Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » SPECIAL EXPERIENCES at WDW

    pirateleague100.jpg


    pirateleague100.jpg
    supersize

    Pirates_League_12.jpg
    supersize

    Pirates_League_14.jpg
    supersize

    pirateleague1.jpg
    supersize

    Pirates_League_20.jpg
    supersize

    Pirates_League_03.jpg
    supersize




    • Pin It


    • Pirates League at Magic Kingdom

      • Reviews Views
        27 35266
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        100% of reviewers 9.6
      • Description: The Pearl drops anchor in Adventureland at Magic Kingdom for The Pirates League, recruiting and training Walt Disney World guests of all ages in the scurrilous ways of buccaneers.


        Guests can chose from several pirate packages (subject to change):


        -- First Mate Package: Includes bandanna; choice of facial effects – scars, tattoos, fake teeth, earring and eye patch; sword and sheath; pirate coin necklace; one 5x7 inch photo and personalized pirate oath - $34.95 plus tax


        -- Empress Package: Includes bandana; shimmering makeup – face gem, tattoos, nail polish, earring and eye patch; sword and sheath; pirate coin necklace; one 5x7 inch photo and personalized pirate oath - $34.95 plus tax


        -- The Jake and the Never Land Pirates package, inspired by the hit Disney Junior television show, transforms a guest into the main character of the show, Jake. The package includes Jake facial effect, bandanna with faux hair, plus the official Pirates League sword and sheath, treasure bag and pirate coin necklace, all for $29.95, plus tax.


        -- The Mermaid package, previously offered for a limited time last year, is back due to popular demand. The package includes luminous mermaid makeup application, makeup palette, face gems, special hairstyle and color changing hairclip, nail polish, mermaid sash and color changing necklace. Price is $39.95, plus tax.


        Boys, girls, and grown-ups ready for the pirate life can start the process by calling 407-WDW-CREW.



        http://land.allears.net/blogs/jackspence/2009/06/pirates_league.html


        http://land.allears.net/blogs/dnews/2009/06/pirates_league_magic_kingdom_1.html


  • Author
    • WDWDad1974

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed May 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cool setting, kids love the face paint
      Cons: Takes awhile

       
      My son did this while his sisters did the Bibbidy Bobbity Botique. He actually ended up having more time at his event than they did, which says something about the quality of the event, though perhaps that it is too long for a young boy. He got the ghost pirate makeup, which the makeup artists recommended against. To be sure, as soon as he ate it started coming off (though it was not uncomfortably hot, as they said it might be). But it was really cool, and he knew it. The earring, saber, etc., are nice, and he liked them, but they're not exactly a whole lot. Kids get a picture afterward (free with Memory Maker), and the pics are pretty awesome. Oh, and the pirate headquarters room is really well-themed.


      If your kid would rather ride the rides, however, you could probably squeeze a couple in in the same amount of time, and probably not have your kid notice too much that he's missing it (I say he, but there were plenty of girls dressing like mermaids).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vickie1016

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Yonkers, New York
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Tue July 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Magical
      Cons: No photopass inside the main room

       
      DD(7) was transformed into a Pirate Princess last week at Pirates League. We purchased a costume from home, so when we arrived a changing room was available for us to use. First she was given her "Pirate Name", then the transformation began. Our CM Jason was very in character and the makeup took about 25 minutes. Once our Pirate Princess was finished with her make-up, she took the Pirate Oath and received her sword, Then off to the secret room. The whole process took about 45 minutes. Being I had PhotoPass + the picture package was included & added to my card.


      My only negative is that I would like to see a PhotoPass photographer inside while the "transformation" is taking place (like BBB).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Rfren

      Registered: April 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu April 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The kids loved the experience!
      Cons: None

       
      We booked the pirates league in the morning for our son and daughter and they both loved it! The cast members took their time with each child (about 25min) while they put on their makeup and costume to make them look like a genuine pirate and pirate princess!! I loved the whole experience and the reaction the kids got while walking around the park dressed like a pirate all day!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jjl181

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sat March 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good contrast to BBB, Lots of fun for kids
      Cons: Tight space

       
      We did this twice on our last trip, once for my 8 year old son, and once for my 5 year old daughter. For my son, he chose his pirate face and bought a skeleton sweatshirt. He had done this experience before, so it wasn't really new to him, but he enjoyed it just as much.
      It was my daughter's first time, and she wanted to be a pirate too! She got the Empress Package. I thought it was just makeup and nails, so I did her hair in pigtails so she could be like Izzy from Jake and the Neverland Pirates. They made me take it out so they could do her hair, but she liked the way they did it too.
      There wasn't a lot of space to take pictures and/or video and we kept having issues with people walking by because of the tight spaces.
      They loved the part at the end (Top secret!)and thanks to Photopass Plus we automatically got the pictures. Unfortunately after about 30 minutes, my daughter cried about 2 tears and made a mess out of her makeup and which stayed that way the rest of the day, despite trying to fix it. Not the fault of the PL, but a lot of makeup for a 4 year old. Possibly return in the future, if the children still want to do it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shelystar

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun October 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Kids have a ball
      Cons: Very busy

