Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • mg0914
      squirrel

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Wed January 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful hotel, savannah views
      Cons: long walk to room

       
      Stayed in a studio with savannah view from 12/23-12/29. Everything about Kidani is beautiful: the exterior, the lobby, the rooms. Cast members are super friendly. Family of four in a studio can be tight at times but bathroom was spacious.


      Did not mind that there's no quick service. Shuttles run every 10 minutes to Jambo and it's a 3 minute ride. Pool/pool bar very nice. Small gift shop has soda station for refills and most essentials. Gift shop at Jambo much larger with resort themed merchandise - definitely one of better resort gift shops. Took advantage of Sanaa's bar after long days in parks.


      Speaking of long days in parks - walking to our room was quite an adventure! It was a very long walk from the lobby to our room (although our walk was entirely indoors) and this is the only reason I gave Kidani a 9 and not a 10. We have experienced these long walks before at other Disney hotels - Boardwalk, Old Key West, Coronado & Saratoga so....I guess we're used to it. I'm not complaining! But in rating the hotel I wanted to consider everything.


      Saw tons of animals from our room. This of course makes AKL unique. It's very peaceful watching them roam through the savannah. Points here are lower than other DVC resorts and I've never understood that. We have stayed at AKL 4 times now - twice at Kidani and twice at Jambo. I know some people think it's a long ride to the parks but I do not agree. We have stayed at 11 different WDW resorts and the distance to the parks doesn't seem any different from other resorts.


      Buses were pretty much on time every day. Staying the week of Christmas means packed buses of course. The bus stop at Kidani had a flat screen TV with the estimated arrival times for buses to each park. A cast member said Kidani was one of only a few resorts testing this new system. It used GPS on all the buses and constantly updated the ETAs. It was very cool. Accuracy was exceptional. Word is Disney will move forward and place them at other resorts soon.


      Overall we had a terrific stay at Kidani and would highly recommend it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      retired605

      Registered: March 2007
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Wed January 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): architecture and theme
      Cons: lack of food options; location

       
      My husband and I stayed in a deluxe studio for 4 nights January 23-27. Our home resort is Beach Club and we have never stayed anywhere else using points. We didn't know what to expect staying in a savannah view room but we had a wonderful time. The resort is beautiful and being able to see animals from the balcony was unique.
      All the cast members were friendly, check-in was quick and efficient and the room was large and very clean. KV is very sprawling as it has to be to accommodate the savannah. We were lucky to be semi-close to an elevator! Having parking on the ground floor is convenient but I would think walking children to the pool through the parking garage might be a problem.
      We walked to Jambo House once and it is a hike but they have a shuttle. If you want any kind of quick service food you have to go to Jambo House which is a drawback. The only other 'con' is the location. You have to drive or take a bus to get anywhere.
      Beach Club is definitely still our favorite place to stay but this was a good experience that I would recommend.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      yanyans

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu January 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): huge rooms and balconies, animals,
      Cons: mousekeeping

       
      Dec. 2013 - We had a 2 week stay with friends and family for the first 5 days in a 3 bed room. It was huge with 2 levels and plenty of space for 7 adults and 2 children. Very quiet rooms with no noise heard even with a new born baby staying.
      Second week was a 2 bed room equally spacious and quiet. Views of animals spectacular. We were 5th floor and could also see Epcot fireworks every night in the distance.
      Mousekeeping not so good as we found a drawer full of cups left by previous occupants in 1st room.


      Overall, will definitely stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DD

      Registered: August 2006
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful!
      Cons: None

       
      Oct 2013
      We had a great time at Kidani and plan on visiting again.
      The staff was always helpful and friendly. The resort is beautiful, and relaxing. The views are unbelievable! We dined at both Kidani and Jambo restaurants and it's always an easy walk or van back and forth. We don't do DDP so didn't mind that there isn't a grab n go type of place at Kidani.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gthurber

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon October 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful resort. Fun pool area.
      Cons: Rooms could be very dark. No quick service dining

       
      We had a one bedroom villa that was lovely but dark at night. The view of the animals was wonderful. My children loved the children's play area and pool. The staff was courteous and helpful. Our chief complaint was the lack of quick service dining. We would take the shuttle over to Jambo to eat but it would be nice to have more dining options at Kidani as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      parksutton

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Sat September 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Setting, Animals, Pool, Room size.
      Cons: No on site quick service dinning.m

       
      Stayed here this past week with my wife and three kids. It was wonderful. We had a savannah view so we were able to walk out on a balcony and watch the animals. The pool was awesome, the parking garage was right under our room. The room was quiet, and plenty large enough. They showed movies at night. The play rooms were great. They offered shuttle service every five minutes to Jambo which was nice. The pool there was good too. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The only negative I would say is no quick service dining on property. We didn't do the ddp so it didn't matter much.


