Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Sat September 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service, Views
      Cons: None

       
      Rarely does a restaurant live up to all of its glowing reviews...but Sanaa does just that. Seriously...we loved it so much that we dined there twice this last trip. My husband tried the slow cooked meats the first time and I just did the bread service with all of the dips/sauces. The kids tried the meatloaf the first time. On the second visit, my husband had the bison burger, I had the lamb kefta sliders, one kiddo had the shrimp and the other had the chicken. The food was just outstanding. The views were also amazing- just having all of the animals there while you dine. The service was great and love how so many of the hosts and hostesses have so much interesting info on the actual African pieces or functional styling of the restaurant. I think it's safe to say that Sanaa is going to be a must do for us on future trips. A+++++++++++
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AndyE

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Sat September 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, Food and Everything we can think of
      Cons: A little (just a little) cool

       
      Dined here on 20th September, can't fault this place as it is our third visit, we both ordered the lamb shank , this was cooked to perfection then followed by the chocolate mousse and Banana Sundae. The waitress couldn't be more helpful. A big thumbs up in our opinion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lenette830

      Registered: December 2008
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun June 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, view of the animals
      Cons: No more Green Curry Shrimp :(

       
      My family of five dined here on May 30th and we had a excellent experience. The hostess told us that it would be 90 min for a window seat but we only waited about 15 min and got a amazing table.


      Our server, Christopher, was so nice and knowledgable--(he knew all the animals by name!)He also had lots of recommendations and really knew the in and outs of the menu.


      The food was outstanding. We had the naan service to start and all of the spreads we tried were great.


      Next up for entrees we had the slow cooked meals. I tried the Durban Shrimp which I thought was flavorful but VERY spicy and the Fish with Goan Curry which was good and had a smoky flavor. Now, I have to say my ONLY disappointment for the whole meal was that the green curry shrimp is no longer on the menu. I had that back in January and it was literally one of the best dishes I've ever had. I don't know why they took it off the menu and hope they bring it back.


      Nonetheless, my husband had the butter chicken and bison masala and both were great. My daughter had two vegetarian options that she loved and my younger kids both got kids meals , the tandoori chicken pot pie and the meaty loaf. I tasted both and they were really good and I was so happy to see a restaurant offering something other than chicken strips and pizza!


      We finally had dessert. We shared an order of the chocolate mousse and a dessert trio with all chia cream (sooo goood). It was wonderful!!!


      My only complaint(besides the missing green curry shrimp) was that the after dinner teas are somewhat overpriced but we considered it paying for the ambiance as we got to stay and enjoy the view and animals longer. We love this place and can't wait to go back!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastefully theme decor
      Cons: small portions

       
      Food was good, but portions were too small! We were still hungry after shortly after we left. Only saw one animal as we were dining. Nicely themed & decorated, but would not go back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      konslerg

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Mon April 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food is outstanding; so is the view of the animals
      Cons: Believe them if they say something is spicy! No bread unless you order the $10 bread service.

       
      We've dined at Boma and Jiko and love both. Sanaa is every bit as good! My only caution is that, if you don't like spicy/hot food, ask your server to point you in a milder direction. I had the durban spice shrimp and it was almost too spicy hot for me and I love heat in my food. It was delicious, but one degree more heat and it would have been too much. So, steer clear of durban spice if you don't like heat. Husband had tandoori lamb and it was excellent too. For dessert we split a banana kulfi (sort of ice cream) and I could have eaten about three all by myself it was so good. I have only one complaint (or I would have rated it a 10), there is a bread service on the menu, 5 different naan breads and 5 sauces for $10. I assumed (wrongly) that it you didn't order the bread service, you'd at least get a roll, small piece of naan or some sort of bread with the meal. Nope, no bread.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Thu February 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: service

       
      This is the place to dine if you like your food flavorful. We had the bread service, the appetizer sampler, and the duo with green curry shrimp & the lamb.


      The downside was that the waiter was not particularly good. When you get the bread service, you get to choose 5 of the 10 sauces to accompany them. One of the sauces we received was not what I ordered, but I didn't realize it until we were done. The waiter did not identify them for us when he brought them out! Had he done so, I would have let him know that one was incorrect. I mean, yes, I ordered them, but I don't eat this everyday so I didn't know which ones were which.


      I was a little bummed that the wait staff were not African or Indian, despite the theme of the restaurant. The ladies at the hostess station were African. That is the initial impression of the restaurant so you kind of expect it to continue on through the dinner.


      The food was outstanding though. It's worth the effort to get there at least once.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cholmberg

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Mon January 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      I loved this place. It was so nice to be able to get food with some spice to it. We were on the DDP, Husband had the kefta appetizer, which was pretty good. I had the bread service, which was good. . but felt it did not live up to the hype I'd read in the reviews. The onion kulcha was nearly black and tasted awful. The papadum was spicy and crisp and delicious though. I had duo of spicy durban chicken and lamb vindaloo with basmati rice. All were good, husband had the steak which he enjoyed. The kids were accommodated. MIL had the fish in curry broth which she liked. Our server was Tracy and she was great. I had the dessert trio and absolutely loved the tropical fruit kulfi.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Momrph11

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue January 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food, the staff
      Cons: None

       
      Just had dinner here tonight and had a wonderful evening. Our waiter, Jim, took the time to describe some of the dishes ( he didn't know that we were New Yorkers who eat out often and enjoy Indian food) and even brought us a little of the lamb vindaloo to try when my husband commented that vindaloos were usually quite hot so we could see if our palate could handle it ( we do usually avoid the vindaloos as TOO hot). It was hot but manageable for our palates so we got the slow cooked lamb vindaloo with the butter chicken and the short ribs with the Durban shrimp and split all 4 between us. When we mentioned that the bread service of 5 breads was just too much bread, he offered us the lunch service of 3 with 3 sauces instead. The Durban shrimp was even hotter than the lamb, but we loved it anyway and I asked for recipes for all 4 which they did not have, but Jim brought me what recipes he could find. Then he had Chef Tricia come out to talk with us to describe how they make the short ribs! What a delightful person! We talked for several minutes not only about the short ribs but about how she snuck oatmeal into other dishes at home to increase her own consumption of it and how they were going to tweak the Sanaa menu this spring! After she was called away to speak to another table, the manager Stephanie came over to ask if things were ok! All in all a truly wonderful and memorable meal! We are looking forward to going back with our children this summer.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.