Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • annat856

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 116
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cozy, full kitchen, great place to relax and unwind
      Cons: need to take bus to main pool, food, dock, etc

       
      This is the 3rd time we stayed at the cabins. My party of 6 stayed 5 nights with the free dining plan in the fall. This is one of the more budget friendly resorts for a party our size. The family suites or 2 rooms at a value resort are the only cheaper options. We like the regular dining plan so this was our choice for this vacation.


      We really needed a slow pace relax and yet have Disney fun trip and this really fit the bill! We like the theme and the fact it has a living dining room with kitchen is nice.


      On the down side, we were not in a loop by the cabin pool so we never made it to the pool. My 13 yr old just fits in the bunk bed so this may be our last trip for awhile here. Housekeeping missed us one day. And since I'm familiar with the layout of this resort, we brought some food . Then purchased perishables at the Trading post to make the fact that there is no cs here easier to deal with. It is difficult to have the dining plan while staying here. We made sure that most days we got our cs meal while at the park we were at for that day. Other days we went to Downtown Disney for our cs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      difry

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Peace
      Cons:

       
      We have stayed at the cabins 2 times. Both times it was 4 Adults (me, hubby, grown son & daughter). We have visited Ft. Wilderness in both the Fall (September 2006) and the prime-time summer (June 2009). We'll be back for a third visit in a couple months with 5 adults (we added a son-in-law).


      We LOVE the cabins. The peace and quiet, the space, the boats to the Magic Kingdom, the Trading Post...everything. The waits for the campground buses never seem very long--although there was one night trying to get home from Epcot in June during a storm that was NOT fun, we contemplated hiring a cab, but the bus showed up, filled up, and got us back to the camp ground.


      Having 2 separate living spaces gives hubby and I space away from "the kids" and lets them stay up late if they want. I'm the early bird of the crowd so I can make my coffee and sit on the deck and enjoy the quiet mornings without waking everyone else up or changing out of my pjs.


      Like all Disney resorts, your park purchases can be delivered to the resort. At the camp ground you have to go to the Trading Post to pick your packages up...but we love visiting the Trading Post. Usually, my husband drives us to the trading post and waits in the car while my daughter and I pick up our packages. Parking is limited and they don't encourage you to drive around the resort.


      We have never had a problem with mousekeeping, check in has always been a breeze, and, although it would be fun, I have never thought I HAD to have a golf cart.


      TL:DR WE LOVE THE CABINS : )
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Fri July 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): full kitchen, away from everything, close parking to cabin
      Cons: busses within campground, too far from parks, no CS

       
      We stayed in the cabins over Memorial Day weekend. We go to Disney multiple times per year and usually our family of 6 stays in 2 values, but we decided to splurge. Even with military discount the cabin was $250 per night.


      Loved it when we got there. So nice to have parking right at your cabin and not have to lug bags so far to our room. Kids loved the bunks. HOWEVER, the Murphy bed in living room was not comfortable. We would put 4 kids to bed in bedroom and then transfer them to Murphy bed when we were ready to go to sleep. We missed having 4 beds in values.


      We went to Chip and Dale campfire our first night and that was fun, and also went to pool another night. Had to take Ft Wilderness bus to pool. Didn't realize we were supposed to take our own towels (maybe because we don't ever go to the pool when at Disney?) so we ended up having to buy $75 worth of towels at the gift shop to avoid going all the way back to our cabin.


      Bus transportation inside Ft Wilderness was TERRIBLE. on two different occasions we waited for the bus at the pool/camfire area for over 30 mins before just walking back to our cabin. We didn't have a golf cart but there is no way I would ever stay here without one again. Golf cart is a necessity not a luxury here.


      Even going to the parks is a hassle with our own car because Ft WIlderness is so far removed. Took 10-15 mins just to get to TTC. We took Disney transportation one day to MK (bus and then boat to MK), but we were there for SWW so it made more sense for us to drive to parks.


