Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • KTSabie

      Registered: August 2008
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Views, location
      Cons: Shared buses

       
      We stayed here for 6 nights in June 2013. We had three different rooms for our travel group. We all had lake view, but we could all see Magic Kingdom from our balconies. The rooms were clean, fresh and looked well maintained. The CMs were friendly and helpful.


      I didn't love sharing a bus with Polynesian and Grand Floridian. We had a few wheelchairs in our travel party and because of the bus sharing, we had to wait for another bus when there was generally room on the bus for some of our party, but not for those in wheelchairs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bigrigol23

      Registered: November 2006
      Location: North Carolina
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri June 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Monorail, close to MK, viewing MK fireworks
      Cons: none

       
      Stayed in a one bedroom villa from 6/21-6/25 w/lake view. Paul the guard at the front gate had all of us laughing before we even got out of our car. Arrived at 12:30 pm and our room was ready, did the online check in so the the check in at BL took about five min. Room was spotless and on our second day house keeping unexpectedly cleaned our room and folded our clothes. Lake view is the way to go, you can go up to the deck to see the MK fireworks and you can see the electric water parade from your room, plus the lake view is less points than a MK view which over looks the parking lot. Our villa was on the fifth floor where the bridge to the Contemporary is located so it was very short trip to get something to eat or to get to the Monorail. Nice pool and slide, pool could be a little deeper and a little cooler. This was our first stay at Bay lake and we would stay there again for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 100
      Review Date: Sun June 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Proximity to MK
      Cons: Showing wear and tear

       
      We are seasoned DVC members and this was our first stay at this resort. We were promptly greeted upon arrival and check in was quick and easy. The room was nice and one of the cleanest I have seen in recent trips. Unfortunately the foyer toilet would not flush, but it was fixed promptly. Rooms are showing wear and tear. The blind on the door to the balcony was severely torn and the wooden chair gouged. We had no difficulty using the monorail or walking to MK. For other resorts we drove. View of fireworks from front of resort was very good. We didn't even try to go to the observation deck. Pool was a little small and crowded. Glad we tried it but we prefer other DVC resorts. This is a very good place to stay if you want to spend most of your time in MK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcmember1983

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue June 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, convenient to the Magic Kingdom,
      Cons: Some staff

       
      I really enjoyed staying here as a Disney Vacation Club member. It is beautiful with easy access to the Magic Kingdom. We loved being able to walk there! It is worth the stay there just for that alone. We hate the Magic Kingdom parking lot.


      We stayed in a 2 bedroom lake view villa. My only complaint about our room is that it was smaller than the 2 bedroom theme park view villa that we stayed in a few years before. This villa was laid out much differently than the others we have stayed in.


      My issues lied with the staff. When I did my online check in, I stated an arrival time of noon. We left Pennsylvania by car at 9:30 pm the night before our arrival date. When I got there, I expected my room to be semi ready since I stated an arrival time. That was not the case. I explained at check in that we had been awake all night and needed a place to sleep. Still no room. At 3:00 after walking around the resort and the monorail extremely exhausted, we walked back to check on the status of our room..still not ready! Finally at 3:30, I checked again..still not ready. At this time, I found a manager. I explained my displeasure of being awake for over 24 hours and after explaining to 3 cast members our situation we still had no room to rest. He found 3 maids to clean our room and get us in to rest. If I had not gone to the manager, I would have still been waiting. This is not the first case of this happening to us at a Disney Vacation Club resort. As a member, I still expect the same level of service that a paying guest would and I did not feel we got that. My other staff issue was on the day we left we called for bell services. I had a large amount of bags and was willing to tip accordingly. The bell lady was rude from the moment she arrived at our door. Acted like it was an inconvenience for her to be handling our luggage..needless to say she didn't get a tip at all. I don't tip for service like that.


      Other than those 2 issues, everything was wonderful. We really enjoyed the pool area. I would stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brumcg

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff
      Cons: Already showing some wear, theming

       
      Let's face it, Bay Lake is a great place. You won't go wrong staying here.


