Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • fireman

      Registered: July 2013
      Location: KY
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon November 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of room
      Cons: Resort spread out

      This resort is beautiful but very large! We did not rent golf cart because it was a whooping $70 a day. We finally figured out bus system and that was easy to use. Loved being able to ride boat to Magic Kingdom. I was disappointed in lack of food choices at dining area. The sit down resturant is really your only choice if you don't bring your own food. They do have a order form to order groceries and the price was very reasonable. I recommend this for parties of 6. We stayed comfortably in cabin. Pools and laundry are quite spread out too.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun October 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cabin had everything, full kitchen, deck picnic area and parking right outside your door.
      Cons: Resort is so large, need to use internal bus to get anywhere.

      I truly enjoyed our 2 night stay in the cabins. Was very helpful to come home the first night and cook our daughter her pasta dinner and not feed her typical chicken nuggets. Cabin was very large so that we were never cramping each other. You need to use both the internal bus system to get around the park and the bus system to get to the parks, traveling by car takes you a little bit out of the way. Would highly recommend this resort for families to stay at.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri July 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, peaceful, family activities
      Cons: Transportation could be confusing

      Stayed last full week June 2015.

      We LOVED our Cabin!

      We had visited Fort Wilderness before but had not actually stayed.

      Our cabin was very nice. Looked exactly like the pics. We were very happy with the cleanliness but the cabin does show it's age a bit. We thought it was very cozy. We let the kids have the bedroom while DW and I slept on the Murphy bed. Plenty of room and it was awesome having a full kitchen. The best part was having our car parked 15 feet from our front door.

      Fort Wilderness is not the usual Disney resort but it is so nice and there is so much to do. Our family enjoyed the campfire and the campground pool. Very convenient to be on property for Hoop Dee Doo and Mickey's Backyard BBQ which we all loved.

      The staff is so friendly. DW and I kept remarking that we couldn't believe how peaceful the resort is. Our kids wanted to stay another day or two to take advantage of all the other stuff the resort has to offer: archery, watercraft, horse rides. We will probably have to do that next time....

      The resort transportation is a bit complicated. I did my research but it took a couple of days to get it down. We never waited for a bus for more than 5-10 minutes. The boat over to MK was a very nice ride. It would have been a nice treat to have a golf cart but we really didn't feel the need to have one. We were in the 2100 loop which was just a short walk from the Meadows but the other cabin loops are far away from everything...
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: Levittown, NY
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu May 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Stayed 5/12 - 5/18/2015 Private, Quiet, Kitchen
      Cons: Meadows snack bar

      Have been visiting Disney World since 1978 - too many times to remember. Have always liked the campgrounds but never stayed. Had a very nice annual passholder rate and took advantage. LOVED the cabin. It's private - no children running the halls, no toilets flushing in the next room. I have a small home so I found it spacious for a vacation. Kitchen was great for breakfast and sometimes sandwiches. Snacks at night of coarse. My husband and I found the Murphy bed comfortable and big enough even though it is not a queen size. Bed in the bedroom was up against the wall on 1side so I did not enjoy that but kids would probably be fine. PLENTY of towels for shower & pool were supplied. We stayed in the 2500 loop right across the street from the wilderness pool so we walked to pool & laundry(which was very clean & air conditioned). We rented a golf cart to get around and I would suggest that as the campgrounds are quite large.
      We did not enjoy the campfire & marsh mellow toasting as we are middle aged and it seemed like a free for all.
      The only real negative is the food at the Meadows snack bar. It was terrible. We have stayed at all levels of Disney resorts and this was my favorite(so quiet and peaceful after the parks). Can't wait to stay in a cabin again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2005
      Posts: 553
      Review Date: Sat February 7, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): spacious
      Cons: bugs

