout the tour and met 2 more guides on the trail. The tour was very informative about the animals and we had plenty of opportunities to stop and admire the animals. The food was very tasty and not overly spicy. Disney calls the meal a light snack, but I thought it was more a light lunch. The guides take photos of you throughout the tour for some great memorable shots.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Mon November 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      We did this tour on 11/11/13. We loved it!!!! My DH, DS, and DN complained for 4 days before we did the tour, and not wanting to do it. I had to make them go. Within 10 minutes of the tour starting all 3 of them were saying "This is so cool!" (And I am righteously indignant with my "I told you so's".)


      It is expensive, but really worth it. The guides were wonderful, upbeat and very patient -- answering any and all questions that were asked. The tour was very informative and the view of the animals was spectacular. I know this can vary from tour to tour, but for ours, it was great. I mean a rhino came and essentially charged the platform we were on after eating lunch. To borrow a phrase, "It was so cool!"


      Lunch was small but very, very tasty. If you ask, the guides will print the recipes for you at the end of the trek. Our family will do this again with absolute certainty. I can see the allure. On our tour there was another family and it was their 4th tour, and they were still as amazed as we were on our first.


      The amount is walking is not bad at all. You are so busy watching/looking for the animals, that you don't even really notice the walking. The aspect of having to walk is what made my entire group not want to do it. However, when it came time to ride, they still wanted to walk because it was just so amazing.


      The water bottle and pins are kinda cheap (especially for the price of the tour). I wish they would improve the quality of these items. I know you don't go on the tour for a water bottle and a pin, but since those are your keepsakes, it would be nice if they were nicer. Disney has a gorgeous conservation pin that you can buy. I think that should be given to those on the tour since a portion of the proceeds go to conservation.


      Which brings me to my last point. You do get to choose where your money for conservation is spent; which I think is great. It makes you feel good to know where the money is going and not just that you "donated" in the abstract.


      So to recap -- loved everything but the keepsakes, but still not complaining and will do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pednurse13

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Time to view animals, information provided by animal experts, food, photos, overall experience
      Cons: none

       
      My 11-yr-old daughter & I did the Wild Africa Trek on Oct 23, 2013. It was awesome! There were only 10 of us on the tour. Being able to see the animals so closely during the walking portion & going across the rope bridges over the crocs was amazing. Having the chance to really slow down & stop & watch the animals in their habitats was beyond anything my animal-loving daughter hoped to experience. The food we had while sitting in the hut on the savannah, relaxing & watching the animals was delicious---and even my picky eater daughter tried all of the foods, and enjoyed some she was sure she wouldn't like. This experience was worth every penny. I would love a chance to do it again. There is a difference from earlier reviews: they no longer send you a CD of photos---you are given a card at the end of the tour with an access code to a website so you can see & download the photos 24-48 hrs after the tour. The photos the guides took were amazing and a wonderful addition to the photos my daughter & I took. We were able to take our own cameras as they had straps to tether them to the harnesses (everything has to be tethered or it doesn't go with you----they provide lockers for the things you aren't allowed to take on the tour, including cell phones). We were also given metal reusable water bottles with the Wild Africa Trek logo printed on them that were ours to keep after the tour. We also received a pin at the end to commemorate the tour. After the walking portion of our tour, they provided pre-packaged, chilled wet washcloths to help cool off---an added bonus in warm weather, although I would have preferred they be unscented (they were lemon-grass scented) as my daughter was bothered by the aroma. All in all, an awesome tour that I would recommend to everyone, even those who worry about the rope bridges (I was concerned about crossing them, but once I got part way across the first one, I was able to enjoy it and it provided an awesome view of the animals).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ebersole2

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun August 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The price is worth is for the photos alone
      Cons: It is definitely worth noting that is an extreme trek., may make person scared of heights

       
      I have been coming to Disney World since as long as I can remember. I am 33 right now. I told our guides at the end of the Wild Animal Trek, that that excursion was THE best thing I have every done at Disney in my years visiting. The cost is steep, but what one receives is remarkable. The price is worth is for the photos alone. About three weeks after one’s trek, Disney sends you a CD of our journey. My now husband and I have now well-over 100 extra professional pictures of our honeymoon! You leave the trek with a sunglasses holder, buttons (you can wear in the park saying you survived) “green” water canteens, .and thousands of tips on how one can save endangered species. In addition, part of the cost of admission helps an endangered animal which you personally choose at the end of your trip.


      The trek itself takes you far into the Animal Kingdom. People on the Kilimanjaro Safari were taking pictures of us! You see things you could never find on one’s own nor receive access to! It is a remarkable, educational adventure. Both of tour guides were certifiable biology majors with goals to work in animal rescue.


      It is definitely worth noting that is an extreme trek. You wear a lot of hot gear, and you move quickly and briskly. People with height anxiety may very uncomfortable on the rope ladders, and those not use to walking in rough terrain, may feel discomfort. The most fit and comfortable one is with the outdoors, the better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcnut

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Thu August 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None

       
      This tour was awesome!! I will never view the safari tour the same way again. You learn so much more about the animals and get to see them more closely from vantage points that the vehicles can't give you. It was fun to watch the safari vehicles go by and have people take pictures of us as we stood above them. The lunch was light, but gave you the needed energy to finish the tour. Definitely worth the cost!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 198
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I can't say enough good things about this experience. The guides (Shane and Krista) were outstanding...funny and informative. I loved the pictures that we received after the event...they were beautiful. Much better than we could ever hope to do and still enjoy what we were doing. It is pricey, but so worth it. I am so glad we decided to do this.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.