Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • robalzas

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: pennsylvania
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu August 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The great views, all the different animals! Underground parking!
      Cons: The long distance from Kidani to other parks, lack of quick service restaurant.

       
      MY family and I stayed at Disney from July 27- August 3. This trip we split the visit. First 4 days at Kidani Village last 3 days at the Villas at the Grand Floridian. The villa was spotless and we had no issues with anything. We had a 2 bedroom villa, love the HUGE master bathroom and the Jacuzzi tub. Having the extra bathroom was very helpful, most 2 bedroom villas have only 2, Kidani has 3. The balcony was great and very spacious the entire length of our villa. We saw the most amount of different animals this vacation.


      This vacation the kids play water area was being painted but the pool was not overly crowded had plenty of empty chairs. LOVE LOVE LOVE the underground parking. We drive into Disney from PA and really appreciate climbing into a cool car, not a HOT car that has been baking in the Florida sun.


      Overall we had a great stay at KIdani Village, it is our home resort and we still love it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dailey71

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun June 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Animal viewing, underground parking
      Cons: Possible long walk from lobby/bus stop to room

       
      This was our first time staying at this resort and we sprang for the savanna view. Depending on where your room is located (we were in 7440), it could be quite a long hike from the lobby or bus stop. Lucky for us, it wasn't too bad of a walk to the bus stop since we were in the Zazu section. With staying at Kidani versus Jambo, we were the first ones on the bus and the first ones off. Many others have commented that there isn't any quick service place to eat, but we used our kitchenette in our studio each morning for breakfast. We ate lunch and dinner in the parks every day. Next year, we'd definitely get a one bedrm instead and eat a few dinners in the room since we'd have a full kitchen. My DS liked going to the community hall to play one rainy afternoon. They have lots of crafts, video games, and a pool table. We also tried the night vision goggles for animal viewing. It was kind of cool and we were used to seeing many of the animals during the day/evening from our balcony anyway. Others have commented on the dimly lit hallways and rooms, but I felt the rooms were well lit. The bathroom had plenty of storage, but the dresser could've had more drawer space. At least there was also a wardrobe and we stored suitcases under the bed. There were four of us and with the sofa sleeper pulled out, it got to be slightly cramped quarters after a few days. I didn't think the distance from parks was an issue. I guess it depends on which parks you spend more time. The bus stop has monitors that tell you the arrival time for each bus. I didn't see this at Jambo House. It was also great to have our car parked underground, so we were basically a few floors up from our parking spot. This made it convenient for unloading and loading. We'll be coming back to this resort next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EPCOTCitizn

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed May 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Savannah view; Night Safari
      Cons: Lonnng Hallways

       
      This is our first trip to Kidani Village. My parents and I stayed in a 1BR villa. My favorite part of the Kidani and BLT 1BR villas is that they have 2 full bathrooms. That makes getting ready in the morning so much faster. The villa is a good size and the living room and bedroom share a balcony. The only drawbacks that we found are the dark interior of the villas and the long hallways. The buildings are lined up to maximize exposure to the savannahs. It makes for a very long walk from the bus depot in the evenings. An AKL exclusive is the night safari tour. We did it one evening and really enjoyed it. It meets at Sanaa at 10pm. You board a jeep to tour the savannahs. You’re given night vision goggles to see. (You can take pictures through the goggles.) We learned so much about the animals that we see from our room and it was so much fun to go out on the savannah.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kjackson12

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): friendly staff, great view of savannah, spacious room
      Cons: distance from parks

       
      Let me start by saying that we are fans of Bay Lake Towers and were disappointed that we could only get Kidani. We rescheduled at the last minute because my DS10 had appendicitis over his spring break.


      This resort was a pleasure. We were only there for 4 nights but enjoyed every second. There is so much to say about the resort!


      First let's start with the room. We had a studio Savannah View on the Sunset Savannah. If you are patient you will see every type of animal. I could have sat out there all day and watched the animals-fascinating. You really get to see their personalities. The room is large even with the sofa pulled out. At BLT studios we could never leave the sofa pulled out and feel like we don't have any room. Very clean, nicely decorated. It was exactly what I requested as far as location. Close to lobby, 2nd or 3rd floor, Sunset Savannah.


      The staff was very friendly. As a surprise the front desk staff sent us a cookie and candy platter the second day to celebrate our son's appendectomy recovery. It has some delicious animal shaped chocolates, several Mickey shaped cookies and a solid chocolate Mickey that was about 6 inches tall. It came with a a nice card congratulating him. I can't imagine what the cost would have been if we ordered the platter. It is something we will never forget and why we love Disney.


      Unfortunately we experienced lots of rain on our vacation so we didn't get to the pool until our last day. Plenty of chairs and lots to do. My son was too big for the kids area but it looked like lots of fun.


      We were very impressed with the cultural programs. This is a perfect resort for rainy days and evenings. I took the African drumming class and it was a blast!!! We also did several other programs, all of which were excellent! If you have a chance, please be sure to talk to some of the employees from Africa. Their heritage is fascinating.