      (Posted to wrong category short2cake ) Let me start by saying I've always loved staying in the cabins on our trips. This time however, we checked in on 1/16/15 and kept finding bugs crawling around, which is to be expected out in the woods so I didn't think much of it. However, we kept finding them and killing them and they kept running, especially when we turned the lights on. We called the front desk around 6am and they said they'd have someone come out and they'd call us and let us know what was going on. We had probably killed about 5 so far (in under 2 days) and another 3-4 or so got away. Anyway, they never called. We called about 8pm from Hollywood Studios and they pretty much couldn't tell us anything except someone had been out there. So we got back to the cabin about 9:30pm and they were scurrying around all. We ended up going to the lobby and telling them they needed to move us, there was no way I was staying there for 10 days! They said they didn't have anything open but did agree to put us up at another resort-Port Orleans Riverside (cute but definitely not enough room for all of us!). They got us a new cabin the next morning but that one didn't have any hot water and after 3 calls about that, they gave us the key to the cabin next door to take showers and sent someone out to fix ours. And did I mention the flying bugs in this cabin? It was a critter filled vacation! They ended up refunding us 2 nights stay and we got extra/special fastpasses which were actually kind of cool. Anyway, like I said, we've always stayed at the cabins and I was really disappointed that this one was so infested with bugs. I don't understand how that went unnoticed like that. I don't know if I'll stay there again...I'm so creeped out by the whole experience. Sad
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed January 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy access to car, quiet atmosphere, friendly neighbors
      Cons: Learning curve on transportation needed

      Posted by bmdisney

      Family of 6 stayed in the 2200 cabin loop Dec 7-14. This was our 4th stay in a cabin. We drive and with the parking pad right next to the cabin and a parking pass included in reservations, we already drive to Epcot, HS, and AK. Each drive takes 10 mins or less and the signs to each park are easy to follow. The resort boat to MK is very convenient. Two mornings we left our cabin and walked through MK gate within 25 minutes. We love Fort Wilderness. It is right in the middle of everything while also feeling secluded and quiet at the same time. If you like retreating from the parks to a quiet place with plenty of your own space, I would certainly consider the fort. Cabins have 2 televisions. A separate bedroom that includes bunk beds and a double (sleeps 4) allows children to go to bed while parents stay up. A pull down Murphy bed is in the living room. There is also a full kitchen. We love the cabins and will return.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 118
      Review Date: Mon January 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): roomy, full kitchen, living room/dining room area
      Cons: double beds instead of queen

      My family of 6 stayed here in November. My kids really like it. They prefer it to All-Star Music and after seeing pics of very tacky decor at the new Art of Animation they all wanted to return here. They love the wilderness theme. It was our 4th trip to the cabins. We like the home away from home feel and no need to worry about my loud boys bothering others. My adult daughter went on a trail ride, we walked to the small cabin pool, and ate at Trails End one night.It really is a whole other vacation on top of the parks. Mousekeeping was great and the manager was super helpful in fixing a problem we had with the dining plan at Akershus.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Berkeley Heights NJ
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri December 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Comfortable, roomy, kitchen is nice for breakfast
      Cons: Really need a golf cart to get around, not enough counter service

      Stayed in a cabin 12/11 to 14. The cabins are great, lots of room, nice kitchen and bath. All the beds were comfortable, mousekeeping was great. Cabin was ready when we arrived. We had asked for extra towels which was uncessary because the bathroom cabinets are full of towels, it took a day to get extra blankets and to figure out the thermostat. Cooking breakfast made getting out in the morning quick, however if you have a favorite utensil, like a silicone spatula (can't scramble eggs without it), bring it, and an extra frying pan. The bathtub is set high on the floor, it is over 3 feet down when you step out of the tub.
      I expected the cabins to be inconvenient because of how the resort is set up, but with the golf cart it is just as easy to get around as it is in a larger resort like the Animal Kingdom Lodge. I like the boats to the Magic Kingdom better than the buses.
      All in all I would reccomend a cabin at the Wilderness Resorts Campground, especially to familes, and especially during the holidays when a lot a folks go above and beyond decorating their cabins, RV's and campsites.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Fishers, IN
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Thu July 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, roomy, nice having a kitchen even though we didn't use it
      Cons: toilet acted up, no sidewalks around the loops

      We stayed in a cabin for two nights (6/4/14 and 6/5/14) and really enjoyed it. Having stayed at various other Disney resorts in different categories it felt very weird being in the cabin since all the other resorts for the most part have the same layout just different sizes.

