Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • cjane65

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun September 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service
      Cons:

       
      This was a last minute choice, my kids/grandkids wanted a monorail ride! It was a happy one tho. The food was wonderful, fresh and clean and perfectly prepared. Our waiter was precise and helpful with just enough of a joke to keep us smiling but dignified. It was a little difficult to find, I went on vague memories of previous posts.....
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Environmentalist

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Fort Wayne, IN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed July 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food is amazing, a hidden gem
      Cons: none at all!

       
      The Wave is amazing. If you are a foodie who values locally grown, organically raised food, this is the restaurant for you. The food is outstanding, with tremendous variety and flavor. Moreover, due to the Wave's odd location - tucked away in the 'basement' of the Contemporary, it was uncrowded while we ate. The restaurant was perhaps half full and quieter than any Disney restaurant I've eaten in for a long time.


      Be sure to try the Wave. You'll be glad you did!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Breeze1979

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons:

       
      We loved the food! Great gem of a restaurant that shouldn't be missed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kretzklan

      Registered: October 2010
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue January 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): so wonderfully accomodating
      Cons: very limited menu

       
      The staff here were lifesavers. We had Chef Mickey's reservations for my birthday - we missed them due to bus issues...I was heartbroken, but one of the cooks from Chef Mickey's walked us down and explained the situation to Waves...even during the week after Christmas - they seated us quickly and treated me so well for my big day. They were wonderful! We wouldn't have chosen this restuarant because we tend to pick more 'themey' places...however, this was a lovely surprise. The food was excellent (burgers were GREAT), but there are not a lot of offerings. Everything was FRESH for sure. Lovely server as well!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon November 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Widely varied menu; Great service; knowledgeable staff
      Cons: Very expensive if no on the Disney Dining Plan

       
      We were not sure of this restaurant when we made our reservations prior to our trip, but we are glad we chose The Wave. It ended up being our favorite restaurant of the week that we were there.


      The menu is very varied with lots of choices that should allow anyone to find something they like. (beef, chicken, seafood, pork, pasta).


      One member of our party has severe allergies to certain foods, (notably peanuts). When the waitress found this out, she went in the back and the Chef came out and talked to the allergic person and told her what meals she could choose off the menu. The Chef even mentioned meals on the menu that he could make special for her without any of her allergic foods/spices. How wonderful! When it was time for dessert, he came back out and talked to her again. She said that it was the best meal of the week because she didn't have to worry about getting sick!


      Our waitress was extremely attentive and very knowledgeable. We never had to wait long for anything. Fantastic Service.


      The only negative to The Wave would be the prices. Luckily we were on the Disney Dining Plan or it would have cost us over $450 for our party of 10. If you are on the Disney Dining Plan, then this restaurant is a steal. It only costs one table service meal on the plan and the quantity and quality of food makes it a great deal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allearsfan

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: So. Carolina
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue August 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fresh food, mango smoothie
      Cons: waitress didn't know about Disney Visa discount

       
      I had waited years to eat here! We had reservations in 2008, then our trip had to be rescheduled, but we just wound up eating elsewhere on my WDW visits. Until this summer. :-)
      I am happy to report that The Wave did not disappoint!


      I had planned to order either steak, curry, or fish, but it was a hot day (July) and somehow the penne pasta with tomato sauce & chicken just seemed like it would feel "lighter" that day, so I ordered it. The sauce was excellent, full of little tomato chunks. The chicken was tasty, even though it was almost too much for me that day. And the pasta was perfect.


      I also had planned to order the dessert sampler. It looked so good in pictures I had seen! But the mango smoothie sounded SO refreshing, I ordered it with my meal. Unfortunately, that meant I had no room for even a little bit of dessert, so I skipped it.


      My waitress was good, but she didn't know about the Disney Visa discount (breakfast & lunch according to the DV site.) So it took a little longer for her to bring the bill, but she was able to apply the discount, so I'm happy.


      I highly recommend this restaurant for lunch.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brumcg

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Some service issues

       
      We ate at the Wave twice during our trip (first and last days).


      My family loved the vegetarian curry. I ordered the lamb shank twice; my daughters pork belly, tenderloin, and cassolet was outstanding.


      Loved the wine list, and the Raspberry Rain cocktail was excellent.


      Our service the first time was disappointing. They lost my wife's Tables in Wonderland card and then argued with her about it (one of the servers actually looked for it and found it). Dan was our waiter on trip #2, and he was outstanding.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jhavalot

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed May 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and service
      Cons: None

       
      I had the Grilled Tenderloin meal and it was awesome. The service was great and the staff is knowledgeable about the food and the resort. I always ask what they recommend and it has been the better choice. great food, great service ! I feel it is a great hidden Gem!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyprincess1014

      Registered: May 2006
      Location: USA
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Mon April 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, desserts, location
      Cons: Service only ok

       
      We went to the Wave for dinner on Easter Sunday and enjoyed it very much. The restaurant is pretty and we were immediately seated after check-in. The server was quick to come over and take our order, and gave us the bread right away. The bread with the pink sea salt butter is great, especially the multi-grain. My entree, the filet over lobster mash, was delicious and cooked perfectly medium rare. The lobster mash had nice chunks of lobster in it. The dessert, Creamy Indulgence, was also good and it was nice to have a sample of everything. Others who had the fish and steak enjoyed their entrees too. The only complaint was about the service. The server kept putting things down in front of our 1 year old who immediately grabbed everything. That's dangerous when it is knives, hot plates, etc. There was room to put things elsewhere. The service was ok otherwise. Would return if staying at Bay Lake again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cheermom

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat March 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): menu choices, cool lounge
      Cons: so-so service, boring presentation

       
      We dined at Wave with five adults and four teens. Your experience at Wave likely depends on how much of a "foodie" you are. The menu is enticing and overall the flavors were good, but presentation was inconsistent and a few things fell flat.


