Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • JEZeimer

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Service and Wonderful Accommodations
      Cons: Separate entrance needed

       
      We use Best Friends every year. It is a HUGE upgrade from the old kennels offered at the Magic Kingdom. Our rescue dog is not a social dog with others. Best Friends has been great with walking him separately and helping us to safety when we come to visit. We use the Vacation Villas. Our first visit we used the regular indoor kennels and found that our dog was very stressed as it resembled the rescue kennel. He didn't eat/drink much and lost some hair so the return trip we used the Vacation Villas. He LOVED it. He had his t.v. and turn down service. The isolation from other dogs helped with his stress. No problem with eating/drinking this trip. The outside area has two portions - one private walk area, and then the large dog park. We've found that it's busy at certain times of the day but we had no problem adjusting our schedule and finding private time to let our dog roam free in the park area alone. They provide baggies for pick up - it's very clean.


      The Vacation Villa is a good size. Charlie is about 100 lbs and he has plenty of room to stretch - loves his dog movies on the t.v. and quiet time keeps him relaxed. It's easy to get to the villa and then it's a straight shot out to the walking area. The air conditioning is really nice and keeps him very cool - it's actually cooler in the villas than in the VIP suites.


      If I had to provide one suggestion, it would be nice to have a separate entrance for check in vs. walking visitors. It gets quite busy in the reception area during peak times and for those that just want to walk back and walk their dog, it can be a long wait. It's also very hard to keep your dog separate when it's that busy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cmoranski

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun October 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): friendly cast, clean facility
      Cons: none

       
      Sammyboy and Dash spent three days here. They seemed happy and well taken care of. They were given a report card of how they did and they ate, played, and did the usual dog things. We liked the staff. They were good with the dogs. Very nice clean atmosphere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FlamingoGirl

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun July 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Care
      Cons: None

       
      We camped but did not want to leave the furkids in the "Mobile Mansion" all day alone. We contracted for Doggie Day Care. We called and asked a lot of questions about size of the different options. We looked at all the options, the pictures and the sizes we were given over the phone. We made a decision and called back and contracted for the days we would be in the park all day. We asked if we could bring them in the day we arrived and do the paperwork ahead of time and see the facilities. We took the dogs on Sun after we arrived and completed the paperwork, got a tour of the facility, and let the dogs play on the playground. We got all our questions answered and observed the furkids interact with the staff. The next morning, we took them in and dropped them off with no problems. At night we would stop and pick them up. They let us take them out and play in the yard with them before we went back to the trailer in the evening.
      It worked out well for us. I knew that they were being taken care of and getting potty breaks, fed, played with and walked. One of our furkids is very fearful of thunder/fireworks/etc. I took his ThunderJacket and he didn't need it. The building is very sound and you can't hear the fireworks in the building. I knew that they were well taken care of when on the second day we left them, they were laying down, watching tv and didn't even notice us standing by the door to pick them up until we called them. They were content and happy. Loved the daily pictures of them in our e-mail. We had them groomed on their last day and they looked beautiful. Thanks to Best Friends and their Amazing, Loving Staff!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elsaandannasmom

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon March 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): close to resorts
      Cons: none

       
      This was a wonderful boarding facility. It was close to the resort , so we were able to visit our pets twice a day. The staff was helpful , and wonderful with our pets. Will use this facility again .
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WingsAt46

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri March 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the grounds to walk dogs, the villas, the amenities, the photo sent to my e-mail
      Cons: none

       
      Oh, if only Best Friends were everywhere. I had the worst experience with Sand Lake kennel and while walking my dog one day, another dog-walker suggested Disney as a place to board my dog in the future. He said, you know how Disney is, perfect, so I tried out Best Friends. This place is the answer to my prayer!! My husband and I stayed at Port Orleans Riverside, just across the street from Best Friends where we boarded our 2 dogs, a lab and a Brasilian vida lota, in a vacation villa. At night when it was cool, we came to walk them on their grounds. It was quite a pleasant experience for all of us! I would recommend this place for anyone who loves their pet and wants the peace of mind knowing they are cared for by animal lovers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      georgiadisneymom