      We were a party of 3 adults and one 3 year old so DH took the double bed in the bedroom, I took the top bunk and DS took the bottom bunk. My DMIL took the murphy bed. The murphy bed might have been comfortable for 2 adults but there is no way the double bed would have been comfortable with 2 adults (cabins are listed as sleeping 6).

      We tried to take advantage of what this resort had to offer so DS took his 1st pony ride at Tri Circle-D ($5) and visited with the Magic Kingdom horses and Dragon Calliope in the stables. We attend Chip 'n Dale's Campfire sing-along and would have stayed for the movie but it was one we didn't care for. We watched Wishes from the beach and caught the Electrical Water Pageant from a boat coming from the MK back to the Fort.

      The Fort is a really nice resort and it does feel like you are in the middle of nowhere.

      Our only complaint was there are no sidewalks for the cabin loops so if you use the bus system and it is late at night you have to walk in the street area to get back to your cabin. Traffic is kept down to a minimum but it was pretty dark in the loops. It also would have been nice to have a playground area near each loop instead of having to go all the way to Pioneer Hall.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: ROCHESTER, NY
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri July 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): relaxing quiet
      Cons: a large resort

      June 28th to July 9th, positive: room to relax inside and on your own patio with picnic table, your own grill to cook outside, fully stocked kitchen appliances, separate bedroom. Quiet at night, sit out on your porch and you are on a second vacation away from Disney crowds. In the morning have a quiet relaxing cup of coffee or breakfast out on your porch. Bus came every 20 minutes, cold, comfortable, very helpful drivers, and resort staff. If you drive stop at Winn Dixie only ten minutes away, if you fly order from gardengrocer.com both excellent. If able adults walk, if small kids, disabled adults get the golf cart.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 118
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cozy, full kitchen, great place to relax and unwind
      Cons: need to take bus to main pool, food, dock, etc

      This is the 3rd time we stayed at the cabins. My party of 6 stayed 5 nights with the free dining plan in the fall. This is one of the more budget friendly resorts for a party our size. The family suites or 2 rooms at a value resort are the only cheaper options. We like the regular dining plan so this was our choice for this vacation.

      We really needed a slow pace relax and yet have Disney fun trip and this really fit the bill! We like the theme and the fact it has a living dining room with kitchen is nice.

      On the down side, we were not in a loop by the cabin pool so we never made it to the pool. My 13 yr old just fits in the bunk bed so this may be our last trip for awhile here. Housekeeping missed us one day. And since I'm familiar with the layout of this resort, we brought some food . Then purchased perishables at the Trading post to make the fact that there is no cs here easier to deal with. It is difficult to have the dining plan while staying here. We made sure that most days we got our cs meal while at the park we were at for that day. Other days we went to Downtown Disney for our cs.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Peace

      We have stayed at the cabins 2 times. Both times it was 4 Adults (me, hubby, grown son & daughter). We have visited Ft. Wilderness in both the Fall (September 2006) and the prime-time summer (June 2009). We'll be back for a third visit in a couple months with 5 adults (we added a son-in-law).

      We LOVE the cabins. The peace and quiet, the space, the boats to the Magic Kingdom, the Trading Post...everything. The waits for the campground buses never seem very long--although there was one night trying to get home from Epcot in June during a storm that was NOT fun, we contemplated hiring a cab, but the bus showed up, filled up, and got us back to the camp ground.

      Having 2 separate living spaces gives hubby and I space away from "the kids" and lets them stay up late if they want. I'm the early bird of the crowd so I can make my coffee and sit on the deck and enjoy the quiet mornings without waking everyone else up or changing out of my pjs.