      I did think the place was showing a little bit of wear however.


      The monorail didn't live up to my expectations. We often had to stand, and the trips back and forth to Epcot were rough on my wife (bad knees).


      Top of the World Lounge also missed my expectations. Viewing Wishes outside lead to battles with bugs and cigarette smoke.


      The theme/style just isn't my cup of tea (not the resort's fault).


      Loved the Wave, the views, and the friendly staff.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      anniecrd

      Registered: May 2007
      Location: Rhode Island
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Tue May 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location, great view, lots of room, clean
      Cons: Customer service

       
      Stayed here from May 3rd thru the 11th. This is the second time that I stayed here. Last time we stayed in a studio but this time we stayed in a two bedroom.


      The only reason I did not give this review a 10 was because of the negative customer service that I received checking in. First, she was extremely slow checking us in. Second, when asking her to add the park passes on my room key, she said that she could not do that and I needed to go to concierge later. When I questioned this because I have always been able to do this at check in, she almost made me feel like she was accusing me of lying. She said that this was never done. Third, we checked in at 3:00 and when I asked her if our room was ready she was very snippy with me and said that check in was at 4:00 and I would receive a text even though the woman next to me received her room at the time. After this bad experience, we left and got something to eat.


      We later walked over to Bay Lake where we spoke to a very helpful person who, surprise surprise, was able to add my park passes to my key even though she wasn't concierge. The last thing that upset me was that this was around 4:00 and our room was still not ready and according to this woman, our room still has not even been touched yet. I have never waited this long to check in to a room. Thankfully she was able to switch us into a room that was just finished.


      Other than that, we had a wonderful 2 bedroom villa. It was clean and spacious and the third bathroom came in very handy. The view was a lake view where you could see Epcot and Hollywood studios in the distance. The pool was great and the slide was a lot of fun. I would definitely stay here again!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      magicmonette

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun May 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location to Magic Kingdom, monorail, and water transport
      Cons: Rude, lazy and generally unhelpful staff (cast members), cheap tattered furnishings, lackluster theming

       
      Our stay was May 11-14. Used points for a Lake View Studio and was given a #**37 room facing BLT OTHER wing. If I sit at end of balcony and lean, I can see the lake. It was NOT worth the extra points!


      My room was not ready when arrived, which was ok. Checked back little after 3:00 and was told don't know when will be ready. "Could hang out for another hour." All very rudely, as if I was bothering them. It was about to rain, so I picked up my bag from bell services. Kind girl encouraged me to ask again. I did and they had room.


      The room was very disappointing. First, I got off elevator to vomit all over the floor and a WATCH YOUR STEP SIGN. Yuck! The view was not what I paid for, the furnishings were tattered, the carpet was quite stained, the sleeper hadn't been put back neatly (could see the bedding), table wobbly...overall just not up to standards of AKVs and other resorts at Disney.


      The grounds are lackluster, and a friend I texted pictures (with no negative description) said tell those people to get a broom and sweep. After I reviewed the picture, I realized there was quite a bit of debris on the ground.


      I had preordered some groceries to be delivered by the DVC staff and after 24 hours, I called. As with EVERYTHING at BLT, I was told to GO tithe Contemporary and talk to them. I went to Fantasia Market and after many minutes of research, Iris discovered BLT staff delivered it to wrong room, even though it clearly said all of my info on the ticket. She took time to reverse charges and apologized profusely.


      The CMs at BLT also could not figure out my dining test reservation (that THEY gave me) and told me to go over to MK City Hall. Poor guy there said they were not even on that system and couldn't help me, and was quite befuddled as to why they sent me there. That was never resolved. I gave up. There are other examples of bad service, but will stop now.


