Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » PHOTOPASS

    photopass-logo1.jpg


    photopass-logo1.jpg
    supersize

    ppass5.jpg
    supersize

    ppass4.jpg
    supersize

    ppass-cards.jpg

    ppass-home.jpg
    supersize





    • Pin It


    • Theme Park Photo Pass

      • Reviews Views
        55 79548
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        93% of reviewers 7.8
      • Description: Look for the Disney photographers throughout Walt Disney World's four Theme Parks and the Water Parks.


        The first photographer will give you a plastic Disney's PhotoPass card with an ID number on the back. Hang onto that card and use it for the duration of your trip.


        Each time you see one of the roving photographers and want a photo taken, just go up and hand them your card - they'll get you situated, snap the pose, scan your card and off you go - and you can do this as often as you like.


        Be sure to read our Information and Tips page:
        http://allears.net/tp/ppass.htm


  • Author
    • bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Wed July 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Photopass Plus value
      Cons: Website

       
      I originally balked at the thought of paying $150 for Photopass Plus, but it includes 7 attraction photos, all of which we planned to ride. At $14.95 per photo, the CD nearly pays for itself. Plus we were able to get some adorable shots throughout the parks.


      The only ride photo that we didn't get was at Splash Mountain, as the photos weren't working at the time we rode (around 11pm on an Extra Magic Hour night). On Rock 'n' Roller Coaster, rows 11 & 12 pictures weren't working, but the photo cast member allowed us to ride again (with no wait!) in a different row! I thought this was above and beyond.


      At Buzz Lightyear, there were only two registers open and quite a few people wanting to purchase photos. The lines moved very slowly and I found it a bit frustrating. The same problem was had at Space Mountain, but most other attractions were fine.


      We did get a few magic shots: me holding Tinker Bell at MK, Simba at AK, and Stitch popping out of the ground at DHS. They also had props at DHS: a giant picture frame and a director's board.


      We did get some adorable photos, I liked adding borders, and I am currently waiting to download my photos-much faster than waiting for the CD to arrive in the mail!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 127
      Review Date: Sun June 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We pre-paid for the Photo Pass Plus. LOVED it! Worth every penny we paid! Lots of Magic Shots - balloons at the Magic Kingdom, Stich coming out of the ground at AK and DHS, My DD holding Chip at MK,and our kids holding Simba at AK. These were worth the price alone! Add all the great complete family shots in all the Parks, all the ride photos and our pictures from our Tusker House breakfast. My absolute favorite pictures were from a great Photo Pass photographer near Crystal Palace. He had a huge frame as a prop and we got some fabulous pictures of all us with the Castle in the background. I will absolutely get this each and every time we go to the World!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Thu April 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): helpful customer service
      Cons: none

       
      I just had to post a second comment since my last. We used pp in March and did post a positive review. Since then we received our CD and was excited about showing it to everyone when realized that 6 pics were missing. I logged back into my online photos which was about to expire and noticed that they weren't there. They were the only pics of my dd4 and Minnie Mouse. I called customer service and spoke with a Lori who asked me several questions such as date of photo, time taken (approx) what child was wearing, location. She searched through 1000's pics from that time stamp and was able to locate the pics. She then uploaded them in order for me to edit and sent me a whole complete CD with all 652 pics on it FREE!!!! She spent at least 2 hours searching and I was eternally grateful. That saved my dd4 day!!! Thank you so much for caring.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Sun March 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): photopass+ lots of pics
      Cons: cost no magic sots

       
      This is 2nd time. First bought cd at park at the time it costs $99 that was in 06. For this trip 3/16, pre-purchased the cd for $149 with the photo pass +. Always was able to find photographers available except with some of the meet n greets. Never was told about magic shots even though I knew about them but photographers didn't seem to interested. I did like having all the rides put on the cd sine we rode Splash Mountain 8x and every time, we posed differently which was fun. We also used for 1900 Park Fare Cinderella dinner. After getting cd, was anxious to view and was very pleased after editing and added features had 523 pics. Will definitely get again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      arielwatcher

      Registered: April 2007
      Posts: 94
      Review Date: Fri March 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pictures of the entire party
      Cons: not enough photographers or locations

       
      I keep HOPING they offer more locations and more photographers, sadly in March 12-20, 2013 there were few of either.