      The only downside of the resort was the distance from parks but the busses seemed very quick. We really liked the new signs at the resort that estimated the time of the next bus. The only other thing is the lack of quick service dining in Kidani. At breakfast we were surprised to find egg and cheese croissants and other pastries at the gift shop. But for other meals it seemed like it was difficult to get to The Mara.


      Overall I would recommend Kidani. We really enjoyed the resort and the view. The dining was only a minor inconvenience. I;m sure we will be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mg0914
      squirrel

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Wed January 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful hotel, savannah views
      Cons: long walk to room

       
      Stayed in a studio with savannah view from 12/23-12/29. Everything about Kidani is beautiful: the exterior, the lobby, the rooms. Cast members are super friendly. Family of four in a studio can be tight at times but bathroom was spacious.


      Did not mind that there's no quick service. Shuttles run every 10 minutes to Jambo and it's a 3 minute ride. Pool/pool bar very nice. Small gift shop has soda station for refills and most essentials. Gift shop at Jambo much larger with resort themed merchandise - definitely one of better resort gift shops. Took advantage of Sanaa's bar after long days in parks.


      Speaking of long days in parks - walking to our room was quite an adventure! It was a very long walk from the lobby to our room (although our walk was entirely indoors) and this is the only reason I gave Kidani a 9 and not a 10. We have experienced these long walks before at other Disney hotels - Boardwalk, Old Key West, Coronado & Saratoga so....I guess we're used to it. I'm not complaining! But in rating the hotel I wanted to consider everything.


      Saw tons of animals from our room. This of course makes AKL unique. It's very peaceful watching them roam through the savannah. Points here are lower than other DVC resorts and I've never understood that. We have stayed at AKL 4 times now - twice at Kidani and twice at Jambo. I know some people think it's a long ride to the parks but I do not agree. We have stayed at 11 different WDW resorts and the distance to the parks doesn't seem any different from other resorts.


      Buses were pretty much on time every day. Staying the week of Christmas means packed buses of course. The bus stop at Kidani had a flat screen TV with the estimated arrival times for buses to each park. A cast member said Kidani was one of only a few resorts testing this new system. It used GPS on all the buses and constantly updated the ETAs. It was very cool. Accuracy was exceptional. Word is Disney will move forward and place them at other resorts soon.


      Overall we had a terrific stay at Kidani and would highly recommend it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      retired605

      Registered: March 2007
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Wed January 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): architecture and theme
      Cons: lack of food options; location

       
      My husband and I stayed in a deluxe studio for 4 nights January 23-27. Our home resort is Beach Club and we have never stayed anywhere else using points. We didn't know what to expect staying in a savannah view room but we had a wonderful time. The resort is beautiful and being able to see animals from the balcony was unique.
      All the cast members were friendly, check-in was quick and efficient and the room was large and very clean. KV is very sprawling as it has to be to accommodate the savannah. We were lucky to be semi-close to an elevator! Having parking on the ground floor is convenient but I would think walking children to the pool through the parking garage might be a problem.
      We walked to Jambo House once and it is a hike but they have a shuttle. If you want any kind of quick service food you have to go to Jambo House which is a drawback. The only other 'con' is the location. You have to drive or take a bus to get anywhere.
      Beach Club is definitely still our favorite place to stay but this was a good experience that I would recommend.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      yanyans

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu January 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): huge rooms and balconies, animals,
      Cons: mousekeeping

       
      Dec. 2013 - We had a 2 week stay with friends and family for the first 5 days in a 3 bed room. It was huge with 2 levels and plenty of space for 7 adults and 2 children. Very quiet rooms with no noise heard even with a new born baby staying.
      Second week was a 2 bed room equally spacious and quiet. Views of animals spectacular. We were 5th floor and could also see Epcot fireworks every night in the distance.
      Mousekeeping not so good as we found a drawer full of cups left by previous occupants in 1st room.


      Overall, will definitely stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DD

      Registered: August 2006
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful!
      Cons: None

       
      Oct 2013
      We had a great time at Kidani and plan on visiting again.
      The staff was always helpful and friendly. The resort is beautiful, and relaxing. The views are unbelievable! We dined at both Kidani and Jambo restaurants and it's always an easy walk or van back and forth. We don't do DDP so didn't mind that there isn't a grab n go type of place at Kidani.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gthurber

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon October 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful resort. Fun pool area.
      Cons: Rooms could be very dark. No quick service dining

       
      We had a one bedroom villa that was lovely but dark at night. The view of the animals was wonderful. My children loved the children's play area and pool. The staff was courteous and helpful. Our chief complaint was the lack of quick service dining. We would take the shuttle over to Jambo to eat but it would be nice to have more dining options at Kidani as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      parksutton

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Sat September 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Setting, Animals, Pool, Room size.
      Cons: No on site quick service dinning.m

       
      Stayed here this past week with my wife and three kids. It was wonderful. We had a savannah view so we were able to walk out on a balcony and watch the animals. The pool was awesome, the parking garage was right under our room. The room was quiet, and plenty large enough. They showed movies at night. The play rooms were great. They offered shuttle service every five minutes to Jambo which was nice. The pool there was good too. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The only negative I would say is no quick service dining on property. We didn't do the ddp so it didn't matter much.