       
      This was our second year doing this. I recommend buying a costume or T-shirt before going. There is allot of costumes, hats, shirts, guns, swords and extras to buy. Unless you want to spend $150 per kid, it is a good idea to bring your own clothes from home. There are pictures to buy at the end which cost about $25 and they get a certificate with it. We will be back for sure, it works well with the Halloween party. The only thing I am not crazy about is that they close at 3 which limits greatly the amount of kids that can come each day and makes it hard to get a reservation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      charmouse

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pure Disney magic...
      Cons:

       
      After trying for several weeks, I was able to get a reservation for the Pirates League on the night of our MNSSHP. As we were heading there, I was hesitant about my boys' reactions (ages 9 and 7) b/c they like pirates, but aren't obsessed with them...
      Well- I am so happy that I was persistent in trying to get that reservation...it was totally worth it! From the moment they rolled the dice to find out their pirate name, they were hooked! My 9 year old had a smile on his face from the second we walked in until his head hit the pillow at midnight! He told me he has never felt "so special".... and that is exactly how the kids feel when they are there! Each pirate takes time to make the children feel comfortable and immersed in the experience. By far the highlight of our vacation and a memory that we'll hold in our heart forever!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gmuuva

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The staff is wonderful
      Cons: limited costume options

       
      One tip I have is get the first appointment in the morning. We did and had no wait at all. My husband and daughter got turned into pirates. I loved it was something my husband did with my daughter. She got the pirate dress and he got the pirate adult shirt. The make up was great on both of them and I have wonderful pictures of the parade later in the day. Don't think this is just for the boys, pirate dads and their pirate princesses have a lot of fun with this too.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RPTB

      Registered: May 2010
      Location: Colorado
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue July 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful Experience!
      Cons: None come to mind!

       
      We visited the Pirates League on June 26. We had 4 kids (9,9, 7 and 5) and 1 adult (44) take part in this experience. The staff was very friendly at check in; as was every castmember throughout the experience. Three members of our party chose the six-eyed-jack makeup; it is VERY COOL! They paint your eyelids to make them appear as if they are open, when actually they are closed. Please note that if you choose this theme, the person needs to remain still in the make-up chair, with their eyes closed, for 20-minutes. Our 9-year-olds sat perfectly for the duration of the makeup application. The review/descriptions of this experience by Jack Spence are dead-on! So I won't bore you with repeating them. Suffice it to say that everyone in our party enjoyed the experience (including the 44 yr old). Also, we had purchased the PhotoPass option in advance, and everyone in our party received a hard copy of our photo AND all of the digital pictures (45 in total). It's worth doing, make your reservations as soon as you can!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dmh

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Thu June 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      This is such a great treat for all the little boys! My son would see all the princesses from the BBB and would ask where they got their costumes. It was a wonderful experience for him. He is a big pirate fan and this was so fun. The wait was a bit long for him, 25m even with reservations, but worth it! We didn't make it to the afternoon parade due to weather but that is a nice option. Now if Disney would just get a pirate restaurant with characters!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lisakramer

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Mon May 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful time!
      Cons:

       
      All 3 of us, me, DH and DS(4) got pirate makeovers. My son had the new Jake and the Neverland Pirates makeover and LOVED it. I was amazed at how much he looked like Jake!
      DS had the classic capt jack and I had the classic girl pirate.
      We planned for this and all wore our pirate costumes from halloween, so we were official pirates for the day. Got many compliments and had a ball going around the park all made up all day long.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      slamborne

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Rockledge, FL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sat January 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The kids really believe they are pirates
      Cons: There is no photopass person on hand like the Bibbidi

       
      From the moment you walk in everyone is in character. You get a pirate name and as you are being made up, everyone talks in "pirate talk". At the end you take the pirate pledge, which is really funny and then you collect some "booty" and get a certificate and medallion. You have to pay extra for the picture (14.95) but it can be added to your photopass if you have one. It's a fun experience and if you take the girls to the Bibbidi it's only fair to take the boys to Pirates League, but I've seen lots of girls who choose to be pirates too and they look adorable. There is a pirate parade at 4:30, but we totally forgot so I can't say how that is.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Tue December 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was fun for my son. He looked great and the people who work here really good with the kids. The only drawback was the long wait. We arrived 10 minutes early and sat and sat and sat. Silly when you have an appointment. If it weren't for that, I would give it a 10.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ilovegoofy

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu September 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything
      Cons: nothing

       
      Great great experience. My DS 11 and 4 did this on 9/18/11. They had such a great time and so did we watching them. The cast kept us all laughing the whole time. The boys looked great afterward and just a wonderful experience that doesn't cost too much.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shelystar

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Short wait time
      Cons: Nothing

       
      We treated our 3 & 6 year old to this experience since we were going to the Halloween party that evening. It was well worth the money, their makeup stayed on all day & looked good for the Halloween party that night. My son might have been a little too young for it all there is a lenghty code of honor they have to repeat & he was just too tired to repeat it all. My kids both still loved it & still play with their goodies.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lisa Kaminski

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun September 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great if you want your little guy to feel like a real pirate
      Cons: nothing

       
      Great experience for your son or daughter if they love pirates. The atmosphere is wonderful and the memories will last forever. My son has done this twice and it's worth the money and fun they have with it. The not only get make-up, but also a sash, necklace, eye patch and scroll. Make reservations early and have fun with it. You won't regret it. Not expensive.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.