      I had pre-bought my disc and arrived in March hoping to catch as many of our moments as possible for our party of 4.


      I got about 57 photos over 8 days. AND they didn't drop in the 'magic' so the photos looked goofy, and not in the magical Disney way. After 3 emails they got the magic dropped in.


      Where the Test Track photo USED to be put on the regular pass, now it is not.


      The cost of the disc has skyrocketed....


      This will probably be the last disc we buy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      OurFamily

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Houston, TX
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue March 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pre-purchase, convenience of not always having camera out
      Cons: seemed standardized, missed some quality photos

       
      We have pre advanced purchased the CD the past two years. It saves us money and we do not have to worry about which photos we were going to purchase after our trip. However, I did not think we received our full money this time around vs. last year. Last year the CD also came with a photobook and that was a great deal. Also, the photographers seemed to be the paparazzi with each family. We felt it was so worth it to have all those photos. I noticed this year, the photographers have become standardized. They seem to take one as the child is approaching, one hugging the character, and then one facing the camera. More often than not, the photographers seemed to be just standing there waiting for the child to finish to move on to the next child. I would much rather have a ton of “bad” photos than just 3 -5 of the normal photos with every character. ALSO, pay attention to the photographers scanning your card. Our daughter had some lovely photos with Cinderella (she was dressed up as Cinderella that day) but the photographer was too busy looking at the line and her watch that she didn’t scan the card so we missed some of them on our CD. Fortunately, my husband is a camera fool and was snapping pictures left and right so we did get a few of the ones I thought we had missed. From then on I made sure the photographer scanned the card before we left. I am not sure if we will pre-purchase the CD again next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Fri March 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everyone can be in the photo, Got great candid shots
      Cons: Photo CD is expensive, a few photos were from other groups

       
      Photopass is one of the best ideas Disney ever came up with. No more of the one unlucky person being left out of the shot of taking multiple shots rotating who has the camera.


      Simply hand the Photographer your card or ask for a card. They will scan it and take pictures of you with park icons (i.e. Cinderella Castle, Spaceship Earth, the Sorcerer's Hat, and the Tree Of Life) or with the characters. They will even take photos with your camera if asked.


      When you get home you type in the code on the back of the card and you can see your photos, edit them if you want, and even added borders if you like. Sometimes you get a little surprise.


      The only downside to Photopass is if you order the Photo CD is is very expensive at $150 no matter what the number of pictures on the account is.


      Also a couple times I have returned from a trip and viewed my pictures to find pictures from other groups included with mine. I only hope the other groups got there pictures. Makes me wonder how many other people got my pictures.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ThriftyMommaBear

      Registered: February 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun February 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenience
      Cons: Cd had doubles of each photo -charged per photo !

       
      Some friends recommended using the Disney Photo Pass for the added convenience of having our more photos to choose from when we got home.


      The only problem was our CD somehow listed each photo TWICE and could not be edited before we purchased ?!! Hoping this was a one time glitch.
      Also there were many Stock photos on there courtesy of Disney that can help if you are are serious scrapbooker.


      On an UP NOTE - the one group family photo that turned out well was temporarily LOST ( the Photo Pass photographer's card reader was not working that day so she had taken a photo of our card ) and through the website customer service they we able to recover it based upon our description of clothing and time and place taken ! That became our Christmas card that year - so all in all it was worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      there7777

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Sulphur Springs, Texas
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue February 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): opportunities to get everyone in the pictures
      Cons: cost, website extremely hard to work with!

       
      I use photopass less and less every time we go to Disney because it is so frustrating when u get back home and try to make and order the photos u want. By the time I get my photo projects complete and saved my photos are about to expire and then they want more money to extend the time and it turns in to more of a hassle than anything. Just have the photopass person use your camera along with theirs and then you can have the good pictures without having to fight with photopass website.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 153
      Review Date: Mon December 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We use this service often and have enjoyed the pictures in the past. I did not think the pictures were that good this time. In many the lighting was bad (they should know how to adjust it), and some pictures were blurry. We also met up with some less than enthusiastic cast members. One missed some great pictures of my son with Goofy and I could not get my camera out in time to get them. Another ooo'd and ahh'd over a family in front of us, taking many pictures and when it was our turn, did just the standard picture. Finally, one thought that he gave our card to another group, and we had to run over to the desk and check (the other group was long gone). Luckily it was ours. Unlucky for the other group, but when I loaded the card at home, found the other groups pictures on our card. It was with Minnie and Mickey dressed up for Christmas...I am sure they will be disappointed.


