Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • lizzie1974

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Thu February 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: service

       
      This is the place to dine if you like your food flavorful. We had the bread service, the appetizer sampler, and the duo with green curry shrimp & the lamb.


      The downside was that the waiter was not particularly good. When you get the bread service, you get to choose 5 of the 10 sauces to accompany them. One of the sauces we received was not what I ordered, but I didn't realize it until we were done. The waiter did not identify them for us when he brought them out! Had he done so, I would have let him know that one was incorrect. I mean, yes, I ordered them, but I don't eat this everyday so I didn't know which ones were which.


      I was a little bummed that the wait staff were not African or Indian, despite the theme of the restaurant. The ladies at the hostess station were African. That is the initial impression of the restaurant so you kind of expect it to continue on through the dinner.


      The food was outstanding though. It's worth the effort to get there at least once.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cholmberg

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Mon January 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      I loved this place. It was so nice to be able to get food with some spice to it. We were on the DDP, Husband had the kefta appetizer, which was pretty good. I had the bread service, which was good. . but felt it did not live up to the hype I'd read in the reviews. The onion kulcha was nearly black and tasted awful. The papadum was spicy and crisp and delicious though. I had duo of spicy durban chicken and lamb vindaloo with basmati rice. All were good, husband had the steak which he enjoyed. The kids were accommodated. MIL had the fish in curry broth which she liked. Our server was Tracy and she was great. I had the dessert trio and absolutely loved the tropical fruit kulfi.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Momrph11

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue January 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food, the staff
      Cons: None

       
      Just had dinner here tonight and had a wonderful evening. Our waiter, Jim, took the time to describe some of the dishes ( he didn't know that we were New Yorkers who eat out often and enjoy Indian food) and even brought us a little of the lamb vindaloo to try when my husband commented that vindaloos were usually quite hot so we could see if our palate could handle it ( we do usually avoid the vindaloos as TOO hot). It was hot but manageable for our palates so we got the slow cooked lamb vindaloo with the butter chicken and the short ribs with the Durban shrimp and split all 4 between us. When we mentioned that the bread service of 5 breads was just too much bread, he offered us the lunch service of 3 with 3 sauces instead. The Durban shrimp was even hotter than the lamb, but we loved it anyway and I asked for recipes for all 4 which they did not have, but Jim brought me what recipes he could find. Then he had Chef Tricia come out to talk with us to describe how they make the short ribs! What a delightful person! We talked for several minutes not only about the short ribs but about how she snuck oatmeal into other dishes at home to increase her own consumption of it and how they were going to tweak the Sanaa menu this spring! After she was called away to speak to another table, the manager Stephanie came over to ask if things were ok! All in all a truly wonderful and memorable meal! We are looking forward to going back with our children this summer.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      2ndgendisneymom

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri November 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Excellent Staff, Atmosphere/Decor
      Cons: wait time with ADR

       
      We ate dinner here on November 11, 2012 to celebrate my first 1/2 Marathon (Wine and Dine). It was myself, DH, DD-18mo, MIL, and FIL. Our reservations were at 5:15 and we arrived on the dot. The friendly hostess (who also made a fuss over my "princess" all night) told us they had just sat a large party and it would be a few minutes and handed us a buzzer. No biggie; we walked 20 ft to the outdoor animal viewing deck on the Savannah and watched giraffes, zebras, ostrich, and several other animals for a bit while DD played with the rocking chairs after animal viewing lost its novelty. Eventually we headed back inside and went to the bar/lounge to grab a drink since our buzzer still had not gone off. Naturally, we were called as soon as everyone got a drink and were just getting comfortable. I was enjoying myself (it wasn't crowded yet) and DD wasn't fussy so I did not time the wait but would guess it was 20-25 minutes with ADR. A little annoyed because much of the restaurant was not seated yet - that's why I'm not giving this review a perfect 10.


      We were seated at a four top with DD's highchair on a corner and not near a window. (I did not request a view, so not sure if that would have made a difference.) All tables seemed to be 4 or 8 tops but there was enough room around the table so having the highchair on the corner wasn't actually an issue. Our server came over promptly and we were able to place our drink order and I also ordered food for DD at same time requesting that it go ahead and be placed so DD wouldn't have to wait much longer. She took this request seriously and DD's food came out almost at the same time as our drinks, and we didn't wait long for those either!


