Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • matt6816

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue September 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service
      Cons: price for the quality

      I enjoy eating here because of the proximity to MK but the sides with the main meals are lacking.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon August 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food; friendly service
      Cons: Slow

      The food here was delicious. I originally had reservations for the California Grill, but I made an error in planning out my dining plan, and the Cali Grill took 2 meals, which I didn't have budgeted. I was disappointed in having to "downgrade" to the Wave, but it turned out great.
      We were there the first night, so I don't remember everything we ordered, but I do remember it was great. I got a steak for dinner that I loved and was cooked perfectly, and the sides were really really good. The "bacon and eggs" app, which was pork belly with an egg yolk over cheesy grits was incredible. High quality like that you'd get in a high end restaurant.
      This was my favorite sit down dinner while I was in Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Thu April 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Food, Great Service
      Cons: none

      My wife and I ate here on Sunday, April 19, 2015. We did not have any advanced dining reservations, but only had a short 3-4 minute wait when we showed up at 5:30pm. Once seated out server quickly showed up and took our drink orders. When she returned, she offered some great suggestion regarding the menu. My wife got the Tenderloin and I got the Braised Short Rib.

      This meal was easily, and by far, the best one we had on this trip to WDW. The tenderloin was fork tender and my beef rib was supper moist and tender as well. The sides for both dishes were also excellent. We both really enjoyed our food. I’d recommend to anyone as the prices were very reasonable.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri October 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food
      Cons: atmosphere

      The food was good nothing more. There is no real atmosphere there to tell you that you are anywhere of note, could be the corner restaurant in your own neighborhood. Will not revisit unless they do something to peek my interest.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service

      This was a last minute choice, my kids/grandkids wanted a monorail ride! It was a happy one tho. The food was wonderful, fresh and clean and perfectly prepared. Our waiter was precise and helpful with just enough of a joke to keep us smiling but dignified. It was a little difficult to find, I went on vague memories of previous posts.....
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Fort Wayne, IN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed July 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food is amazing, a hidden gem
      Cons: none at all!

      The Wave is amazing. If you are a foodie who values locally grown, organically raised food, this is the restaurant for you. The food is outstanding, with tremendous variety and flavor. Moreover, due to the Wave's odd location - tucked away in the 'basement' of the Contemporary, it was uncrowded while we ate. The restaurant was perhaps half full and quieter than any Disney restaurant I've eaten in for a long time.

      Be sure to try the Wave. You'll be glad you did!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food

      We loved the food! Great gem of a restaurant that shouldn't be missed.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2010
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue January 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): so wonderfully accomodating
      Cons: very limited menu

      The staff here were lifesavers. We had Chef Mickey's reservations for my birthday - we missed them due to bus issues...I was heartbroken, but one of the cooks from Chef Mickey's walked us down and explained the situation to Waves...even during the week after Christmas - they seated us quickly and treated me so well for my big day. They were wonderful! We wouldn't have chosen this restuarant because we tend to pick more 'themey' places...however, this was a lovely surprise. The food was excellent (burgers were GREAT), but there are not a lot of offerings. Everything was FRESH for sure. Lovely server as well!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon November 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Widely varied menu; Great service; knowledgeable staff
      Cons: Very expensive if no on the Disney Dining Plan

      We were not sure of this restaurant when we made our reservations prior to our trip, but we are glad we chose The Wave. It ended up being our favorite restaurant of the week that we were there.

      The menu is very varied with lots of choices that should allow anyone to find something they like. (beef, chicken, seafood, pork, pasta).

      One member of our party has severe allergies to certain foods, (notably peanuts). When the waitress found this out, she went in the back and the Chef came out and talked to the allergic person and told her what meals she could choose off the menu. The Chef even mentioned meals on the menu that he could make special for her without any of her allergic foods/spices. How wonderful! When it was time for dessert, he came back out and talked to her again. She said that it was the best meal of the week because she didn't have to worry about getting sick!

      Our waitress was extremely attentive and very knowledgeable. We never had to wait long for anything. Fantastic Service.

      The only negative to The Wave would be the prices. Luckily we were on the Disney Dining Plan or it would have cost us over $450 for our party of 10. If you are on the Disney Dining Plan, then this restaurant is a steal. It only costs one table service meal on the plan and the quantity and quality of food makes it a great deal.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: So. Carolina
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue August 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fresh food, mango smoothie
      Cons: waitress didn't know about Disney Visa discount

      I had waited years to eat here! We had reservations in 2008, then our trip had to be rescheduled, but we just wound up eating elsewhere on my WDW visits. Until this summer. :-)
      I am happy to report that The Wave did not disappoint!