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu January 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): close to most resorts, very clean, cast members friendly
      Cons: none

       
      We used Best Friends Pet Care this past summer for the first time. Naturally we were a little hesitant because our Beagle is handicapped and only has three legs. We wanted to make sure she would be taken care of properly, but had nothing at all to worry about. The staff contacted us several times prior to checking in, as we had to be on a wait list for the type of kennel room that we wanted. When it became available, the cast member immediately contacted us to make sure we still wanted to put her in that type of room. She stayed in a Vacation Villa and we were very pleased with the cleanliness of the villa. We were pleased with how she was treated by the cast members, and even received a report card on how she did each day while boarding there. She enjoyed the outside dog park and walk, and we enjoyed being able to go over to see her whenever we wanted to. It is no problem to get into the area to see her, and cast members make sure that only those allowed to visit your dog are let into the area. All in all, our dog had a wonderful stay and we would definitely use Best Friends Pet Care again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Donald130

      Registered: March 2007
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun June 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, love the doggy park
      Cons: indoor/outdoor run too small

       
      Ok, so I am a very paranoid and worrisome doggy parent. My two dogs, Lilo and Tito, are over 7 years old and have only ever been caged when they were spayed/neutered and recently when they had some teeth removed. So I was very nervous when I had no one to watch them on one of our multiple WDW trips and we had to reserve at Best Friends for the first time.


      I was nervous because of how they would act, but was confident in the company and having the "Disney reputation" we've all come to know and appreciate. Anyway, the drive up from Miami was good and the dogs were ok. We checked in after 11 pm and that is the one time I encountered a less-than-friendly employee. I guess it was the late hour? But her two co-workers there with her were just fine. We brought toys, their food, treats, and signed a waiver in order for them to have blankets.


      My first moment of worry was when Lilo and Tito had to be dragged and then the CM came and asked me to go out to their indoor/outdoor kennel to fix Tito's collar because it came off and he wouldn't let anyone near him. This is when I realized how small these cages were. For both Lilo and Tito, their bed, and the toys, I found it uncomfortably small. I wish I had gotten a vacation villa but none was available.


      Next day I call to see how they are. Turns out from 11pm to 4pm the next day, they haven't eaten nor have they used the bathroom (even though the outdoor run is open a few times a day). Of course, they were nervous. We set out to visit them and reluctantly took them into the doggy park. I didn't expect for them to take to it so well but they did, running back and forth to us, drinking water, using the bathroom, etc. I definitely felt better and they didn't need to be dragged off at the end of the visit. The next day, the girl told me they ate a little but again no potty. We stayed longer and both dogs did a lot. I even requested their food and treats and both dogs ate like champs.


      Memorial Day we picked them up and they made the trip home fine. For their first time, it was better than I expected. I would prefer paying for a vacation villa, but it's ok if all that was available was an indoor/outdoor run. I just hope next time they are better adjusted. Guess their timidity didn't warrant any pics or postings on Facebook about them *shrug*


      I do recommend this. I prefer having someone come and take them out and feed them, but as a last resort I like the convenience of having them near us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NINALINDA1023

      Registered: August 2009
      Posts: 51
      Review Date: Wed May 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A GREAT PLACE TO LEAVE YOUR PET...
      Cons: NOT A THING

       
      We have a Yellow Labrador (Gunnie)...he loves it here as we do...I love it that you can see him on you cellphone, (at any time)..we have seen them giving him a bellyrub, playing with him in the yard...I love that we can go see him at anytime..I love that this Pet Care smells wonderful...and that the staff loves pets...We have been there many, many times. and it feels great that when I call they know exactly who I am and my dog's name...I am always treated with the utmost respect and kindness..and the best part is when we leave my dog gets a REPORTCARD...LOL...THANK YOU BEST FRIENDS PET CARE...SEE YOU SOON...AGAIN..
      Click here to see this users profile  
      getfed

