Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » WALT DISNEY WORLD DINING - Sponsored by Orlando Stroller Rentals » Disney Dining Plan

    ak_piz2.jpg


    ak_piz2.jpg
    supersize

    flametree2.jpg
    supersize

    yorkshire1.jpg
    supersize







    • Pin It


    • Disney's QUICK SERVICE Dining Plan

      • Reviews Views
        29 145141
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        90% of reviewers 7.7
      • Description: Disney's QUICK SERVICE Dining Plan


        The Magic Your Way Package Plus Quick Service Dining offers you an easy and affordable way to experience a wide variety of participating Disney restaurants. The package includes everything in the Magic Your Way Base package -- Disney Resort accommodations, a Magic Your Way Base Ticket, etc., plus an arcade card valid for 30 minutes of game play at resort arcades (one per room) -- and a Quick Service Dining Plan that offers the following:


        -- 2 Quick Service Meals per person per night: One Entree OR one complete Combo meal, dessert (lunch/dinner) & One single non-alcoholic beverage


        -- 1 Snack per person per night: Choose from items such as frozen ice-cream novelty, box of popcorn, single piece of whole fruit, medium fountain soft drink


        -- One refillable drink mug per person


        The new Quick Service Dining Plan prices: Adults $34.99 per person per night; children 3-9 $11.99 per person per night


        Everyone in the room must be on the same package and ticket options. All tickets must be used within 14 days of first use, unless the No Expiration Option is purchased. All dining credits must be used by midnight the last day of your stay, otherwise they expire.


        http://allears.net/din/quick-service-dining-plan.htm


  • Author
    • bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Sat January 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Plenty of food, great choices
      Cons: Cost vs. out of pocket without discount

       
      My party of four used the quick service plan for the first time from 1/6-1/10. We were able to get it for $21.99/person/night with a cast member discount and that made it an excellent value. It saved my family (three people) probably $250. We only used the refillable mugs once, so they weren't a great asset, but even without those our savings would have been around $200.


      We enjoyed meals at Landscape of Flavors (breakfast/lunch/dinner), Sunshine Seasons, Boulangerie Patisserie, Columbia Harbour House, and Be Our Guest. We also had several table service meals that we just paid for out of pocket. If I were able to get the plan at a discount, I would use it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sabu1953

      Registered: January 2008
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not locked into a dining time
      Cons: Food not as good as in past years

       
      We have visited many times....and we thought we could do it this trip on the QS dining plan....we were wrong. Seems as if almost all of the good things are gone from the menus, or recipes have changed since last year. Even the snacks (Mickey Bar is half as thick as last year) seem to have been either cut in size or just "cheapened out". Would go back for the regular plan again including the sit down dinners...but would have to reconsider just this plan. When it first started, it was a great deal, but now.........
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      If traveling without children, would not recommend this plan. We spent less money dining freely wherever we wanted and didn't have to worry about using dining credits on meals/snacks that we didn't really want, but were obligated to use points. Refillable mug has gotten smaller over the years and became more of a hassle to walk from pool to beverage area to fill up.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmfan

      Registered: February 2007
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Thu March 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): hels to determine budget -
      Cons: not cost effective for us

       
      We have visited the World many times, and have never chosen to have a dining plan, as we felt it was not cost effective for us. This time my DD made the reservations, and chose a package that included the quick service plan. As I found out, we were right - the dining plans do not fit our style.


      The issue was not the amount of food, we are a family that likes to eat. We never order dessert with our meals though, choosing to do snacks when we want, so that caused us to eat food we really never would have purchased.


      We found that it really took away our flexibility. Sometimes we only have one meal a day, depending on snacks we eat, or find a sit down meal that we can get into at the last minute and decide to do that, all based on how the day has gone. Sure, you can use the meals and snacks however you want, but we found ourselves scrambling to fit them in. We have saved our receipts over the years and found no matter how we ate, the plans never saved us any money. I am not sure what the convenience factor is, as we charge our meals to our room key, so never handle cash. I don't happen to find it difficult to figure how much we are spending, maybe because we visit so often.


      If the plan is free, you are paying full price for your room, which negates the savings. we experimented once before our vacation, covering up the prices on the menus, choosing restaurants that we wanted and meals that we wanted regardless of cost, and found that according to our likes and dislikes, we did not save any money. The important thing is to know your families habits and style before you decide if a dining plan is right for you.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kclhendrickson

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed March 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): variety of options to use dinning plan at
      Cons: lack of "healthy" type options for adults

       
      I am thrilled that we chose this dining plan!I loved that it was already "paid" for and it felt like we were eating for "free" at each meal.There were several enjoyable options at each park and hotel, and we enjoyed having a different dessert option at each location (yum!- but not good for the waistline).