      I would ONLY recommend someone stay here for the location, but only if other monorail or WL resorts are full. This would be last resort, and mostly because the staff is the worst (with exception of Bell services and the greeters outside) that I have EVER experienced in my 40+ visited staying on property. Also, It is not beautiful or upscale, and you pay prices to receive deluxe accommodations. But the location to MK is perfect.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      buntingd

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: FL
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Sun May 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): friendly, helpful staff
      Cons: none

       
      Arrived at 9:30 on May 4th, greeted by a cast member outside who escorted us to the check in desk. Room was not ready but was able to get key card so we could go to AK. They did send a text to tell us our room but I only got half the text, n problem we went to the desk when we got back.


      I was worried after reading some past posts about the rooms being run down but that was not the case. We were in room 7527 with a nice view of the lake and pool. Only issue we had was the TV in the bedroom was not working. My husband called and within 5 minutes a cast member was there to fix it. The plug had been loosened.


      Our granddaughter loved going out on the balcony. The bed and the pullout chair in the living room were comfortable. Spent Sunday afternoon at the pool. Granddaughter loved all the pol activities and the water slide. I like the fact that the pool is only open to Bay Tower guests. There was even a cast member that came around one time checking on key cards and giving us a wristband.


      I loved the easy of walking over to hop on the monorail. Next time our granddaughter wants to walk to MK.


      The door to the Contemporary was always open so we never had to use our key card. We loved being able to stand on the walkway and watch the fireworks in MK which was great for the little one's sensitive ears.


      We will be back soon.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dizneymom48

      Registered: June 2009
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed May 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great veiw
      Cons: none

       
      Room was very clean and reatly by 11:30am. We were in the north tower 16th floor"the top" it was great lake view. yoy can see Epcot space ship earth and fireworks also tower of terror at HS also downtown disney. Walk down the hall to observation deck and MK fireworks. all in one nite
      Will stay again. 4/5-4/10
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyprincess1014

      Registered: May 2006
      Location: USA
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Mon April 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, bright and clean room, view of lake, comfort
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at Bay Lake Tower from March 31 through April 6 in a 2BR Villa and absolutely loved it. We are already planning to return next year with our DVC points. With two young children, the MK location is perfect. Being able to walk to MK kept us from lines for the monorail or buses. The monorail is great for Epcot, and the kids loved it. Even the bus service to AK and DHS was fine, and we didn't have to wait more than 10 minutes.


      The room itself was beautiful and very bright, cheery, and kid-friendly. We liked how many things were cushioned like the ottoman, and the corners were rounded on the tables and some furniture. Great for little ones! The beds were comfortable, the showers (especially the master one) were great, and the view of the lake and pool was nice.


      The room was very clean and well-maintained. Everything in it worked well. The employees at the Contemporary check-in were very friendly and efficient, and I didn't mind having to check in there. The shops there are great and we liked having a few options for food that were not a far walk (unlike Kidani). Would definitely return...can't wait!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      girldrgn8

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Sat April 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location, nice rooms
      Cons: Check in, Contempo Cafe

       
      My family stayed here March 28 through April 3. We loved our room. It was a little small but still a great view of the pool and the lake. I really like the kitchenette set up. My check in went great but my mothers did not. The cast member that checked her in was short and rude.


      We only went to the pool once and it was nice. The Top of the world lounge was a great place to view the fireworks. The prices are high but nothing any different then anywhere else.


      Overall, we loved our stay and will definitely return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bigsol

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Northern VA
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon March 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Views, 2 in 1 resort amenities
      Cons: security not always so secure.

       
      I am a DVC member, and I am basing my review on my last trip to BLT, which was 12/2011. My apologies for the untimliness of this review.


      BLT is my home resort and I absolutely love it. First, let me say that, while I am a dedicated Disney fan and I am always expecting that "Disney Magic" at all times, I am also a realist. I realize that Disney, while they are top notch when it comes to service, is still just a vacation resort. They have normal human beings working there, and, I'm sure, they have their fair share company/personnel problems. That said, I go into every Disney vacation with the expecation that, while I wish it to be the most magical experience ever, I accept that there will always be certain vacation resort related issues. As long as these issues are handled properly and in a timely manner, I am Ok with it.