      The food was awesome. I love Indian food and although I would not say that every dish was traditional Indian, it was close enough and very tasty. Our server even brought out a special side of hot sauce that was not on the menu because I like my food extra spicy. MIL and FIL do NOT like spicy food and both were extremely happy with their selections. We started with the assortment of Naan, which everyone loved. MIL got the tomato and paneer soup and I got the salad trio platter for appetizers. Both were large portions (especially alongside the naan). For entrees, FIL ordered the tandoori chicken, MIL got the lamb kabobs app, DH got the Lamb vindeloo and Durban Chicken slow cooker platter, and I ordered the Lamb vindeloo and Durban Shrimp slow cooker platter. The vindeloo was not as spicy nor the consistency of a tradional Indian vindeloo but it was still delicious. The durban was out of this world (I like spicy though). We were too full to try any dessert.


      Because we ordered so many courses, dinner took a while and the restaurant filled up not long after we were seated. (It could have also been the affect of the party of 35 who were seated right before us.) We waited a bit for our entree and me and MIL took turns walking around with DD outside the restaurant. At one point the staff went around with drums and sang "happy birthday" and "happy anniversary" to guests throughout the restaurant. The hostess made that African trill noise between songs that was really fascinating. It was quite festive and DD was entranced. I will definitely be going back to this restaurant again and will be recommending it to any friends/family who are planning a trip to Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      parksutton

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Mon October 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, friendly service.
      Cons: Strange foods,

       
      Had a great time, ordered the bread appetizer which was very good, then ordered the combination plate. It was small portions and I did not get full. The dessert chocolate cake was wonderful but it was tiny and not worth half of what it cost. It seems like this review is pretty negative but the one thing that it had going for it was the atmosphere. It was wonderful. Being able to see the animals right out the window was great. All in all it was still worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      catsy19

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Long Island, NY
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun September 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The view we didn't get!
      Cons: Long waittime

       
      I booked my ADR 6 months ahead as usual. When we arrived at the restaurant on time, we were given a buzzer and told it would be a short wait...20 minutes later our buzzer went off and we reported to the podium to be told it was a mistake. Our table was not ready. We waited another 20 minutes and my husband complained and asked to be seated by the windows. A few minutes later we were told our table was ready and it was a comfortable booth in the rear of the restaurant with NO view. We were told that the tables with views were JUST seated and none were available. The kids were really disappointed and we were annoyed. Our server was great. We love Indian food and get it quite often in NY. The food here is Disneyfied and adequately good. We go to Disney every other year for a 10day vacation. This year we were there for two weeks. I have got to say that this was the most disappointing dining experience to date. I also understand that views are not guaranteed but to me it seems our first, (mistake) table was given away to another patron, (who maybe was as annoyed as us!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WhovianLuvsDisney

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue July 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Veiw, dessert
      Cons: food

       
      This restaurant did not live up to all my expectations. The view was amazing- you could see right into the savanna. There is a fence, but a peacock came right through a hole and started rubbing against the wall. However, the food was not the best. I had the African Spiced Chicken Breast, which I would not recommend. It was bland except for the sauce, which was extremely spicy, though the waiter told me otherwise. However, even though the meal was bad, the frozen dessert trio was really good. I would say try it once, but DON'T GET THE CHICKEN!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LoriC

      Registered: July 2012
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed July 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, Food
      Cons: Childrens Menu

       
      Went to dinner at Sanaa with my son on a special evening. Was seated immediately at a table right at a window overlooking the savannah. The waiter was attentive and helpful. Ordered the appetizer with a selection of breads and dipping sauces. This was the highlight of our meal and was absolutely fabulous. Also had the lamb kebobs which were great. For our main entree my son ordered the steak while I ordered the butter chicken and spicy durban chicken with rice. When it arrived, the spicy chicken was just too hot for me. Our waiter immediately showed up and replaced it with the delicious short ribs. Our desserts were delicious too. The view out the window couldn't be beat. Have to say overall it was a great experience. I just wish they would have a better children's menu, because we would have gone back a second time and brought our younger child too.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 56
      Review Date: Fri June 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and view
      Cons: none

       
      Do not be afraid to eat here. While our family is comfortable with Indian food, the staff is extremely flexible. They will make your food exactly as you wish.


      We had an 11:30 ADR so we had a fantastic window view. Tons of animals to see and even my Disney resistant DH was impressed. The decor is beautiful and very unique. We took many pictures!


      DH and I both got the slow cooked in gravy meals, but with different selections so we could mix and match to share. The green curry shrimp and short ribs were the winners. DD ages 12 and 6 shared the tandoori chicken naan. It was more than enough food for both of them.


