Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jim259

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri October 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location to MK, monorail resort
      Cons: tons of things

       
      Stayed at BLT in a studio from 10/2/11 to 10/8/11, lake view. We traveled with another party and was given a "travel with" number which should have put our rooms relatively close. Upon check-in, the staff claimed not to have the information in their computers. We were separated; different floor, opposite sides of the building.
      Upon entering our room, #7938, it had an overpowering smell of "Carpet Fresh." We left the sliding door open for a while; no luck. We notified a staff member and left for another while. When we returned to our room around midnight, surprise, we were locked out. Upon calling the front desk I was told that I was trying to get into the wrong room. I was told my room was #7837. They changed our room late at night' WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE! I had to move all of our stuff at midnight.
      The resort is boring, prematurely aged, and no Disney feel to it.
      I found the majority of the staff to be incompetent and generally uninterested in guest relations. I did not feel as though I was at a Disney Resort.
      The staff at the Resort Airline desk was rude and incompetent.
      The ability to take the monorail or walk to the MK is nice.
      I will never stay at BLT again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lovedisneyworld7

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: NYC
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon October 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful views, close to the Magic Kingdom
      Cons:

       
      Stayed at Bay Lake Tower over the summer, and everything was wonderful. The views are amazing, and it's a short walk to the Magic Kingdom. It's convenient having the Monorail right next door in the Contemporary. Everything was clean, and the rooms are huge!
      I loved my stay at Bay Lake Tower!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdduncan

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Atlanta, GA
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun October 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to the Contemporary
      Cons: MK View not the best

       
      Our party of seven stayed for five nights between 9/15 and 9/21/11. My wife and I are not DVC members, in part because the average DVC property is extremely spread out, has few dining options on site, and the fountain drink/coffee machines are not plentiful. We took my wife's parents and sisters on their first WDW trip and decided to stay here because we thought it was the best of both worlds: spacious rooms with a living area coupled with the amenities of the Contemporary Resort.


      We were right on staying here! Because the Tower is a tower, it has a small footprint and therefore close to the Contemporary, which is precisely what we wanted. So for those of you that are staying on a cash basis and get the Disney Dining Plan, your refillable mugs will get plenty of use.


      The only downside to this resort is the "Magic Kingdom" view rooms. Because of the shape and location of the building, you are looking sideways at the castle. One of our balconies in the two bedroom villa gave better views than another. A minor point, but one worth noting. Otherwise, we cannot say anything negative about this place; it was great!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      robalzas

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: pennsylvania
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed September 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to MK
      Cons: Bus service to other parks

       
      My family and I stayed at BLT from August 17-21. We had a 2 bedroom villa which suited our needs as we have 4 adults and 2 kids. I called DVC member services and requested a high floor and close to the elevators. I got the close to the elevator part. Not the high floor. We were actually close to the walkway from the Contemp. to BLT. We had a sideways view of MK, but good enough to view the fireworks from our balcony.


      This time around check-in went much smoother and the CM was both helpful and gracious. When arriving we were greeted and escorted to a waiting CM. Our room wasn't ready and was given a choice to get a phone call or a text I opted for a text. An hour later I got the text and we headed to the room. It was very clean and the view was okay.


      We had our own vehicle and drove that most of the time or used the monorail. Our DS took the bus to DHS and Ak but had to wait some 40 minutes for the bus. The walk to MK was very pleasant and time efficient. I really love the monorail ride to Epcot, its realy soothing to me.


      We were on the dining plan but didn't eat at any of the Contemp. restaurants although we did use the refillable cups and used snack credits at the Contempo Cafe.


      My Husband and I went to the Top of the World lounge to watch the fireworks and they still have the same magic as all the other times. All in all another great stay at WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mv9393

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue September 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): LOCATION
      Cons: Meal options

       
      My wife and I and our 2 girls ages 1 ½ and 3 ½ stayed at Bay Lake from August 16th through the 23rd in a 1 bedroom villa. We are not DVC members. Unlike at Old Key West 2 years ago, we were not tabbed as outcasts upon our arrival (the comment was “Oh, you’re renters” we were referred to at OKW). On the other hand, to our surprise when we checked-in we were changed from a pool view to the Magic Kingdom view. On the 3rd level (room 7310) the view of the castle was blocked by trees but every night we saw all of Wishes from our porch. So nice that you can turn to Channel 19 to listen to Jimmy Cricket as you hear him on Main Street.