      We liked the full kitchen but didn't use it other than for breakfast (and we can do that in a regular room). I liked having coffee maker, but missed being able to walk to counter service and get something else for breakfast. We didn't realize that there was no counter service AT ALL here. Went to Trail's End one night (after waiting a long time for bus) hoping to grab a quick bite and ended up with a 45 minute wait for TS. Eating at 8:30 with 3 kids and toddler....you get the picture. Food was fine, but our kids were so crabby at that point that we didn't enjoy it at all.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ellebell

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Privacy, full kitchen, roomy, golf cart
      Cons: housekeeping

       
      Three adults and two children had plenty of room for sleeping, eating, and just relaxing. Cooking was important and kitchen was well equipped. We had a few housekeeping problems, but all it took was a call to the front desk and the magic quickly returned.
      This was the second visit to cabins and we do enjoy this resort. It was necessary for us to have a golf cart and we enjoyed it, would not stay without one. We stayed in a handicap cabin with a roll in shower. The cabin bed was lower and easier to enter. There was enough room to move about in the cabin and access was easy. Family teenager kept the free wi-fi plugged in at all times. Family four year old had room to run and plenty of lizards to chase. Saw deer, opossum, rabbits, and many lizards.
      Bus and boat service to parks was quick and pleasant. Did not ride internal bus system, we prefered a golf cart. Yes, they can be costly, but they make life so much easier, and isn't that what we all want at DISNEY?
      We enjoyed swimming in pool close to cabin, and kids liked the outside movie. There is a great variety of activities to enjoy, and they make for a pleasant respite from crowds in the parks.
      We all enjoyed the quiet, and the beauty of the resort. We plan to stay again and again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      valerieb

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: Toledo, OH
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu May 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet relaxing place to stay. Plenty of room for a family of six.
      Cons: We feel Disney transportation treats the campground like the "ugly stepsister" with fewer buses then to other resorts.

       
      This was our fourth stay in a cabin at Fort Wilderness since 2007. We stayed nine nights in April. We love the cabins and the awesome feel of the campground. We highly recommend splurging on a golf cart which gives you much more flexibility.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tiffany62590

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Florida
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat March 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Plenty of space, privacy, full kitchen, housekeeping, plenty of fun things to do in Ft Wilderness
      Cons: Navigating the resort can be confusing

       
      My family has stayed at Ft. Wilderness more times than I can count, and plan to go again in a few months (May 2013). It is our #1 favorite place in Disney to stay as there are 5 adults in our family (parents, adult daughter (myself) and two teenage sons). If we stay at any of the other resorts we either need two rooms or somebody ends up sleeping on the sleeper sofa - and even Disney sleeper sofas leave something to be desired.


      Here is an overview of the cabins:


      The Basics: The cabins are PERFECT for groups of adults - 6 adults could easily and comfortably stay in a single cabin. They are one of the largest accommodation you'll find in Disney at this cost, each with:
      -Full Kitchen: a full size fridge, small sink, stove, coffee pot and all the dishes and utensils a group of 6 would need as well as dish soap, paper towels and coffee filters. There is also a table that comfortably seats 6.
      -Living area: couch, cupboards, TV with DVD player, footstool/coffee table, small table with two small chairs (to me, this looks like an side table with two children's chairs - two little children could use it to eat at though it's not much use for adults)and a Murphy bed that sleeps two can be pulled down.
      -Bedroom: with a queen bed and bunk beds, as well as a vanity. The bedroom is down a little hall and has a door for privacy.
      -Bathroom: large and comfortable, stocked with soap and shampoo
      -Deck: a private wooden deck on each cabin that has a picnic table and grill for the guest's use. A very pleasant place to have an early morning breakfast before heading to the parks!
      -Household supplies: like I said before, the cabins are fully equipped with soap, paper towels, extra blankets and pillows, ironing board, TV and DVD player, etc. All you really need are your clothes, toothpaste/toothbrush and groceries.


      Housekeeping and cleanliness: while you're out at the parks, housekeeping will come and clean and do any dishes you have left, leaving a sparkling clean cabin ready for you to make dinner or watch a movie. Our housekeepers have also always left cute towel animals behind, for that extra touch of Disney magic. It's great to be able to come back and have all the dishes done so you can grill dinner right away. The cabins themselves are in very good condition and always very clean. They are up kept very well.


