Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • west1818

      Registered: April 2006
      Location: Duluth, Minnesota
      Posts: 43
      Review Date: Tue April 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, location, location!
      Cons: Too few rooms

       
      I am a DVC member and stayed here April 7-11, 2013 (4 nights) in studio room #5516. Loved it! This was our first trip to Disneyland and what a great way to end the trip (we couldn't get in here the first two nights and stayed off property). What a great location being right next to Downtown Disney and having a private entrance to California Adventure. I wish there were more rooms available here for DVC but would stay here if I ever get back to Disneyland! Highly recommend!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      colinlyoung

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: Nottingham, England
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri February 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location, beautiful rooms.
      Cons: Only 1 bedside table!

       
      We are DVC members and have stayed at nearly all of the WDW resorts. This was our first stay at the Villas, and we loved it. The rooms are beautiful, and our studio had the same layout as most of the WDW properties. The only annoyance is why do you you only get 1 bedside table and light for double beds?
      Our room had a view of California Adventure, which was a nice bonus, and despite the noise from the park as soon as you close the sliding door you can hardly here it.
      One of the best perks in California is that you can walk to everything (both parks and downtown Disney). You can also get early magic hotel admission which is brilliant for Cars Land and a must use if you want to avoid the queues.


      Overall a great resort and a great vacation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mom2boys2

      Registered: November 2009
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Wed January 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location and space
      Cons: Showing age (but not bad!)

       
      We stayed in a 1-BR unit (5502) 1/22-26, 2013. I believe the location of the Villas cannot be beat. The ability to walk everywhere on the Disney property quickly and easily makes the trip more enjoyable. There were many times we either left something in the room and were able to quickly retun and fetch it or ran back for a quick snack or change of clothes (for the ever changing weather!).
      We stopped at the Target near the Orange County Airport for breakfast food when we arrived. With the time difference from Kansas and the parks opening (relatively) late each day we had plenty of time to eat breakfast in the room. The kitchen is well equipped and comfortable for fixing meals.
      We had a perfect view of California Adventures and the Paradise Pier area. We were able to watch World of Color at night without fighting the crowds or getting too cold at night. Our boys could even sit on their beds to watch and went to sleep right after! That was definitely a great perk!
      The units are beginning to show their age. The wood in the bathroom is showing water damage where guest probably are not as careful as they are in their own homes. The shower drain in the master bathroom was very rusted and the tile grout was showing mildew. But overall it looked pretty good for its age and the fact that every unit is booked every night!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mg0914
      squirrel

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Wed August 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful hotel, friendly staff, easy access to parks
      Cons: none

       
      This was our family's first visit to Disneyland after 10 years and 13 trips to WDW and we were not disappointed. The Grand Californian hotel is beautiful.


      All of the cast members, from the front desk to the bartenders & restaurant workers, were terrific. The gift shop had plenty of items with "Grand Californian" written on them: hats, shirts, etc. I'm a big fan of purchasing items like that. Sort of a good way of remembering a specific trip.


      We had a one-bedroom with a view of California Adventure. The room was great - two full baths, a full kitchen, a jacuzzi, two flat screens, Wifi and that stunning view. We could even watch World of Color from our balcony! The master bed was extremely comfortable.


      One thing I didn't like too much was both showers had a weak spray - but that's it for the negatives.


      Unlike WDW, there are no buses! It was literally a 10 minute walk from our hotel room to the front gate of either Disneyland or California Adventure, less if we were going to Downtown Disney. For anyone accustomed to planning about an hour to get into a park (this includes waiting at a bus stop, the ride to the park and the walk from the bus stop to the gate) this comes as a real pleasant surprise. Since returning people have asked what we liked best about our trip. I think what we all liked best was the convenience and easy access of the entire resort.


      I would highly recommend a trip to DL for anyone who hasn't been there and I would highly recommend staying at the Grand Californian.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      liza

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed August 31, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, service, cleanliness
      Cons: Disney Vacation Club reservations, price if not using points

       
      If this resort were in Florida-I would be a frequent guest! Our last trip to WDW was in April, and our first stay at BLT. It took about an hour and a half to check into one of our rooms. The staff at the Grand Californian were tremendously helpful. There was an issue with our reservation (I think this had more to do with the DVC than the hotel) regarding length of stay. The staff at the reception desk took right care of it. Great customer service. I favor the Arts and Crafts style, too-the hotel is beautiful. I think the rooms and main areas are cleaner than many of the hotels (including the Grand Floridian and Contemporary) at WDW. Our rooms were very clean. We stayed in a one bedroom villa and a studio. The rooms were well laid out. Very close to the main lobby and pool. And frequent guests of WDW may not believe how close the main gates are to the hotel! I woud love to return to the Grand Californian.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.