      We will be back. This was one of the best meals of our trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ndrachel

      Registered: February 2010
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon June 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): made food how I wanted it; view was great!
      Cons:

       
      I ate here in March 2012 and had a 1:30 reservation which I thought was the perfect time for a break from touring Animal Kingdom. The bus takes you right to the resort and I was able to have a seat by the window as requested. I am a very picky eater, but I had seen pictures of the tandoori chicken that didn't have any "greens" on them, so I asked for it to be made that way. So glad I did! It came with just the chicken on the naan bread. They did include the dipping sauces on the side, so I could add those if I wanted. The meal was very good and the view was great. I had giraffes in front of the window the whole meal! I would highly recommend going here even if the menu sounds a little intimidating. They can fix the meal the way you would like it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      simba123

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Baltimore
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri May 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I love this restaurant! The decor is so impressive and detailed. The sampler of naan and different dips is the best! All of them are so great. I guess the worst thing about this restaurant is that it is not that innovative-many the main dishes are typical Indian dishes. I can get huge portions of the same things for way cheaper outside of Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      squigpig10

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: New York
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue May 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent food and service, very friendly and helpful staff
      Cons: None

       
      We dined at Sanaa on May 1, 2012 and we had an amazing experience there. Our server was friendly and helpful at answering all our questions. He was also very attentive throughout the meal. The staff was friendly and the food was interesting and very tasty. We had the bread service as an appetizer and it was excellent. The atmosphere is very calming. You almost forget you are at Disney. It was great for our romantic dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sat April 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service
      Cons: remote

       
      The food was awesome, and our server (Darci) was excellent. I would guess the reason they are having trouble getting people out to Sanaa to eat is the location. Feels a bit remote, but since we were staying at AKL and had a car it was no biggie. Great use of a dining plan credit for sure. I had the tandoori chicken and wife had one of their "combos". We also paid out of pocket for bread service for an app. Well worth it. The outlook to the savannah is nice, but after staying at AKL we were not wowed. AKL seems to have a better feel than Kidani, but of course we did not see any of the rooms there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sun_spirit

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat April 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food, atmosphere and views.
      Cons: Beef Short Rib gravy was too salty but no big deal.

       
      We ate at Sanaa on March 18th 2012.


      We had reservations for 5pm so we got there early to take in the sights on AKL KV. Whilst waiting outside Sanaa a few minutes before 5pm they do a ceremony to announce that Sanaa is open -its pretty cool to see as i didnt read any reviews that said that they do this. We were seated by the huge windows which look out onto the savannah -i'd say to get this view have an early reservation. Our server came over and introduced himself and explained to use about the food (where curry fans so its like the hotter the better lol). We ordered the Indian style bread services with 3 accompaniments - the bread: naan, paneer and pappadam, the 3 dips: mango, coconut and corriander chutneys. I promise you if you get those 3 dips you will not be dissapointed because they are so moreish and very tatsy! We ordered Beef Short Ribs in gravy, Basmalti Rice and Shrimp in Green Curry Sauce. The Shrimp in Green Curry Sause was delicious and so moreish we should of asked for more of it instead of the Beef Short Ribs as the gravy they where in was really salty and put me off and my Mum off eating them. The Beef was so tender on the ribs that it just fell off as soon as the fork touched it. For dessert I got the dessert trio -Chocolate Cake, Tropical Fruit Kulfi, and Chai Cream and it was so moreish especially the Chai Cream Wink if they did that as a dessert on its own it would be more than enough, my Mum got the Banana Kulfi Sundae and that looked very nice! I'd go back to Sanaa as its such a relaxing place to eat and you forget that your in Disney! From the views right outside the window -a giraffe was eating and others came over, to the theme, atmosphere and decorations inside the restaurant i'd recommend Sanaa to anyone. For somewhere thats different to what Disney is use to and offers something different, i'd say Sanaa is a hidden gem in Walt DisneyWorld!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Robin

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri April 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): most food was great, giraffes watching us eat!
      Cons: steak overdone

       
      We ate here on Easter. We were able to walk in as we had canceled our ADR at the more expensive Narcoosee's (which we love, but without the DDR the cost is prohibitive). We had giraffes and cranes outside the window off and on for the whole meal.
      The kids were unsure about this kind of food, I'll admit. My son ended ordering just an appetizer, the mustard seed coated scallops with coconut cream sauce, which I also ordered for an appetizer. Awesome! My daughter got the tomato soup.
      For dinner I got the tandoor shrimp and it was very good. The waiter had told my huaband that the steak was an 8 oz. NY strip, and my husband ordered it medium. Problem is, it's a very THIN piece of meat and it was well done. He didn't finish it. He told the waiter it was overcooked and it was removed from our bill. My husband tipped him very well because of this.
      I would recommend the scallop appetizer to anyone!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.