Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • BSC2000

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Grand Villa View, Modern Feel
      Cons: Monorail, one worker.

       
      Recently stayed in one of the lake view Grand Villas and WOW, what a great view. From our window on the 15th floor, we could literally see all of Walt Disney World, except of course the Magic Kingdom (different view). The Grand Villa itself was nice, very sleek and modern, with lots of space as would be expected. It was not as nice as Old Key West, but still very comfortable.


      There were several small issues with the Grand Villa, mostly just regular maintenance, shelves a little loose, hooks and hangers needed to be tightened, not really a big deal for us as we stayed on points. However; if I was paying for this resort at the current rate of almost 2K per night, i would have been upset.


      Walk to the Contemporary isn't that bad, nothing like the walk and wait for the elevators at the Boardwalk, and not having a "front desk" (which there actually is its just not the same as other resorts), is not really a big deal.


      On to a few more serious negatives, we found that a number of "guest relations" people over at the contemporary were a little less than helpful. One worker in particular was either VERY undertrained or really did not like his job. On several occasions, we asked him to do little things for us, ie. put a credit card onto our room key, check on the status of our dining plan (how many we had used, had left), request name changes on our room keys as the name had printed out incorrectly, to all of which he simply replied, I can't do that sorry. This, of course, was a complete lie, as we had had all of these things done at one point. See, we stayed on different reservations so we had to get new keys several times, and each time had little issues, nothing serious, unless we were talking to this one man. Either he had no idea what he was doing, or he just didn't care, either one of those is not good. Worst of all, in order to get these issues fixed, we simply walked to another worker, how would that look? "I cant do that, oh but that person standing right next to me doing the exact same job as me can????" Thankfully we also had an excellent manager named Kristin who never once said I can't do that, and obviously really knew what she was doing. Thank you Kristin for all your great help, you made our trip.


      Lastly and the main reason my family will NOT be staying near the Magic Kingdom anytime soon again, (which has nothing to do with the Bay Lake Towers or Contemporary resorts directly) is the complete reliance on the Monorail system to get back and forth from Epcot. We love to eat dinner in the World Showcase, so we need to be at Epcot. If you don't catch the monorail right on, you are in for a wait. At one point it took us almost an hour to get from our hotel to Epcot at around 5pm, way too long. Also getting back from Epcot was a chore too as you have to get off at the TTC then switch over and ride all the way around the track to get back to the Contemporary. On a good night it was 40 minutes back to the hotel from Epcot. We stayed for the fireworks once, and it was over and hour and half door to door.


      All in all good hotel, nice decor, nothing special and not really worth the high price tag, but that's just me. Won't be back anytime soon, but not because of the hotel.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JanSpagnoli

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Westfield, MA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun May 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Location to MK
      Cons: Small rooms, worn condition

       
      I recently stayed at BLT with my adult daughter 5/4/11 thru 5/10/11. This was our first stay at BLT and fell in love with the location to MK and close access to the Monorail. We loved the grounds, including the pool area and having access to the Contemporary amenities. The cast members were very pleasant and could not do enough for me when my daughter had the stomach flu. Our room was very quiet and dark, so we tended to sleep in later in the morning. However, our room seemed very worn for being a newer resort. The handle was falling off the closet and the toliet tissue holder was falling off as well. I felt that the rooms were a bit smaller than other DVC resorts we have stayed at. Other than these minor issues, I would definitely stay at BLT again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sandsstover

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Alvin, TX
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Fri May 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Top of the World Lounge, Walk to MK
      Cons: Looks very worn for only 1.5 years old.

       
      Stayed 2011/05/14-16. As BLT owners, we were disappointed in how the rooms look run down since it is not that old. Obviously they used cheap/inferior materials. The bathroom fix was apparently done in a rush (large hole to run pipes in the cabinet, poor cuts on the door frames). Bathroom lacks enough towel bars, soap holder. The skyway doors and pool gates often don't close on their own; so much for the privacy. With the addition of the Grand Floridian and now BLT, the monorail is over capacity with long wait times (even at off-peak seasons). That said, we loved the Top of the World Lounge and being able to see/hear Wishes from there. The lounge was not crowded at all. Also it was very convient to walk to the MK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcnut

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Tue April 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): easy access to Magic Kindgom and Epcot
      Cons: lots of people

       
      I stayed at BLT in a remodeled studio(bathroom sink was in the bathroom) as a DVC member on 3/31-4/1 for the Epcot Flower Show. Great location with easy access to Epcot via the monorail. The studios in BLT are smaller than the other DVC resorts, but it was still enough space for one person. Lots of storage space in the room. The only downside to BLT(if there is one) is that you notice the sheer number of people staying at both the Contemporary and BLT because you are in a high rise building. At the other DVC resorts, you rarely see large groups of people so you don't really know how many are there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneymom35

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Wed February 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service
      Cons: Not enough "Disney" feel

       
      This is our home resort. The hotel is great but has a kind of "cold" feel too it. I found it not as relaxing as many other resorts because it is in the middle of everything. It can be noisy and hectic.