      Like all Disney resorts, your park purchases can be delivered to the resort. At the camp ground you have to go to the Trading Post to pick your packages up...but we love visiting the Trading Post. Usually, my husband drives us to the trading post and waits in the car while my daughter and I pick up our packages. Parking is limited and they don't encourage you to drive around the resort.

      We have never had a problem with mousekeeping, check in has always been a breeze, and, although it would be fun, I have never thought I HAD to have a golf cart.

      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Fri July 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): full kitchen, away from everything, close parking to cabin
      Cons: busses within campground, too far from parks, no CS

      We stayed in the cabins over Memorial Day weekend. We go to Disney multiple times per year and usually our family of 6 stays in 2 values, but we decided to splurge. Even with military discount the cabin was $250 per night.

      Loved it when we got there. So nice to have parking right at your cabin and not have to lug bags so far to our room. Kids loved the bunks. HOWEVER, the Murphy bed in living room was not comfortable. We would put 4 kids to bed in bedroom and then transfer them to Murphy bed when we were ready to go to sleep. We missed having 4 beds in values.

      We went to Chip and Dale campfire our first night and that was fun, and also went to pool another night. Had to take Ft Wilderness bus to pool. Didn't realize we were supposed to take our own towels (maybe because we don't ever go to the pool when at Disney?) so we ended up having to buy $75 worth of towels at the gift shop to avoid going all the way back to our cabin.

      Bus transportation inside Ft Wilderness was TERRIBLE. on two different occasions we waited for the bus at the pool/camfire area for over 30 mins before just walking back to our cabin. We didn't have a golf cart but there is no way I would ever stay here without one again. Golf cart is a necessity not a luxury here.

      Even going to the parks is a hassle with our own car because Ft WIlderness is so far removed. Took 10-15 mins just to get to TTC. We took Disney transportation one day to MK (bus and then boat to MK), but we were there for SWW so it made more sense for us to drive to parks.

      We liked the full kitchen but didn't use it other than for breakfast (and we can do that in a regular room). I liked having coffee maker, but missed being able to walk to counter service and get something else for breakfast. We didn't realize that there was no counter service AT ALL here. Went to Trail's End one night (after waiting a long time for bus) hoping to grab a quick bite and ended up with a 45 minute wait for TS. Eating at 8:30 with 3 kids and toddler....you get the picture. Food was fine, but our kids were so crabby at that point that we didn't enjoy it at all.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Privacy, full kitchen, roomy, golf cart
      Cons: housekeeping

      Three adults and two children had plenty of room for sleeping, eating, and just relaxing. Cooking was important and kitchen was well equipped. We had a few housekeeping problems, but all it took was a call to the front desk and the magic quickly returned.
      This was the second visit to cabins and we do enjoy this resort. It was necessary for us to have a golf cart and we enjoyed it, would not stay without one. We stayed in a handicap cabin with a roll in shower. The cabin bed was lower and easier to enter. There was enough room to move about in the cabin and access was easy. Family teenager kept the free wi-fi plugged in at all times. Family four year old had room to run and plenty of lizards to chase. Saw deer, opossum, rabbits, and many lizards.
      Bus and boat service to parks was quick and pleasant. Did not ride internal bus system, we prefered a golf cart. Yes, they can be costly, but they make life so much easier, and isn't that what we all want at DISNEY?
      We enjoyed swimming in pool close to cabin, and kids liked the outside movie. There is a great variety of activities to enjoy, and they make for a pleasant respite from crowds in the parks.
      We all enjoyed the quiet, and the beauty of the resort. We plan to stay again and again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: Toledo, OH
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu May 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet relaxing place to stay. Plenty of room for a family of six.
      Cons: We feel Disney transportation treats the campground like the "ugly stepsister" with fewer buses then to other resorts.

      This was our fourth stay in a cabin at Fort Wilderness since 2007. We stayed nine nights in April. We love the cabins and the awesome feel of the campground. We highly recommend splurging on a golf cart which gives you much more flexibility.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.