Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • trishie

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon October 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, location
      Cons: Limited Seating especially around Illuminations

       
      The food was amazing. Limited seating especially around Illuminations time when people do not want to give up their tables.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Krissi890

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Seating

       
      Loved this place. The only thing I have every got to eat here (which is every single time I visit Disney), is the Nachos! So filling (easily split between 2 people), and very tasty. We tried the little churros with the Caramel dip and they were outstanding. We love this little place. We just wish there was more seating. We tend to have to sit inside every time because the outside seating is always taken.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NY10543

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri August 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Value, quality, cleanliness

       
      A few years back this used to be one of my family's favorite spots to eat at Epcot. No longer! I have no idea what happened. I don't think 3 small tacos with nasty, tasteless chips for 11.00 a great value. Most Mexican restaurants serve rice with their meals, not just chips. We were so disappointed with this meal. We will never go back unless things change dramatically. Another complaint was that the tables were extremely dirty. I don't think anyone cleaned them all day!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Sun July 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): inside dining
      Cons: ala carte for sides

       
      Ate here May 20, we were at the front of the park that day and didn't plan on visited the world showcase, but everyone was undecided about where to eat for lunch so we walked around until we came upon this QS. The lines were long but seemed to move quickly. My oldest son told us what he wanted and went looking for seats. It does offer outdoor seating but it was hot that day, so we found seating inside which was nice. We ordered nachos, and empanades. My son and husband got beers. the food was good but was put off that if you wanted sour cream you had to pay extra for it. I can say that we tried it but not sure if we will eat here again, only if we are in the area and were out of options.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melloc

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Very little choice and not very good, especially for the price.


      We used to love the Cantina, before they changed the menu. It had a wide varietyon the menu to choose from, including side dishes such as rice and beans, and everything was delicious.


      Now, you get a couple teeny tiny dry little tortillas with some dry little meat and a lime, with a pile of cold, greasy tortilla chips. Blech.


      Or, worse yet, "nachos" which consist of more tortilla chips with that nasty, disgusting fake yellow "cheese" sauce dumped on. More blech.


      I was SO disappointed I almost cried. Really. Just a darn shame.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cinderella

      Registered: November 2006
      Location: Nashville, TN
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri April 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location and atmosphere, simple menu choices
      Cons: They changed the churros!

       
      They have changed the famous churros! They are now called "churritos." Same batter recipe, but they are smaller. Instead of 3 large churros, you get 6 small churritos. They are smaller and thinner, and curved into ovals. I was very disappointed.


      The rest of our food was ok, but not amazing. If we eat here again, I would order the nachos. They looked AMAZING and lots of people were ordering them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LucyKate0811

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu February 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nachos, guacamole, chips
      Cons: Dessert popsicles, the birds

       
      We ate here immediately after arriving, my husband had the chicken tacos, which he loved despite the enormous portion size. I ordered the nachos, which were covered in a generous layer of cheese, they were decadently delicious. The chips and guacamole were delightfully and surprisingly fresh!! We ordered the popsicles thinking they would be a healthier and fresher item (after indulging in copious amounts of greasy cheese) however, they were sickeningly sweet (not an easy thing for a dessert lover like myself to say). My parents had an order of the churros, which were significantly better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick service
      Cons: seating, food

       
      I had the chicken tacos and my husband had the beef, but they both looked the same. Each basket had three soft shell tacos and nacho chips. It’s rather expensive for how basic the food is and they charge for any extras, such as sour cream or guacamole.
      I could find no open seating and had to ask someone if we could share their table.
      Cast Members did a good job clearing the trays/tables and keeping the area clean.
      Considering the cost and quality, will not be back. There are too many other options in Epcot to eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SammoDake

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing atmosphere
      Cons: Disney's homogenization strikes again with the desserts

       
      The Cantina is a tradition for my wife and myself. She's been going there for years and years and when she dragged me to WDW for my first trip in 2005 she took me. We've gone back every trip since.


      The atmosphere really can't be beat. The further into the restaurant you are, the more the noise and lights of the marketplace die away and you can have a surprisingly intimate, especially consider how much Disney likes to pack customers in together, dinner with a companion. The view is always beautiful and I appreciate that Disney has avoided the temptation of places like TRex and Rainforest Cafe to add some periodic show, like the volcano erupting or something.


