Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Home » PHOTOPASS

    photopass-logo1.jpg


    photopass-logo1.jpg
    supersize

    ppass5.jpg
    supersize

    ppass4.jpg
    supersize

    ppass-cards.jpg

    ppass-home.jpg
    supersize





    • Pin It


    • Theme Park Photo Pass

      • Reviews Views
        56 80474
      • Recommended By Average Rating
        91% of reviewers 7.8
      • Description: Look for the Disney photographers throughout Walt Disney World's four Theme Parks and the Water Parks.


        The first photographer will give you a plastic Disney's PhotoPass card with an ID number on the back. Hang onto that card and use it for the duration of your trip.


        Each time you see one of the roving photographers and want a photo taken, just go up and hand them your card - they'll get you situated, snap the pose, scan your card and off you go - and you can do this as often as you like.


        Be sure to read our Information and Tips page:
        http://allears.net/tp/ppass.htm


  • Author
    • mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 135
      Review Date: Sun June 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Magic Shots, Videos and an Abundance of Photos
      Cons: Lacking Photographers

       
      I have used Memory Maker twice now. Last March (2014), my husband and I used it. There were photographers everywhere, and we had over 300 photos for a 6 night, 7 day trip, The quality of the pictures was very good, and we had a lot of magic shots.


      We used it again this past June with our 15 year old, twin daughters, for our 5 night, 6 day trip. We had just over 200 pictures. I found there were less photographers in the parks. We had to ask for the magic shots, and the quality of photos wasn't nearly as good.


      We asked for an Olaf magic shot in Epcot before we went over the bridge into Canada. The photographer said sure and had us pose. When we looked at the pictures a few days later, Olaf wasn't in the shots...


      The photographer in Germany was excellent. I wish I would have gotten his name. Same with the photographer behind Spaceship Earth by the fountain. He was excellent! These were our best pictures by far.


      There really should be a few photopass photographers during the character meals. I feel they would be especially useful here.


      I don't know that I would purchase MM again. I felt the $159 price tag just wasn't worth it this time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vkreed

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon May 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): generally good pictures
      Cons: not enough photographers

       
      This is our second year using Memory Maker, and all in all, it's a great service. We thoroughly enjoy not having to worry about getting great shots ourselves. But this year, we had a few complaints:


      - We had trouble finding photographers; they just didn't seem to be around very much, and certainly not at many of the common places we've seen in past years. Last year, there were at least 2 or 3 right there when you entered the Magic Kingdom and they seemed to be there all day long; we got lots of shots on different days. This year, we only saw 1 one time, and none at all after dark.


      - Many of the photographers were not overly friendly; very few of them really went out of their way to create a fun experience. They seemed to be just out there doing a job they were getting paid to do, which is very unlike Disney.


      - On several different occasions we observed larger families with kids were getting many more shots and poses, including magic shots, than just myself and my husband were getting. I had to point blank ask one time if we too could get a magic shot, and the girl rather grudgingly did one and then asked to scan our bands meaning she was done with us. The family with 2 kids in front of us got four magic shots, and numerous poses. It really angered us because we paid our money too for this service, and several times we got a much shorter session than others did.


      - I just finished downloading our pics, and while many of them are really good, I'm also a little disappointed to see that a lot of them are close-ups in a manner that you can't see the background at all - some of them I have no idea where they were taken! But on the upside, they've added some new features such as video clips.


      Memory Maker was a great experience last year, but I'm not quite as impressed this year. I recommend it if you've never done itbefore and want some good pics, but I rather doubt we will do it again in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Thu April 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Some nice pictures and border/sticker options
      Cons: Missing photos, no magic shots or videos

       
      If you're going with a large group, I feel this is a better value when the cost can be split up. No way did my friend and I take enough photos to justify the $170 price on our own. We did get photos from almost all the rides that offer them (did not ride the Mine Train this trip) and those were a nice thing to have. We did get some beautiful shots on Main Street at night.


      I was disappointed that as two adults, we were not offered any "magic" shots, or the magic videos that I see other people getting. They also lost one of my sets of photos with the Anna & Elsa topiaries at the Flower & Garden Festivals. I would not be so upset if it was one of the other more common pictures that I have many, many copies from over the years, but this was new, unique one. Filled out the lost photo form but they could not find it for me.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyDucksNoVa

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed April 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Getting everyone in the shot; easily linked by Magic Band
      Cons: Inexperienced photographers; one price regardless the length of visit

       
      We bought the Memory Maker package for our trip the first week of March 2015. It was our first trip bringing our 1 year old daughter and we wanted an easy way to get all three of us in the shot. Based on prior reviews about missing photos, I looked at the Photo Pass site each evening or next morning during the trip to make sure we had all the photos, but we didn't have any missing. Hopefully the newer Magic Bands are solving that issue.


