Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ardenandmadeline

      Registered: August 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun August 21, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Learned a lot about African culture.
      Cons: Walking from room to lobby

       
      If you love animals, stunning architecture, amazing food, and lots to do, I highly recommend Kidani. My kids always had something to do. We learned so much from the cultural reps. There isn't a QS, but Sanaa is delicious. I went on the culinary tour at Boma and Jiko. (Jambo House) Tebby was a gracious and very informative guide. We walked and took the shuttle to Jambo to eat at Mara (QS). It was very good! The zebra domes are one of the best desserts I've ever eaten! The walk from our room, 7955, was a HIKE to the lobby and pool until I discovered using the elevator to the parking garage.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Snemma

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed June 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View, staff
      Cons: Starting to Show Some wear

       
      Stayed at Kidani from June 7-14. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. My only issues were transportation, though the electronic signs were very helpful, and the fact that the seal on our fridge had a huge gap. I imagine that it wasted quite a bit of power, and though I reported it, it was never addressed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monorailmom

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Tue May 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful resort
      Cons: lack of real bakery onsite/quick service at Kidani

       
      We stayed at Kidani Village in a DVC 1br villa from 4/19-4/26. We had a standard view, looking out at the bus stop, but could also see the pool in the far distance. One real bonus: we could see the top of Wishes from our balcony! What a treat each night. Our room was #7523, so not a far walk from either the lobby or Jambo, and only a few minutes to the pool. The room was very clean and everything was in good shape. The pool here is our favorite of all the DVC pools. There are always tables with umbrellas available, and the bartenders are very friendly. I love that there is a view of the savanna close to the pool, always with a Cast Member nearby to talk to you about whatever animal you might be seeing. One day we saw a 5mo old Okapi right up next to the fence. Just amazing! Love this resort and will most certainly return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcreynj

      Registered: March 2016
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun March 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great views of the animals. Exotic feel to the resort. Convenient to off-site retail in Kissimmee.
      Cons: Much walking. Distance from parks, you need a rental car here.

       
      We stayed here 4 nights (1-31-16 to 2-3-16) to get out of winter. We have stayed at Kidani 3 times before. This is probably our favorite "villa" resort, due to the animals and the exotic nature of the resort, and the extra bathroom in the 2 bedroom villa. This time we stayed on the "Zazu" end (the end closest to Jambo). It was our first time on that end. We were on the very end room, second floor, savannah view. Great views! It seemed the best view for animals of our four times. Zebra, giraffe, wildebeest, and ostrich were common. We like to shop and eat out over in Kissimmee a few times, so it is a very convenient drive from the back of the resort area. There is a little known road that runs from close to the AKL entrance over to Erlo Bronson highway. The only drawback is the walking. From the Zazu end especially, the furthest rooms are a long walk as the last elevators are only about halfway around. My wife has arthritis and would not have made it but for renting a scooter. The lightweight ones can easily be navigated to and from the room, and into the rental car. Other than a little wear and tear in the kitchen, the room was nice. We will stay at Kidani again. Spent a good deal of time out on the large balcony. There is a lack of choices for eating at this resort, but we usually fend for ourselves in our rental car and we know the area well, so it doesn't seem a drawback to us. For a family without a car, or new to Orlando, these negatives honestly would be bigger and maybe outweigh the novelty of the animals.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rudetoo

      Registered: October 2006
      Location: central, IL
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun February 7, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome Surroundings
      Cons: Lack of counter service and very long walk to most rooms

       
      The Kidani Village Villas were very well maintained, the staff was friendly and very helpful. The biggest drawback to this resort is the lack of counter service like what is available at other deluxe Disney resorts. In order to get a counter service meal, you have to take a bus or shuttle to Jambo house. Be prepared to walk quite a distance to get to your room. Because of a mobility issue I requested in advance, for a location close to the bus transportation. Suffice it to say, the walk was nowhere near transportation. The setting was wonderful, but in the future I'll stay at Wilderness Lodge or Beach Club.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NOSaintsfan1970

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: NO Louisiana
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon November 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Under ground parking
      Cons: Bus transportation

