Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • powlen21

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon September 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): best meal I ever had, service, view, food
      Cons: can't think of any

       
      I ate my first honeymoon lunch at Sanna. We were given a table by the window and received complimentary appetizer, dessert, and champagne. This was the only restaurant during our stay where the server offered to take pictures of us and truly tried to make the meal a great experience. Make Sanaa a priority for your vacation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Environmentalist

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Fort Wayne, IN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed July 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Daring foods for Disney, amazing flavors
      Cons: Cramped space for large group

       
      This was my second time eating at Sanaa. It won't be my last. The atmosphere is great, with the unique dining room and unusual table placements, along with the view of the savannah and the little tricks the staff uses to get the animals close to the windows.


      The food is very good - similar to what you would find at a good Indian restaurant. Sanaa has a fusion emphasis - Indian and African flavors, so anyone looking solely for African cuisine should go to Jiko or Boma. But Sanaa has tremendous value and variety and is a bit daring for Disney with its spices and ethnic cuisine. Overall, very good.


      My only complaint was how Sanaa handled our large group of eleven. Due to the unusual table placements, our group was squished into a table area that should have handled eight at most. We had asked to be as close as possible to the windows, so kudos to them for trying, but it was a bit too cramped.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      retired605

      Registered: March 2007
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Wed June 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenience if staying at Kidani Village
      Cons: everything else

       
      I know I am going against the majority when I post this review which is why it has taken me 5 months to do it but...
      we stayed at Kidani Village in January and this is the only restaurant we ate at in Animal Kingdom. We would not return. Food was OK but nothing to deserve the prices it commands.
      I think alot about this restaurant depends on your server and ours was not good. We ate early hoping to get a window view but were back from the windows quite a bit. The review of our waitress is not just sour apples because of our view but she was just not good. We ordered the bread and it was delivered by someone who said our server would explain what it was but she was too busy for that. We never really knew what we were eating.
      Food was OK but I guess the reason why it took me so long to post is that I've been reading these glowing reviews of Sanaa and I just had to post that we were not thrilled and would not go back there again. The server was a lot of the problem but the food also was an issue.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monkback2

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: camden,arkansas
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed June 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere and different foods
      Cons: none

       
      We ate here 1st time may 27. Had lamb wife and kids all tried different trios. Awesome service and food. Bread and dips are a must do. I'm not a very adventurous eater but this one is on our list to go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Fri May 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Finally we made it to Sanaa, and we are so glad we did. The food was wonderful, service fantastic and you can't beat the view. I am still dreaming of the naan bread and the butter chicken. Can't wait to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ibwalrash

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon February 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Menu is designed for sampling
      Cons: a bit out of the way

       
      Living in a part of the country where Indian and African food is not very prevalent, we wanted to go exotic and try this place. We are very adventurous eaters and Sanaa delivered.


      Our waiter walked us through the entire menu and gave recommendations. Our server knew we wanted to sample different things so he worked it out on our deluxe dining plan so that the kids got what they wanted and we got an extra appetizer. We had the naan sampler (btw the red chili sambal is so much better here than at Road to Marakesh in Epcot) an African salad sampler (delicious!) and another sampler (all good) for starters. My wife had the Tandori chicken (fantastic) and I had the spicy fish and chicken with jasmine rice (just ok). Dessert was a blur but I do know that I don't like bread pudding before I came here and I still don't.


