Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • manatee2420

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon July 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): animal viewing, safety, length
      Cons: weather prone

       
      This was a great tour. My husband and I went our last day at Disney. We had several thunderstorms throughout the week and were worried it would be canceled, but we only heard one clap as we were suiting up before the storm blew past. Whew. Disney makes a big deal about the intensity of this tour. Unless you're really out of shape or really old, I don't think it's very intense. My husband and I are relatively active late 20 year-olds and we had no problem at all. An older man in our group walked a bit slower, but made it through with no issues either. The bridges were not as scary as I thought they might be. Your safety gear gets checked what seems like every 30 seconds. I stepped down into the rope net under the bridge since I felt more comfortable doing that than taking a large step to the next wooden slat. When I did, I felt my harness pull on my back. I knew that even if I somehow managed to fall off the bridge (highly unlikely), the harness was only going to let me go a few inches. We saw lots of animals on the safari portion of the tour. I really enjoyed the snacks at the lookout station. I watched a giraffe trying to eat leaves from a tree that was just a little too tall. That was funny and worth the price of the tour by itself!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      practicalwdwmom

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri July 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): In depth, guided tour, fun, interesting
      Cons: None

       
      Just did Wild Africa Trek for the 3rd time. We became concerned the tour would be a bust when it started raining, but it turned out to be our best trek of all. The rain seemed to bring the animals out, except for the giraffes who tried to hide under the palms. We've had different guides each time and have enjoyed all, Davis and Stephanie were the most fun. They were also very knowledgeable about the animals. We got to stop for quite a while so that we could get a good look at the animals. You can take a camera if it is on a strap, but honestly the photos they take are great and trying to take photos just detracts from the experience. I don't remember what we paid for this tour, but it was well worth it and would absolutely do it again. Oh yes, the lunch we had was amazing!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EPCOTCitizn

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed May 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Guides, Photos, Light Lunch
      Cons: none

       
      This tour is Kilimanjaro Safaris in-depth. It shares the same savannah as Kilimanjaro Safaris, but you see the animals closer and from different vantage points. We had 2 guides and 7 people on our tour. My parents (late 60's) were worried that the activity would be intense with walking and climbing. However, the activity was very mild. If you can walk in the parks all day, you’ll be ok on this 3 hour tour. We had 2 great guides with us throughout the tour and met 2 more guides on the trail. The tour was very informative about the animals and we had plenty of opportunities to stop and admire the animals. The food was very tasty and not overly spicy. Disney calls the meal a light snack, but I thought it was more a light lunch. The guides take photos of you throughout the tour for some great memorable shots.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Mon November 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      We did this tour on 11/11/13. We loved it!!!! My DH, DS, and DN complained for 4 days before we did the tour, and not wanting to do it. I had to make them go. Within 10 minutes of the tour starting all 3 of them were saying "This is so cool!" (And I am righteously indignant with my "I told you so's".)


      It is expensive, but really worth it. The guides were wonderful, upbeat and very patient -- answering any and all questions that were asked. The tour was very informative and the view of the animals was spectacular. I know this can vary from tour to tour, but for ours, it was great. I mean a rhino came and essentially charged the platform we were on after eating lunch. To borrow a phrase, "It was so cool!"


      Lunch was small but very, very tasty. If you ask, the guides will print the recipes for you at the end of the trek. Our family will do this again with absolute certainty. I can see the allure. On our tour there was another family and it was their 4th tour, and they were still as amazed as we were on our first.


      The amount is walking is not bad at all. You are so busy watching/looking for the animals, that you don't even really notice the walking. The aspect of having to walk is what made my entire group not want to do it. However, when it came time to ride, they still wanted to walk because it was just so amazing.


      The water bottle and pins are kinda cheap (especially for the price of the tour). I wish they would improve the quality of these items. I know you don't go on the tour for a water bottle and a pin, but since those are your keepsakes, it would be nice if they were nicer. Disney has a gorgeous conservation pin that you can buy. I think that should be given to those on the tour since a portion of the proceeds go to conservation.