      The convenience to be able to walk to Magic Kingdom was spectacular especially traveling with a stroller and 2 girls under 4. And actually was much quicker than taking the monorail. A 10 minute walk compared to heading over to the Contemporary, getting on the monorail, stopping at the TTC, stopping at Polynesian and stopping at Grand Floridian. Walking easily saved us at least 15 – 20 minutes each time.


      We were on the Quick Service Plan and I will once again suggest that if Disney is going to continue to market these great deals and make the DVC resorts available to all, the quick service offerings need to be expanded at these resorts. I do not understand why if I wanted to buy a hot dog I need to go to the Contemporary pool bar (which closes at 7) to find it.


      Everything else was a HUGE thumbs up….if you can I highly recommend the resort. I always said that I would have a hard time paying for a “monorail resort” but with our children’s ages the location could not have been better. And I should note that the price difference from Bay Lake to Old Key West for the 7 nights for the same dates was just over 300 bucks….again, WELL WORTH IT!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tloach

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat September 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View, walk to MK, restaurants
      Cons: one housekeeper, mislabeled room view

       
      We just got back from an awesome vacation at Bay Lake Tower from August 23 to 30. We were in a dedicated 2 bedroom villa with a Bay Lake view. There were 5 of us (3-year-old, parents, and grandparents). There was plenty of space for everyone.


      First the good. The view was great. We were in room 7444, which is 4th floor on the corner facing the Contemporary resort. We had a great view of Bay Lake, we could see the top of Wilderness Lodge and some of the higher Illuminations fireworks. We also had a very nice nightly viewing of the Electric Water Pageant. Magic Kingdom is a 10 minute walk, and then Contemporary is the first stop after Magic Kingdom on the monorail, so we could walk there in the morning and monorail back when we're tired. The view of Magic Kingdom from the link to the Contemporary is fantastic, as is having all the Contemporary stores and restaurants just a minute away.


      There were just a couple of hiccups in our stay. They first gave us a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool, which couldn't actually see Bay Lake due to the trees. We let them know that we didn't have the view we had paid for, and gave them the option of giving us a different room or refunding us back to the standard view rate. They moved us right away and the new view was great. The other problem was only on our last day there. The housekeeper did a very poor job, leaving the towels on the floor in the bathrooms and creating a mess in the sink that we couldn't scrub out. We were staying on cash so had full cleaning each day, and other than the last day the housekeeping was great.


      Also, it wasn't an issue for us since there were only 5 of us, but the bathroom door in the common room did have a large crack you could see through. All the bathroom doors had a locking mechanism, however.


      Finally, Bay Lake Tower had lots of extra amenities, such as an extra beach, pool and splash pad, and access to wonderful things like hammocks and hotel-run marshmallow roasts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kimmygme

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Aurora,Il
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu August 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): You will get spoiled staying here
      Cons: none

       
      We are DVC members and had a one bedroom lake view room. I have to say, it was awesome staying here!!! We requested a higher floor, even numbered room on the north side of the building and our wish was granted. We had a partial view of the Magic Kingdom.


      The staff was wonderful from when we arrived. We were escorted to the express check in desk and the person stayed with us until the person behind the desk was ready to check us in. Our room was not ready yet. After several hours,we checked in with the front desk to see if it was since we had not received a text stating it was. The staff said not yet, but this room was worth the wait. Shortly after that, we got the text. We were on the ninth floor near the elevator and the staff was right! It did not disappoint! We were able to view fireworks from MK every night.


      We visited the Top of the World Lounge several times while we were there. The staff is courteous and friendly. We viewed fireworks from there also and were able to view the Electrical Water Pageant from the deck behind the bar. The views from both sides are spectacular, especially at night when everything is lit up.