      The food is always very good. The chips came with a mild salsa verde, very fresh tasting, and a spicier salsa roja, chipotles giving it a smokey flavor. We shared the tostada appetizer, which was surprisingly delicious. My wife ordered the enchiladas, which she loved, and I ordered the tacos, which were very good but needed some sour cream to alleviate some minor dryness.


      I was disappointed to see that San Angel has long since abandoned flan. Ultimately we did not get dessert since none of the dishes offered (cheesecake?) really went with the atmosphere.


      All in all, we love San Angel and will always come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Hstepzinski

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue November 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great veiw of Illiminations
      Cons: crowded

       
      This place has a great view of Illuminations if you can get a seat. People tend to squat long after they are done eating. The food was okay far from the best Mexican I have had but still good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dldennis01

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: Expensive, small portions

       
      The food was good, but the portions were tiny for the price. Nice atmosphere and good service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DeanMoriarity

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): tacos were good
      Cons: seating is a mess

       
      I reluctantly give this a "yes" rating. A "4" rating should be a no, but I want to give this place the benefit of any doubt I may have.

      The food is not on par for an Epcot quick service meal. The menu is limited, and the chips are stale. All in all, you pay too much for what you get. The tacos tasted good, but I got three very small tacos and a basket full of stale tortilla chips for a meal. Tortilla chips are a staple of any Mexican restaurant and they should always be fresh. The staff was friendly and filled my order quickly and accurately.

      Seating here is a mess. I've heard they have problems with people needlessly taking up seats during the nightly IllumiNations. But I encountered this problem at 2pm. La Cantina needs to find a way to assure only guests who are dining can enter the seating area. I witnessed many people standing there with their trays of food just waiting for a table to open up. Then when one did I was entertained as the diners made their moves to secure the rare open seat. All the while people who weren't dining and just wanted to sit in the shade were taking up valuable real estate.

      Mediocre food and seating is a problem. Maybe this place is worth it if you love Mexican food and have never been here before. But for me, there are too many better choices in Epcot to ever deal with La Cantina again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jberrong

      Registered: January 2007
      Location: Indianpolis, Indiana
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue July 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food!
      Cons: seating, $.50 for cheese

       
      Wow! I think I am just going to get the quick service meal plan from now on. I have never had a counter service experience in all my trips prior. The food here was delicious! I had the Empanadas de Queso. Probably the best thing on the menu. My husband and boys had the nachos, brother had Tacos de Carne, daughter had kids chicken tenders. Chips were good. We all got the Churritos for desert. They tasted like warm donuts! We did have to save those for later. I didn't know you could get cheese for an extra $.50, so I had to wait in line again because all the kids wanted that for their chips. The only downer is the seating. We had 13 people in our party. Luckily, we got there a little after 1:30 and it was thinning out, slowly. We just had to keep snatching tables and a few adults shared a seat. Wow! I think I am just going to get the quick service meal plan from now on. I have never had a counter service experience in all my trips prior.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nicole0992

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: Los Angeles
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue May 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great choices of delicious food
      Cons: Seating area can be crowded outside

       
      We dined here recently for lunch. Everything was excellent. We ordered the beef nachos and Empanadas de Queso. Both entrees were very large and filling and extremely delicious! We also had the churritos, Paletas (Mexican popsicle) and the Jarritos (Mexcian soda) to drink. I definitely recommend it for a meal or quick snack. The margaritas are great also.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jnscook

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Mon March 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: need more seating

       
      The trick on a dining plan where half of your meals are table service and half are counter service is to try to find the best quality food on the counter service meals as you can. Sometimes you are just too darn tired to make to a better place. But cruddy hamburgers and french fries day after day get old. This is a great place to get better quality food on your counter service meals. We had the tacos. You get three tacos (soft or crunchy, I think). The soft are in a corn tortilla. The meat (your choice) was good! Chips and salsa come with it. Desserts were a little lacking...but, happing to forego a popsicle for quality food. The seating area (outdoors only) is in such a pretty place if you can get a seat. I say this...it is nice in March...not so sure I can say that in July.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.