      Which brings me to my last point. You do get to choose where your money for conservation is spent; which I think is great. It makes you feel good to know where the money is going and not just that you "donated" in the abstract.


      So to recap -- loved everything but the keepsakes, but still not complaining and will do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pednurse13

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Time to view animals, information provided by animal experts, food, photos, overall experience
      Cons: none

       
      My 11-yr-old daughter & I did the Wild Africa Trek on Oct 23, 2013. It was awesome! There were only 10 of us on the tour. Being able to see the animals so closely during the walking portion & going across the rope bridges over the crocs was amazing. Having the chance to really slow down & stop & watch the animals in their habitats was beyond anything my animal-loving daughter hoped to experience. The food we had while sitting in the hut on the savannah, relaxing & watching the animals was delicious---and even my picky eater daughter tried all of the foods, and enjoyed some she was sure she wouldn't like. This experience was worth every penny. I would love a chance to do it again. There is a difference from earlier reviews: they no longer send you a CD of photos---you are given a card at the end of the tour with an access code to a website so you can see & download the photos 24-48 hrs after the tour. The photos the guides took were amazing and a wonderful addition to the photos my daughter & I took. We were able to take our own cameras as they had straps to tether them to the harnesses (everything has to be tethered or it doesn't go with you----they provide lockers for the things you aren't allowed to take on the tour, including cell phones). We were also given metal reusable water bottles with the Wild Africa Trek logo printed on them that were ours to keep after the tour. We also received a pin at the end to commemorate the tour. After the walking portion of our tour, they provided pre-packaged, chilled wet washcloths to help cool off---an added bonus in warm weather, although I would have preferred they be unscented (they were lemon-grass scented) as my daughter was bothered by the aroma. All in all, an awesome tour that I would recommend to everyone, even those who worry about the rope bridges (I was concerned about crossing them, but once I got part way across the first one, I was able to enjoy it and it provided an awesome view of the animals).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ebersole2

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun August 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The price is worth is for the photos alone
      Cons: It is definitely worth noting that is an extreme trek., may make person scared of heights

       
      I have been coming to Disney World since as long as I can remember. I am 33 right now. I told our guides at the end of the Wild Animal Trek, that that excursion was THE best thing I have every done at Disney in my years visiting. The cost is steep, but what one receives is remarkable. The price is worth is for the photos alone. About three weeks after one’s trek, Disney sends you a CD of our journey. My now husband and I have now well-over 100 extra professional pictures of our honeymoon! You leave the trek with a sunglasses holder, buttons (you can wear in the park saying you survived) “green” water canteens, .and thousands of tips on how one can save endangered species. In addition, part of the cost of admission helps an endangered animal which you personally choose at the end of your trip.


      The trek itself takes you far into the Animal Kingdom. People on the Kilimanjaro Safari were taking pictures of us! You see things you could never find on one’s own nor receive access to! It is a remarkable, educational adventure. Both of tour guides were certifiable biology majors with goals to work in animal rescue.


      It is definitely worth noting that is an extreme trek. You wear a lot of hot gear, and you move quickly and briskly. People with height anxiety may very uncomfortable on the rope ladders, and those not use to walking in rough terrain, may feel discomfort. The most fit and comfortable one is with the outdoors, the better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcnut

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Thu August 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None

       
      This tour was awesome!! I will never view the safari tour the same way again. You learn so much more about the animals and get to see them more closely from vantage points that the vehicles can't give you. It was fun to watch the safari vehicles go by and have people take pictures of us as we stood above them. The lunch was light, but gave you the needed energy to finish the tour. Definitely worth the cost!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I can't say enough good things about this experience. The guides (Shane and Krista) were outstanding...funny and informative. I loved the pictures that we received after the event...they were beautiful. Much better than we could ever hope to do and still enjoy what we were doing. It is pricey, but so worth it. I am so glad we decided to do this.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      xoktenox

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: Long Island
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sat March 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING
      Cons: none!