      I did find the customer service here to be the best we've ever had. Nice walking to Magic Kingdom. The monorail system can be just as tiring as the busses. Very long bus ride to DD, 38 minutes one time, 25 min. the next.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mh3

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun January 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): more studio storage room
      Cons:

       
      Stayed 1/17 - 1/21 in a renovated BLT studio. By renovated I mean that they listened very carefully to all the DVC member feedback. The bathroom now has a sink with built in shelves on the side. The "galley" has an additional small counter (perfect for charging my phone and batteries) and more shelves underneath for storage. All of this was accomplished by redesigning the wall between the bathroom and galley. Note: they are in the process of upgrading all the studios. I was one of the lucky ones who got a room like this.


      BTW - I was reading a previous poster regarding housekeeping and tolietries. As DVC members we do not get daily housekeeping. On the fourth day the trash cans liners are replaced and tolietries are replenished.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Croberts

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat January 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor, size
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed 8 nights in January 2011 (1bedroom lake view) and cannot find one thing to complain about. Well maybe the thin ceiling between floors. Heard my upstairs neighbors every night they came home.


      As to the numerous complaints I have read about the bathroom doors, did not see this as a problem. The doors do have locks, but if you are staying with your family does this really matter?


      The walk to the Contemporary is also a non-issue. I have actually walked further to get to my room in other deluxe resorts, i.e. The Wilderness Lodge and The Animal Kingdom Lodge.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lisakramer

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Thu January 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful room with a view
      Cons: Looks a little worn

       
      We just got home from a 7 day stay at BLT. It was our 1st time staying since we bought a year ago. The trip was for my son's 3rd birthday and 1st visit. We had a 1 bedroom on the 7th floor with a MK view. The view was awesome! The room was HUGE! Even with the couch pulled out for my son, there was still plenty of room in the living room area to run and play. Having 2 full baths was very nice as well. The master bedroom was gorgeous. Everything was very nice, neat and clean when we arrived.
      The only thing I will say is that the surfaces looked older than they are. I don't know if they used poor quality in construction or what, but there were a lot of chips, dings and scratches that were very noticeable. I was quite surprised bu that, as I think of Disney as keeping everything well maintained. But it didn't effect the quality of our stay in the least!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      snagel06

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: new jersey
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon January 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View of MK was great
      Cons: Didnt like the sliding doors for the bathroom

       
      My family and I stayed at BLT on Dec 4th - 10th 2010. Overall we had a great time at the hotel, great view, nice employees. We stayed in a 2 bedroom and the only down side was that we were short a remote and the doors to the bathroom were sliders and that you could hear everything. Also, that you had to walk to the Contemporary for everything which wasn't too bad but it was freezing that week and the walkway is not enclosed! I would recommend this hotel Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kate01

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun January 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, transportation, view, room
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed in a 3 bedroom grand villa from 12/12-12/18. My family of 6, plus my parents. Booked a lake view and got RM 8512. View of lake and MK. It was amazing! The room was gorgeous, plenty of space for all of us, and very convenient. Walk to Contemporary for monorail, food, or shopping wasn't a big deal and the walk to MK was pretty easy, too.


      If I had a negative, it would be the quick service restaurant. Not a great selection. My kids would much rather be over at All Star Movies for their selection.


      Over all, we loved this resort and it will be hard to go anywhere else!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kamcgra

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri January 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): spacious two bedroom; wonderful view
      Cons: awful housekeeping

       
      Stayed here for a week in January. Loved the two bedroom villa with a lake view. The view was amazing.


      Had to call housekeeping twice just for bathroom supplies and even then we weren't given enough. The room was only cleaned once and if I wanted it done more than that would of had to pay. Being a DVC member with dues etc., housekeeping should supply ample bathroom supplies in the room for the length of stay
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jabe999

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu January 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): close to magic kingdom
      Cons: poor housekeeping

       
      Only one coffee. Had to pay $3.00 for 1 pack of decaf coffee. No soap and shampoo. No remote. Had to call for all of this. The room is not being kept up. Bathroom door hard to slide. The view is OK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      manper

      Registered: May 2008
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon January 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): proximity to MK
      Cons: lobby area

       
      This is our home base and in our second trip in a row, stayed at 1 bedroom unit with MK view (1/1-1/8/11). The views are worth the extra points, enjoying Wishes from your balcony is priceless. The only negative aspect of BLT is that the lobby area feels too empty and cold. The weather was great this year and finally could use the pool area. Is nice and private, with many amenities for everyone, including drinks and snacks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.