Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • sleepydog25

      Registered: October 2016
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon October 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, value

      Sanaa is one the more underrated restaurants on property. The food, while not exotic, certainly is a notch above typical fare. The flavor profile of such things as the butter chicken or the braised beef is rich and complex. Service is always good, and they have an above average wine list. Our favorite option is to do the full bread service and split that along with a bowl of the tomato/paneer soup. Pair with a nice Pinotage or Sauv Blanc, and you have a delicious and (relatively) inexpensive meal. That you can almost always view animals on the savannah (during the day, of course) makes this a must do for us each trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome!
      Cons: Long travel time

      We ate here for the first time on September 16, 2016, for my hubby's birthday. It was a stellar experience!

      The atmosphere is beautiful with highly decorated ceilings, Indian-style lamps and large windows affording a good view of the animals on the savannah. The staff is knowledgeable and very attentive.

      The Indian Style Bread Service is a must do. My favorite bread was the Garlic Ginger Naan and the Papadum, which had a thick, spongy texture, but I found it interesting. We ordered all 9 accompaniments (for a mere $3 extra) and it was worth it. I wish I could tell you which dip I liked best, but the names don't help me remember. However, they serve them in order of hot to mild and I liked the medium hot the best. It could have been enough for a full meal for the two of us, but we bravely plowed on.

      I ate the Tandoori Chicken and enjoyed the flavor. Spicy, but just the right inch. My hubby ordered the Potjie Inspired and his meat choices were the braised beef and spicy Durban shrimp. The beef was fork tender and very flavorful. The shrimp was spicy, but again, not too much for me to try a piece. We ended with a simple Indian strawberry sorbet.

      I know some complain that the food is spicy, so remember that if you have a sensitive stomach. The menu is African and Indian-inspired. The name says it all.

      It is not the easiest restaurant to get to. We had to take a bus from our resort, PORS, to the Animal Kingdom Park (or any other park, whichever bus comes first), then transfer to the Animal Kingdom Lodge. The bus stopped first at Jambo House and since we love it so much, we wandered around there for a few minutes. It is a short walk to the Kidani Village or you can request a shuttle ride. It was a tolerable night, so we opted for the walk.

      It was a wonderful experience and I can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri September 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food - Service - Atmosphere

      We were recent first time visitors to WDW. Sanaa was our favorite and best dining experience of our entire trip. The food was absolutely amazing, starting with the bread service with the accompaniments. My husband had the fish of the day, and I had the South African/Indian inspired paneer tikka and lentils with basmati rice. Our server was awesome and took the time to review the menu with us, even though he was very busy with at least 3 other tables, one with a party of at least 10. He had a great sense of humor, and was invested in making sure we enjoyed an awesome meal. This was the one table service meal we had at Disney that we didn't walk away from knowing we had overpaid!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun July 10, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food: Good Bizarre
      Cons: A little off the beaten trail if not staying at Kidani Village

      It's another full theme dining experience, threaded by environment, ethnic food and staff. I'm surprised this is not a Signature restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: CT
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon June 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: a little bit of time to get here via park transportation

      This is our new favorite restaurant at WDW! We tried it for lunch in April 2016 and loved it so much we went a second time in the same trip. The bread service was amazing (and actually enough for a meal for several of us). The food options were so good! I'm still trying to find the recipe for the tomato soup - don't miss it! Even the kids meals were great - grilled chicken which was so juicy and the flavor was incredible. We will be going here every trip from now on. PLUS - the animals out the windows were so cool!

      I will say that the easiest way to get here if you don't have your own transportation is to take a bus to Animal Kingdom and then hop on the AKL bus from there. Plan enough time to get here. It is well worth the travel time!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Tue May 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything!

      We always have an excellent experience here! Our lunch was fantastic. The food, including the famous bread service, was amazing. We had a table by the window and could see the zebras and some birds while we were eating. We will most definitely return!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: NC
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Thu September 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gluten Free menu stellar!
      Cons: Drive to AKL

      If you're Gluten Free and you love Naan, you have found the perfect restaurant for you. When we arrived at Sanaa we were well aware of the bread app with the chutneys, sauces, etc. We were so excited when our waitress informed us that they could offer Naan gluten free! Everywhere else in WDW you get the same old tapioca rolls, what a special change. Indian food is naturally gluten free, and there's a lot of Indian on the menu. LOVED the butter chicken, and the spicy shrimp. Both were amazing and I can't wait to go back and try other entrees. African wines were also very interesting to sample. And the animals on the Savannah just outside made for a magical night! Highly recommend!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon June 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View of the animals!
      Cons: Food!