       
      My wife and I decided to stay at Animal Kingdom Lodge Kidani village before we decided to stay here I read the reviews on here to make my final decision. Absolutely love the resort very pretty surroundings we had the savanna view and we could sit out there for hours just watching the animal. The only negative thing that I have to say about Animal kingdom is there is only the bus transportation while at the beginning of the trip wasn't bad it is a long ride from the magic kingdom to the resort. But I would definitely stay there again
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Leejamier

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 8, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, Pool, Room, Room View, Lobby
      Cons: Long walk to lobby, farthest from parks and other resorts

       
      Stayed in Kidani Village 9/27 - 10/02 and had a great time! Ate at Sanaa first night and it was wonderful! Loved Boma at Jambo house too! Best part about the resort is the Savanna view from our room and the room itself. Very cool getting to see all the animals from your balcony. The theming was outstanding and my husband and I enjoyed the pool. The slide was super fun!


      Only major downsides, and would keep me from staying here again, is the sprawling resort area. Our room was on the 4th floor and it was literally a 1/4 mile walk from our lobby to our room. I understand that is because of the shape of the buildings because of the savanna, but it was very inconvenient. I also did not like being so secluded. This resort was far away from anything else except Animal Kingdom park (which is not my favorite). If you enjoy the other 3 parks more and like being close, this resort may not be for you.


      Otherwise, everything else was great!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommom

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Tue October 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theme
      Cons: room wasn't ready and never received a call when it was. Had to call front desk when I was done with the MNSSHP.

       
      Had 2 studios, 1 a savannah view and 2 bedroom villa. Everything was clean and working. Mu 2 studios were ready upon check-in but the 2 bedroom villa was not.


      had dinner reservations and tickets to the MNSSHP. I wasn't able to get dress for the party because my room wasn't ready.


      I really enjoy the resort and the animals. My great granddaughter really enjoyed the pool and the community room.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monorailmom

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Sat September 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful stay!
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at the AKV from 8/18-8/27. This was our second stay here, but first time with a savanna view. While we probably wouldn't spend that amounts of points on every trip here, it was *completely* worth it! We were a bit of a walk from the elevator, but had a great view every evening of the Frozen fireworks, so that made the walk worth it! Bus service was fine, some days better than others. (no different than at any other resort we've stayed at) The Maji pool remains one of our favorites: never a problem finding an umbrella table every afternoon, and excellent bar staff. My kids are too old for the pool activities now, but my 14yr old son was encouraged to participate in some of the games, so he did, and had a great time. We met a fascinating cast member at the savanna by the pool, who was from Uganda. He was wonderful to chat with and gave us some information to take home on his conservation efforts at home so we could look it up online. This was a wonderful, memorable stay. We will definitely be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      matt6816

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue September 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rooms, friednly employees, undeground parking, proximity to off property services
      Cons: low quality counter service

       
      I used vacation club points for a one bedroom for the two full baths. The rooms were well set up. We didn't ask for a Savannah view but all rooms seem to have beautiful animals walking around the property.


      The Maji Pool bar had low quality counter service.


      You are only a few minutes drive from large shopping areas off property so if you didn't want to pay high Disney meal prices, there were so many choices just down the street (if you have a car)


      The underground parking was awesome for those late afternoon thunderstorms.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rudolphfamily

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu August 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Savannah animals
      Cons: No actual quick service, rude front desk

       
      We checked in August 1 following a Disney cruise for two nights. We go to Disney often, are ap holders and dvc members. From the moment we checked in we were met with the rudest staff ever. Waited over 5 hours for our villa to be ready and it was so dirty. The one request we had was to be close to main lobby/elevators since I have feet problems. What room did we get, yep clear down at the end of the level 3 pumba hallway. You couldn't go by the hours on the gift shop, the only place other than the pool you could refill your mugs, maybe they would stay open until 11 maybe not. Save your points and money, eat a meal at sanea and enjoy the animals but don't stay here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dailey71

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Peoria, IL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri June 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere of the resort
      Cons:

       
      We stayed in a deluxe studio previously for a family of four. We tried a one-bedroom suite for the first time this year. The full kitchen was well worth it and we used it quite a bit. We ate breakfast in the room every day and often lunch. We found a grocery store several minutes from the resort. We also took advantage of the spa tub in the master bathroom after exhausting days at the parks. The washer/dryer allowed us to pack a few days worth of clothes and wash them a couple times during our stay to make packing lighter.
      We love the underground parking. We left a couple of times and were always able to find a parking spot close to the elevator.
      Buses were mostly on time. My DD and I waited 30 min one evening to go to Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      yanyans

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon June 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): animals size of room cast members
      Cons:

       
      here with elderly parents and family 2 rooms requested opposite each other and close to main entrance for 80 year old parents. all as requested from check in to check out
      spectacular views of animals all day every day
      no issues with rooms
      buses frequent and on time
      stay was for 21 nights when asked refill cups re programmed free of charge at the end of 2 weeks for further week stay
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annebill

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed March 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty much everything
      Cons: limited disabled parking spots in garage

       
      our family of 4 adults, a 7yo and an infant were lucky enough to experience an 8 night stay in a 2 bedroom (3 bathroom) villa with a savannah view at Kidani Village.....the layout and space of the suite were amazing.....we had supplies delivered by Garden Grocer (another 4star service)....it was wonderful to be able to get our breakfast/snacks in our own time, without having to get ready and travel somewhere for it....our two special requests (faxed in prior) were granted....the Sunset Savannah and placement near the lobby/ elevators....the balcony is accessed from three rooms running the length of the suite and there aren't words to describe relaxing as you watch graceful giraffes just below you....


      the staff/service was spot on....as non-DVC members we had daily housekeeping which was a lovely plus.....our second evening we came back to the treat of a tray of zebra domes and chocolate covered strawberries waiting in our room for us...


      the lighting, as others have commented on, was never a difficulty for us


      underground parking is a great idea....however, we found that there were very few disabled spaces close to the elevators....really, the only negative I can come up with.....


      our son & daughter-in-law totally enjoyed the Nighttime Safari and were very complimentary of their guide and the experience....


      you could enjoy this resort without going near a theme park.....an incredible holiday, thumbs up!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Momof4

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Fri February 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, animal viewing, spacious rooms/ 3 bathrooms
      Cons: buses

       
      This was our 3rd time staying at Kidani but our 1st time in the off season (1/13-1/19) and I think the time of year makes a big difference! We typically alternate between Kidani and the Boardwalk. We chose Kidani this time because it really feels like you are on a tropical vacation. We were celebrating my daughter's 16th birthday and wanted some fun and relaxation outside of the parks.


      As mentioned by most, the resort is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are very clean and spacious. We stayed in a 2 bdrm and love that there are 3 bathrooms. This makes it much easier for 3 girls to get ready in the morning. The animal viewing is incredible and the pool is soooo fun!! We do not mind the long hallways and we definitely do not mind the walk to Jambo house. The walkway is beautifully lined with tropical foliage. We walked there a few times over the 6 days. However, Johari Treasures, the shop in the lobby, now serves breakfast sandwiches and oatmeal in the morning. (People spoke and Disney listened!)


      The pool is beautifully themed. It is heated so it felt like bath water. We all enjoyed the slide and the ping pong table and the adults enjoyed the pool bar, Maji. It was in the 70's when we were there so we basically had the pool to ourselves.


      We love it here and will not hesitate to stay here again but not in the off season. We have stayed here twice in the summer and there is a big difference. This time the buses were very slow. We waited a long time for every bus. Thus, the buses were always packed - standing room only. There's a big difference between sitting and standing for 20-40 minutes. The monitors are nice but it's not fun watching the wait time increase! This was never an issue in the summer. Buses came non-stop. Also, there is not much to do here in the evening. The parks close earlier in January and there isn't much going on at the resort. The animals do not seem to spend as much time on the Savannah. I'm assuming it's due to the temperatures but there were quite a few times there weren't any animals out. My last negative, not a big deal but found it shocking, no one at the resort even mentioned my daughter's birthday. We were celebrating her 16th birthday!! It was clearly stated on our reservation and luckily the servers at 4 out of 5 dinners made a big deal about it but nothing from anyone at Kidani. Definitely odd for Disney!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.