      This place is a must try for anyone wanting to go off the reservation for dining at Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FoxgloveDt
      Heather

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: MA, USA
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service, Location, Atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      We ate here on 1/8 for dinner on the DDP (3 adult women, no children). We loved eating at Sanaa, the atmosphere is lovely and feels very intimate. Our server was fantastic, very helpful and informative. We are family that loves Indian food and Sanaa did not disappoint. Even though we were on the DDP we got the bread service with all 12 sauces. It was delicious. I had the Slow Cooked in Garvey - Butter Chicken and Spicy Durban Chicken. The spicy chicken was SPICY but very tasty. My sister had the Tandoori chicken and said it was the best meal the entire 8 day trip. My mom also had the tandoori was very pleased. For dessert I had the Tanzanian Chocolate Mousse which was artfully plated and delicious, though I was jealous of my sister's Chai Cream. Everything should come with Chai Cream! I would certainly eat here again, in fact I could eat all my meals at AKL. If your nervous about the Indian flavors don't be everything is prepared well and the chefs are very attentive. We saw them come to two separate tables to answer questions and talk with guests.

      ------------------------------
      Life's like a movie, write your own ending...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mgt

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      The food was tasty. Not too spicey. Desserts where fantastic. We had a late lunch so the resturant was about empty when we finished. Saw lots of animals out the windows.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      drosenbe0813

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu November 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, view, interiior
      Cons: main dishes were a little bland for our tastes

       
      I hate to be rain on peoples parade, but I'd have to say that my wife and I were slightly disappointing with Sanaa.


      First, let me say that we live about 10 minutes from a large Indian populated area, so there are several Indian restaurants very close to us, that we enjoy, so that certainly tinges our thoughts. This is not a negative review per se, but I wanted to express a critical view.


      First, the good stuff. We decided about noon to go to a sit down restaurant that evening. Jiko is our favorite restaurant on property, but we wanted to spend a little less, and I had heard such great things about Sanaa. The earliest reservation that we could 'get' was 6:30, which was too late for us. We got through to the actual restaurant, and were told that if we just showed up at 5pm (opening) that they would probably be able to seat us. We arrived at 4:55, were given our beeper, and 5 minutes later, we were brought to a great table by the window.
      Our server, Sam, was great. Very personable, and knowledgeable about the menu.
      We ordered the Naan service with all of the sauces. Sam explained what each one was, and rearranged the sauces by 'hotness'. We liked 6 out of the nine, but all were tasty.
      We were not that hungry, and wanted to save ourselves for dessert, so we shared the Slow Cooked platter, getting Butter Chicken (my favorite) and Beef Short Ribs. One great thing that the kitchen did, was to bring the meal to us, already divided and presented in separate little dishes. That was great.
      Unfortunately, the butter chicken was missing 'something'. My wife and I both agreed that something wasn't there, but we didn't know what.
      The short ribs meat was outstanding. I usually shy away from dishes like this because, many times, the meat is low quality, but it was excellent. Since I don't usually order it, I thought it was quite tasty, but my wife said that it was also not up to the taste that she was expecting. It is quite possible that the dishes were not as spicy as we are used to, so they tasted bland.
      For dessert, we ordered the Rice Pudding. It was not the usual type of Rice Pudding. Sam did warn us about it, and he was not wrong. It was certainly different. Not bad, but it could have been creamyer.


      So to wrap this up, I'd have to say that Sanaa's decor, service and location is really nice. But I would probably not bring my family here to eat. None of the food was bad, but for 'Disney' prices, I would rather spend a little more and get an outstanding meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MargieVE

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat November 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Setting, service, food
      Cons: None

       
      I dined here alone for lunch about a year ago and returned with my husband for lunch recently (November 2013). After raving to him about the experience, I was a bit worried that I might be overselling it - but we were not disappointed.


      We were fortunate to be seated by the window on a lovely day and there were lots of animals to see. We started with a lime habanero margarita for him and a red wine for me - both were delicious. Along with that we had the bread service with raita, coriander chutney and the spicy pickles.


      This was followed by the watermelon, Kachumbari and Bhel Puri salad sampler.


      For our main dishes, he chose the slow cooked (fish curry and spicy shrimp) sampler and I chose the seasonal vegetarian (chana masala and seasonal vegetable wat) sampler. We enjoyed all of these dishes, but my particular favorites were the fish curry and the chana masala.