      Loved it. Would definitely do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcruss

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Burlington, Ont. Canada
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu September 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): view
      Cons: condition of room

       
      Kidani is our DVC home resort and love the 2brm villa but when we arrived we were given room 7761 on third floor... walking 436 steps from elevator to room is no problem but when you get there you hope that the room is up to date and not rough. Room must have been sitting empty for a long while, the AC was not even on and temperature in the room must have been at least 85+ degrees and stuffy. The view was of part of the savanna even though we were supposed to be in a standard view. Always saw animals but the inside condition of the unit was a shame.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyJen

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Madison, WI
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue September 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Warm atmosphere, Animals, Pool area, Fitness center
      Cons: lack of quick service options, small arcade

       
      We stayed at Kidani Village 8/27-9/1 before transferring to Beach Club for 2 nights. This was our second stay at Kidani, we also stayed one time at Jambo house. We absolutely love Kidani for many reasons. First, we love the welcoming atmosphere; there is always staff at the front door to welcome you "home" and the service is always top notch from everyone at the resort. We lucked out on both trips and were given rooms in the 7000 block of rooms, just down the hall from the lobby and bus stops. The view was great and the location really cut down our walking at the resort. Having animals roaming around right outside your room is an experience like no other, and I'm thrilled to have these memories with my son. Another highlight of this resort is the pool area, we spent every afternoon at the pool to relax and reenergize for the evening. We have no problem with the buses or the bus rides (as other people mention a lot), but this may be because we go during off peak seasons. I also must mention that laundry at this resort is free, which is awesome!


      The only real problem I have with the resort is the lack of quick service restaurant. The walk over to the Mara is no big deal (there is also a van that goes back and forth), but if you are tired or you have hungry children, you need to be able to grab food quickly. I also mentioned the arcade as a negative just because we think it's too small. BUT they do have community hall with free games, movies, and lots of activities to do which is awesome.


      You can NOT go wrong with a stay at Kidani!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bibba410

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): size of room, less noise than some other resorts, more relaxed feel
      Cons: lack of food options

       
      This was my first stay at Kidani Village. I have stayed in Jambo House before and thought the smaller scale of Kidani would be nice - and it was. I stayed in a standard studio room which was perfect for me since I don't stay in the rooms all that much to pay/use more points for a savannah view. The size of the room was nice plus the bathroom was had quite a bit more space than Jambo House.


      We never had an issue with the buses. Plus they were on a schedule to pick us up and drop us off before making their way to Jambo House - which was really nice for tired feet. Smile


      The staff was, of course, extremely friendly and welcoming. Especially Tim who checked us in and brought my 60+ year old mom a "First Time Visitor" button!


      The only thing that I wish Kidani had was a quick service type place to grab a salad or flatbread. The shop has some things you can get and pop into the microwave or cook in your room (if you have a kitchen), but just wish there was another food option here.


      Otherwise - great place to stay!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Martygeorge

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed August 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Views of animals, size of the rooms
      Cons: pool location, bus service, lack of food options

       
      We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with a sunset savanna view at Kidani. The rooms were much larger than villas we have stayed in the past (at other Disney properties) and were well furnished. The view was amazing - we saw the zebras, giraffes, wildebeast, and other wildlife daily. The kids activities in the lobby were great and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We ate at both Jiko and Boma, which were fantastic. The kids went to Simba's cubhouse and loved it as well. Kidani also has a fabulous community hall which has a ton of activities for the kids. We used it almost every day just to take a break. They had coloring activities, a pool table, video games (free), movies, books, toys, etc. It was a huge hit with our kids who are 1, 4 and 6.
      I have to say, however, that there were a few things about the resort that I found to be very surprising for a higher end Disney property. The pool at Kidani is basically located in the front parking lot. It was quite a hike for us to walk the length of the building to the lobby, and then out through the parking lot to the pool. There was a short cut, but that took us through the underground parking garage which was quite frankly, creepy and dangerous for the kids. I also found it a little surprising that the food service at the pool (which other than Sanna, is the only food option at Kidani) ended at 6pm. We have never had a problem in the past with bus service, but this time it was an issue - there were several times where we waited over 30 minutes for a bus (with the maximum wait being an hour). We usually go this same week every year, and have never experienced quite this much of a delay in the bus service. All in all, the room and view were stellar, but knowing what we know now, we would probably try Jambo house next time, or another resort all together.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kthhfnr