      Privacy: This is probably one of the most private places you can stay in Disney World. The cabins are close, yes, but not as close as most of the camping spots and not nearly as close as you'd be to the other guests staying in a regular hotel. There are trees all around which give it a woodsy-secluded feel and though we've stayed there multiple times it never feels busy or crowded around the cabins. Usually you'll see a few people going about their business but it's quite peaceful. We've never heard our neighbors from inside our cabin - in fact, it's so quite at night we often use a white noise maker because we aren't used to it!


      The surrounding area: Ft. Wilderness in itself is a great place to stay as there are tons of things to do, plus many great free things families can enjoy such as the walking and bike trails, basketball courts, swimming pools, playgrounds, Movies Under the Stars, a dog park, easy viewing of the Electrical Water Pageant from the beach and a campfire sing along with Chip and Dale! Not to mention the arcades, restaurants, two stores (stocked with groceries and other supplies you might need), horse rides and canoe rentals for various fees. My family enjoys going to Ft. Wilderness even if we don't go into a park Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cap20rv

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Albany, New York
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun February 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beauty
      Cons: none

       
      Stayed twice this winter and highly recommend this RV park. We had an RV not a cabin. The sites roomy, clean, everything worked. The bathrooms and showers were nicer than my home. Bike trails,hot tubs, tennis and even fishing. You can visit the other resorts and theme parks without starting your car. It can be pricey to stay here but it's worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      princessheather314

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed December 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING!!!!
      Cons: NONE

       
      First off let me say my husband and son LOVE to camp, I on the other hand prefer a hot shower and a bed with no "creepy creatures". This place is AMAZING. We love the grounds. It is a beautiful. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The bus system (once you get it figured out) is really easy and very convenient.


      The first part of our trip we stayed at Port Orleans Riverside and transferred to the cabins when my mom joined us. Riverside LOST our luggage and the staff at Fort Wilderness went out of their way to find it and bring it to us.


      My husband had an early morning fishing excursion (before the buses started running) and they sent a car to pick up my husband and son at our cabin and drove them down to the marina. We did a horse drawn carriage ride and it was awesome. Only drawback to that is you are not allowed to pet the horses and my 5 year old desperately wanted too.


      The boat to Magic Kingdom was quick, easy and NEVER crowded. The buses to the other parks ran quickly and were very accommodating. There is A LOT to do here to get away from the crowds and hassle of the parks. Chip n Dale's sing along was awesome. I can not say enough good things about this place!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue December 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): peace and quiet right in the middle of everything
      Cons: confusing transportation for the uninitiated, limited on site dining

       
      I have stayed in the cabins on 3 vacations. This is a wonderful option as long as you know what you're getting.


      First of all, you may not want to stay here unless you have your own car. The resort covers a lot of space and there is an internal bus system just to get you to the buses to the parks. But if you have your own car, you park right beside your cabin and can drive to any of the parks (parking pass included in reservation). My family left our cabin and walked into Epcot within 10 minutes. You catch a ferry to MK and that never takes long and it drops you off right at the park entrance.


      Secondly, the on-site dining options are very limited and you cannot easily walk to any of them. This is also not a great resort for the refillable mug.


      Those are things to be aware of. Now, let me say what we love about the resort:


      It is quiet and a wonderful change of pace, in my opinion, after a day at the parks. It includes a full kitchen. There is a separate bedroom and 2 TVs so children can have a little of their own space. We enjoy not being on top of each other when we get back to the room.


      We rented a golf cart to get around the resort this time and enjoyed it tremendously. My children love the swimming pool and the pool activities.


      In short - this is a great resort for families who want a little peace and quiet in the midst of a Disney vacation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NOSaintsfan1970

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: NO Louisiana
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun November 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very relaxing atmosphere
      Cons: Buses and beds weren't very comfortable

       
      My wife and stayed at the cabins at Fort Wilderness and we were very impressed on the appearance and the space that the cabin has. The only downfall was the beds weren't comfortable. While you are staying in cabins at Fort Wilderness, if you have any reservations or you have to be at one of the parks at a specific time you have to leave at least an hour ahead of time because you either take a boat or a bus or buses and sometimes they are not always on time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KCKAS

      Registered: April 2008
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Roomy cabin, wildlife
      Cons: Waiting for buses to everything