      Unless you like hot, very spicy food, this place is not for you! I couldn't anything on the menu other than the Indian bread service and dessert! They need to have something for those who do not like hot and spicy food! I found it to be inedible.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon February 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Nothing

      Nothing but great things to say about this restaurant. Service was exceptional. Flavors were outstanding. I am allergic to coriander, so asked if other menu items, not listing coriander did in fact contain coriander. The chef came out and explained what foods to avoid. She then made me a chicken dish with all the flavors, minus the coriander. It was wonderful. Thank you Disney for this service.
      Oh yes, the scenery isn't too bad either :-)
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Wed January 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): unique dishes, spicy food, incredible views of animals close up, beautiful restaurant
      Cons: must travel to Kidani to dine, time consuming unless you are coming from Animal Kindom

      I dined here on a day I was visiting the Animal Kingdom park so it was a quick trip over for a meal and a relaxing break from the park touring. The bus ride was only a few short minutes. When I arrived at check in I was given a pager and I went outside to the viewing area to watch the animals. There were several zebras out grazing and some ankole cattle, ostriches and crowned cranes wandering about. The animals are surprisingly close and viewing is easy. I only had a few minutes of viewing though before my pager went off to let me know my table is ready. The restaurant is beautiful and decorate with real African artwork and textiles and all the chairs and tables were different. I was seated 1 row in from the windows and had a wonderful view of the savannah for lunch. Even with others seated at the tables next to the windows, I still had a good view although somewhat obstructed in places. The food here was very good and very spicy as well. I love spice but this was moderate sweat. It was well above mild or medium, but not super hot and sweat inducing. I started with the Indian style bread service and chose Onion Kulcha, Garlic Ginger naan, and spiced naan. This came with my choice of 3 dips so I picked Coriander chutney, Roasted Red Bell Pepper Hummus, Tamarind Chutney. I loved all the dips but was not fond of the onion kulcha. I expected it to be like an onion roll which has onion sprinkled on top, but this was two thin sheets of bread with heavy onions spread between the middle. It was good, but too oniony for me so I wouldn't order it again. I would choose all 9 dips next time just to taste them all. For my entree I chose the "slow cooked in gravy, simple and well seasoned" Butter Chicken and Chicken Vindaloo which was served with basmati rice. When they say well seasoned, they mean it. it came with a small bowl of rice and I wish there had been double the rice. I happen to love basmati rice, but more than that, it took the edge off the heat from the spice. I don't like dark meat chicken, so the chef prepared me a dish with all white meat which was really superior Disney service. It turned out wonderful but I think the full meat version is probably much more tender as it had the benefit of slow cooking all day. For dessert I chose the Tanzanian Chocolate Mousse with Kenya Coffee and Caramel. It was a delicious and not too heavy end to a wonderful meal. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal here and I would not hesitate to return. This may not be a great place for everyone with the ethic choices and spices used, but it was a delightful change from theme park food and worth the trip over. The food was fantastic, the service was great, the atmosphere of the restaurant and the hotel itself is worth a visit just to see, and then you have the wild animals roaming the savannah. Yes, please.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon September 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): best meal I ever had, service, view, food
      Cons: can't think of any

      I ate my first honeymoon lunch at Sanna. We were given a table by the window and received complimentary appetizer, dessert, and champagne. This was the only restaurant during our stay where the server offered to take pictures of us and truly tried to make the meal a great experience. Make Sanaa a priority for your vacation.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Fort Wayne, IN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed July 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Daring foods for Disney, amazing flavors
      Cons: Cramped space for large group

      This was my second time eating at Sanaa. It won't be my last. The atmosphere is great, with the unique dining room and unusual table placements, along with the view of the savannah and the little tricks the staff uses to get the animals close to the windows.

      The food is very good - similar to what you would find at a good Indian restaurant. Sanaa has a fusion emphasis - Indian and African flavors, so anyone looking solely for African cuisine should go to Jiko or Boma. But Sanaa has tremendous value and variety and is a bit daring for Disney with its spices and ethnic cuisine. Overall, very good.

      My only complaint was how Sanaa handled our large group of eleven. Due to the unusual table placements, our group was squished into a table area that should have handled eight at most. We had asked to be as close as possible to the windows, so kudos to them for trying, but it was a bit too cramped.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2007
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Wed June 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience if staying at Kidani Village
      Cons: everything else

      I know I am going against the majority when I post this review which is why it has taken me 5 months to do it but...
      we stayed at Kidani Village in January and this is the only restaurant we ate at in Animal Kingdom. We would not return. Food was OK but nothing to deserve the prices it commands.
      I think alot about this restaurant depends on your server and ours was not good. We ate early hoping to get a window view but were back from the windows quite a bit. The review of our waitress is not just sour apples because of our view but she was just not good. We ordered the bread and it was delivered by someone who said our server would explain what it was but she was too busy for that. We never really knew what we were eating.
      Food was OK but I guess the reason why it took me so long to post is that I've been reading these glowing reviews of Sanaa and I just had to post that we were not thrilled and would not go back there again. The server was a lot of the problem but the food also was an issue.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: camden,arkansas
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed June 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere and different foods
      Cons: none

      We ate here 1st time may 27. Had lamb wife and kids all tried different trios. Awesome service and food. Bread and dips are a must do. I'm not a very adventurous eater but this one is on our list to go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Fri May 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      Finally we made it to Sanaa, and we are so glad we did. The food was wonderful, service fantastic and you can't beat the view. I am still dreaming of the naan bread and the butter chicken. Can't wait to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.