Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » PHOTOPASS

    photopass-logo1.jpg


    photopass-logo1.jpg
    supersize

    ppass5.jpg
    supersize

    ppass4.jpg
    supersize

    ppass-cards.jpg

    ppass-home.jpg
    supersize





    • Pin It


    • Theme Park Photo Pass

      • Reviews Views
        93 76664
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        95% of reviewers 7.9
      • Description: Look for the Disney photographers throughout Walt Disney World's four Theme Parks and the Water Parks.


        The first photographer will give you a plastic Disney's PhotoPass card with an ID number on the back. Hang onto that card and use it for the duration of your trip.


        Each time you see one of the roving photographers and want a photo taken, just go up and hand them your card - they'll get you situated, snap the pose, scan your card and off you go - and you can do this as often as you like.


        Be sure to read our Information and Tips page:
        http://allears.net/tp/ppass.htm


  • Author
    • bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 218
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Many opportunities for photos, RFID readers on rides
      Cons: Lack of borders, slow website

       
      This was my first time using Memory Maker. I was pleased at the abundant number of photographers I saw throughout the theme parks and water parks. Nearly every character I met (and that was a lot of characters!) had a photographer with them. I encountered some new magic shots, such as one with Chip the tea cup, that I absolutely adored.


      The long range RFID readers are great on the rides. I never had to stop at a photo counter as all the photos (except one) showed up automatically. I think the new on ride video for Tower of Terror is cute but not as cool as it was hyped up to be.


      It seems there are fewer options for borders on the website than in the past. The website is also notoriously slow, particularly when there are many pictures in the account. This has always been a problem, even on the old Photopass site, but there has to be a way to improve it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 218
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): MagicBand compatible, good photographers
      Cons: Horrid website

       
      I was very happy to find out that even if you didn't spend the money for Memory Maker, your Magic Band can still be used to link Photopass pictures to your account. This made it very easy for everyone in my party to get photos taken throughout the park and have them in one place. We got some very nice pictures at the Main Entrance of Epcot, and my friends also got some on the bridge near France and at the Character Spot. While we may only pay to download one, it's nice to be able to screenshot all of them, though this obviously doesn't result in a very high quality.


      The website gets horrible marks in my opinion. I thought the old website was bad but the new version is even worse. It's slow and temperamental-I've been trying to share pictures with my friends who are IN the pictures for two days and I can't get it to cooperate!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everyone can be in the pictures, easy to replace
      Cons: Lack of Magic Shots

       
      I love Photopass. I have had luck with cameras at Disney. I lost 3 of them (only getting 1 back) and had one memory card break. I do all my character photos with Photopass now so I don't use anything irreplaceable.


      Photpass photographers are everywhere at Disney. Simply walk up to one, pose with the character, icon, of whatever, they take the picture, scan your magic band or card and you see the pictures online later.


      With Photopass everyone can be in the picture and you can add cool borders later on.


      The downside is to get your pictures you have to buy the CD. Also you used to get something special in some photos like Tinker bell in your hand or Stitch popping out of the ground but in all the years I've been going to Disney and using Photopass I've only had one "Magic Shot" Maybe it's something you have to request. If so kinda takes the fun out of seeing if anything random was added.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dandnmom

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Cincinnati OH
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon January 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): captures a lot of pictures- esp valuable if you lose your personal ones
      Cons: failure of photographers to seek out "special" photo opportunities

       
      Never thought I'd be saying this.... but... Photopass is my source of memories from vacation b/c my camera was stolen the evening we got home (Ohio) - lost all the pictures except a few I took on my camera to text back home to grma and grpa! What a relief - the pictures are irreplacable so thank goodness for the ones I did get thru Photopass....!! Between the disc I got from Disney of standard issue shots and this program, I can salvage some semblance of vacation pictures -priceless.


      I do wish the photographers did more candids as well as sought to offer "special" pictures (where one can photoshop in Tinkerbell, Stitch, etc.).


      Also- found some photographers to be super friendly and helpful and some a bit less so but that's to be expected - different personalities, different photo opportunities. (PS: Anyone offered a Nikon D40 SLR - battery but no charger; blue and black camera bag- might be mine!! Sigh)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ronniedawg01

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri December 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice Photographers, Nice Pictures
      Cons: Receiving the CD and their customer service

       
      We purchased PhotoPass Plus for our granddaughter's first trip. Although the photographers were very pleasant and professional, the customer service end of this process was severely lacking. I placed my order for the CD that I had already paid for and a storybook that I spent literally 48+ hrs. making for my granddaughter's Christmas gift. I also checked 4 day shipping, which would have given me just enough time to receive the CD and book. The book was mailed one day AFTER the CD. The book arrived well within the 4 day window; the CD which was mailed one day earlier, again using the same 4 day shipping method, has yet to arrive. It is now 10 days after I received notice the CD was mailed, and still have not received it. Christmas has come and gone and still no pictures. In addition, I also noticed that several pictures were missing, so I emailed and called. They found all but one. It has never been found. I have pleaded with them to send me another CD and to mail it with tracking information. They do NOT answer my emails. Totally unacceptable and unprofessional. Never Again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinyallison

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everyone in the photo
      Cons: Price to buy all the photos

       
      We didn't take advantage of photo pass the first few days we were there. Then as the trip started to end we rushed to get pictures in front of all the park entrances. We meet a photographer at the entrance of Epcot and he had us doing fun poses. Then later in the day we meet him again at another location in the park and we had even more fun! All of the photographers we meet were great and our smiles were never faked.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ohiost13

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Whole family in picture
      Cons: Ordering 14 days in advance

       
      We ordered photo pass and overall were pleased. We really wanted photo pass "plus" and wanted to order it before our trip, but because it was within 14 days of travel, we couldn't get the discount. This was unfair. We really wanted the extra attraction photos for the rides, Tusker House, 1900 Park Faire, Chef Mickey's, Hoop Dee Doo, etc. those pictures individually are $33.00. It also would've included some of the ride photos. They offer a separate attractions pass, but no one could help us with that. It seemed no one knew where to purchase it or how.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      speedybb

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: Bolingbrook, IL
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue November 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All of us are in the pictures
      Cons: A bit big brother see review

       
      I really like the PP system. Now the kids are out of the house my wife and I take a trip every year without them and it is nice that we can both be in the pictures Smile


      I was shocked when I was in the parks the other day, and had gone on some rides that take pictures. We chose not to purchase the pics and never talked to anyone about them.