       
      My husband and I have been fortunate enough to have taken part many different "special" offerings in Disney including the Keys to the Kingdom tours, several spa visits, the Christmas and Halloween parties, etc. but none of these experiences have compared to the Wild Africa Trek. Hands down easily one of the best things we've ever done in the World and in the (real) world! Walking over the suspension bridges was such a rush! I have pictures I was taking of my husband while he walked over and I was on the other end; the smile on his face says it all. Another part of this experience that was great was the photopass CD we received in the mail from our tour guides a few weeks after we got home. One of our guides was there taking pictures of us as well as the animals and scenery throughout the tour and I loved having those professional photos to add to our collection. After a couple hours of the tour we receieved a delicious lunch out on the savannah with a gorgeous view as well as access to clean bathrooms. All the food was wonderful and of course, the jungle juice/frunch that they gave us (just like what's served at Boma or Kona Cafe) was tasty as always. While this tour was not cheap, I cannot recommend it enough! Amazing experience!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nh9016

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu January 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons:

       
      I went on this tour in Nov. 2012. It was so amazing! Tour guides Devon & Andrea were fantastic. I have other thoughts on pricing than other reviewers. I would have said that the water canteen likely would cost $20+ in a store; the lunch to get at a restaurant (you can't get it elsewhere) would likely cost $20-30; and photopass CDs (while this isn't the "traditional" photopass CD, it is essentially the same concept)usu. go for $120-150. That is the cost of the tour. The animal experiences were amazing. Yes, maybe it would be nice to let the guests toss the food to the hippos, but it was still very cool to see them & the crocodiles up close. Walking over the rope bridge was well out of my comfort zone, but that's one of the reasons I did it and it was amazing! It was wonderful to get an opportunity to pull over at various viewing areas and spend more time looking at the animals and hearing their stories. The Cheetahs came out to the road - the first I've ever seen them other than way back up against the trees. The Giraffes came up close to the Boma while we were eating lunch. It was incredible to spend time out on the Savannah and watch all of the animals, learn more about them & learn more about the Savannah. And it's nice to get to know the other people on the tour with you that you might otherwise never have interacted with at the parks. Absolutely no complaints from me! I even recommended it to multiple cast members that I spoke with during my visit. Probably one of the coolest things that I have ever done at Disney World - right up there with parasailing at the Contemporary!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melmac82

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon January 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): tour guides, lunch
      Cons: cost, safari

       
      I went on this tour with my mom, sister, and friend back in October. We are Disney regulars and probably average 2-3 trips every 2 years. I'll say that my expectations were a little too high for this, and I'll also admit that a large part of that was based on the cost. I put "yes" that I'd recommend the tour, but it's really a recommend with reservations. There are a lot of other reviews that detail every part of the tour, so I won't go into all of that, but rather just highlight and give my honest opinion of the things that most stood out to me.


      I have to start off first with the cost. For a tour that offers no discounts I was expecting a lot for $201.29 (cost including tax). We did this tour as an incentive for my sister (she's 27 by the way) to not make us go to Universal to see the Harry Potter section. So let's say that the lunch (VERY GOOD!, but not for picky eaters and waaaayy too short) would cost about $20-25 if eaten at a restaurant; the CD (a lot of great pictures!, but remember the tour guides are not official PhotoPass photographers) would cost about $10-15; and the water bottle about $10. This all adds up to $40-50, meaning that the rest of the trek better be worth the $150. After doing the Keys to the Kingdom tour for $65 (less with discounts) and the Behind the Seeds tour for $18 (less with discounts) I can officially say that this one was not even close to being worth $150!!! Now, if the price for the entire tour was about half of what it is, then I would be a lot more likely recommend it to anyone who asked.