      It is a very short walk to the Magic Kingdom and we only waited a short time for buses when not taking the monorail, and even then we did not wait. All dining and shopping is at the Contemporary. We would take the bridge over. We did not mind the walk at all. It was very short. The food court was never busy and always had plenty of seating. The pools were great! We went between BLT and Contemporary. Mid day the pools were a little crowded, but never for any length of time. We used the boat rental also and the staff was very helpful with showing us how to use the equipment. We rented a pontoon twice. We asked how long it would take to go around Discovery Island and to the Seven Seas Lagoon and back. The question must be asked a lot because they said it takes about 45 minutes. (Pontoon rental is $45 for half an hour).


      You will definitely get spoiled staying here. Very short walk to MK, monorail service to both MK and Epcot, the ability not to fight crowds after the fireworks because you can view them from the resort, friendly staff, clean and spacious room...I can go on and on! Bay Lake Tower will not disappoint!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nipper

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: erie, pa
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu July 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, size, housekeeping
      Cons: Room was the farthest from the elevator,no separate temp control in the master bedroom.

       
      My husband, son, his wife and their 2 and 6 year old shared a 2 bedroom villa in the BLT from 7/13 to 7/21. We had no problem with the bathroom doors being sliders. From the previous reviews, I expected huge gaps but the doors gave plenty of privacy. It took a day to realize that pulling up on the bedroom door handle locked the door.


      The bathrooms were spacious and clean. My son did comment on the force of the showers in the other two bathrooms but we loved our rainshower in the master bath and the jacuzzi tub.


      Beds were comfortable, plenty of pillows, extra blankets.


      Loved the 3d bathroom. It makes it so convenient if you have people staying in the living room because they don't have to enter one of the other bedrooms to use the "facilities".


      The kids stayed on the fold out couch in the living room but I did try it out and it was very comfortable.


      Kitchen was clean and well stocked with glasses, dishware and utensils.


      We were in room 7202 and our housekeeper or keepers were excellent. I always leave a Mousekeeping envelope daily because I don't know if the same person will be cleaning our room each day. The kids had towel animals in their bathroom every day and the characters were arranged on the beds. We even got a towel fish in the master bathroom one day. Some of those creations took a lot of work and they were really loved and appreciated. We asked for housekeeping before noon and our room was always cleaned before we returned for lunch or naps.


      My only little complaint was that I enjoy a cold bedroom to sleep in and without a separate control for the MB I had to keep the AC set higher so the grandsons didn't freeze in the living room.


      We had a lovely stay and I will absolutely stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jbmcdm

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: Long Island NY
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun July 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location and views
      Cons:

       
      We stayed here June 22-29th and loved it!! We had a lake view and it was very nice. We were on the 11th floor and looked out onto the pool and the lake from the middle of the building. Last time, April 2010, our lake view included the Magic Kingdom. Both were great!


      No problem at all with check in and we had 3 different arrival dates for different members of our party. Front desk helped with car rental for my son and transport to emergency care for hubby, when he came down with swimmers ear. Everyone that hepled us was professional and knowledgeable.


      We had a two bedroom lockoff and it was perfect for the group we had. The main bedroom is very spacious as is the bathroom. We used garden grocer for the first time and that worked out very well. The kitchen and living area have plenty of space, though I'm not a fan of the modern decor, it was tasteful and worked well for us. Love the pull out chair, one more body!! The second bedroom was a studio and my boys loved having their own room, fridge microwave and all!!


      We rented boats one day and the kids had a blast. Only down side is the size of the pool, the zero gravity walkin takes up half the swimming area, but we went to the Contempary pool a few times and that was fine. The location to the MK is great. We let my older kids go late night and felt ok with it (cell phones help too). All in all, we really enjoyed this resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Opa

      Registered: June 2008
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Thu July 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Proximity to Magic Kingdom & Monorail; Views
      Cons: LR furniture is not comfortable

       
      We stayed at BLT from June 27 to July 2. What can I say about this resort? If you're a DVC member, it's worth it to splurge every now & then and stay here. We had the Magic Kingdom view and it was worth it.


