Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jules2014

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri July 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, cool atmosphere
      Cons: LOUD, can be pricey

       
      I ate here with a group of people on July 11. We did not have advance reservations but waited less than 10 minutes for 8 people. we had 2 children in the party (3 and 5 years of age) and both were a bit scared of the loud noises (especially the meteor shower) and the moving dinosaurs. Our server was decent. The food was excellent, I had the fish tacos and they were the best fish tacos I've had so far. It is pricey, but since i love the food and the atmosphere, its worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was a special treat for my son. We had been here about a year ago and the food and service was very bad, so I really didn't want to go back, but he did.


      It was actually very good. Everyone enjoyed their food and our server was very good. I don't dig the noise, but it is pretty cool and the kids love it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Sat December 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decent food
      Cons: loud

       
      We ate here our first night. We had a 930 adr but made it by 9 and checked in. It was swamped with lots of people waiting for tables. Our wait was maybe 15 minutes tops. We sat in a round booth as you come in. We've been before so we expected the louds meteor storms and atmosphere. We paid OOP. DS got the children popcorn shrimp with mashed potatoes. We enjoy the salads so that's what we had. An omnivore delight, 2 pterodactyl and 1 of the other dinosaur named ones. Everyone enjoyed it and portions were huge. The wedge of bread that comes with it is crispy and thick so I gave it to my husband who is fine with it. I am a landry's member and brought my card. I never rack up enough points for anything and my bday is in Sept. so I never get those rewards either. We don't have landry's restaurant's in our state. To my surprise when they ran my card they extended my $25 bday credit to me even though it had long expired. That was a great way to start vacation since there was very little magic on this trip. We got the chocolate extinction for dessert and it was good for 5 but ideal for 4. This is my husband's favorite restaurant and we actually came down a day early to fit it in our schedule. We enjoy it and will go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dldennis01

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Food not very good, can be scary

       
      The atmosphere was really cool and fun for my family, but there were many kids who cried every time the "show"/animatronics started and it got darker. Food was lacking and overpriced. I'm not sure why it's one of the harder Disney restaurants to get into, because there's better food to be had. Paying for dinosaurs- there are plenty of rides throughout DW where you can see dinosaurs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tgaudet

      Registered: November 2011
      Location: louisiana
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue June 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of dinosaurs for kids who are into that
      Cons: Can be crowded and loud at times, pricey

       
      Ate an early dinner at the T-Rex cafe on 5-27-13(memorial day). I had called Disney months in advance and they said T-Rex was booked full and only had availability at 9:30 at night all the last week of May 2013, so I called T-Rex direct and they had numerous times available that same week so I booked for 5:00 on the day I wanted. I was worried about crowds being that it was a holiday but got there 5 min early and saw about 15 people in line, I politely went straight to the check in desk and ask about our reservations and they got us right in in a matter of 10 mins. Later (1 1/2 hour or so)on our way coming out the line was 50 or more people deep and waits were over 1 1/2 hours! Im so glad we picked the time slot we did. DH had the tar pit fried shrimp, DD5 had the shrimp kens(popcorn shrimp & Dino shape chicken nuggets), DS had a kid size steak & fries which was not on the menu (why I'm not sure), & I had the Neanderthal New York strip. DH & DD5 ate their shrimps but both weren't won over by the batter/ breading on the shrimp. DS8 & myself loved our well done steaks. The food was way over priced but we went there for the atmosphere and because DS8 loves everything DInosaurs...DD5 was scared of the Dino's (Just couldn't convince her that they weren't real) and the dark and loud meteor shower storm that happened every so often. All in all it was a nice family experience. Worth trying once if you don't mind over paying for dinner to see robotic dinosaurs, after all where else can you get that close to dinosaurs?!? 😃
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ldk72

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat May 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great service, good food
      Cons: little loud

       
      Haven't ate at T-Rex since it first opened. I was hesitant because I remembered the blue room and the food wasnt spectacular, but oh what a few years can bring. I ate in a different room and I loved the food and so did my daughter. It was my Birthday (May 9) and I ordered the Rotisserie Chicken with Garlic Mashed Potatoes. Yum. She ordered the cheese sticks and waffle fries. Also very good. My daughter commented that it was a bit loud (little girl cried next to us because the dinasour sounds can be a bit overwhelming). Otherwise, try this place. It is a cool experience for all ages!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mschu2112

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Sun March 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of food, atmosphere
      Cons: loud

       
      Food is good, portions are large so you dont go away hungry. We were in the ice room so that was very fun. Can be hard to read menus with lighting but still no issue there. This place does get loud. We were surprised to get a reservation the day before we got there on Presidents day so that was nice we got one. Its a must see.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Sat March 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We have been here several times and always enjoy it. This time was much different.


      We ordered an appetizer and our meals. Our waiter brought plates out, but no napkins or silverware. Assumed it was coming, but not until we asked. He came over to sell us a discount card (thought that was weird), so had enough time to get us napkins and silverware.