      Another bad thing about the cost is that only one person in a group gets the Picture CD (I got the CD, but my mom, sister, and friend didn't get one). The CD is supposed to be included with the tour and nowhere does it say that only one person in a group gets a CD. So essentially, everyone paid for a CD up front, but I had to end up making and sending out a copy to everyone else. Since we are all adults and live in different locations I had to spend the money and time to buy blank CDs, make the copies, and mail them out. If everyone in your party lives in the same household then it's probably not a big deal, but if not then see if you can request that everyone in your party receive a CD when you check in.


      Next, I'll point out some of the things in the description, what I expected, and what we actually got:


      "Journey deep into Pangani Forest on a thrilling, privately guided expedition featuring close encounters with exotic wildlife species." --> Yep, the Pagani Forest is the trail that is located right outside the exit of the safari. So, I expected to see things that I couldn't from just walking on the trail like I've done dozens of times when visiting the park. Nope. You get to walk and fight the rest of the regular park crowd to see the animals while trying to listen, through the ear piece that keeps falling out of your ear, to the little extras that the tour guides are saying. And we went through the trail faster than I do on my own.


      "Get closer than you ever dreamed possible to Nile crocodiles and massive hippos." --> Pretty accurate, but I would have liked to toss some of the fruit/veggies to the hippos.


      Crossing the rope bridge was fun and something to experience! My complaint though is that they send you across one at a time. So if you're near the beginning of the group (we had an almost full group of 11) you have to stand around at the end waiting for everyone else to come across. Or if you are at the end, you have to stand around until it's your turn. I was probably 4th in our group and had to wait about 15 minutes until everyone was across. And yeah, crocodiles are cool to see, but they just lay there, so there's only so much looking until it gets boring.


      "Venture on to a VIP safari across an open savanna teeming with native African creatures!" --> Again I expected that we would get to see other parts of the safari area other than what you get to see on the safari ride. And again, nope. You do get to ride in a private safari truck, but it just follows the regular safari ride's road. We did get to stop about 5 times (wildebeasts, ankole cattle, elephants, lions, rhinos) to take good pictures and hear more about the animals and their care from the tour guides. It was nice to get good pictures, but I didn't get to see anything that I couldn't otherwise see on the safari ride.


      "...including a visit to an exclusive safari camp with incredible views of everything from towering giraffe to powerful rhinos." --> This is where we ate lunch. Again I was thinking that this was in an exclusive area, but it's right in the middle of the safari ride savanna - you can see the building while on the safari, it's on the right when you go by the flamingos. Lunch was very good and we had a good view of the giraffes - until they decided to wander off somewhere else. So you may or may not get a good look at animals during lunch. It just depends on which ones want to wander by. If you want a guaranteed look at the animals where you can spend as much time as you like and can see them closer just go to the Animal Kingdom Lodge and see the animals there. Also, lunch was kind of short. I'm a fast eater but I had to really eat quick and ended up stuffing the dessert in my mouth as we were leaving because I didn't want to leave any of the really good food!


      So basically I have two summaries of the Wild Africa Trek depending on who I'm talking to:


      For those who don't care about the cost and have tons of extra money laying around: The Wild Africa Trek is awesome and a great experience you don't want to miss!


      For those who are wondering if they want to spend $200 on a tour: You get to experience some new things and get closer to the animals than you can in any other offered experience, but it's not worth the money. Go over to Animal Kingdom Lodge, eat at Sanaa for lunch (where they have savanna views from the restaurant), and then go sit outside in a rocking chair to watch the animals while enjoying a Mickey ice cream bar from the gift shop. You'll spend a lot less money, see about the same amount of animals, and hey, you get a Mickey icream out of the deal too. Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lou28

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon January 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): tour guides, photo cd, lunch
      Cons: expensive, animal viewing can vary