      I also liked the variety of "snack" options both in the park and at the hotel.


      My only disappointment was that french fries were the side for most adult meals. When I actually ordered apple slices one day I got an incredulous look from the cast member. I would have liked as many options for sides as the kids (yogurt, carrots, apples, grapes, cookies, heck- even a side salad option would have been wonderful!).


      You will NOT go away hungry with this plan, and it saved us on "tipping" and allowed us to have one table service meal that we paid for out of pocket and was well worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slapps

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sun January 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient
      Cons: Makes it easy to overeat.

       
      We have visited Disney 10 times over the past 11 years. We have used the regular DDP (counter, table service, and snack) plan on several occasions and if you like to enjoy table service meals, we found it nice. The problem is that a lot of times when planning expenses, you do not figure in the tips which can add a huge chunk to your expenses.


      This time down we stayed for 10 days. We did the first 5 days on the Quick Service dining plan, which we had never used. We did this because we always visit during the Christmas Holiday and it can be a hassle to get to your ADR's, so we decided to experiment. We stayed at a DVC resort the Animal Kingdom Kidani Village the first 5 days in a studio. We found that we would eat breakfast in the room and then lunch and dinner on the QS plan. We also did out of pocket at two restaurants. On our last day of our first reservation, we had 6 meals left.


      We then checked into our home resort Old Key West and we did not use the meal plan. We had 3 table service meals. Our stay at OKW was in a two bedroom with our good friends also from up-state New York. We had discussed many times in the past the better deal dining plan or not. I must say we did not cook in the villa, just a quick breakfast and then most days we were on our way. We charged all our meals to our room and we figured there really was not much difference in cost between paying out of pocket or the DDP. I must also point out we did not deal shop, if we were hungry we ate. We did not look for the best price.


      One thing we did notice was we were not overfull when paying out of pocket. When we did the DDP, we tended to overeat I think because you are getting your dessert and the things that come with the plan. So we figured we did not eat as much off the plan.


      Last year we used the standard plan and we did not plan well and ate our table service late in the afternoon and we had about 8 QS meals left over between our two families. We have our reservations for check in this next December and we will not be using a dining plan at all.


      In summation I think it all depends on what you are looking for while visiting Disney. If you plan a lot of table service meals it might be worth while. If you have small children, the QS may be better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pontelad

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Pontefract, United Kingdom
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri November 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Meals already paid for, convenience
      Cons: Same food, easily bored

       
      We've just come back from WDW Port Orleans. We had 2 QSM 2 Snacks per day. We ended up with 50+ snacks left on our last night. Just couldn't use them all.


      We did work it so that we had cereal and fruit each morning from the local supermarket rather than using the credits which worked out much better. The QSM then meant we could have lunch and dinner on the QSM credits!


      Overall a great value product. Although now only 1 snack could mean we don't do it again!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Tish

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat September 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): flexible
      Cons: some limitations

       
      Visited in August and had the QSP free, decided not to upgrade as I was travelling with my D13 who lives on Chick nuggets and pasta. Overall I was pleased with the selections. I had a great pulled pork sandwich in MK, Mexican in Epcot, decent pizza. You can find options other than hamburger/chick nuggets. It was fine for a few days...didn't hastle with reservations and planning
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Momof4

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Wed July 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenience
      Cons: kids meals

       
      This was our first time using the QS plan. We usually purchase the Basic dining plan but decided to try this so we would have a more flexible vacation. It worked really well for us. I don't think it saved us much money but it was super convenient. There were 8 in our party- 2adults, 2 young adult children and 4 kids. It was great for the teens because they went off and did their own thing and I didn't need to worry about them getting something to eat. It was also nice because we weren't being controlled by ADR's and we could split up and each get what we wanted for our meal. We were stuffed each day and usually did not use our snack. (Even being counter service, it was a lot of food.) I had a bunch of snacks to use in the gift shop on our last day. We visit Disney frequently and I always do my research so I have no real complaints over the meals offered. We had some really great meals. (Wolfgang puck express, Pinocchios, Kringla, Mara, Tangierine cafe)In fact, several of us did not have any burgers, chicken fingers or fries the entire week!! Only complaint is the kids meals. They just aren't very good except for Mara and Pinocchios. My daughter is not a fan of pb&j and grew tired of carrots, apples and applesauce. Again, I thought the amount of food was definitely sufficient and the mugs are a nice bonus. I wish there was some way to save the desserts until a later time. We usually couldn't finish them or attempted to take them with us but they melted in the summer temps.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RoqueFamily

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Nashville TN
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu July 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ease of use, convienance and quality of meals
      Cons: 1 snack

       
      We love this quick service meal plan, but were disappointed about loosing one snack per day. I was also disappointed in loosing the ability to change a meal into 2 snacks and the limitation of what you can choose for your snack portion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gizzmo

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Stewartstown, PA
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri April 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ALMOST EVERYTHING
      Cons: TOO MANY FRENCH FRIES ON MEAL PLAN!

