Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • NOSaintsfan1970

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: NO Louisiana
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon November 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Under ground parking
      Cons: Bus transportation

      My wife and I decided to stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge Kidani village before we decided to stay here I read the reviews on here to make my final decision. Absolutely love the resort very pretty surroundings we had the savanna view and we could sit out there for hours just watching the animal. The only negative thing that I have to say about Animal kingdom is there is only the bus transportation while at the beginning of the trip wasn't bad it is a long ride from the magic kingdom to the resort. But I would definitely stay there again
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 8, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, Pool, Room, Room View, Lobby
      Cons: Long walk to lobby, farthest from parks and other resorts

      Stayed in Kidani Village 9/27 - 10/02 and had a great time! Ate at Sanaa first night and it was wonderful! Loved Boma at Jambo house too! Best part about the resort is the Savanna view from our room and the room itself. Very cool getting to see all the animals from your balcony. The theming was outstanding and my husband and I enjoyed the pool. The slide was super fun!

      Only major downsides, and would keep me from staying here again, is the sprawling resort area. Our room was on the 4th floor and it was literally a 1/4 mile walk from our lobby to our room. I understand that is because of the shape of the buildings because of the savanna, but it was very inconvenient. I also did not like being so secluded. This resort was far away from anything else except Animal Kingdom park (which is not my favorite). If you enjoy the other 3 parks more and like being close, this resort may not be for you.

      Otherwise, everything else was great!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Tue October 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theme
      Cons: room wasn't ready and never received a call when it was. Had to call front desk when I was done with the MNSSHP.

      Had 2 studios, 1 a savannah view and 2 bedroom villa. Everything was clean and working. Mu 2 studios were ready upon check-in but the 2 bedroom villa was not.

      had dinner reservations and tickets to the MNSSHP. I wasn't able to get dress for the party because my room wasn't ready.

      I really enjoy the resort and the animals. My great granddaughter really enjoyed the pool and the community room.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sat September 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful stay!

      We stayed at the AKV from 8/18-8/27. This was our second stay here, but first time with a savanna view. While we probably wouldn't spend that amounts of points on every trip here, it was *completely* worth it! We were a bit of a walk from the elevator, but had a great view every evening of the Frozen fireworks, so that made the walk worth it! Bus service was fine, some days better than others. (no different than at any other resort we've stayed at) The Maji pool remains one of our favorites: never a problem finding an umbrella table every afternoon, and excellent bar staff. My kids are too old for the pool activities now, but my 14yr old son was encouraged to participate in some of the games, so he did, and had a great time. We met a fascinating cast member at the savanna by the pool, who was from Uganda. He was wonderful to chat with and gave us some information to take home on his conservation efforts at home so we could look it up online. This was a wonderful, memorable stay. We will definitely be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue September 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rooms, friednly employees, undeground parking, proximity to off property services
      Cons: low quality counter service

      I used vacation club points for a one bedroom for the two full baths. The rooms were well set up. We didn't ask for a Savannah view but all rooms seem to have beautiful animals walking around the property.

      The Maji Pool bar had low quality counter service.

      You are only a few minutes drive from large shopping areas off property so if you didn't want to pay high Disney meal prices, there were so many choices just down the street (if you have a car)

      The underground parking was awesome for those late afternoon thunderstorms.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu August 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Savannah animals
      Cons: No actual quick service, rude front desk

      We checked in August 1 following a Disney cruise for two nights. We go to Disney often, are ap holders and dvc members. From the moment we checked in we were met with the rudest staff ever. Waited over 5 hours for our villa to be ready and it was so dirty. The one request we had was to be close to main lobby/elevators since I have feet problems. What room did we get, yep clear down at the end of the level 3 pumba hallway. You couldn't go by the hours on the gift shop, the only place other than the pool you could refill your mugs, maybe they would stay open until 11 maybe not. Save your points and money, eat a meal at sanea and enjoy the animals but don't stay here.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri June 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere of the resort

      We stayed in a deluxe studio previously for a family of four. We tried a one-bedroom suite for the first time this year. The full kitchen was well worth it and we used it quite a bit. We ate breakfast in the room every day and often lunch. We found a grocery store several minutes from the resort. We also took advantage of the spa tub in the master bathroom after exhausting days at the parks. The washer/dryer allowed us to pack a few days worth of clothes and wash them a couple times during our stay to make packing lighter.
      We love the underground parking. We left a couple of times and were always able to find a parking spot close to the elevator.
      Buses were mostly on time. My DD and I waited 30 min one evening to go to Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon June 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): animals size of room cast members

      here with elderly parents and family 2 rooms requested opposite each other and close to main entrance for 80 year old parents. all as requested from check in to check out
      spectacular views of animals all day every day
      no issues with rooms
      buses frequent and on time
      stay was for 21 nights when asked refill cups re programmed free of charge at the end of 2 weeks for further week stay
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed March 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty much everything
      Cons: limited disabled parking spots in garage

      our family of 4 adults, a 7yo and an infant were lucky enough to experience an 8 night stay in a 2 bedroom (3 bathroom) villa with a savannah view at Kidani Village.....the layout and space of the suite were amazing.....we had supplies delivered by Garden Grocer (another 4star service)....it was wonderful to be able to get our breakfast/snacks in our own time, without having to get ready and travel somewhere for it....our two special requests (faxed in prior) were granted....the Sunset Savannah and placement near the lobby/ elevators....the balcony is accessed from three rooms running the length of the suite and there aren't words to describe relaxing as you watch graceful giraffes just below you....

