Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » DISNEYLAND RESORT » Special Events at the Disneyland Resort (Limited Time Magic)








    • Pin It

    • Mickey's Halloween Party

      • Reviews Views
        3 6634
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        No recommendations 3.7
      • Description: In 2010 the Halloween party moves from Disney California Adventure over to Disneyland, with a new name: Mickey's Halloween Party. This not-so-scary Halloween party is a fun-filled evening for the whole family. In addition to trick-or-treating around the park, costumed character greetings, and dance parties, the event also provides exclusive viewing of the Halloween Screams fireworks show. The party requires a special event ticket, but regular park admission is not required.

        New this year: With their party ticket, guests will be allowed into Disneyland starting at 3:00 p.m. for parties that start at 6:00, and at 4:00 p.m. for those starting at 7:00.


  • Author
    • bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 258
      Review Date: Sat October 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not crowded, fireworks displays, rare characters, lots of costumes
      Cons: Character lines, amount of candy

      I really wanted to have a good experience at this party, but I think part of the problem is that there is so little thorough information available about it. Our party was Monday, 9/28, and one of the few that has not sold out. We arrived in the park to do a couple of rides and have dinner at Cafe Orleans. Service there was very slow, so we got out around 6pm, when party was starting. I first got in the single rider line for Splash Mountain (no wait); the only ride I wanted to do. Was off of that by 6:20pm.

      Pooh Bear was consistently meeting throughout the evening alone; also in his queue were Rabbit (alone and with Tigger) and Eeyore (alone) at different points. I waited about 20 minutes to meet them, as meeting Rabbit was a high priority.

      We stopped at three treat trails in Critter Country/New Orleans Square and got our picture taken with the Haunted Mansion 60th backdrop before continuing to "Pirate Wharf" at the Frontierland dock shortly before 7pm. There was no mention of "Piratepalooza" featuring classic characters in pirate attire, happening near Rancho del Zocalo. When we got in line, Captain Hook & Mr. Smee were meeting; by the time we arrived at the front of the line 30 minutes later, they had switched out with Wendy & Peter Pan.

      I then attempted to meet Minnie & Mickey. Their line looked long, but moved slower than it should have, even for the length. I waited 60 minutes, got 2/3 of the way through, and when they took their second cheese break, I gave up. During this time, my mom went and got some candy at Big Thunder Ranch, strolled through Frontierland, and went to get Dole Whips (the only time there was never a line at the Tiki Juice Bar!).

      We watched Paint the Night (AMAZING!) from the handicapped viewing area by Town Square, right next to where it exits. Hardly anyone in that area (in contrast to the next evening, where there was no personal space at all). We moved into the street for Halloween Screams, which was also great. Main Street was not at all crowded. I met the Queen of Hearts before the parade as she was strolling around Town Square (as was the Tremaine Family). Did the candy trail through Town Square, where there were four stations, and candy amount was still skimpy.

      After parade and fireworks, my mom went to look in some shops, while I sat with the scooter and watched the hordes of people stream out of the park. At 10:15, I attempted to join the line to meet Hades, Jafar, and Governor Ratcliffe (they rotated throughout the evening with Evil Queen, Maleficent, and Cruella de Vil), but the line was already cut. At that point we left, rather than bother with more long character lines. CMs were giving out candy at the exit but still weren't being generous with the amounts.

      Unfortunately, I don't think this party was worth the money. I had a much better experience 4 years ago at WDW's MNSSHP. I did like that the park wasn't crowded (but can't make a comparison to a sell out night). We loved the amount of people that were dressed up-that did seem more abundant than at WDW. I wouldn't do the party again and would be hard pressed to recommend it to others.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: New Jersey, USA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu October 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fireworks, lighting, Halloween music
      Cons: CROWDS

      Attended Disneyland's Mickey's Halloween Party on Friday September 28, 2012. Bought the tickets in advance and though they include parking - did not use that as we walked from a nearby hotel.