      We will probably do this again, but need to go into it knowing that you may not get the great pictures you think you are, so make sure to take a lot of your own!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shageek

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: kentucky
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu December 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great pictures! Magic shots!
      Cons: Plus card pick up location

       
      I was a little leery of paying the price for this. I ordered the Photopass plus.


      All and all I am really happy with my purchase. I am usually the "taker" of pictures and since this was our first family vacation I really wanted to get lots of group pictures.


      We took advantage of the photographers whenever we saw them. If you do this along with the ride and dining pictures the plus is a great value. Not all pictures were perfect but I would say 90% were and the magic shots are awesome. Ask for them whenever you can! I noticed a set of pictures were not on my account. I emailed photopass with a little information and they "found" them. Really awesome service!


      Make sure you know where to pick up your plus pass before you venture to the parks. When you preorder, the plus pass has to be picked up from a Photopass location at one of the parks or downtown. These are not always easy to locate. The information center at Downtown Disney sent me to the other end of Downtown. The line at this location was out the door and I waited for 30 minutes before I gave up. I decided to get my pass at Animal Kingdom the next day. However the photographers there did not know what I was looking for and sent me on a wild goose chase at Animal Kingdom and it made me miss our ADR for Tusker. I was a bit annoyed about this but they were really apologetic and I think they took my complaint to heart. They really need to make these plus passes available at your resort. It will be so much easier!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kywyatt

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu December 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Having it already paid for, and being able to relax when daughter met characters
      Cons:

       
      I highly recommend getting the Photo Pass in advance (save $50). We did the regular Photo Pass, not the Photo+, and I think there was only 1 time we would have used the Photo+, so that was fine. My goal for the trip was to allow my daughter a princess experience. I was so happy knowing that each time she got her photo taken that I had already paid for it and that I would have the memories recorded. We also took some photos, but for the most part I just decided to enjoy watching my daughter interact with the princesses, knowing the photos were already paid for. We also did BBB, and there were photos taken there that I will cherish. My best friend and her family went on the trip with us and we split the cost of the Photo pass, so paid $60 each. There were over 500 photos on the pass, so more than worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): CD advance purchase
      Cons:

       
      Took dozens of pictures with Photopass. Many times a Photopass photographer was available when doing character meet and greets. Most of them did a great job. The person who took our picture with Cinderella in Magic Kingdom at the town square took horrible pictures but everyone else did great. Many photographers did several shots, some closeups that were excellent.


      I purchased the CD off the website in advance and saved some money. I paid $119 all together, was able to add borders to my pictures and received the cd in the mail very fast.


      I especially liked the photos where the photographers had my children hold their hand up or look at a certain spot and then when I looked at the pictures online, they were holding Tinkerbell in their hand or Chip from Beauty and the Beast.


      Overall, I was very pleased with this service and would use it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hlee

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decent price
      Cons: none

       
      They recently added the Attractions+ photo option. Basically it's just for the rides, but still it adds up. They priced it at $44.95 and you are given a card just like the photo pass. Present the card after the ride and they will have it stored under your card. It just started on 11/20/12 and I bought it on 11/22 and now back at home and can say it is well worth it. The only drawback is that you really can't edit the picture, but I'm sure a little photoshop will do the trick. overall well worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JerseyShoregirl13

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): They can get photos I cannot
      Cons: Sometimes their photos do not develop...very rarely but possible.

       
      I never really had this problem. But do have photographer take photos with your camera as backup. Do make sure to get photo on Main Street early am. This can be accomplished by scheduling a breakfast at Crystal Palace or Cinderella Castle. A newly added bonus to the package is that more rides are offering Attraction photos to be added to your photopass.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.