      Meals came out before the appetizer arrived. They said they would bring everything out fresh and new later. Our waiter came back and asked when we would like our meals (the appetizer arrived about 5 minutes before his visit). I asked for 10 more minutes. The meals arrived about 2 seconds after he left. The salad I ordered was gross. There was feta cheese in it that was the size of golf balls instead of small pieces...really strange. Ate hardly any of it.


      It was my son's birthday, so it was a special one (his choice of restaurant). I think he still enjoyed his big drink and dinasour nuggets...but a very poor service experience and it was soooo expensive for what we got.


      I hope not to return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sandc

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Sat March 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons: food and noise

       
      We love Rainforest Cafe so we thought we enjoy T-Rex. It does not matter if you have reservations, you will still have to wait. You could barely walk inside T-Rex because of the crowds. It was so loud, you had to almost scream to talk to the person across from you. Our waiter literally threw the napkins for our drinks at us. I think he was just having a bad day, because he did end up being very nice. Maybe he had a rude guest right before our table sat down. The food was not that great. I barely ate my salad. Nobody really cared for their food that much. We just wanted to get out of there. If we do ever try it again, it will be right at opening.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cholmberg

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Mon January 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decor, our waitress
      Cons: everything else

       
      Firstly, we had reservations. we arrived a few minutes early, and checked in with the fellows under the brown umbrella and were given a ticket and told to wait. 20 minutes later after having watched no less than a dozen parties walk up and be seated, I asked the boy why our wait was so long.. . and he said 'oh those people have reservations'. . . .and I said but WE HAVE RESERVATIONS. . . .and he quickly took my ticket and turned to his computer and with NO apology whatsoever, got us in a little while later. Our server was great, but we were already angry, tired and hungry and had sat outside in the cold for half an hour when others who had reservations after us had been seated. We were in the ice cave and it was incredibly noisy. It was also very crowded. No appetizers for the children. . .. I had the flatbread which was the best part of my meal. . . .husband had the wings, which he said were ok. the inlaws said theirs were ok as well. I got the chicken with gnocchi and it was nasty. Husband had the chicken fried steak, and he said it was good. Daughter who is nine finally said she had to get out of there because of the noise. We had the big dessert and the two sorbets, none of it was good. So we had a rotten experience at the check in, a great server who did try her best and mediocre food. The decor is cool, but so not worth it for that meal. The only really good thing was the cotton-tini's I had.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jking6

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: Brookfield NY
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Sun January 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, atmosphere
      Cons: price

       
      We love dining here but, I will only dine here while on the the dining plan due to the cost. The reason I still give it a 10 is because you will not go away hungry, the portions are huge!!! We have loved everything we have tried and I have been here a few times this past year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BuckeyeBarb

      Registered: June 2012
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri January 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of seating, lots of variety
      Cons: Loud

       
      We usually have excellent food, but this time we found the food to be salty. I had the dip duo and it was tasty, but salty. My husband had the steak sandwich (too salty), Son #1 had the nachos and loved them. Son #2 had fish and chips, which he said were not quite as good as Britain, but still pretty good. Had to wait for about a half an hour, which we felt was fine since we didn't have a reservation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ADJ

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Denver, CO
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat December 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food, great setting
      Cons: It is quite loud

       
      We were able to walk right in and sit at the bar for dinner on a Sunday evening (there was a line for regular tables). Dad ordered the quesadillas, which he enjoyed. Mom ordered the tomato basil soup which was good, but very rich – lots of cheese. Mom and I split a pasta dish made by the chef to accommodate my dairy allergy; he combined an assortment of grilled vegetables with the bruschetta topping, and the result was a fantastic balance of flavors. We really enjoyed the atmosphere; the animatronics here are more sophisticated than at Rainforest. Note: if you have young children, be aware that some of the dinosaurs are literally right next to the tables, and will, at times, move around and make noise. If you think this might be a problem, try to sit in the “ocean” section. You can still see the action, but it’s at a distance. The dining room is much more open than at Rainforest – this makes it really loud, but in some ways, less intense.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TiggerTrigger

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Thu November 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Meteor Bites, Service, Chicken, Chicken Fried Steak
      Cons: TBone

       
      First off, the place is pretty neat. Just all of the dinosaur stuff is reason alone to try it just once.


      While my steak was only OK, DH's chicken fried steak and DD6's chicken were so good. The service was also exceptional. I booked this directly through TRex rather than WDW, so my allergy info wasn't on file with the ressie. I forgot this until after we ordered, but our server brought the chef out right away and talk about wanting to do everything to accomodate us and keep DD6 safe. He offered some special desserts too which made her super happy.


      Our server was great as well...DH asked for extra gravy. I guess somehow 3 different people were told about the extra gravy...so we had 3 bowls of cream gravy. It was actually pretty funny.


      The meteor bites were also divine...great way to end a meal!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LouiseJones

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: United Kingdom
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon November 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Candy Floss Cosmopolitan Cocktail!
      Cons:

       
      The queue to get into T-Rex was extremely long, and once I entered the restaurant - I knew why! You're transported back to the age of the dinosaurs, and every fifteen or thirty minutes, there is a volcano eruption which is very exciting for little ones. The food is large portions, try the candy floss cosmopolitan - it's amazing! The staff are extremely friendly, it's just an outstanding place to eat!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.