Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » PHOTOPASS

    photopass-logo1.jpg


    photopass-logo1.jpg
    supersize

    ppass5.jpg
    supersize

    ppass4.jpg
    supersize

    ppass-cards.jpg

    ppass-home.jpg
    supersize





    • Pin It


    • Theme Park Photo Pass

      • Reviews Views
        92 76199
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        95% of reviewers 7.9
      • Description: Look for the Disney photographers throughout Walt Disney World's four Theme Parks and the Water Parks.


        The first photographer will give you a plastic Disney's PhotoPass card with an ID number on the back. Hang onto that card and use it for the duration of your trip.


        Each time you see one of the roving photographers and want a photo taken, just go up and hand them your card - they'll get you situated, snap the pose, scan your card and off you go - and you can do this as often as you like.


        Be sure to read our Information and Tips page:
        http://allears.net/tp/ppass.htm


  • Author
    • thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Fri March 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everyone can be in the photo, Got great candid shots
      Cons: Photo CD is expensive, a few photos were from other groups

       
      Photopass is one of the best ideas Disney ever came up with. No more of the one unlucky person being left out of the shot of taking multiple shots rotating who has the camera.


      Simply hand the Photographer your card or ask for a card. They will scan it and take pictures of you with park icons (i.e. Cinderella Castle, Spaceship Earth, the Sorcerer's Hat, and the Tree Of Life) or with the characters. They will even take photos with your camera if asked.


      When you get home you type in the code on the back of the card and you can see your photos, edit them if you want, and even added borders if you like. Sometimes you get a little surprise.


      The only downside to Photopass is if you order the Photo CD is is very expensive at $150 no matter what the number of pictures on the account is.


      Also a couple times I have returned from a trip and viewed my pictures to find pictures from other groups included with mine. I only hope the other groups got there pictures. Makes me wonder how many other people got my pictures.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ThriftyMommaBear

      Registered: February 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun February 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenience
      Cons: Cd had doubles of each photo -charged per photo !

       
      Some friends recommended using the Disney Photo Pass for the added convenience of having our more photos to choose from when we got home.


      The only problem was our CD somehow listed each photo TWICE and could not be edited before we purchased ?!! Hoping this was a one time glitch.
      Also there were many Stock photos on there courtesy of Disney that can help if you are are serious scrapbooker.


      On an UP NOTE - the one group family photo that turned out well was temporarily LOST ( the Photo Pass photographer's card reader was not working that day so she had taken a photo of our card ) and through the website customer service they we able to recover it based upon our description of clothing and time and place taken ! That became our Christmas card that year - so all in all it was worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      there7777

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: Sulphur Springs, Texas
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue February 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): opportunities to get everyone in the pictures
      Cons: cost, website extremely hard to work with!

       
      I use photopass less and less every time we go to Disney because it is so frustrating when u get back home and try to make and order the photos u want. By the time I get my photo projects complete and saved my photos are about to expire and then they want more money to extend the time and it turns in to more of a hassle than anything. Just have the photopass person use your camera along with theirs and then you can have the good pictures without having to fight with photopass website.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Mon December 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We use this service often and have enjoyed the pictures in the past. I did not think the pictures were that good this time. In many the lighting was bad (they should know how to adjust it), and some pictures were blurry. We also met up with some less than enthusiastic cast members. One missed some great pictures of my son with Goofy and I could not get my camera out in time to get them. Another ooo'd and ahh'd over a family in front of us, taking many pictures and when it was our turn, did just the standard picture. Finally, one thought that he gave our card to another group, and we had to run over to the desk and check (the other group was long gone). Luckily it was ours. Unlucky for the other group, but when I loaded the card at home, found the other groups pictures on our card. It was with Minnie and Mickey dressed up for Christmas...I am sure they will be disappointed.


      We will probably do this again, but need to go into it knowing that you may not get the great pictures you think you are, so make sure to take a lot of your own!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shageek

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: kentucky
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu December 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great pictures! Magic shots!
      Cons: Plus card pick up location

       
      I was a little leery of paying the price for this. I ordered the Photopass plus.


      All and all I am really happy with my purchase. I am usually the "taker" of pictures and since this was our first family vacation I really wanted to get lots of group pictures.


      We took advantage of the photographers whenever we saw them. If you do this along with the ride and dining pictures the plus is a great value. Not all pictures were perfect but I would say 90% were and the magic shots are awesome. Ask for them whenever you can! I noticed a set of pictures were not on my account. I emailed photopass with a little information and they "found" them. Really awesome service!


      Make sure you know where to pick up your plus pass before you venture to the parks. When you preorder, the plus pass has to be picked up from a Photopass location at one of the parks or downtown. These are not always easy to locate. The information center at Downtown Disney sent me to the other end of Downtown. The line at this location was out the door and I waited for 30 minutes before I gave up. I decided to get my pass at Animal Kingdom the next day. However the photographers there did not know what I was looking for and sent me on a wild goose chase at Animal Kingdom and it made me miss our ADR for Tusker. I was a bit annoyed about this but they were really apologetic and I think they took my complaint to heart. They really need to make these plus passes available at your resort. It will be so much easier!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kywyatt

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu December 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Having it already paid for, and being able to relax when daughter met characters
      Cons:

       
      I highly recommend getting the Photo Pass in advance (save $50). We did the regular Photo Pass, not the Photo+, and I think there was only 1 time we would have used the Photo+, so that was fine. My goal for the trip was to allow my daughter a princess experience. I was so happy knowing that each time she got her photo taken that I had already paid for it and that I would have the memories recorded. We also took some photos, but for the most part I just decided to enjoy watching my daughter interact with the princesses, knowing the photos were already paid for. We also did BBB, and there were photos taken there that I will cherish. My best friend and her family went on the trip with us and we split the cost of the Photo pass, so paid $60 each. There were over 500 photos on the pass, so more than worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): CD advance purchase
      Cons:

       
      Took dozens of pictures with Photopass. Many times a Photopass photographer was available when doing character meet and greets. Most of them did a great job. The person who took our picture with Cinderella in Magic Kingdom at the town square took horrible pictures but everyone else did great. Many photographers did several shots, some closeups that were excellent.


      I purchased the CD off the website in advance and saved some money. I paid $119 all together, was able to add borders to my pictures and received the cd in the mail very fast.


      I especially liked the photos where the photographers had my children hold their hand up or look at a certain spot and then when I looked at the pictures online, they were holding Tinkerbell in their hand or Chip from Beauty and the Beast.


      Overall, I was very pleased with this service and would use it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hlee

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): decent price
      Cons: none

       
      They recently added the Attractions+ photo option. Basically it's just for the rides, but still it adds up. They priced it at $44.95 and you are given a card just like the photo pass. Present the card after the ride and they will have it stored under your card. It just started on 11/20/12 and I bought it on 11/22 and now back at home and can say it is well worth it. The only drawback is that you really can't edit the picture, but I'm sure a little photoshop will do the trick. overall well worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JerseyShoregirl13

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): They can get photos I cannot
      Cons: Sometimes their photos do not develop...very rarely but possible.

       
      I never really had this problem. But do have photographer take photos with your camera as backup. Do make sure to get photo on Main Street early am. This can be accomplished by scheduling a breakfast at Crystal Palace or Cinderella Castle. A newly added bonus to the package is that more rides are offering Attraction photos to be added to your photopass.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ER_Nurse

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Carmel, IN
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri November 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): More Photographers
      Cons: Cost

       
      We have been to WDW every year for the last 5 years. I was happy to see that there were plenty of Photopass photographers around the parks. I think they have beefed up their staff. They also took great pictures.


      One tip, if you have a Chase Visa, go to the private photo op. It is located in Epcot in Innovations near the Fire Engine. When I went to get my free pic, the cast member told me that I can get my picture taken every day, and get a FREE one EVERYDAY. I figured it was a one time deal, but it is a way to cash in, if you go to Epcot daily.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JenLyn1620

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu November 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ride pictures included
      Cons: pricey

       
      We used the Photopass+ for our recent trip in October 2012. I pre-ordered to save $30. It was a little inconvenient to have to stop by the camera shop in the park to turn in our "ticket" for the actual card. Also, the card holder is not secure at all. Our card kept coming off. Wish they would have a higher quality hook for the card. Overall, we really enjoyed being able to add our ride pictures to the card. In the past, I have never purchased ride photos, since they are so expensive. We also tried to take advantage of every photopass photogrpaher we found - asking for magic shots as well as the regular ones. You are paying for the photos, so you might as well make the most of it! I would probably get the Photopass+ again for my next trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dmh

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Mon October 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy memories
      Cons:

       
      This is something I always prepurchase before going on a trip because it is so easy! It's great to be able to get your whole crew in one shot instead of someone always out of the pics. Although this time I didn't feel there was as many photopass people out. I really had to search for them to take pics, ESP at Animal Kingdom. I will do it again if the prepurchase price doesn't increased from the $119 it is now.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      charmouse

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of high quality pictures with the WHOLE family!
      Cons: pricey

       
      We used the Photopass+ this trip and thought it was well worth the extra cost over the regular Photopass CD...
      The kids loved knowing that we would be getting all of the ride photos, Pirates League, and character dinner pictures.
      Having my camera break at the beginning of the trip made this even more valuable to me!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      baloo the bear

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 57
      Review Date: Sat October 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great pictures of the entire family.
      Cons:

       
      We went to Disneyland this year instead of Walt Disney World, so we didn't have to pay much for the photo pass plus. It was a super deal. We got the picture package at Goofy's Kitchen included, as well as pictures from every single ride that took a picture. Some of our Tower of Terror and Radiator Springs Racers pictures were our favorites of the whole trip. They had photopass people in many locations. We buy the photopass everytime we go because I love pictures and this way we ensure the entire family is in the picture. I then use the pictures to make our yearly calendar from the photopass site and use my Disney Visa dollars to pay for it. I am especially glad that with the purchase of the photopass plus we received Disney photos of the parks as well. I will definitely be buying this when we go back to Walt Disney World.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      onescgirl

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: SC
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat September 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pictures of whole family, great night shots of family
      Cons: price, not enough photographers

       
      I always pre-purchase the cd because I am a picture fanatic! We were at Disney this past week. I feel like they took fewer poses than they have in the past. No shots with Tinkerbell in hands, etc. I don't know if it was because my kids are getting older so less time was given to us or if that's how they were to everyone.


      Also, there were no photographers at the water parks. We've been to water parks in September before and the photographers took some great pics of kids there. Now, they are only at the water parks during summer months.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.