      We stayed in 2br dedicated lake view room for 8 nights. We were very lucky and got a room on the 12th floor, in the corner. From our living room we had one of the best views of Bay Lake, but we could also see the Magic Kingdom and the fireworks. It was definitely a nice treat for us, as we were a party of 4 adults and 3 young children.


      As for space, we were not cramped. My wife and I had the master and our son (1 1/2 at the time) slept in the pack 'n play in our room. Our guests and their 2 daughters shared the second bedroom. Each room had it's own full bath, plus the third full bath in the common area. Each bedroom had it's own private balcony.


      The common area was very nice. It was clean and the living room area was spacious enough to comfortably fit all of us, with the kids running around playing, of course. The kitchen was properly stocked, everything was in order. I didn't notice any excessive wear or dirt/stains on any of the furniture or appliances. The carpets appeared to be clean, and everything worked as expected.


      A few days into the trip, we experienced an issue within the room. Since it was over a year ago, the exact issue escapes me, so take this for what it's worth. However, I do recall notifying the front desk in the morning, going out for the day, and returning to the room with the issued fixed. Along the same line, we could not access the free wifi when we first arrived in the room. My friend called the front desk, who transferred him to a service representative. The service rep walked us through the settings on our laptop and got us connected with no further issue.


      I've read some reviews on here that mentioned rooms not being fully stocked, rooms being dirty, elevators either dirty or unpleasant looking, leaks, etc. While I can't comment on the personal experiences of those individuals, I can only say that we did not experience any those issues. Perhaps certain things have changed or been neglected since December of 2011, but at that time the Bay Lake Tower was a beautiful, well kept resort.


      The pool area was nice. We had some cool weather during our stay, and only got to the pool once. It was cloudy and little breezy that day, so we didn't stay too long, but my son loved the little slide. I took a few trips down the big slide, myself. It was fun.


      The rooftop lounge was never busy, except during the fireworks. I do admit that it was a bit of a pain to have to take the elevator all the way to the ground floor just to show my room key and be escorted back to the elevator. I am quite pleased that DVC decided to ease the rules of entry back somewhat for the Top of the World Lounge.


      Contemporary staff never made us feel like unwanted guests, however, there were a couple of times where it seemed like nobody was, "manning the fort", so to speak, in the BLT lobby.


      If you are on the far end of BLT (the NE corner) you have to walk 2/3rds of the way around the building to get to the covered walkway. Not a huge deal, but a little more than a short walk.


      Instead of seeing myself as a BLT guest, I look at it as having 2 resorts in 1. See, staying at BLT gives you full access to the amenities of The Contemporary, including the pool, however, a Contemporary guest does not (well, isn't supposed to) have any access to BLT or any of its amenities. Hmmm, that's a great segue into my "Con".


      One of BLTs big features is its exclusive access. The rule is that if you are not staying in BLT, you can't physically get inside the building and you can't use the pool. The biggest flaw I found was that the door on the Contemporary side of the covered walkway was unsecured on more than a few occassions. I never found it propped open, but on several occassions it was resting against the door frame and did not fully close. This bothered me. Not because I was concerned for my own safety, but because DVC thought highly enough of this feature that they promote it as a highlight of the BLT. Now, I never reported this issue to anyone, so I can only complain so much. The other entrances on the ground floor did not have this issue. The issue on the ground floors was piggybacking, and that is a human error issue, not mechanical. To that end, I am guilty as charged. While I did not hold the door open, or unlock the door for anyone, I forgot my card once and waited for someone to open the door for me. I admit that BLT isn't a U.S. Embassy or the CIA building. I don't fear that someone is going to enter the BLT and do harm, however, if DVC is going to use this security feature as a selling point, and I'm paying annual dues to this resort, I expect everything I am paying for to be in proper working order.


      I've never ever had an issue with Magic Express or luggage delivery. If you plan ahead and read up on the services, they tell you to pack whatever you may need upon arrival, including an extra set of clothes, in your carry-on just in case. Same for curbside check-in at the resort. No issues. Well, except for the one time my wife packed her license in her suitcase and it left for the airport!! That's a story for another time.