      Other positive aspects? It's a 4/10 mile walk to the Magic Kingdom (less than 10 minutes). The views from the "Top of the World" observation deck are also spectacular. I could see Spaceship Earth, the Dolphin hotel, the Sorcerer's Hat, and a number of other sights. For now, only DVC members staying on points have access to the top floor lounge and observation deck. I don't know if it will be open to everyone at any time in the future. For now, though, it's worth staying at BLT just to see WDW from this height.


      The villas themselves SEEM larger somehow than the other newer DVC resorts. I don't know why. They've also added a lock on the 3rd bathroom door after a number of guest complaints.


      This resort is quiet. And secure.
      You need your room key to enter the building, and the pool, and even the bathrooms once you're in the pool area. I liked this aspect since it gave me a feeling that I was exclusive in some way.


      (yet...somehow...the local pizza shops all managed to slip their menu under my door every night)


      One final positive: the parking lot is very close to the tower, if you drove.


      Negatives? Just one. The furniture is uncomfortable. I suspect it's because it's a convertible sofa and chair, but I could never get comfortable.


      Highly recommended, even if you only stay here once. You won't be disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Patroclus

      Registered: March 2009
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri June 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to Magic Kingdom,
      Cons: Plumbing

       
      Just got back from 3 nights at Bay Lake Tower. The bathtub was developing a clog and took forever to drain after a shower. The bathroom door in our studio was sliding, which took a little getting used to. We had a great view of the Magic Kingdom from our balcony on the north side of the building. The pool & hot tub are fantastic. The exterior windows in the elevator lobbies need some cleaning (dead bugs everywhere).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cindynagel

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu June 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close to MK, lovely Bay Lake view, spacious 2 BR unit,
      Cons:

       
      Just returned from 6 night stay BLT, Room 8144. I was pleasantly surprised how large this 2 BR unit was I am not a fan of contemporary decor, I found the BLT decor fresh and crisp. Loved the pictures over the couch and beds. I had no problem with "lack of themeing". Carpet in hallways is full of Hidden Mickeys, pictures in halls and room were all Disney themes. View was great. End unit closest to Contemporary Hotel so we could see Bay Lake and watch all the boats come and go. Also overlooked their pool and could see all the major attraction, DTD Characters in Flight, Epcot Ball, TOT and Mickeys Hat and EE and the Tree of life. Amazing how far away everything is. I would not want to pay extra to see Cinderella Castle b/c really you are looking at the BLT parking lot.


      Coffee they supplied did not taste good. Wonderful to be able to fix a big breakfast before heading out in the mornings. Refrigerator was not very cold at first so we called and someone there within 5 min to assist us.


      Pool was nice and family enjoyed the Trivia games done by the CM's at poolside. Bar upstairs was nice for the fireworks. OK view though. A little off center. Also amazing to see how far away the fireworks are set from the castle. Looking at the Castle, you think they are really close.


      Wish they would put another towel bar in the 2nd BR bath, only towel rack is in the shower. Folded clean towels on a shelf above the toilet and I was fearful the towels would fall in! Having 3 baths was great with 8 people in the room!


      Also agree with below poster about the millions of little bugs by the door to the left of the main entrance. All over the floor and ceiling inside the building. The door to outside opens automatically if you just walk by it and then all the bugs come in. That should be fixed.


      Not sure how I will ever go back to a hotel room after this stay at BLT. We were the invited guests of a DVC family member so I don't know how much this room cost. Would definitely recommend BLT.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cyndisue726

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: orchard park, ny
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue June 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful resort and walking distance to MK
      Cons: Taking monorail to Epcot

       
      My husband and I stayed in a 1-bedroom villa from 6/6/11-6/13/11 for our honeymoon. We've visited Disney many times before and know what to expect. While Bay Lake is beautiful, I agree with other reviewers that it lacks that Disney "feel". Having recently joined the DVC, this was our first time staying on points. I was disappointed when I learned that we wouldn't receive housekeeping daily; however, I soon came to like someone not coming in our room everyday! Upon our early arrival, we were told our room was ready. We requested a Bay Lake view and had a wonderful view! We were on the 11th floor facing the lake directly! We can see how it would be frustrating to be on one of the ends as it appears as though you would be looking into someone else's room.


