Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • allears

      Registered: September 2005
      Posts: 553
      Review Date: Fri December 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of room and lots of privacy
      Cons: Long hike to get home at the end of a busy day; always feels feels dark inside

       
      Review by alisawalker (moved from Saratoga Springs to TreeHouses)


      I love the room and the privacy in the tree houses. As a DVC member for several years, I keep going back to the tree houses because of the third bedroom and the fact that the second bathroom is not inside the second bedroom, making it more accessible to everyone. The third bedroom with bunk beds is great for kids, and the kitchen is wonderful to have. The master bath is a pretty neat set up too. Love all the natural touches. Inside, the tree house is always dark and the dark wood and furnishings contribute to that. The biggest inconvenience is the transportation. The resort bus does not go into the treehouse circle, rather drops you off at the main bus stop where you can walk (quite a distance), take a bus or take a boat. This is particularly tough when traveling with small children. Also, the boat going from the treehouses to the check-in center does not even start running until 10:30; well after you need to get going in the morning, leaving the walk or the bus as your only way to go to get breakfast.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Chuckus95

      Registered: June 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed June 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Size, Serene Setting, Uniqueness, Deck
      Cons: Isolated, Lack of Theming, Small Beds, Lighting

       
      We (5 adults and a 1-year old) stayed in Villa 7057 June 2 through June 8. This was our first stay at THV (We rented points for this trip, but typically stay at AKL, YC, or POFQ). The villas are very unique and quite large (we fit with no problem). The deck provided a serene setting (when not dodging rain from T.S. Andrea) to gather for some adult beverages after our 1-year old went to bed.


      We had a great stay celebrating my son's first birthday, and I would not hesitate to recommend the THV for a large group. I do have a few minor complaints (Small beds, lack of Disney theming, and poor lighting) and a much more signigicant complaint. I felt very isolated staying at THV. We had a car, which made things much easier, but we had to drive to do just about everything. My wife and son go to bed fairly early (before 10 PM), and I stay up later. I like to go out exploring (walk around the resort, grab an adult beverage at the bar, etc.) after they go to bed and that was very difficult to do at THV because it is so isolated. So, I do not know if we would choose to stay there again unless we have a big group.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      grumpy06

      Registered: November 2010
      Location: maine
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat March 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Location,Quiet,Peacefull
      Cons: None

       
      We stayed the last week of the food and wine festival and we stayed in treehouse 7018,great spot near the boat dock, pool, pathway to SSR. Was a little worried reading earlier post about how far away from everything the treehouses are but we did not find that to be a problem. We've been staying at SSR for the past 6 years as members and always stay at Congress Park which we love being close to Downtown. But we found the walk no farther to the Springs staying at the Treehouses than staying at Congress and walking to the Carousel bus stop. Was much easier than waiting for a bus to take you to the Springs and changing there. I would say the walk to both the Springs and Carousel was less than 5 minutes.


      Having a barbecue at the treehouse was wonderful also. There were 6 of us and more than enough room for all. The only complaint I would have is listening to that boat horn all day and evening when you are there on the deck. Wonder if that is really necessary all the time. Besides that, would recommend and stay again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ReaderReviews

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 102
      Review Date: Sun October 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Peaceful, lovely landscape, great space
      Cons: Bus transportation, no beverage station at Tree Houses

       
      Review submitted by Carol b:


      This is our first trip as vacation club members and Saratoga is our home resort. We stayed in the Tree Houses. We loved the space and found it very quiet and tranquil. The kitchen was well equipped and we ate breakfast there everyday. The pool was never busy but there was no beverage station. The road way was under construction and this made traveling back and forth from the Tree Houses to Saratoga a long trip. It often took us an hour to get to one of the parks. The service was good and during our 9 day stay we had towel and garbage service 3 times and our supplies were refreshed once. We had a lovely deck that we often relaxed on. Maintenance and house keeping responding quickly to any requests we had. Although we will likely try a new resort on our next trip, we will also stay in the Tree Houses again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Mon June 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): 3 bedrooms fo price of 2
      Cons: Parking and bus transportation. Water temp