      I will just say that if you are going to Disney you are going to have a good time. If you stay at BLT, you are going to enjoy it. You just have to be reasonable and accept that while Walt Disney World (and the BLT) were built on the vision of some of the most innovative minds in the world (and a little magic), they are run by regular people. Mistakes happen, sometimes certain details get overlooked, sometimes it takes a little longer for your luggage to arrive. As long as you can accept that, prepare for it, and the staff respond to and correct the issue in a timely manner, what is there really to complain about?


      One last thing, I promise. This comes from 13 years of planning WDW vacations- If you are going on a WDW vacation, not just a DVC resort, but any WDW resort, and you either fail to begin your planning as far out as they allow you (resort reservation, dining, tours, etc), or you simply don't plan for anything, YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE A MISERABLE TRIP. Believe me, I've seen it happen. the first 3 things you need to know about a Disney trip is Plan, Plan, Plan. Trust me.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tmbcole

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: Maryland
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri January 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location to Magic Kingdom
      Cons: A few

       
      We stayed at Bay Lake from 1/20/13 - 1/24/13 in room 7206. After reading some of the other reviews, we weren't expecting much. However, the resort was beautiful, the room was clean, it's a great location, and we watched the Ravens playoff game at the Top of the World Lounge. We also loved watching Wishes from the Lounge. It's quite an experience. It was a great week and we loved the resort.


      Some of the cons. I'm quite disappointed with Bay Lake/Contemporary because a cast member was caught opening our luggage and when we spoke to management, we were told they would look into it. So far, I'm not aware that anything has been done because management has not made further contact with us. It was an invasion of privacy and management should have taken immediate action.


      Another strange issue we had was using the stairwell. Instead of waiting for the elevator, we used the stairs. Unfortunately, the door on the first floor was locked on several occasions. When we spoke to a cast member about this, she said was locked for fire hazard reasons. It forces you to use the emergency exit. However, that didn't explain why some days it was unlocked and some days it was locked. It made no sense.


      Lastly, we went to the Contemporary Grounds at 6:45 one morning and they were closed. A coffee house that is closed early in the morning. Go figure.


      I gave this resort a 7 only because of the issue with our luggage. Had there not been an issue, I would have rated this resort a 10.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jessicahs

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Tue January 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING!
      Cons: Leak in room/hallway that wasn't fixed during our stay

       
      I would love to give BLT a 10 but we did have one minor problem. Even with LEAK in our room and into the hall in front of our room, I love this resort and can't wait to stay here again. Our 2nd visit here was from 1/3-1/11/13. Amazing view even though I didn't request a MK view. Clean, friendly staff, good food, nice merchandise choices. I never experienced anyone trying to "get it" behind me anywhere in the resort. The new check in was amazing - I pulled up in front and the CM said my name! The leak was weird - not sure if it was the shower or air conditioner but it wasn't fully fixed during our stay but - so be it. Just a fantastic resort with great location. Can't recommend it enought.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      mrspierce39

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: connecticut
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Mon January 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, decor, people
      Cons: None

       
      Spent 4 nights, 1-5-13 to 1-9-13, with adult daughter in studio lake view on points. Could not have been happier. Loved the style of the rooms, the walkway to Contemporary, and monorail was so convenient. So close to Contempo Cafe for coffee and quick meals.


      Excellent sitting area outside between walkway and contemporary with great view and monorail passing by overhead. Sat there many times to drink coffee and enjoy the designated smoking area there. Very relaxing.


      It has become my favorite resort as it offers modern decor and location that is outstanding. Great for adults who prefer not to be bombarded with too much Disney in your face atmosphere. We are already planning our next visit with more family members and will stay at Bay Lake Tower 1 or 2 bedroom depending on size of group.


      For 2 people, the studio is perfect. Even with 1 small child it has plenty of space. Check in was flawless and cm's were exceptional in customer service. Highly recommended.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.