Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Wendy Writes

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Sun May 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet sit down breakfast
      Cons: Feels like you are sitting in the basement

       
      Service was good. Food was ok, not buffet, ordered off the menu. Nothing great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lindseymortus

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon March 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet, food
      Cons:

       
      This was a great breakfast stop. We had the buffet and everything was really fresh and good. The sweet potato pancakes were great! (kinda tasted like pumpkin)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Irishrabbit

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sun December 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent food, service
      Cons:

       
      We tried breakfast at the Wave after reading about the Sweet Potato pancakes on their menu. All I can say is INCREDIBLE! They were both sweet and savory, very moist & full of flavor. The Pecan honey butter was wonderful, and you only needed a bit of syrup. The Wave has become our 2nd "must-go" breakfast spot along with the Kona Café.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      missy

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 98
      Review Date: Sat August 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food selection on buffet
      Cons: straws. they are paper

       
      Love what the buffet provides. This was our second time there and will go back. I liked the fresh fruit and no fruit flies around the food here! Everything on buffet was replenished as soon as possible.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      onejasper

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun July 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location and selection
      Cons: Service can be slow

       
      First time we visited here we had made a reservation. We quickly learned there was no need to reserve as the restaurant is large and rarely full.
      We ate here most days as the selection for the buffet is excellent. Three picky eaters in our party and everyone was happy.
      Sweet potato pancakes...WOW and I did not think I would like them...we all loved them. The mickey waffles are multi grain and my picky DD will tell you they were her favourite and she could not tell the difference between those and the regular ones at 1900 Park Fare.
      The eggs are ok but the omelette of the day was better. If the scrambled eggs are fresh out, they can be a bit too liquidy for my taste but you could find some firmer eggs mixed in.
      The omelettes are good, the biscuits, they have bagels,bacon, sausage, lots of fruit and great breakfast potatoes and bacon. It was a birthday for two of our party and the waitress arrived with decorated cakes, sparkles and candles and that was a nice touch.
      Sometimes it took a while to get our bill.
      We would recommend this to anyone looking for a good selection, nice ambience, but not if in a hurry to get your bill and go although I guess you could just say "we are in a hurry"
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wendybarrie

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent
      Cons:

       
      We were here for the Mother's Day brunch which was excellent and far surpassed the table in Wonderland experince we had in EPCOT a few years back. As noted on there regular menu the sweet potatoe pancakes and honey/pecan butter were divine! Will look forward to choosing this restaurant as a respit from the Magic Kingdom as it is a quick stroll away. Also, the coffee is organic and the have a nice beer selection download beers and ears to see.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dyej

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed February 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, peaceful
      Cons: none

       
      We had a wonderful late breakfast at the Wave, 10:30. There were few people, no need for an ADR. The buffet is great, $20 adult, $10 kid. Most items on the menu are also on the buffet. The food good with a lot of variety. The best thing was the peace and quiet. After three days in the park the Wave was a nice meal to end our trip. Highly recommend.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 215
      Review Date: Fri March 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This restaurant is currently offering a 40% discount for cast members at breakfast and lunch, so I booked a reservation for myself and two friends. We arrived just on time for our 10:30am ADR on 3/7, and even though one of our party had fallen ill that morning and was unable to accompany us, we were seated with no problem.


      The restaurant is a little tricky to find-I'd never been in the Contemporary before, and we came by monorail this time-but once inside it was calming and tastefully decorated. I had debated between the sweet potato pancakes and the buffet, but upon finding out that the pancakes were on the buffet, both my friend and I chose that.


      We were not disappointed. The croissants, bacon, muffins, breads, and pastries were excellent. I had some rice crispies cereal and was pleased to find milk at the cereal station, although I did have to ask for a spoon. The breakfast biscuit was fine, and I enjoyed the whole grain Mickey waffles. I had heard they were gritty and unpleasant, but I liked them-I had also doused them in syrup, so perhaps that made a difference? Really my only disappointment turned out to be the sweet potato pancakes! While they had excellent flavor, they were dry, even with the added pecan honey butter.