      The downloaded images are larger resolutions so they are suitable for larger prints. I have a large format inkjet printer (up to 11 x 17) so I'm able to print 11 x 14 pictures and the image is still very sharp. Downloading with the package also allows for us to use the photos however we want to as long as personal use so we are not restricted to only viewing on their website or buying their prints for the limited time.


      From looking at our photos, we could tell there were some photographers that were experienced, but I believe many are not very experienced. They are using fairly expensive DSLR cameras, but many photos just seem to have been taken on full auto mode, which produced similar quality photos as our smartphones that we handed to the photographer. However, some photographers took very good pictures that were much better than what a smartphone or a point-and-shoot camera could do and the photos are good enough for hanging in our house as a larger print. We were able to get good quality photos without lugging around our DSLR all through the parks all the time.


      The package price only comes two ways: regular price and advanced purchase discount. The package is then good for 14 consecutive days, but we were at the resorts for only 5 days. It would be nice if they had a less expensive one week option. With the current pricing, the longer you stay the more value you get. I would get this product again, but only if we are staying at least a full week.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Sun December 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      While I didn't get as many photos taken on this trip as in the past, I was still pleased. There were photographers all over the place in Epcot and Magic Kingdom. We only got one photo at Hollywood Studios. All the locations at the Osborne Lights had very long lines, and they don't have a photographer out by the tree in the entrance plaza during EMH.


      Only one magic shot was done for us, but we also didn't ask for any. At MVMCP, one of the photos on Main Street had a special border that made it look like we were in a snow globe, which was very cool and unexpected. Our photo from Hoop dee Doo is cute. We did Test Track and the Mine Train, but no other rides with photos. I think the quality of the mine train photos could be better; the camera seems to be placed in a weird spot and many photos I've seen are blurry or sun streaked.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ronniedawg01

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri November 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice Photographers
      Cons: They lose pictures

       
      Well, I posted a review for Photopass from our December 2013 trip saying I would never again use this service. For our October trip, I went against my judgement and purchased it once more. Three separate times, I have emailed their help center to seek out photos. This is unacceptable. To ask for $150.00 and then lose at least 10 photos, is ridiculous. Today, I am certain . . . I will never use this service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Many opportunities for photos, RFID readers on rides
      Cons: Lack of borders, slow website

       
      This was my first time using Memory Maker. I was pleased at the abundant number of photographers I saw throughout the theme parks and water parks. Nearly every character I met (and that was a lot of characters!) had a photographer with them. I encountered some new magic shots, such as one with Chip the tea cup, that I absolutely adored.


      The long range RFID readers are great on the rides. I never had to stop at a photo counter as all the photos (except one) showed up automatically. I think the new on ride video for Tower of Terror is cute but not as cool as it was hyped up to be.


      It seems there are fewer options for borders on the website than in the past. The website is also notoriously slow, particularly when there are many pictures in the account. This has always been a problem, even on the old Photopass site, but there has to be a way to improve it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): MagicBand compatible, good photographers
      Cons: Horrid website

       
      I was very happy to find out that even if you didn't spend the money for Memory Maker, your Magic Band can still be used to link Photopass pictures to your account. This made it very easy for everyone in my party to get photos taken throughout the park and have them in one place. We got some very nice pictures at the Main Entrance of Epcot, and my friends also got some on the bridge near France and at the Character Spot. While we may only pay to download one, it's nice to be able to screenshot all of them, though this obviously doesn't result in a very high quality.


      The website gets horrible marks in my opinion. I thought the old website was bad but the new version is even worse. It's slow and temperamental-I've been trying to share pictures with my friends who are IN the pictures for two days and I can't get it to cooperate!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everyone can be in the pictures, easy to replace
      Cons: Lack of Magic Shots

       
      I love Photopass. I have had luck with cameras at Disney. I lost 3 of them (only getting 1 back) and had one memory card break. I do all my character photos with Photopass now so I don't use anything irreplaceable.


      Photpass photographers are everywhere at Disney. Simply walk up to one, pose with the character, icon, of whatever, they take the picture, scan your magic band or card and you see the pictures online later.