      Registered: December 2008
      Location: Indianapolis
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue November 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, friendly
      Cons:

       
      We were a little concerned before getting there how well our dog would do, but the facility was so clean and welcoming that we didn't have any concerns by the time we left. He was happy and playful when we picked him up, we know he was well cared for.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      NINALINDA1023

      Registered: August 2009
      Posts: 51
      Review Date: Fri November 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): CLEAN, SMELLS GREAT, TAKE REALLY GOOD CARE OF YOUR PET
      Cons: NONE

       
      I love this Pet Care Resort, Right now my dog Gunnie is in this resort. We extended our stay, and they found room for him. He loves it there, they are taking really good care of him...THANK YOU BEST FRIENDS PET CARE FOR YOUR GREAT SERVICE.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      iloverags2

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 69
      Review Date: Mon October 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great staff, extremely clean, large accomodations
      Cons: Price

       
      We have boarded Klondike, our American Eskimo/Shepherd mix, at the new Best Friends location four times since they have opened with the most recent two stays about four weeks ago (Sep 7-10) and this past weekend (Sep 30-Oct 2). All stays have been wonderful. Klondike is well taken care of, the staff loves her, and we know she is in good hands. We do request she not have the group playtime as she is skittish around others, especially other furbabies. Instead we sign-up for one-on-one cuddletime, which she loves. Although we miss the Disney CMs at the old Fort Wilderness kennel, Best Friends is a good alternative.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NINALINDA1023

      Registered: August 2009
      Posts: 51
      Review Date: Sat July 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): REALLY NICE & LOVEABLE STAFF, CLEAN, AND YOU CAN SEE YOUR DOG ON YOUR I PHONE
      Cons: NONE

       
      We have taken our Yellow Labrador (gunnie) there since he was 8 wks old. (he is now 2 1/2). I was very worried when we first took him there, but then I said to myself, this is Disney and I know he will be fine. When we walked in EVERYONE fell in love with him..It was great. The price was amazingly very low (compare to south Florida). I was so nervous when we left him, but you can go visit him at anytime. (this was before they moved, at this time they were at the transportation center.) I really had nothing to worry about. They spoiled him rotten. He had a great time. (and at the end they gave him a bath and a report card..lol). Since then we take him with us (we go at least 4 - 5 times a year.) My husband has seen them give him a belly rub, reading a book, playing with him, and walking him. You can see him on your cellphone anytime. To us Best Friends Pet Care Kennel is the best.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jaminmd

      Registered: September 2008
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Mon April 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient hours
      Cons: Questionable time spent with dog

       
      I put my dog in daycare there last week. He was in an indoor/outdoor run so he didn't have a TV. It seemed nice but I saw a few things that bothered me:


      1. A Corgi in the play group was shaking & hovering in the corner while a chihuahua was picking a fight with a boxer. I felt horrible for the corgi because it was visibly scared & the staff member wasn't watching the dogs.


      2. When I picked my pooch up on the first day, there was a woman in there yelling at the staff over several problems she was having with them. I didn't listen to most of it as I was interested in getting my boy back, but she was angry. The staff member was being a bit curt in return.


      3. When I picked him up on the first day, the staff member said they took him out to pee but he was too anxious & didn't go. Huh? Ok, he is anxious & hates to be kenneled but I know his anxiety. He'll run around like a spaz for a minute but will eventually pee. It made me wonder how much time they actually gave him to pee.


      The positives:


      It appeared clean, most staff members smiled & they did let me go back & see other areas that I requested to see.


      They groomed him as well & he came back so soft. They did a great job with that.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sweetpee_1993

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue January 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): deluxe level accommodation for pets
      Cons: need seperate dog parks for small & large dogs

       
      We boarded our 3 year old toy schnauzer, Riley Belle, at the new Best Friends Pet Resort in a vacation villa from 11/11 to 11/21 while we stayed nearby at Port Orleans French Quarter. The decision to pay the premium to board her in this specific accommodation on WDW property was a well-thought-out one. We considered all our options carefully. Ultimately we decided with the length of our stay it would be best for our furry family member to be in the best place we could find as close to us as possible.