      We were both grossed out by the hundreds (and I'm not exaggerating) of bugs that clung to the ceiling of Bay Lake's first floor lobby and hallways. We do realize that it is June in Florida and while this isn't necessarily a resort specific fault, were just surprised by the multitude of them.


      Being able to walk to and from MK was great, especially at the end of the night when the busses are jam packed. However, it was aggravating to take the monorail to and from Epcot since we had to transfer at the ticket center and there were no other means of getting there.


      As petty as this may sound, the biggest aggravation regarding our room was the fact that the TV was programed to turn on at an obnoxiously loud volume EVERY time we turned it on. Come on Disney, as if you don't bombard us with enough advertisements and themed merchandise throughout our stay! As with all of our previous stays, we are accustomed to theTVs being pre-programed to turn on to a Disney specific channel, but have never been in a room with such a loud TV.


      We also couldn't figure out the system to using our room keys to access this resort. There were signs posted at all the entrances that basically only resort guests can enter Bay Lake as the room key is needed to enter. We found this to be the case when entering through the front door, but not with the others. Anyone can access this resort by crossing the bridge from the Contemporary as keys weren't needed. My husband and I didn't care about anyone being able to enter the resort, just thought it was silly to post the signs and only require a key for the main entrance.


      Bay Lake was wonderful and all the cast members were helpful and courteous. We will be staying here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sierrabeara

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri June 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): LOCATION
      Cons: NONE

       
      We just returned from a Memorial Day weekend at Bay Lake Tower. We found the room to be in good condition. There were a few scuff marks on the dresser.
      The location is great, and we enjoyed walking over to the Contemporary via the skybridge. Very convenient.
      While Bay Lake Tower isn't themed much, it is elegant in it's own way. We especially liked the Top of the World Lounge!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      minnieme2995

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Clarksville, TN
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu June 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pool, location, washer/dryers
      Cons: no dedicated front desk, restaurant

       
      We stayed here from 5/25-28/11. Went to check in at 7am and was suprised to find our room was ready, but we only got our keys and left straight for the parks so we didn't check on the room. Came back after a long hot day with all our luggage and 2 tired kids to find that our keys wouldn't work. Had to go down stairs to discover that the people at the front desk couldn't help us and we had to call over to the Contemporary for help. There was some mess up with the rservations and our room keys were inactivated (their fault, not ours). First told us that we could come down and pick up the new keys or someone would bring them up to us but it would be a while. They did offer to at least extend some dining credits we hadn't used up from our separate reservation from our 1 night stay at WL.


      Several different calls were made through out the stay only to be told everything was handled at the Contemporary. From what I could tell the only reason the people at the front desk were there for was to sell time shares and escort people to the 16th floor.


      Pool was wonderful. Clean, comfortable and the kids loved the big and small waterslides. Wished you didn't have to come down to the pool though or all the way to the Contemporary to refill drink mugs.


      Restaraunts were also lacking at BLT. Again had to go over to Contemp. for this as well. Knew this going in, but didn't plan on doing this until we realized we couldn't make our other ADRs.


      Room was clean and well kept. Assuming we had a handicap accessible room which we did not request. #7814. Was listed as lake view but it gave us a side view of MK and the lake overlooking the parking lot and dumpsters Sad. Great for viewing fireworks though for less $$. Closet was really small even for a studio due to the safe in the closet that took up all the hanging room for clothes. It was on a metal stand bolted to the floor? Not sure if that was to make it handicap accessible?? I thought the rooms had pull out pantries, but maybe that is just in the 1BR and larger rooms as ours did not have one. Spacious bathroom with walk in shower and a separate tub. All of the bars provided lots of space to hang towels and wet clothes.


      Loved the free washer and dryer access (downstairs - not in the room).


      Great quick acess to other locations on the monorail. We drove to most of the parks though since we had a rental car.


      All in all we liked the room but DH preferred the WL. I would stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.