      the staff/service was spot on....as non-DVC members we had daily housekeeping which was a lovely plus.....our second evening we came back to the treat of a tray of zebra domes and chocolate covered strawberries waiting in our room for us...

      the lighting, as others have commented on, was never a difficulty for us

      underground parking is a great idea....however, we found that there were very few disabled spaces close to the elevators....really, the only negative I can come up with.....

      our son & daughter-in-law totally enjoyed the Nighttime Safari and were very complimentary of their guide and the experience....

      you could enjoy this resort without going near a theme park.....an incredible holiday, thumbs up!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Fri February 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, animal viewing, spacious rooms/ 3 bathrooms
      Cons: buses

      This was our 3rd time staying at Kidani but our 1st time in the off season (1/13-1/19) and I think the time of year makes a big difference! We typically alternate between Kidani and the Boardwalk. We chose Kidani this time because it really feels like you are on a tropical vacation. We were celebrating my daughter's 16th birthday and wanted some fun and relaxation outside of the parks.

      As mentioned by most, the resort is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are very clean and spacious. We stayed in a 2 bdrm and love that there are 3 bathrooms. This makes it much easier for 3 girls to get ready in the morning. The animal viewing is incredible and the pool is soooo fun!! We do not mind the long hallways and we definitely do not mind the walk to Jambo house. The walkway is beautifully lined with tropical foliage. We walked there a few times over the 6 days. However, Johari Treasures, the shop in the lobby, now serves breakfast sandwiches and oatmeal in the morning. (People spoke and Disney listened!)

      The pool is beautifully themed. It is heated so it felt like bath water. We all enjoyed the slide and the ping pong table and the adults enjoyed the pool bar, Maji. It was in the 70's when we were there so we basically had the pool to ourselves.

      We love it here and will not hesitate to stay here again but not in the off season. We have stayed here twice in the summer and there is a big difference. This time the buses were very slow. We waited a long time for every bus. Thus, the buses were always packed - standing room only. There's a big difference between sitting and standing for 20-40 minutes. The monitors are nice but it's not fun watching the wait time increase! This was never an issue in the summer. Buses came non-stop. Also, there is not much to do here in the evening. The parks close earlier in January and there isn't much going on at the resort. The animals do not seem to spend as much time on the Savannah. I'm assuming it's due to the temperatures but there were quite a few times there weren't any animals out. My last negative, not a big deal but found it shocking, no one at the resort even mentioned my daughter's birthday. We were celebrating her 16th birthday!! It was clearly stated on our reservation and luckily the servers at 4 out of 5 dinners made a big deal about it but nothing from anyone at Kidani. Definitely odd for Disney!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun January 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, animals, bathrooms,
      Cons: Quickservice dining

      Family of 6 all adults stayed 11/15/14-11/21/14. Loved it. Usually stay at POP but splurged this time will have a hard time going back to a value.

      Room - having coffee watching the animals was neat, spacious , the 3rd bathroom in a 2 bedroom villa was very convenient. Staff was great, room request was granted, room7412, close to lobby and transportation. So can't comment on the looong hallways.

      Transportation- Most bus waits were 5 minutes, found bus monitors very accurate, longest wait (one time) was 30 minutes to MK on x-mas party evening. Distance was not bad IMO, we were used to 20 minute rides to MK staying at POP and it was about a 25 minute ride here.

      Pool-fun, finally had a pool slide Smile

      Dining-kids did breakfast at Boma and dinner at Sanaa, said food was great, took shuttle and walked to Jambo-Mara a few times, wasn't a bad walk but if it was 90 degrees I don't think I would have cared for the distance.

      Would definitely stay again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: pennsylvania
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu August 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The great views, all the different animals! Underground parking!
      Cons: The long distance from Kidani to other parks, lack of quick service restaurant.

      MY family and I stayed at Disney from July 27- August 3. This trip we split the visit. First 4 days at Kidani Village last 3 days at the Villas at the Grand Floridian. The villa was spotless and we had no issues with anything. We had a 2 bedroom villa, love the HUGE master bathroom and the Jacuzzi tub. Having the extra bathroom was very helpful, most 2 bedroom villas have only 2, Kidani has 3. The balcony was great and very spacious the entire length of our villa. We saw the most amount of different animals this vacation.