      All the entrees at our table were very good, sides more of a problem. The big draw for me was the fresh Florida vegetables, etc. and this is where they really missed it. Everything tasted fine, but the tiny serving of veg was limp and overcooked. I was expecting something bright and fresh...really bummed.


      Several of us had the Char crusted ribeye - the char was well executed - actually kind of surprised show well they got that right! and the ribeye tasty...but cuts were inconsistent. The risotto cake was crunchy - not at all what I expected. My husband's tenderloin and pork belly was delicious and his side (the white bean cassoulet) was the best side of all. My friend ordered the swordfish special and loved it and the seafood pasta was pretty good. They did the wholegrain penne with chicken (instead of the seafood) for my daughter and she liked it - I tasted and thought it pretty average to bland. The rock shrimp cakes were pretty good - nothing exceptional. Really excellent wine selection.


      In summary, the restaurant concept drew us in, no one was disappointed - and we had a great time, but it was nothing new or cutting edge.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrp4352

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Irving, TX
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon February 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the swordfish and black bean chili were great; the room is lovely
      Cons: service was frustrating

       
      While the room and some of the food were lovely, we felt like our waitress was providing "drive by" service. We would go long stretches without seeing her and had to ask for glasses of water (after receiving our bottle of wine). The pork was ordered medium and came out well done; the beef tenderloin was ordered well done and came out almost inedible - and a steak knife was never provided and I was almost done with the entree before she came by to check on us to see if we needed anything. This was our first visit to the Wave and sadly, we could only think "I miss the Concourse Steakhouse".
      Click here to see this users profile  
      foxycurl

      Registered: February 2010
      Location: USA
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri February 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Service

       
      We had a dinner reservation and were seated almost right then. We all had drinks at the bar before being seated at table. We were seated at same table as two years prior and we thought that was too funny. Our waitress was not attentive at all. Took her 20 mins to get us drinks. Never checked on us during the meal. We were on the Dining Plan and we asked for her to put bar drinks on second ticket since we had a group of 6 and not everyone had drinks. In doing this she someone how charged our dining card twice. Taking away 2 dinner credits instead of 1. Was a act of congress to get the points back on the card. We ate at 4 restaurants during our stay and at all four our service was female and were all terrible. Had to ask for drink refills, no one ever asked if we needed anything. Just so sad after just great prior experiences over years. But food however is always good!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      raspbridge

      Registered: April 2006
      Location: ohio
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Wed November 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): local ingredients
      Cons:

       
      I was really looking forward to trying this venue for the first time. I love the idea that they use local foods and don't fry or use other unhealthy food preparation methods. We were seated immediately after we arrived,a few minutes prior to our reservation time. The decor is modern and warm,and the restaurant had a busy vibe that was energetic but not out of control. Our server seemed harried right from the start although she was nice. I don't know how many other tables she waited on. We never got drink refills or much attention of any kind after we ordered.The big disappointment was the food itself. Swordfish is my very favorite seafood so I was thrilled that it was the special and ordered it. When it came though it was covered in very earthy tasting mushrooms and a sauce that may have included goat cheese. Whatever was in it utterly overpowered the grilled swordfish. I also ordered the creamy indulgence dessert trio as our server said it was her favorite. The creme brulee was acceptable, the chocolate mousse dome tasty, and the cheesecake awful! It tasted like it had been frozen and improperly thawed and the fruit topping was disgusting. This is the first time in my life I have ever found cheesecake inedible! No one asked whether our food was good. If I had been paying rather than using free dining I would have spoken to the manager. As it was, I would not return here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jhavalot

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sat October 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and Service
      Cons: NONE

       
      Wow, twice in a row. I have eaten here twice and both times left me with a great feeling. I actually called over the manager and let her know the great service and food I had received. Try this facility and ask for their recommendations, this is what they do best.....
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jkkd

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Birmingham
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Fri October 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service
      Cons:

       
      We ate here for the first time on 9/28/12. We wanted a dining plan restaurant near Magic Kingdom for that evening. It was easy to walk right over to the Contemporary.
      We were seated promptly and our server was so sweet. She was really friendly and helpful regarding the menu. She answered many questions for us to help determine what we wanted to order. Substitutions were made with no problem. The server at the table beside us even spoke to us and was friendly. We were pleased with every aspect of our service.
      The meals that we ordered were excellent. We had the beef tenderloin and the pork tenderloin. Both were tasty and the sides were also very good. The food was attractive and there was plenty to eat. We had the American Flavors dessert trio and it was really very good as well.
      The restaurant was pretty and the atmosphere was nice. There were couples, families and also larger groups/families all in the restaurant and everyone seemed to be enjoying their evening.
      We had never been to The Wave before, so I was a little apprehensive, but we can now say that it was good and we would definitely go back there.
      I like the resort hotel restaurants in general - they are often less crowded, less chaotic and you really get good service and are given a little more attention than you do in some of the restaurants located within the parks.
      The Wave is one we'd definitely try again, especially on a day when we are at Magic Kingdom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.