      Loved it. Would definitely do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcruss

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Burlington, Ont. Canada
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu September 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): view
      Cons: condition of room

       
      Kidani is our DVC home resort and love the 2brm villa but when we arrived we were given room 7761 on third floor... walking 436 steps from elevator to room is no problem but when you get there you hope that the room is up to date and not rough. Room must have been sitting empty for a long while, the AC was not even on and temperature in the room must have been at least 85+ degrees and stuffy. The view was of part of the savanna even though we were supposed to be in a standard view. Always saw animals but the inside condition of the unit was a shame.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyJen

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Madison, WI
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue September 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Warm atmosphere, Animals, Pool area, Fitness center
      Cons: lack of quick service options, small arcade

       
      We stayed at Kidani Village 8/27-9/1 before transferring to Beach Club for 2 nights. This was our second stay at Kidani, we also stayed one time at Jambo house. We absolutely love Kidani for many reasons. First, we love the welcoming atmosphere; there is always staff at the front door to welcome you "home" and the service is always top notch from everyone at the resort. We lucked out on both trips and were given rooms in the 7000 block of rooms, just down the hall from the lobby and bus stops. The view was great and the location really cut down our walking at the resort. Having animals roaming around right outside your room is an experience like no other, and I'm thrilled to have these memories with my son. Another highlight of this resort is the pool area, we spent every afternoon at the pool to relax and reenergize for the evening. We have no problem with the buses or the bus rides (as other people mention a lot), but this may be because we go during off peak seasons. I also must mention that laundry at this resort is free, which is awesome!


      The only real problem I have with the resort is the lack of quick service restaurant. The walk over to the Mara is no big deal (there is also a van that goes back and forth), but if you are tired or you have hungry children, you need to be able to grab food quickly. I also mentioned the arcade as a negative just because we think it's too small. BUT they do have community hall with free games, movies, and lots of activities to do which is awesome.


      You can NOT go wrong with a stay at Kidani!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bibba410

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): size of room, less noise than some other resorts, more relaxed feel
      Cons: lack of food options

       
      This was my first stay at Kidani Village. I have stayed in Jambo House before and thought the smaller scale of Kidani would be nice - and it was. I stayed in a standard studio room which was perfect for me since I don't stay in the rooms all that much to pay/use more points for a savannah view. The size of the room was nice plus the bathroom was had quite a bit more space than Jambo House.


      We never had an issue with the buses. Plus they were on a schedule to pick us up and drop us off before making their way to Jambo House - which was really nice for tired feet. Smile


      The staff was, of course, extremely friendly and welcoming. Especially Tim who checked us in and brought my 60+ year old mom a "First Time Visitor" button!


      The only thing that I wish Kidani had was a quick service type place to grab a salad or flatbread. The shop has some things you can get and pop into the microwave or cook in your room (if you have a kitchen), but just wish there was another food option here.


      Otherwise - great place to stay!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Martygeorge

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed August 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Views of animals, size of the rooms
      Cons: pool location, bus service, lack of food options

       
      We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with a sunset savanna view at Kidani. The rooms were much larger than villas we have stayed in the past (at other Disney properties) and were well furnished. The view was amazing - we saw the zebras, giraffes, wildebeast, and other wildlife daily. The kids activities in the lobby were great and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We ate at both Jiko and Boma, which were fantastic. The kids went to Simba's cubhouse and loved it as well. Kidani also has a fabulous community hall which has a ton of activities for the kids. We used it almost every day just to take a break. They had coloring activities, a pool table, video games (free), movies, books, toys, etc. It was a huge hit with our kids who are 1, 4 and 6.
      I have to say, however, that there were a few things about the resort that I found to be very surprising for a higher end Disney property. The pool at Kidani is basically located in the front parking lot. It was quite a hike for us to walk the length of the building to the lobby, and then out through the parking lot to the pool. There was a short cut, but that took us through the underground parking garage which was quite frankly, creepy and dangerous for the kids. I also found it a little surprising that the food service at the pool (which other than Sanna, is the only food option at Kidani) ended at 6pm. We have never had a problem in the past with bus service, but this time it was an issue - there were several times where we waited over 30 minutes for a bus (with the maximum wait being an hour). We usually go this same week every year, and have never experienced quite this much of a delay in the bus service. All in all, the room and view were stellar, but knowing what we know now, we would probably try Jambo house next time, or another resort all together.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kthhfnr

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon August 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice room, savanna view
      Cons: No quick service dining

       
      Very disappointed as no fresh foods available for morning snacks like muffins or sandwiches or fresh fruit. Lunch was limited to pool bar and didn't think the variety was good or of the usual Disney quality. Have two teenagers so snacks super limited to all packaged foods unless you want to take the van to Jambo House. Sixth visit to Disney and worst experience so far. Makes me want to use my membership out of Disney for sure next year, if not others also.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.