      This vacation the kids play water area was being painted but the pool was not overly crowded had plenty of empty chairs. LOVE LOVE LOVE the underground parking. We drive into Disney from PA and really appreciate climbing into a cool car, not a HOT car that has been baking in the Florida sun.

      Overall we had a great stay at KIdani Village, it is our home resort and we still love it.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun June 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Animal viewing, underground parking
      Cons: Possible long walk from lobby/bus stop to room

      This was our first time staying at this resort and we sprang for the savanna view. Depending on where your room is located (we were in 7440), it could be quite a long hike from the lobby or bus stop. Lucky for us, it wasn't too bad of a walk to the bus stop since we were in the Zazu section. With staying at Kidani versus Jambo, we were the first ones on the bus and the first ones off. Many others have commented that there isn't any quick service place to eat, but we used our kitchenette in our studio each morning for breakfast. We ate lunch and dinner in the parks every day. Next year, we'd definitely get a one bedrm instead and eat a few dinners in the room since we'd have a full kitchen. My DS liked going to the community hall to play one rainy afternoon. They have lots of crafts, video games, and a pool table. We also tried the night vision goggles for animal viewing. It was kind of cool and we were used to seeing many of the animals during the day/evening from our balcony anyway. Others have commented on the dimly lit hallways and rooms, but I felt the rooms were well lit. The bathroom had plenty of storage, but the dresser could've had more drawer space. At least there was also a wardrobe and we stored suitcases under the bed. There were four of us and with the sofa sleeper pulled out, it got to be slightly cramped quarters after a few days. I didn't think the distance from parks was an issue. I guess it depends on which parks you spend more time. The bus stop has monitors that tell you the arrival time for each bus. I didn't see this at Jambo House. It was also great to have our car parked underground, so we were basically a few floors up from our parking spot. This made it convenient for unloading and loading. We'll be coming back to this resort next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed May 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Savannah view; Night Safari
      Cons: Lonnng Hallways

      This is our first trip to Kidani Village. My parents and I stayed in a 1BR villa. My favorite part of the Kidani and BLT 1BR villas is that they have 2 full bathrooms. That makes getting ready in the morning so much faster. The villa is a good size and the living room and bedroom share a balcony. The only drawbacks that we found are the dark interior of the villas and the long hallways. The buildings are lined up to maximize exposure to the savannahs. It makes for a very long walk from the bus depot in the evenings. An AKL exclusive is the night safari tour. We did it one evening and really enjoyed it. It meets at Sanaa at 10pm. You board a jeep to tour the savannahs. You’re given night vision goggles to see. (You can take pictures through the goggles.) We learned so much about the animals that we see from our room and it was so much fun to go out on the savannah.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue May 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): friendly staff, great view of savannah, spacious room
      Cons: distance from parks

      Let me start by saying that we are fans of Bay Lake Towers and were disappointed that we could only get Kidani. We rescheduled at the last minute because my DS10 had appendicitis over his spring break.

      This resort was a pleasure. We were only there for 4 nights but enjoyed every second. There is so much to say about the resort!

      First let's start with the room. We had a studio Savannah View on the Sunset Savannah. If you are patient you will see every type of animal. I could have sat out there all day and watched the animals-fascinating. You really get to see their personalities. The room is large even with the sofa pulled out. At BLT studios we could never leave the sofa pulled out and feel like we don't have any room. Very clean, nicely decorated. It was exactly what I requested as far as location. Close to lobby, 2nd or 3rd floor, Sunset Savannah.

      The staff was very friendly. As a surprise the front desk staff sent us a cookie and candy platter the second day to celebrate our son's appendectomy recovery. It has some delicious animal shaped chocolates, several Mickey shaped cookies and a solid chocolate Mickey that was about 6 inches tall. It came with a a nice card congratulating him. I can't imagine what the cost would have been if we ordered the platter. It is something we will never forget and why we love Disney.

      Unfortunately we experienced lots of rain on our vacation so we didn't get to the pool until our last day. Plenty of chairs and lots to do. My son was too big for the kids area but it looked like lots of fun.

      We were very impressed with the cultural programs. This is a perfect resort for rainy days and evenings. I took the African drumming class and it was a blast!!! We also did several other programs, all of which were excellent! If you have a chance, please be sure to talk to some of the employees from Africa. Their heritage is fascinating.

      The only downside of the resort was the distance from parks but the busses seemed very quick. We really liked the new signs at the resort that estimated the time of the next bus. The only other thing is the lack of quick service dining in Kidani. At breakfast we were surprised to find egg and cheese croissants and other pastries at the gift shop. But for other meals it seemed like it was difficult to get to The Mara.

      Overall I would recommend Kidani. We really enjoyed the resort and the view. The dining was only a minor inconvenience. I;m sure we will be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.