      Check-in was a breeze. The caretakers were very kind and caring. They were extremely encouraging which made me feel more at ease and less like an overly-protective dog mom (which I am..this IS my first dog...LOL).


      I love that we could bring toys, blankets, and bedding from home. I felt having some of her familiar things would make the stay more 'homey'. I packed several of Riley's blankets to rotate out thinking they'd each be pretty smelly after only a few days use. This turned out to be a non-issue! The entire facility including all the enclosures and outside areas were immaculantly clean. Her bedding was never stinky and I never needed to rotate her blankets at all. They remained fresh the length of her stay.


      The vacation villa was superb. Riley had a big, cushy bed provided in addition to her little donut-style bed I brought from home. The flat screen tv down at her eye-level was great. Our dog is always with someone and rarely alone. We felt this was an important feature to have provided. We visited Riley's villa at least 5 times during our trip and always found her space extremely clean & in order. Also to note, our dog was in villa #13 which is almost all the way at the end of the hallway of villas. When walking past the other villas we saw many other dogs enjoying the same fabulous accommodations. Some were 2 large dogs in 1 villa with plenty of space to be comfortable. All the villas were just as clean and well-kept as Riley's.


      A few days into our stay the caretaking staff noted to us that our pooch wasn't eating. The staff keep careful records of everything each animal does from each time they use their little "potty patio" to whether or not they are eating and/or drinking. This is something I found particularly reassuring. We knew without a doubt that our girl wasn't just boxed up & forgotten. The staff suggested that we encourage her to eat which we did with eventual success. Smile


      A consideration in deciding if we wanted to board our dog so close to us was was the thought that taking time to go visit and walk her would take away from time spent in the parks. I didn't want to have chores on vacation (like walking the dog). We actually found our visits and walks enhanced our overall vacation experience. We thoroughly enjoyed being able to stop in to see our little furry girl. The convenience was fantastic. Taking that time was a true pleasure and we enjoyed our trip that much more. Even our boys would ask at least once or twice a day to go visit Riley.


      Each day our dog received a 30 minute walk and a 30 minute play group with other like-sized dogs. These perks were included with the cost of the accommodation in a vacation villa. I know Riley really enjoyed that.


      The dog-walking trail was wonderful! I think my favorite touch was the doggy water fountain. I loved that. It's a nice trail. The only way it could be improved is if it was longer.


      The off-leash play area is the only thing we had even a little trouble with. One of our first visits we took our 10 lbs. toy-size dog out and there were 2 other large boxer-type dogs out. The larger dogs were excited to see our dog & wanted to play. Our dog wasn't her normally playful self & actually nipped at the big, rowdy pooches. I felt bad. Both the other owners and us were apologetic. I had previously read a review on another website stating this very problem. We weren't the first to not be able to use the off-leash area because of a broad size difference. If I had any suggestion to make, I'd suggest a separate off-leash play area for large and small dogs.


      I love that during each stay the caretaking staff take pictures of the pets and email them to the address provided. I was so excited the morning I checked my email on my iPhone and found a great little shot of our dog. These pictures are also rotated slide-show style on a big-screen in the Best Friend's lobby. When I saw Riley's picture up there I was so excited!


      Riley had a 'go-home-fresh' bath before we picked her up. She was fresh & ready to go. Prior to check-out each pet receives a "report card" noting the pet's behaviors & habits. I can certainly tell the staff took time to get to know our dog by the comments they left. Riley truly is a "power cuddler"! Check-out was super-easy.


      We truly felt like this was a deluxe level accommodation compared to the kennels we've boarded for shorter periods in the past. It costs more but the pets get a lot more so it's money well-spent. Also, DVC and annual passholders can get a discount so don't forget to mention it when making reservations and again at check-in.


      I would recommend Best Friends Pet Resort to any pet parent. Every aspect of Riley's stay was top-notch. The location was very convenient, our visits were enjoyable, and the staff are all fantastic. I'm sure we'll be back again in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.