Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • catsy19

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Long Island, NY
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun September 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The view we didn't get!
      Cons: Long waittime

       
      I booked my ADR 6 months ahead as usual. When we arrived at the restaurant on time, we were given a buzzer and told it would be a short wait...20 minutes later our buzzer went off and we reported to the podium to be told it was a mistake. Our table was not ready. We waited another 20 minutes and my husband complained and asked to be seated by the windows. A few minutes later we were told our table was ready and it was a comfortable booth in the rear of the restaurant with NO view. We were told that the tables with views were JUST seated and none were available. The kids were really disappointed and we were annoyed. Our server was great. We love Indian food and get it quite often in NY. The food here is Disneyfied and adequately good. We go to Disney every other year for a 10day vacation. This year we were there for two weeks. I have got to say that this was the most disappointing dining experience to date. I also understand that views are not guaranteed but to me it seems our first, (mistake) table was given away to another patron, (who maybe was as annoyed as us!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WhovianLuvsDisney

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue July 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Veiw, dessert
      Cons: food

       
      This restaurant did not live up to all my expectations. The view was amazing- you could see right into the savanna. There is a fence, but a peacock came right through a hole and started rubbing against the wall. However, the food was not the best. I had the African Spiced Chicken Breast, which I would not recommend. It was bland except for the sauce, which was extremely spicy, though the waiter told me otherwise. However, even though the meal was bad, the frozen dessert trio was really good. I would say try it once, but DON'T GET THE CHICKEN!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LoriC

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed July 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, Food
      Cons: Childrens Menu

       
      Went to dinner at Sanaa with my son on a special evening. Was seated immediately at a table right at a window overlooking the savannah. The waiter was attentive and helpful. Ordered the appetizer with a selection of breads and dipping sauces. This was the highlight of our meal and was absolutely fabulous. Also had the lamb kebobs which were great. For our main entree my son ordered the steak while I ordered the butter chicken and spicy durban chicken with rice. When it arrived, the spicy chicken was just too hot for me. Our waiter immediately showed up and replaced it with the delicious short ribs. Our desserts were delicious too. The view out the window couldn't be beat. Have to say overall it was a great experience. I just wish they would have a better children's menu, because we would have gone back a second time and brought our younger child too.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Fri June 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and view
      Cons: none

       
      Do not be afraid to eat here. While our family is comfortable with Indian food, the staff is extremely flexible. They will make your food exactly as you wish.


      We had an 11:30 ADR so we had a fantastic window view. Tons of animals to see and even my Disney resistant DH was impressed. The decor is beautiful and very unique. We took many pictures!


      DH and I both got the slow cooked in gravy meals, but with different selections so we could mix and match to share. The green curry shrimp and short ribs were the winners. DD ages 12 and 6 shared the tandoori chicken naan. It was more than enough food for both of them.


      We will be back. This was one of the best meals of our trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ndrachel

      Registered: February 2010
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon June 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): made food how I wanted it; view was great!
      Cons:

       
      I ate here in March 2012 and had a 1:30 reservation which I thought was the perfect time for a break from touring Animal Kingdom. The bus takes you right to the resort and I was able to have a seat by the window as requested. I am a very picky eater, but I had seen pictures of the tandoori chicken that didn't have any "greens" on them, so I asked for it to be made that way. So glad I did! It came with just the chicken on the naan bread. They did include the dipping sauces on the side, so I could add those if I wanted. The meal was very good and the view was great. I had giraffes in front of the window the whole meal! I would highly recommend going here even if the menu sounds a little intimidating. They can fix the meal the way you would like it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      simba123

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Baltimore
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri May 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I love this restaurant! The decor is so impressive and detailed. The sampler of naan and different dips is the best! All of them are so great. I guess the worst thing about this restaurant is that it is not that innovative-many the main dishes are typical Indian dishes. I can get huge portions of the same things for way cheaper outside of Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      squigpig10

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: New York
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue May 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent food and service, very friendly and helpful staff
      Cons: None

       
      We dined at Sanaa on May 1, 2012 and we had an amazing experience there. Our server was friendly and helpful at answering all our questions. He was also very attentive throughout the meal. The staff was friendly and the food was interesting and very tasty. We had the bread service as an appetizer and it was excellent. The atmosphere is very calming. You almost forget you are at Disney. It was great for our romantic dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sat April 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service
      Cons: remote

       
      The food was awesome, and our server (Darci) was excellent. I would guess the reason they are having trouble getting people out to Sanaa to eat is the location. Feels a bit remote, but since we were staying at AKL and had a car it was no biggie. Great use of a dining plan credit for sure. I had the tandoori chicken and wife had one of their "combos". We also paid out of pocket for bread service for an app. Well worth it. The outlook to the savannah is nice, but after staying at AKL we were not wowed. AKL seems to have a better feel than Kidani, but of course we did not see any of the rooms there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sun_spirit

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat April 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food, atmosphere and views.
      Cons: Beef Short Rib gravy was too salty but no big deal.

       
      We ate at Sanaa on March 18th 2012.