      When we got back to the hotel I looked at the site and the pictures we were in were there!! Apparently it knows by the magic bands who you are... VERY COOL!!!


      (My wife thinks its big brother watching hence the con!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cs1236

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun October 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Freedom
      Cons:

       
      Ordered photo pass 3 weeks before my trip and Disney mailed me a kit. When we arrived, we took it to MK photo shop got our photo pass plus. This is a great product. I did not want to carry a large camera around I already have my iPhone for photos. We had over 400 photos taken at all the parks, Chef mickey, rides and the boutique . I'm able to share them online via email and Facebook. Added borders and stickers with dates on photos I wanted to. It's nice I own those photos and they all look very professional. The only thing I think needs work is adding those special magic moments to photos. A few did them but they are all Tinker Bell.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mich97

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Thu August 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Value
      Cons: website, some pictures missing

       
      Overall it was worth it. I like having the different options on borders for pictures. And with the photopass plus I really liked getting all our ride photos and photo packages from characters meals. That alone save us money in the long run. My only complaints were we had some missing pictures from the Magic Kingdom (on 4 different occasions). I did contact guest services and they were able to find 2 of the four occasions. My other complaint is their website is very slow.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 218
      Review Date: Wed July 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Photopass Plus value
      Cons: Website

       
      I originally balked at the thought of paying $150 for Photopass Plus, but it includes 7 attraction photos, all of which we planned to ride. At $14.95 per photo, the CD nearly pays for itself. Plus we were able to get some adorable shots throughout the parks.


      The only ride photo that we didn't get was at Splash Mountain, as the photos weren't working at the time we rode (around 11pm on an Extra Magic Hour night). On Rock 'n' Roller Coaster, rows 11 & 12 pictures weren't working, but the photo cast member allowed us to ride again (with no wait!) in a different row! I thought this was above and beyond.


      At Buzz Lightyear, there were only two registers open and quite a few people wanting to purchase photos. The lines moved very slowly and I found it a bit frustrating. The same problem was had at Space Mountain, but most other attractions were fine.


      We did get a few magic shots: me holding Tinker Bell at MK, Simba at AK, and Stitch popping out of the ground at DHS. They also had props at DHS: a giant picture frame and a director's board.


      We did get some adorable photos, I liked adding borders, and I am currently waiting to download my photos-much faster than waiting for the CD to arrive in the mail!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 127
      Review Date: Sun June 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We pre-paid for the Photo Pass Plus. LOVED it! Worth every penny we paid! Lots of Magic Shots - balloons at the Magic Kingdom, Stich coming out of the ground at AK and DHS, My DD holding Chip at MK,and our kids holding Simba at AK. These were worth the price alone! Add all the great complete family shots in all the Parks, all the ride photos and our pictures from our Tusker House breakfast. My absolute favorite pictures were from a great Photo Pass photographer near Crystal Palace. He had a huge frame as a prop and we got some fabulous pictures of all us with the Castle in the background. I will absolutely get this each and every time we go to the World!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Thu April 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): helpful customer service
      Cons: none

       
      I just had to post a second comment since my last. We used pp in March and did post a positive review. Since then we received our CD and was excited about showing it to everyone when realized that 6 pics were missing. I logged back into my online photos which was about to expire and noticed that they weren't there. They were the only pics of my dd4 and Minnie Mouse. I called customer service and spoke with a Lori who asked me several questions such as date of photo, time taken (approx) what child was wearing, location. She searched through 1000's pics from that time stamp and was able to locate the pics. She then uploaded them in order for me to edit and sent me a whole complete CD with all 652 pics on it FREE!!!! She spent at least 2 hours searching and I was eternally grateful. That saved my dd4 day!!! Thank you so much for caring.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 40
      Review Date: Sun March 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): photopass+ lots of pics
      Cons: cost no magic sots

       
      This is 2nd time. First bought cd at park at the time it costs $99 that was in 06. For this trip 3/16, pre-purchased the cd for $149 with the photo pass +. Always was able to find photographers available except with some of the meet n greets. Never was told about magic shots even though I knew about them but photographers didn't seem to interested. I did like having all the rides put on the cd sine we rode Splash Mountain 8x and every time, we posed differently which was fun. We also used for 1900 Park Fare Cinderella dinner. After getting cd, was anxious to view and was very pleased after editing and added features had 523 pics. Will definitely get again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      arielwatcher

      Registered: April 2007
      Posts: 90
      Review Date: Fri March 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pictures of the entire party
      Cons: not enough photographers or locations

       
      I keep HOPING they offer more locations and more photographers, sadly in March 12-20, 2013 there were few of either.


      I had pre-bought my disc and arrived in March hoping to catch as many of our moments as possible for our party of 4.


      I got about 57 photos over 8 days. AND they didn't drop in the 'magic' so the photos looked goofy, and not in the magical Disney way. After 3 emails they got the magic dropped in.


      Where the Test Track photo USED to be put on the regular pass, now it is not.


      The cost of the disc has skyrocketed....


      This will probably be the last disc we buy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.