       
      Stayed 06/04/12 - 06/11/12. This was the first time staying at my home resort. We have stayed at Old Key West and Boardwalk before. First, this is a great overall place to stay for the points. Unfortunately the point price is going up in 2013. We were a party of 9 (2 families) staying in a villa that was located between the boat dock and path to Saratoga Springs Grandstand. I checked in at 7am and they originally had me close to the gate. I requested to be closer to pathway to Grandstand and they were able to help get me much closer. Our walk to the Treehouse pool was about 5 minutes. We walked to Springs pool at main resort several times and it only took 15 minutes or less. We did not use bus transportation. I was worried about the parking situation since we had 2 cars. I was told I would have to park one car at Grandstand. The Treehouse Villas were occupied to full capacity, but I was able to get two parking spots without problems. Plenty of spaces were open all around the resort. I would not have used second spot if it took a spot away from someone else. A mini-van can easily fit in a spot marked for "compact cars." The road around Treehouses is narrow so pay special attention when walking. The pool is small even for only having 60 Treehouses. One or two families in the pool can make it feel crowded. We opted to use the main pool at the Springs. The area is quiet and away from the Disney madness. Interior of Treehouse is nice. Plenty of room in master bedroom/bathroom. Living room and kitchen were adequate. Bunkbed room was able to accommodate 5 kids with the help of a inflatable mattress. The main complaint I had is with the water temperature when taking a shower. The temp would go from hot to luke warm several times during the course of a shower. The treehouses were great along with the main Saratoga Springs resort. I'm glad this is my home resort. I probably would not stay at Treehouses again only because we do not need that much room usually.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mickeymark

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon May 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Secluded and private Locations
      Cons: Poor Circulation of Air conditioning

       
      Stayed at the THV the First week of May. It was in the 90's most of the week. The living area was decent during the day but at night with the bedroom doors closed there was no circulation at night and the rooms became hot, even with the ceiling fans on with the doors open. Also, traveling with my Grandchildren there is no safety gate at the top of the steps on the deck. I have heard others concerns on this. One last note is if this unit sleeps 9 why is there seating for only 4 at the outside patio furniture? These are slight issues I had but I would return due to the secluded nature and the large deck.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommom

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sat April 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): very peaceful
      Cons: stairs and getting into the resort

       
      Family of seven. Each had enough room for themselves. Wished they had larger pitchers and a crock pot available. Pool was nice and not crowded. Having the resort mug wasn't worth it because you needed to travel to the main resort to fill them. Was close to pool and river taxi but did not get near the water as requested. Housekeeping was very kind and did bring items that was needed right away. Check in was fast and easy and treehouse was available when we checked in at 11:00 am. The steps are hard to climb after a long day away. Resort is very quiet and very, very relaxing. Celebrating 2 birthdays, ages 12 & 13 and the boys requested this resort. Not much cabinet space to store your supplies in kitchen. Nice having a washer & dryer available. Did like the decor in the bathrooms. Having a big kitchen table was nice, big enough to sit all 7 of us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ranger275

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Wed April 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet and lots of room
      Cons: parking

       
      We stayed April 1st thru 4th with 7 people, 2 adults and 5 kids. We used every bed in the treeshouse and cooked pretty much every meal there. It was big enough for all of us and gave us plenty of space to relax. We used the pool at the treehouses in the evening to get a quick swim and we went up to the main pools during the day. We did ride the boat from the treehouses to the main resort and to Downtown Disney. Very nice way to relax.


      Our 15 year old son was made Jockey of the Day at the store at the main resort. Very funny and a nice touch to the vacation.


      We moved mid week to Bay Lake Towers and found that the two bedrooms there have 3 bathrooms which is very nice with 7 people. While two was fine in the treehouse 3 would have been nice.


      The master bathroom was very nice as was the kitchen.


      Only complaint is that there isn't enough parking around the treehouse or they need to at least reserve one per treehouse by marking it somehow. When we first got there all the spots were full as were all the spots near by including all the handicapped as people were parking anywhere. We called and they said you were reserved a spot at the treehouses not necessarily by your treehouse. That doesn't even make sense. So unloading and loading and if you have kids could have been really hard. At that time the only open spots were at least a 1/4 mile away.


      Other than that parking issue we loved the treehouse and we really wish they weren't going up in points as we would like to stay there again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AmyBeth

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat January 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, nice walk
      Cons: nothing

       
      My husband and I and 2 sons stayed here with my mother-in-law, my brother & sister-in-law and their 2 daughters. I loved it.