       
      I took this tour several months ago with my family. The tour guides were top notch. They also did a great job getting good photos of my family. Another highlight was the meal served at the boma, very good! Seeing the hippos up close was great, too. Unfortunately, our tour day turned out to be a hot one. The harnesses felt heavier and more uncomfortable in the heat. You don't realize just how heavy the harness is until you take it off about halfway through the tour. The cold wash cloths were a welcome addition as well as water bottles. I have taken the regular safari ride 2-3 dozen times and had the misfortune of seeing the fewest animals ever on this tour. Our truck stopped for a while in a few places but not many animals were out and about. During our lunch there weren't many animals to see either. Our tour guides tried to compensate with lots of interesting information. Given the nature of the animals, it is hard for Disney to provide a consistent tour experience. I'm sure on a different day I could have seen lots more animals. This is a wildcard factor to consider before booking tour. The "thrill" aspects of the tour (namely, rope bridges) were less thrilling than expected. There is just one L-shaped bridge. Everyone passed over it rather quickly to make way for the next guest without much time to appreciate the surroundings. I was pleased with the photo CD, which arrived quickly after our return home. I do think Disney should send a CD to every person, not just one per group, considering we all paid a rather hefty price for the tour. I would recommend this tour to people looking for something different to try at AK and with extra money to spare. Do be prepared that animal viewing can vary.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TerriChicago

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Chicago
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat August 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close up to the animals
      Cons: seats on the truck are not easy to view

       
      I went on the trek with my college age daughter and her boyfriend on August 22, 2012. I am 56 and have a sendentary occupation. So I trained for the trek by parking my car at the shopping center in the farthest backlot, took extra stairs in the mall and walked the park district sculpture park. I was ready!
      We were outfitted and thouroughly trained on using our equipment. We had to demonstrate we knew our equipment vest before we started hiking. We met a researcher working with the hippos and he was able to share very detailed information on the habitat, feeding, breeding, you name it. Our tethers (picture a leash) let us step to the very edge as the big hippo opened it mouth. The ducks bravely try to swipe a piece of salad from the hippo. I thought the rope bridge was the most challenging physical task. The hiking was smooth thanks to a great pair of shoes. I could have used a pair of bicycle gloves on the bridge crossing. Next up was the crocs. They were not feeding, but a researcher stopped by and gave us all the details of the nile crocodiles. Mandy our guide did a lot of work and kept us entertained and accounted for. The truck brought us accross the plains where the hippo and giraffes were moving around. We were able to spend more time than the safari ride. Our guides talked about the giraffe habitat and newbies on the way;).
      The African Trek is very research and science oriented. There are numerous points were we are informed about the risks to environment and habitat. I learned that elephants hate bees and to keep elephants away from African farmer's fields (salad bar) they build beehives on the fence lines. Now I want to find elephant safe honey at the grocery store.
      The snack lunch they gave us at the savanah pavilion was superior. My daughter is a plant eater only and they had a great vegan lunch.I would have loved some elephant safe honey to dip my pita in.
      I can cross Disney's African Trek off my bucket list.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SimbaYaYuda

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: Atlanta
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon July 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything on this tour
      Cons: Too short but that's OK

       
      Did this tour on June 30 with our guides Stephanie and Elle... They are very knowledgeable and kept our attention with their vast knowledge of the animals and their behaviour. We started out with some jungle juice, suited up and hit the trails. Our group was like a big family, which made it even more fun. Loved seeing the animals up close and personal. Enjoyed the bridge walks. Well worth every penny..and it was the most memorable part of our visit to WDW. I highly recommend anyone who visits Animal Kingdom to do this tour! Not only that, it was an honor to have our money go toward the conservation fund to help the animals. My only "complaint" is it was too short..the three hours flew by.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jbald

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Thu June 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons: None

       
      AWESOME! Our guides were Mandy and Julie, they were so wonderful, knowledgeable and funny. This went so far above our expectations. We went on 6/16 at 11:45, the weather was perfect. The snack was delicious. The cool towels were definitely refreshing. Seeing the animals up close-priceless. If you have a chance to take this tour do it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.