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon August 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice room, savanna view
      Cons: No quick service dining

       
      Very disappointed as no fresh foods available for morning snacks like muffins or sandwiches or fresh fruit. Lunch was limited to pool bar and didn't think the variety was good or of the usual Disney quality. Have two teenagers so snacks super limited to all packaged foods unless you want to take the van to Jambo House. Sixth visit to Disney and worst experience so far. Makes me want to use my membership out of Disney for sure next year, if not others also.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tcg

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 98
      Review Date: Thu June 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A savannah view is fantastic!
      Cons: Dim lighting

       
      We have been DVC members since 1996 and are huge fans of OKW, for the room size and atmosphere. I admit, I am dazzled by the fact that a one bedroom here at AKL sleeps five and has two full bathrooms. The decor is perfect, the cast members are terrific and the savannah views are (ahem) wildly entertaining. I would happily return to this great location!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneymom211

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Mon June 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful rooms and scenery
      Cons:

       
      We stayed here from 5/22-5/25 in a one bedroom. This was our first time staying her and cannot wait to go back. From the moment you walk in you are greeted and treated like family. There is always someone to help you. Even Candido who brought our bags to our room was so helpful. The room was gorgeous and it was great to have the two bathrooms with the 4 of us on the room. The only negative I have was that our room was the 2nd to last down the hall. It was such a long walk especially at the end of the day. The bus service was terrific. Never had to wait longer then 10mins for a bus. I know people say that this is the furtherest from any of the parks, but the ride never seemed long. We are staying here again in 2014.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kekbug3

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri June 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Animals, Beautifully Themed Resort, Sanaa
      Cons: Size of the resort

       
      We stayed at Kidani from May 5- May 11th and I loved it! From the moment we pulled up, I was impressed with the theming of the resort. Everything was so beautiful. They offer a tour daily in which a cast member walks you around the resort and explains various aspects of the decor. I would recommend it, it was very interesting.


      We stayed in a savannah view studio; I thought the rooms seemed quite larger than other DVC units; the bathrooms also seemed more spacious.


      Of course the biggest draw of this resort is the animals. We didn't see as many animals outside our room as I was maybe hoping for, but we did see a decent amount and it was awesome. Plus, there were so many other places to view the animals throughout the resort that I didn't care.


      Sanaa is amazing. It is my new favorite restaurant at Disney. Even if you aren't staying at Kidani, it is worth the trip.


      The only thing I did not like about this resort is its size. They aren't kidding when they talk about how big the resort is! If you have mobility issues or small children, request a room as close to the lobby as possible. For us, it wasn't so bad and I liked stopping at all the windows to check out different parts of the savannah.


      I would not hesitate to stay at Kidani again, although I don't think I would splurge for savannah view again. Plenty of other animal viewing spots throughout the resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney6

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri June 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice rooms, helpful cast members
      Cons: distance from most parks

       
      Our family stayed here from June 1 to June 6, 2013. We arrived on the Magical Express and found our room was ready although our request for a room close to the lobby was not in the system. After a quick phone call our room was moved and we were all set. The room was clean and stocked with everything we needed. We ordered from garden grocer and these items were delivered within minutes of calling bell services. We were on the 2nd floor and right next to the door for the bus transportation so getting anywhere was easy. We opted to not have a room savanna view because we knew we would be out and about most of the time. It was fine as that was our choice. The rooms are a bit dark but still we enjoy the atmosphere. There is a shuttle van that took us to Jambo House for a quick service meal. It was busy and we had to wait about 20 minutes for a ride back to Kidani. There are no quick service in Kidani and the Market Place is very small compared to Jambo House. It is nice to be the first bus stop though, more chances of getting a seat on the bus that way. Overall a good stay (even though Tropical Storm Andrea rained us out of a few plans)but the distance to most parks makes me want to stay somewhere else next time. The bus rides are long for everywhere except Animal Kingdom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.