Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • saffie

      Registered: November 2017
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue November 28, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service, excellent bread service
      Cons: None

       
      I loved Sanaa. It wasn't my favorite restaurant on the trip, but it was well up there. For starters, the staff is so friendly there. From the hosts/hostesses to the server, not one surly face was to be found. We got to watch the animals graze as we waited to be seated, and even though we were not seated by the windows (which seemed to be a theme among the more demanding diners), the restaurant itself was beautiful. I'm going to say, the food was very different than what we are used to. My food was more sweet than savory, and I'm more into the savory aspects of a meal; I don't like eating something sweet for dinner and the spices just seemed more sweet to me. This is no fault of the restaurant, just my taste buds. But two things were the winners of the night; the bread service and the press pot coffee. The bread service is a must-do at Sanaa. We all enjoyed it thoroughly. My only complaint was my husband and I battling it out for the spicier sauce selections; sure would like a little more of the spreads for a larger party. And the press pot coffee at the end of the meal just rounded things out so nicely. Best coffee I've had in a while.


      If I could say one thing for people planning to eat here, don't stress about sitting at the windows. And if you're in a larger party and want to do window seating, prepare to be split up. Most of the window seating takes place in smaller parties. Every single party but us wanted to sit by windows, and I'm sure being asked that about two hundred times a day gets a little wearing on the staff.
      But you don't have to stress about it anyway. The waiting area gives you ample opportunity to do a little animal watching. Just take a moment before or after your meal to view the animals and take pictures until your heart is content. I highly recommend this restaurant, especially if you like to try new things and new experiences.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Km888

      Registered: October 2017
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed October 18, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bread service, view
      Cons: None

       
      We had dinner here in August 2017. The bread service is fantastic. We did not make a meal of it, but you certainly could. Recommend getting the option with all the dipping sauces. The cost difference is minimal and it's fun to try them all. The rest of the food was also great, as was the service.


      The best thing is the view and being able to watch the animals from the table. Try to get a window front table - we asked the host and only had to wait about 10 minutes extra, well worth it.


      If you are not staying at Aminal Kingdom lodge, it takes a bit of effort transportation wise to get to the restaurant but it was well worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Geri604

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: IL
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sun October 8, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Two Words: BREAD SERVICE!
      Cons: none

       
      I have been hearing people talk about the bread service, and it did not disappoint. There were only 3 of us, but I think we could have just had this as our meal and been satisfied. I ended up eating only half of my entrée - my mom and I both had the butter chicken and paneer tikka, which was also very good, but we were too full from the bread. My dad did the smart thing and just had the soup - tomato with paneer on top. At first he ate around the paneer, but ended up eating most of if. He said the soup was very good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 122
      Review Date: Fri March 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere, service
      Cons: None

       
      Had a great meal here the beginning of March. Loved the Naan Bread Service. Also had the fish of the day which was so good. Can't wait to eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 188
      Review Date: Thu March 30, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bread Service and Atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      My husband and I had reservations at Sanaa on March 21st at 6:40 pm. We checked in and were given the buzzer thing. We literally stepped outside to look at some zebras that had gathered close by, and our buzzer went off, indicating that our table was ready.


      We just wanted to try the naan bread with dipping sauces. Well, let me tell you...it was EXCELLENT!!!! And, at $15., it's a steal, and very filling. We also enjoyed a few alcoholic beverages, and they didn't disappoint either! I cannot wait to come here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clayalex02

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Thu October 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): bread service, cast members, food
      Cons: none

       
      We loved this restaurant! The bread service is so worth the extra cost. It was wonderful. the butter chicken was melt in your mouth delicious. sister had the fish of the day which was one of the best of the week. Mom had steak, which she altered to fit her palate (plain) while she enjoyed it, it was not her favorite but she is not big on ethnic foods. Our server was knowledgeable and happy to help direct us. She made us feel special and well taken care of. I would return here today if I could!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sleepydog25

      Registered: October 2016
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon October 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, value
      Cons:

       
      Sanaa is one the more underrated restaurants on property. The food, while not exotic, certainly is a notch above typical fare. The flavor profile of such things as the butter chicken or the braised beef is rich and complex. Service is always good, and they have an above average wine list. Our favorite option is to do the full bread service and split that along with a bowl of the tomato/paneer soup. Pair with a nice Pinotage or Sauv Blanc, and you have a delicious and (relatively) inexpensive meal. That you can almost always view animals on the savannah (during the day, of course) makes this a must do for us each trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tanasigirl

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue September 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome!
      Cons: Long travel time

       
      We ate here for the first time on September 16, 2016, for my hubby's birthday. It was a stellar experience!