       
      While the quick dining plan is just perfect for my wife and me because of the way we do things and the food, generally, was very good and had a lot of variety, our only complaint would be that French fries were EVERYWHERE, with, usually only one other choice. I know how easy and popular fries are, but, when confronted with them for almost every meal for nine days, it is just too much. How about a third or fourth option with each meal?


      Gizz
      Click here to see this users profile  
      llwright1972

      Registered: April 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon April 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): don't need to plan in advance
      Cons: number of snacks

       
      Myself, DH and DS (age 8) were at Disney 04/06-04/13/2012 and utilized the QSP. What we really liked about it was that we didn't have to plan our trips to the parks around our dining. We had the table service plan a couple years ago and felt a bit constrained by all of the extra planning. Also, my guys are a bit of picky eaters and quick service/fast food meals are more to their liking.


      My DH's favorite snack was at the Fountainview Cafe and the ice cream shop in the Magic Kingdom that offer as a snack 2 huge scoops of ice cream. This, compared to a bag of chips, is a very good option.


      My DH and I found pretty good options in the parks. I was able to find salads at several of the restaurants. My DS (age 8) was not happy with any of the kids' options. The chicken nuggets are just pressed chicken, he's not a peanut butter and jelly sandwich eater, he ate some of the mac n cheese (which I thought was pretty good), he would eat some of the hotdogs (when on the kids' menu). He mostly ate carrots and grapes the whole week.


      Also, I was thinking that Disney should perhaps offer Jr. meals for those kids that are a little older, but not quite eating the amount provided in adult meals. My DS would prefer the chicken nuggets from the adult meal, but wouldn't need 8. Also, 2 year olds eat differently and also different amounts than 8-9 year old kids.


      We ate breakfast at our resort (All-Star Music). My DH and DS are cereal eaters for breakfast. The pre-packaged bowls of cereal that are offered for breakfast are tiny. My DH and DS could each eat 2 of these bowls. Disney should upgrade to the larger size pre-packaged cereal bowls. On the QSP, my DH and DS were only allowed one pre-packaged bowl of cereal, a milk, and a drink. Just not enough for a full day of park activities. And also a bit disproportionate from the Mickey waffles that are offered as a meal.


      Also, I would like it if Disney offered not only a snack, but perhaps a drink option. As it is now, you can get a beverage or a food item as a snack. Sometimes, with running all over the different parks, we get hungry, but also thirsty. Many of the water fountains at the Disney parks are not cooled so they're not really refreshing on hot days. It would be nice to be able to get a drink during a part of the day and then later get ice cream.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      killnme

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: FL
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Sun March 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): carrying less cash
      Cons: never seem to use all meals

       
      We (DD,DW and myself) used the QSP this pass week. We stayed at POFQ and quickly got burnt out on the dinner options at the hotel.


      The meals on this plan always give you more food then you need. I truly wish we could get one plan and my wife and I could split all the food.


      If you never tried the plan give it a shot and see what you think, but I believe we won't get it next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MellieBeans

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: FL Panhandle
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Mugs, Ease of Use
      Cons: Food Choices, Quantity Of Food

       
      We have used the QSDP before. I think, however, after this trip from 3-10-12 to 3-15-12, we will choose the table service dining instead.
      I am a planner, but, I like that I didn't have to plan our meals in advance. Although, next time it will be worth the effort.
      I think the amount of food that we ate was actually too much, even with the reduction in snack credits. I felt like we were always eating! We never even used our snack credit's until the 2nd or 3rd day there.
      The choices aren't as good as the table service dining and you typically find yourself eating the standard fast food. There are a couple of exceptions: Flame Tree BBQ at AK and Wolfgang Pucks Express at Downtown Disney. I would never tire of those 2! The snack's are adequate in my opinion. We never bought one single food item, only bottles of water, during our trips. I never use my snack credit's for drink purchases anyway so I didn't feel cheated.
      The one thing I wanted this trip was vegetables. If we use the table service dining plan, I feel we can make better food choices and not fast food type meals, so much. The kind of food choices that come with vegetables and not fries or grapes! Smile
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      figment43

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Miami, FL
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu February 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy to use
      Cons: not enough snacks

       
      Only one snack per person per night is not enough. Even with just 2 people you quickly run out. We already only get 2 meals a day, which means we're substituting a snack for a meal. This means we won't have enough snack credits to get another snack when we're hungry again a couple hours later. Let's face it, a piece of fruit for a meal isn't going to cut it when you're using all that energy running around the parks. It's no longer a cost-saver, so I don't think I'll be purchasing it anymore.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.