      We had reservations for 5pm so we got there early to take in the sights on AKL KV. Whilst waiting outside Sanaa a few minutes before 5pm they do a ceremony to announce that Sanaa is open -its pretty cool to see as i didnt read any reviews that said that they do this. We were seated by the huge windows which look out onto the savannah -i'd say to get this view have an early reservation. Our server came over and introduced himself and explained to use about the food (where curry fans so its like the hotter the better lol). We ordered the Indian style bread services with 3 accompaniments - the bread: naan, paneer and pappadam, the 3 dips: mango, coconut and corriander chutneys. I promise you if you get those 3 dips you will not be dissapointed because they are so moreish and very tatsy! We ordered Beef Short Ribs in gravy, Basmalti Rice and Shrimp in Green Curry Sauce. The Shrimp in Green Curry Sause was delicious and so moreish we should of asked for more of it instead of the Beef Short Ribs as the gravy they where in was really salty and put me off and my Mum off eating them. The Beef was so tender on the ribs that it just fell off as soon as the fork touched it. For dessert I got the dessert trio -Chocolate Cake, Tropical Fruit Kulfi, and Chai Cream and it was so moreish especially the Chai Cream Wink if they did that as a dessert on its own it would be more than enough, my Mum got the Banana Kulfi Sundae and that looked very nice! I'd go back to Sanaa as its such a relaxing place to eat and you forget that your in Disney! From the views right outside the window -a giraffe was eating and others came over, to the theme, atmosphere and decorations inside the restaurant i'd recommend Sanaa to anyone. For somewhere thats different to what Disney is use to and offers something different, i'd say Sanaa is a hidden gem in Walt DisneyWorld!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Robin

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri April 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): most food was great, giraffes watching us eat!
      Cons: steak overdone

       
      We ate here on Easter. We were able to walk in as we had canceled our ADR at the more expensive Narcoosee's (which we love, but without the DDR the cost is prohibitive). We had giraffes and cranes outside the window off and on for the whole meal.
      The kids were unsure about this kind of food, I'll admit. My son ended ordering just an appetizer, the mustard seed coated scallops with coconut cream sauce, which I also ordered for an appetizer. Awesome! My daughter got the tomato soup.
      For dinner I got the tandoor shrimp and it was very good. The waiter had told my huaband that the steak was an 8 oz. NY strip, and my husband ordered it medium. Problem is, it's a very THIN piece of meat and it was well done. He didn't finish it. He told the waiter it was overcooked and it was removed from our bill. My husband tipped him very well because of this.
      I would recommend the scallop appetizer to anyone!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jowiedman

      Registered: April 2012
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu April 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food. Service. Atmosphere.
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at Kidani so it was convenient to eat here which we did....twice. But it would be worth the trip over there just to eat. The food is super and the service is good. And the views of the animals are great for kids.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      castlefan

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed March 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      My travel companion and I dined at Sanaa on a rainy evening in early March, 2012. We had arrived early to Jambo House to see the sights, and then were able to take a short bus ride over to Kidani Village.
      Upon arriving at Sanaa just as the dining room opened, our request to sit at a window was honored, and we were given a table with a lovely view of the savannah. Through our meal, we saw giraffe, zebras, wildebeest, and Jamal (a crowned crane).
      I had Tandoori shrimp, which was delicious, and my companion had the swordfish, which she rated as the best meal she had during our weeklong trip. This was one time our dining plan did not include any pre-meal bread item, and we went without. Hungrier guests may prefer the all-you-can-eat Boma, but our meal at peaceful Sanaa was a welcome change.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Sun February 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This restaurant is currently offering a 40% discount for cast members at lunch. Since it's at one of my favorite resorts, how could I turn it down? So I made a reservation for 1:05pm only one day in advance.


      Upon arrival at the hotel I made my way downstairs around 12:30 and was seated within minutes. I did not ask for a window seat, so was seated in the center of the restaurant. It was more crowded than I expected. However, I could still see out the window and was able to view some zebras, giraffes, and birds.


      My server was quite attentive. However, I did feel a bit rushed as when she came to the table to take my drink order, she immediately asked me if I knew what I'd like for my entree.


      I really didn't know what to expect from this meal, but decided to start with the Tomato Soup with Paneer Cheese. The soup was very good, and the cheese had an interesting flavor. It came in four chunks, which I was not really expecting, but I was able to squash it with my spoon to make it mix more into the soup.


      For my entree, I chose the Tandoori Shrimp. This is served as an open faced sandwich on Naan bread, with lettuce, onions, tomatoes,and cucumber raita. It was very tricky to eat and the bread was difficult to cut in to smaller pieces. I didn't really care for the dish-it had a lot of unfamiliar flavors in it that I found to be too much and a bit too spicy.


      I'm glad I gave it a try and I would recommend it to adventurous eaters, but I don't think I would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Guelphite

      Registered: April 2010
      Location: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Wed February 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Savannah setting, food
      Cons:

       
      Our family of 4 ate lunch here on Feb 2nd after a morning at Animal Kingdom. We chose lunch so that there would be plenty of light to see the Savannah animals. When we arrived we requested, and were granted, a central window seat. The view was outstanding. We saw giraffes, African cranes, anakole, and zebras. Our children (7 and 9) were kept entertained snapping photos and identifying the animals with a guide that our server gave to us. Our sever was attentive throughout our meal.


      My husband and I love Indian food and were excited to try Sanaa out. We were not disappointed. We started with the Indian bread service, choosing Naan, papadum and paneer panartha along with coriander and mango chutney. I had the appetizer sampler for 2 as my meal. I enjoyed the kabobs, samosas and roasted cauliflower. it was a good amount for lunch. My DH had the spicy durban chicken and thought it was good (and also spicy enough as he likes some heat in his food).


      Our children were not as thrilled with their children's meals. They had the grilled chicken but did not like the rice "with bits in it". They did enjoy the Naan bread and their desserts. And the view kept them happy as the adults enjoyed their meals.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      StitchF

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu February 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, View, Quality of Food, Service
      Cons:

       
      Sanaa, has been good from the day they open, but continues to improve. They have moved to be more spiced and unique, which appeals to us. The atmosphere is romantic and personal, many unique Disney touches. Having the panorama windows to the savana makes for an impressive dining experience. The food does have some kick, spicy durban chicken is really good, naan is very fresh and well made, dipping sauces also very good. It is nice to see a "more authentic" restaurant at Disney World, be ready for a little kick.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.