      Arrived at 4:30pm as the ticket allows entry after 4pm. The park was packed from 4:40 - 7pm as both day and party guests were inside. To avoid the masses a bit, we had booked at table at Cafe Orleans at 6:30. We got to watch the Disney CM's use light up signs to try to get day guests out of the park. If you are curious - CMs are stationed at different sections of the park with signs with flashing lights - if the lights are flashing it means that a non-party guest is still inside (this includes restaurants, rides and rest rooms). If the CM's sign is not flashing then the area is clear of day guests. The lights remained flashing until near 8 even in New Orleans Square.

      At about 7:30 we ventured out of the safety of the restaurant into the party. The crowds were very heavy. Lines for treats in all the lands were very long - and in some cases you couldn't tell where the line started. The only short line for candy was on Main Street at 9:45pm.

      The first parade was at 8:30 and it was so crowded that we skipped it and tried to go on rides. The line for Space Mountain Ghost Galaxy was 45 minutes so we skipped that. The line for Haunted Mansion Holiday was the worst I have ever seen it - people couldn't even find the end. We were in front of the mansion and couldn't move due to the crowds - no one knew where the line for HM started, where the line for Splash Mountain started, or where the treat line in Critter Country started - there were just too many people and no one directing them. We left that area as fast as possible as it did not feel safe with so many people.

      At 9:00pm went to the hub to try to find a spot for the fireworks. Again it was packed. Walked down Main Street and near the Carnation Cafe Main Street was empty. I mean it was like a ghost town there so that is exactly where we stayed. Got to see the fireworks which were very nice. Not sure they were worth the cost of admission as it was the only thing we did get to experience.

      After fireworks people left the park in droves. We stood in the stores just watching and glad that the crowd would be less. Well, that was the thought, but it wasn't reality. We went back to the lands and still everything was PACKED. I don't even know how it was possible since I saw people leaving. The park didn't feel any less crowded than earlier. I think many people came into the park just after 8pm so only the people that arrived early left early.

      Lines for the characters were long. The lines for candy were still long - my friend said rather than wait in line he'd buy me candy the next day. That was a funny moment of the night. The lines for rides were still out of control. It was the most crowded I have seen a Disney park (I have only been to DL 5 times, but to WDW 30 or more times).

      At 10:30 I gave up. I was tired of wandering around looking for something to do that didn't require standing in a long line or stoller dodging. I felt a bit duped by Disney by not getting to enjoy the parade, the characters, rides or candy. I went to Town Hall wanting to just add a comment for management that the crowds were out of control in New Orleans Square - I was seriously concerned about safety. The CM's there told me that they couldn't do anything and that they wouldn't take my comment - I should write to guest relations on the website as it is a marketing suggestion. I'm not sure what that means, but I did write Disney. They responded today saying safety is a concern and they did not oversell the event. Whatever.

      I had attended the Halloween event at WDW in 2010 and thought it was incredible. I have read that it also now has some crowd issues. I wouldn't do DL's Halloween event again. It is just not my thing to be that packed into a park for an extra charge. If you do go, expect that you will not be able to experience much. If the parades are your thing, get a spot early. If you want to go on rides then be preparred to wait a long time as FP isn't operational. You will be able to see Fireworks from Main Street without waiting. Happy Halloween!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      We went to the Mickey's Halloween Party for the first time on September 28, 2012. I had not been to a "special event" at Disneyland for years and was really looking forward to it. Well, I was SOOO disappointed. I cannot believe that they limited the number of tickets sold, it was incredibly crowded, just like any other day at the park. There were long waits for the more popular rides, Thunder Mountain was broken down for a good portion of the evening(and then a 40 minute wait in its new and horrible line-winding experience), there are no fast passes so you are forced to stand in one spot and wait for your favorites, thus missing big chunks of the evening elsewhere, and really-for the amount of money they took in that night, couldn't they have come up more special and imaginative things? I loved the singing ghosts on the lake, but otherwise it was "business as usual". Most of the shops and restaurants were closed, and it just felt like they were smirking backstage at all of us suckers who came starry eyed, hoping for some Disney Magic. Sorry-it died with Uncle Walt!
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.