      I had planned to order either steak, curry, or fish, but it was a hot day (July) and somehow the penne pasta with tomato sauce & chicken just seemed like it would feel "lighter" that day, so I ordered it. The sauce was excellent, full of little tomato chunks. The chicken was tasty, even though it was almost too much for me that day. And the pasta was perfect.

      I also had planned to order the dessert sampler. It looked so good in pictures I had seen! But the mango smoothie sounded SO refreshing, I ordered it with my meal. Unfortunately, that meant I had no room for even a little bit of dessert, so I skipped it.

      My waitress was good, but she didn't know about the Disney Visa discount (breakfast & lunch according to the DV site.) So it took a little longer for her to bring the bill, but she was able to apply the discount, so I'm happy.

      I highly recommend this restaurant for lunch.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Some service issues

      We ate at the Wave twice during our trip (first and last days).

      My family loved the vegetarian curry. I ordered the lamb shank twice; my daughters pork belly, tenderloin, and cassolet was outstanding.

      Loved the wine list, and the Raspberry Rain cocktail was excellent.

      Our service the first time was disappointing. They lost my wife's Tables in Wonderland card and then argued with her about it (one of the servers actually looked for it and found it). Dan was our waiter on trip #2, and he was outstanding.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed May 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and service
      Cons: None

      I had the Grilled Tenderloin meal and it was awesome. The service was great and the staff is knowledgeable about the food and the resort. I always ask what they recommend and it has been the better choice. great food, great service ! I feel it is a great hidden Gem!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2006
      Location: USA
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Mon April 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, desserts, location
      Cons: Service only ok

      We went to the Wave for dinner on Easter Sunday and enjoyed it very much. The restaurant is pretty and we were immediately seated after check-in. The server was quick to come over and take our order, and gave us the bread right away. The bread with the pink sea salt butter is great, especially the multi-grain. My entree, the filet over lobster mash, was delicious and cooked perfectly medium rare. The lobster mash had nice chunks of lobster in it. The dessert, Creamy Indulgence, was also good and it was nice to have a sample of everything. Others who had the fish and steak enjoyed their entrees too. The only complaint was about the service. The server kept putting things down in front of our 1 year old who immediately grabbed everything. That's dangerous when it is knives, hot plates, etc. There was room to put things elsewhere. The service was ok otherwise. Would return if staying at Bay Lake again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat March 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): menu choices, cool lounge
      Cons: so-so service, boring presentation

      We dined at Wave with five adults and four teens. Your experience at Wave likely depends on how much of a "foodie" you are. The menu is enticing and overall the flavors were good, but presentation was inconsistent and a few things fell flat.

      All the entrees at our table were very good, sides more of a problem. The big draw for me was the fresh Florida vegetables, etc. and this is where they really missed it. Everything tasted fine, but the tiny serving of veg was limp and overcooked. I was expecting something bright and fresh...really bummed.

      Several of us had the Char crusted ribeye - the char was well executed - actually kind of surprised show well they got that right! and the ribeye tasty...but cuts were inconsistent. The risotto cake was crunchy - not at all what I expected. My husband's tenderloin and pork belly was delicious and his side (the white bean cassoulet) was the best side of all. My friend ordered the swordfish special and loved it and the seafood pasta was pretty good. They did the wholegrain penne with chicken (instead of the seafood) for my daughter and she liked it - I tasted and thought it pretty average to bland. The rock shrimp cakes were pretty good - nothing exceptional. Really excellent wine selection.

      In summary, the restaurant concept drew us in, no one was disappointed - and we had a great time, but it was nothing new or cutting edge.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Irving, TX
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon February 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the swordfish and black bean chili were great; the room is lovely
      Cons: service was frustrating

      While the room and some of the food were lovely, we felt like our waitress was providing "drive by" service. We would go long stretches without seeing her and had to ask for glasses of water (after receiving our bottle of wine). The pork was ordered medium and came out well done; the beef tenderloin was ordered well done and came out almost inedible - and a steak knife was never provided and I was almost done with the entree before she came by to check on us to see if we needed anything. This was our first visit to the Wave and sadly, we could only think "I miss the Concourse Steakhouse".
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.