       
      We are a family of 5 and stayed in the cabins in September 2012. Cabin is clean and spacious. Beds were comfy. Brought cereal and poptarts for breakfasts, bought milk and water there. On free dining plan, so did not cook at all. Air conditioning and tv broke while we there. Needed bus to go everywhere. And I mean everywhere: including pools and food, and to the bustop and boat to the parks. Refillable mugs were a hassle. Quick serve, not open for long blocks of time. Had to bring a take out meal on the bus, including drinks. Buses for everything requires a lot of waiting, on top of the waiting for the transportation to the parks. Saw many deer and an armadillo. It was a lovely area but I do not want this atmosphere for my disney vacation. I prefer this atmosphere for a national park vacation. I would not stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      artgal227

      Registered: June 2009
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue September 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The relaxing atmosphere
      Cons: Beds

       
      The cabins are the best. The only thing that would make them better would be larger and more comfortable beds. Other than that, you can't beat the cabins! We have stayed at Ft. Wilderness since the 70's and love everything they offer, (miss the petting zoo). We have tried other resorts but always come back here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      writergal

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Indiana
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed September 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, private. parking at cabin, transportation to parks
      Cons:

       
      This is our second stay in the cabins, the first being in the late 90s--latest stay the week of 17 Sept, 2012. Our unit was updated and slept 4 adults quite comfortably. We did not have issues with storage or space. Mattress on the murphy bed was comfortable, but could have used a comforter or heavier blanket than provided. Mousekeeping provided plenty of fresh towels daily and did a great job. In 2700 loop--close to quiet pool and bus transportation. Great place to stay for the price! No fighting for a parking spot and screaming kids running down your hallway like at the value (and some moderate...) resorts. Perfect for a party of adults.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JD

      Registered: August 2012
      Location: Las Vegas
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu September 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of space, nature, not a typical hotel feel
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at the cabins from Aug 17-26 and had an amazing time. We had a group of 12 so we got three cabins and had more than enough room. The full kitchen was great. It allowed us to get groceries and have breakfast in the rooms instead of at the parks. The murphy bed in the living room and the bed in the room were very comfortable. The bunk beds are definitely made for kids. An adult can sleep on the bottom bunk but only if they are short in stature. The maid service was great. Every day when we got back from the park the cabins were clean and our maid left towel animals in the room, kitchen, and bathroom which the kids in our party really enjoyed.


      Our biggest worry staying at the cabins was were we going to need a golf cart. Some of the reviews said a cart was necessary but I would say for the price(about $60 per day) a cart is not needed. We were in the 2700 loop and we never felt like we needed one. The bus stop was close to our cabin and the bus service was mostly good. I would say average wait time for a bus was less than 7 minutes. Every day we left our cabins at 8am and we were at the parks with at least 15 minutes to spare before the 9am openings.


      As I mentioned we were in the 2700 loop and it could not have fit us better. The pool was less than a 5 minute walk. And it only took a 5 minute bus ride to get to the marina which is on the other side of the resort.


      The best part of the resort was that it did not feel like you were at a hotel. If you hate the noises of a regular hotel, this is the resort for you. We also loved seeing the nature. Every day we saw no less than 10 deer and more lizard than we could count. For us it was great to get away from the noises and congestion of the parks and hear the silence of nature every night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      billys5764

      Registered: June 2010
      Location: North Carolina
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon August 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was our first stay in the cabins. We usually stay at Wilderness Lodge, but the bunk bed rooms were sold out. We stayed from 7/18-7/21.


      We arrived at 9am and were able to check in quickly and go to our cabin. We unloaded the car and proceeded to the parks. We were in the 2600 loop. We were lucky that our cabin backed up to a bus stop. We could walk behind our cabin (through the woods) and were right at the stop.


      We have two teenagers. Our 16 year old son is 6'2". He didn't fit in the bunk beds. So my wife and I took the bunk beds and gave him the queen bed. Our daughter took the murphey bed in the living room.


      We didn't really use the kitchen other than to keep our groceries for the beach in the fridge.


      One night when we got back to the cabin after midnight, we couldn't get into our cabin. We had to drive to check in and then wait for security to come and let us in. The key reader's battery had died. They had to replace the battery in the lock. We finally got to bed at 2 am.


      I would stay here again, but I do prefer the hotels.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.