      The atmosphere is beautiful with highly decorated ceilings, Indian-style lamps and large windows affording a good view of the animals on the savannah. The staff is knowledgeable and very attentive.


      The Indian Style Bread Service is a must do. My favorite bread was the Garlic Ginger Naan and the Papadum, which had a thick, spongy texture, but I found it interesting. We ordered all 9 accompaniments (for a mere $3 extra) and it was worth it. I wish I could tell you which dip I liked best, but the names don't help me remember. However, they serve them in order of hot to mild and I liked the medium hot the best. It could have been enough for a full meal for the two of us, but we bravely plowed on.


      I ate the Tandoori Chicken and enjoyed the flavor. Spicy, but just the right inch. My hubby ordered the Potjie Inspired and his meat choices were the braised beef and spicy Durban shrimp. The beef was fork tender and very flavorful. The shrimp was spicy, but again, not too much for me to try a piece. We ended with a simple Indian strawberry sorbet.


      I know some complain that the food is spicy, so remember that if you have a sensitive stomach. The menu is African and Indian-inspired. The name says it all.


      It is not the easiest restaurant to get to. We had to take a bus from our resort, PORS, to the Animal Kingdom Park (or any other park, whichever bus comes first), then transfer to the Animal Kingdom Lodge. The bus stopped first at Jambo House and since we love it so much, we wandered around there for a few minutes. It is a short walk to the Kidani Village or you can request a shuttle ride. It was a tolerable night, so we opted for the walk.


      It was a wonderful experience and I can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bobbiejo1

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri September 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food - Service - Atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      We were recent first time visitors to WDW. Sanaa was our favorite and best dining experience of our entire trip. The food was absolutely amazing, starting with the bread service with the accompaniments. My husband had the fish of the day, and I had the South African/Indian inspired paneer tikka and lentils with basmati rice. Our server was awesome and took the time to review the menu with us, even though he was very busy with at least 3 other tables, one with a party of at least 10. He had a great sense of humor, and was invested in making sure we enjoyed an awesome meal. This was the one table service meal we had at Disney that we didn't walk away from knowing we had overpaid!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DePasquale

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun July 10, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food: Good Bizarre
      Cons: A little off the beaten trail if not staying at Kidani Village

       
      It's another full theme dining experience, threaded by environment, ethnic food and staff. I'm surprised this is not a Signature restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyFamily

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: CT
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon June 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: a little bit of time to get here via park transportation

       
      This is our new favorite restaurant at WDW! We tried it for lunch in April 2016 and loved it so much we went a second time in the same trip. The bread service was amazing (and actually enough for a meal for several of us). The food options were so good! I'm still trying to find the recipe for the tomato soup - don't miss it! Even the kids meals were great - grilled chicken which was so juicy and the flavor was incredible. We will be going here every trip from now on. PLUS - the animals out the windows were so cool!


      I will say that the easiest way to get here if you don't have your own transportation is to take a bus to Animal Kingdom and then hop on the AKL bus from there. Plan enough time to get here. It is well worth the travel time!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monorailmom

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Tue May 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything!
      Cons:

       
      We always have an excellent experience here! Our lunch was fantastic. The food, including the famous bread service, was amazing. We had a table by the window and could see the zebras and some birds while we were eating. We will most definitely return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      aknlw2003

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: NC
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Thu September 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gluten Free menu stellar!
      Cons: Drive to AKL

       
      If you're Gluten Free and you love Naan, you have found the perfect restaurant for you. When we arrived at Sanaa we were well aware of the bread app with the chutneys, sauces, etc. We were so excited when our waitress informed us that they could offer Naan gluten free! Everywhere else in WDW you get the same old tapioca rolls, what a special change. Indian food is naturally gluten free, and there's a lot of Indian on the menu. LOVED the butter chicken, and the spicy shrimp. Both were amazing and I can't wait to go back and try other entrees. African wines were also very interesting to sample. And the animals on the Savannah just outside made for a magical night! Highly recommend!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      resjudacat

      Registered: June 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon June 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View of the animals!
      Cons: Food!

       
      Unless you like hot, very spicy food, this place is not for you! I couldn't anything on the menu other than the Indian bread service and dessert! They need to have something for those who do not like hot and spicy food! I found it to be inedible.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Irene

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon February 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Nothing but great things to say about this restaurant. Service was exceptional. Flavors were outstanding. I am allergic to coriander, so asked if other menu items, not listing coriander did in fact contain coriander. The chef came out and explained what foods to avoid. She then made me a chicken dish with all the flavors, minus the coriander. It was wonderful. Thank you Disney for this service.
      Oh yes, the scenery isn't too bad either :-)
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.