      We were in a very nice location. Bus stop right outside our door, pool right down the road, and pathway to Saratoga Springs right outside the door. We soon found out that it was quicker to walk to the main resort and take the bus to the park, other than waiting for the Treehouse bus to take us to the main resort. We also drove our van over to the main resort to use the awesome pool! The walk was about 5 minutes and a very nice walk. the kids enjoyed seeing all the geckos and frogs and toads and birds and armadillos and rabbits and the occasional snack.


      After the boys would go to sleep at night, my husband and I would take a nice nightly walk all around the whole resort. Nice way to unwind after a long day. The treehouse pool is very small, but usually not crowded at all.


      The treehouse itself was very nice and the rooms were pretty soundproof, and even though your surrounded by other treehouses, when we looked out our window all you could see was woods so you really did feel alone and isolated which was nice. I didn't mind sleeping with the blinds open. I think if we had had a different treehouse maybe I wouldn't have liked it so much because we wouldn't have been able to walk to the main resort as easily. But I loved it there, I'd stay there again!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Pembury19

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: Outside Boston
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Sat December 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Space, serenity, unique experience
      Cons: A bit inconvenient at times

       
      Family of 6. Stayed in unit 7058, which was a good location. 20 steps to nice, quiet pool (nothing to rave about, but we often had it all to ourselves, which is nice). Also a quick walk to boat launch and bus stop.


      Unit itself was great. Lots of room, everything was new and in good order. It was great relaxing on large deck just listening to nature sounds.


      Only issue was that you really cant get anywhere but DTD without hassle. We took rental car everywhere. Tried bus once, but that took forever and didnt try again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      loveswdw

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: Seattle
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed July 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): space, separate rooms, laundry closet, peaceful
      Cons: no assigned parking

       
      The Tree house villas were perfect for our group of 7. Plenty of space and no noisy neighbors. Loved being able to do laundry in the room, went to Publix to stock the fridge. Bus service was decent but a bit time consuming as usual, we used our rental car most of the time. Ate at the Saratoga Springs counter service a couple of times, we decided we really prefer the counter service at Port Orleans Riverside. The gentlemen at Bell Services were great from arrival to departure, one night they saw my kids walking back towards the Treehouses at about 12:45 am, picked them up and very kindly delivered them to the door Smile


      The only reason we don't rate this a 9 or 10 is because of the parking problems we had. The fact that hotel security does not enforce the 1 car per treehouse rule and parking spaces are not assigned, meant that we were forced to park far from our treehouse which was not pleasant on the days we got caught in downpours. It was made more difficult after I broke my toe while staying here. We started doing the drop off, pick up program with the car but it was inconvenient and should have been unneccesary.


      These are beautiful units, very comfortable and roomy. We really enjoyed listening to the crickets, frogs and lizards in the evenings. If you could plant the Treehouses at Port Orleans Riverside, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ReaderReviews

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 102
      Review Date: Sun June 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room size, clean, love seperate rooms, quiet, loved it
      Cons: a little hard to find 1st time, not clear when to get off bus

       
      Review submitted by evilqueenT:


      We had a short 2 day last minute stay with six adults and one 7 y/o child. LOVED having 3 actual separate rooms. We used the pull outs in living room not a problem, nice to have the child in the single pull out with parent separate but right there in larger pull out. No problem with all of us showering as I've read on other postings (said they ran out of hot water) and believe me, we're not great about taking short showers. The room was beautiful and we felt like we had lots of space, could easily see staying here for a longer period of time with mixed aged guests. It was super quiet, beautiful setting, like the easy boat ride to DTD (we popped over for lunch).


      We did find out the hard way that with the quick assistance of the Saratoga Springs front desk getting ems to your treehouse can be done in about 5 minutes. We got the front desk to help us because I wasn't sure how to tell EMS how to find us exactly...I can't imagine saying...um I'm in a treehouse come find me. Anyway, we had a diabetic crisis that needed medical attention...sorry to the guy working the front desk early on Memorial Day Monday morning but he was a fantastic help!


      I really loved this place and would stay again and I'd pay more attention to the bus stops. Loved being able to park the car right at the treehouse. We've stayed at 5 other deluxe resorts, 1 value, and too many to count stays at moderate resorts and I'd do this place again in a heartbeat especially when traveling with a larger group.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.