      With Photopass everyone can be in the picture and you can add cool borders later on.


      The downside is to get your pictures you have to buy the CD. Also you used to get something special in some photos like Tinker bell in your hand or Stitch popping out of the ground but in all the years I've been going to Disney and using Photopass I've only had one "Magic Shot" Maybe it's something you have to request. If so kinda takes the fun out of seeing if anything random was added.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dandnmom

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Cincinnati OH
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon January 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): captures a lot of pictures- esp valuable if you lose your personal ones
      Cons: failure of photographers to seek out "special" photo opportunities

       
      Never thought I'd be saying this.... but... Photopass is my source of memories from vacation b/c my camera was stolen the evening we got home (Ohio) - lost all the pictures except a few I took on my camera to text back home to grma and grpa! What a relief - the pictures are irreplacable so thank goodness for the ones I did get thru Photopass....!! Between the disc I got from Disney of standard issue shots and this program, I can salvage some semblance of vacation pictures -priceless.


      I do wish the photographers did more candids as well as sought to offer "special" pictures (where one can photoshop in Tinkerbell, Stitch, etc.).


      Also- found some photographers to be super friendly and helpful and some a bit less so but that's to be expected - different personalities, different photo opportunities. (PS: Anyone offered a Nikon D40 SLR - battery but no charger; blue and black camera bag- might be mine!! Sigh)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ronniedawg01

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri December 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice Photographers, Nice Pictures
      Cons: Receiving the CD and their customer service

       
      We purchased PhotoPass Plus for our granddaughter's first trip. Although the photographers were very pleasant and professional, the customer service end of this process was severely lacking. I placed my order for the CD that I had already paid for and a storybook that I spent literally 48+ hrs. making for my granddaughter's Christmas gift. I also checked 4 day shipping, which would have given me just enough time to receive the CD and book. The book was mailed one day AFTER the CD. The book arrived well within the 4 day window; the CD which was mailed one day earlier, again using the same 4 day shipping method, has yet to arrive. It is now 10 days after I received notice the CD was mailed, and still have not received it. Christmas has come and gone and still no pictures. In addition, I also noticed that several pictures were missing, so I emailed and called. They found all but one. It has never been found. I have pleaded with them to send me another CD and to mail it with tracking information. They do NOT answer my emails. Totally unacceptable and unprofessional. Never Again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinyallison

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everyone in the photo
      Cons: Price to buy all the photos

       
      We didn't take advantage of photo pass the first few days we were there. Then as the trip started to end we rushed to get pictures in front of all the park entrances. We meet a photographer at the entrance of Epcot and he had us doing fun poses. Then later in the day we meet him again at another location in the park and we had even more fun! All of the photographers we meet were great and our smiles were never faked.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ohiost13

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Whole family in picture
      Cons: Ordering 14 days in advance

       
      We ordered photo pass and overall were pleased. We really wanted photo pass "plus" and wanted to order it before our trip, but because it was within 14 days of travel, we couldn't get the discount. This was unfair. We really wanted the extra attraction photos for the rides, Tusker House, 1900 Park Faire, Chef Mickey's, Hoop Dee Doo, etc. those pictures individually are $33.00. It also would've included some of the ride photos. They offer a separate attractions pass, but no one could help us with that. It seemed no one knew where to purchase it or how.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      speedybb

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: Bolingbrook, IL
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue November 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All of us are in the pictures
      Cons: A bit big brother see review

       
      I really like the PP system. Now the kids are out of the house my wife and I take a trip every year without them and it is nice that we can both be in the pictures Smile


      I was shocked when I was in the parks the other day, and had gone on some rides that take pictures. We chose not to purchase the pics and never talked to anyone about them.


      When we got back to the hotel I looked at the site and the pictures we were in were there!! Apparently it knows by the magic bands who you are... VERY COOL!!!


      (My wife thinks its big brother watching hence the con!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cs1236

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun October 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Freedom
      Cons:

       
      Ordered photo pass 3 weeks before my trip and Disney mailed me a kit. When we arrived, we took it to MK photo shop got our photo pass plus. This is a great product. I did not want to carry a large camera around I already have my iPhone for photos. We had over 400 photos taken at all the parks, Chef mickey, rides and the boutique . I'm able to share them online via email and Facebook. Added borders and stickers with dates on photos I wanted to. It's nice I own those photos and they all look very professional. The only thing I think needs work is adding those special magic moments to photos. A few did them but they are all Tinker Bell.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.