      Our server was very helpful in explaining the dishes and making recommendations after asking about our preferences. He also made sure that the service was nicely paced.


      This is a great place to get away from the parks and enjoy a relaxing lunch in a beautiful setting.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Sat September 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service, Views
      Cons: None

       
      Rarely does a restaurant live up to all of its glowing reviews...but Sanaa does just that. Seriously...we loved it so much that we dined there twice this last trip. My husband tried the slow cooked meats the first time and I just did the bread service with all of the dips/sauces. The kids tried the meatloaf the first time. On the second visit, my husband had the bison burger, I had the lamb kefta sliders, one kiddo had the shrimp and the other had the chicken. The food was just outstanding. The views were also amazing- just having all of the animals there while you dine. The service was great and love how so many of the hosts and hostesses have so much interesting info on the actual African pieces or functional styling of the restaurant. I think it's safe to say that Sanaa is going to be a must do for us on future trips. A+++++++++++
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AndyE

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Sat September 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, Food and Everything we can think of
      Cons: A little (just a little) cool

       
      Dined here on 20th September, can't fault this place as it is our third visit, we both ordered the lamb shank , this was cooked to perfection then followed by the chocolate mousse and Banana Sundae. The waitress couldn't be more helpful. A big thumbs up in our opinion.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lenette830

      Registered: December 2008
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun June 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, view of the animals
      Cons: No more Green Curry Shrimp :(

       
      My family of five dined here on May 30th and we had a excellent experience. The hostess told us that it would be 90 min for a window seat but we only waited about 15 min and got a amazing table.


      Our server, Christopher, was so nice and knowledgable--(he knew all the animals by name!)He also had lots of recommendations and really knew the in and outs of the menu.


      The food was outstanding. We had the naan service to start and all of the spreads we tried were great.


      Next up for entrees we had the slow cooked meals. I tried the Durban Shrimp which I thought was flavorful but VERY spicy and the Fish with Goan Curry which was good and had a smoky flavor. Now, I have to say my ONLY disappointment for the whole meal was that the green curry shrimp is no longer on the menu. I had that back in January and it was literally one of the best dishes I've ever had. I don't know why they took it off the menu and hope they bring it back.


      Nonetheless, my husband had the butter chicken and bison masala and both were great. My daughter had two vegetarian options that she loved and my younger kids both got kids meals , the tandoori chicken pot pie and the meaty loaf. I tasted both and they were really good and I was so happy to see a restaurant offering something other than chicken strips and pizza!


      We finally had dessert. We shared an order of the chocolate mousse and a dessert trio with all chia cream (sooo goood). It was wonderful!!!


      My only complaint(besides the missing green curry shrimp) was that the after dinner teas are somewhat overpriced but we considered it paying for the ambiance as we got to stay and enjoy the view and animals longer. We love this place and can't wait to go back!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): tastefully theme decor
      Cons: small portions

       
      Food was good, but portions were too small! We were still hungry after shortly after we left. Only saw one animal as we were dining. Nicely themed & decorated, but would not go back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      konslerg

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Mon April 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food is outstanding; so is the view of the animals
      Cons: Believe them if they say something is spicy! No bread unless you order the $10 bread service.

       
      We've dined at Boma and Jiko and love both. Sanaa is every bit as good! My only caution is that, if you don't like spicy/hot food, ask your server to point you in a milder direction. I had the durban spice shrimp and it was almost too spicy hot for me and I love heat in my food. It was delicious, but one degree more heat and it would have been too much. So, steer clear of durban spice if you don't like heat. Husband had tandoori lamb and it was excellent too. For dessert we split a banana kulfi (sort of ice cream) and I could have eaten about three all by myself it was so good. I have only one complaint (or I would have rated it a 10), there is a bread service on the menu, 5 different naan breads and 5 sauces for $10. I assumed (wrongly) that it you didn't order the bread service, you'd at least get a roll, small piece of naan or some sort of bread with the meal. Nope, no bread.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.