      I was pleased to see that our drinks were included in the buffet price-something I was not expecting. Even including an automatic 18% gratuity, this still might be the cheapest buffet for CMs on property, with a total cost of $17. Will definitely return in the future!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      oneSAHDdude

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Michigan
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu March 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet dining, healthy options
      Cons: Could use more variety

       
      We made a point of venturing over to the Wave for breakfast after reading great reviews about the buffet. In reality, there's not much there you couldn't find anywhere else. The cold salmon and fixings was a nice touch, expect there weren't any bagels fit for piling it on top. The rest of the buffet consisted of fresh fruit, and standard breakfast fare. Bacon was weak, but the sausage was better than usual. Not all that I expected after the wondrous reviews; nothing fancy other than the salmon.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      d_wooden

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Tiskilwa Illinios
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri February 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great breakfast buffet
      Cons: don't eat the whole grain waffles

       
      The Wave has a fantastic breakfast buffet. Everything you could possibly want was available for sampling. The only thing I found unsavory was the whole grain waffles...dry and almost inedible. When I complained to waitress about it she pretty much told me that everyone says the same thing but Disney has this thing about 'healthy' ingredients. I just laughed and said I can eat healthy at home, I'm on vacation now! lol
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cchurch74

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Glen Burnie, MD
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed February 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and Service
      Cons:

       
      We went to breakfast here on 2/2. We had gone here last year and again asked for Tim as our server. He was great! Again, he was one of the best servers we had all week!


      My Mom and Sis have allergies (dairy & shellfish) so Chef Dylan came out to the table. He let them know what they could have and also sent Tim out with an incredible fruit plate to go along with our meal. Both Tim and Chef Dylan made this a great experience for all of us!


      DH and I had the buffet, which was very good. The food was all hot, fresh and tasty. I think its been improved from last year. Its a great deal too!


      We will definitely be back on our next trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kaits Inside Dish

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat December 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Vegan Pancakes
      Cons:

       
      My aunt suggested we go to breakfast, obviously I wasn't going to argue! I figured we would stop to get a quick bagel at a local coffee shop somewhere, but when she suggested a Disney Restaurant I instantly perked up (for a minute I found myself distracted from my famished state). She suggested the Wave, a delicious restaurant at the Contemporary Resort, where we had a lovely lunch experience about a month before. I had never dined at Walt Disney World restaurant for breakfast since becoming Vegan, so I wasn't sure exactly how accommodating the restaurants would be, however I stayed positive figuring that I would at least be safe with a bowl of fruit and oatmeal (a breakfast staple at most restaurants).


      Once we were seated, our waitress immediately came over to welcome up and take our drink orders. My Aunt ordered a cup of decaf coffee while I selected the vanilla Rooibos Tea, the delicious warm tea was served in a dainty white tea pot which a generous sized mug. The potent tea was so naturally flavorful it required no additional add ins such as sugar.


      Minutes later Chef Dylan appeared at our table, "so I hear we have an allergy" he said looking between my Aunt and I. I nodded my head acknowledging that it was me and went on to tell him that I had a Dairy allergy and I was also a Vegan.


      "ok" he said " well we have a few options for you". I questioningly looked down at my menu seeing the usual breakfast fare egg omelets, french toast, waffles, didn't look like anything vegan to me! "I can make some pancakes for you" My genuine excitement which could obviously be read from the expression on my face encouraged him to go on. "I can make the batter using rice milk and no eggs" "perfect I agreed" not even wanting to hear about any other options.


      No less then 10 minutes later did my plate of four fluffy golden pancakes arrive, set in front of me by Chef Dylan himself. I noticed a small side dish of butter, but before I even had time to panic Chef Dylan told me it was earth balance ( a vegan brand of butter).


      The pancakes were remarkably light and fluffy, and the combination of soft pancakes, creamy butter, and sweet pure maple syrup was absolutely scrumptious.


      My Aunt ordered the Multi-Grain French Toast dusted with confectionery sugar served with a side of crisp bacon and a berry compote which was made with a selection of mixed berries tossed with sugar and left to reduce over low heat to form a sweet syrupy mixture.


      We were also served a delicious bowl of fruit with contained crispy granny smith apples, grapefruit, plump blueberries, and strawberries. A delicious accompaniment to our luscious breakfast entrees.


      Our cleaned plates was the obvious indication that we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast!


      Throughout our meal, both the server and chef stopped by the table to see how we were enjoying things, their constant effort to satisfy us added to our excellent dining experience.


      After our filling breakfast we decided to walk the four flights of stairs (our exercise for the day) to see the life sized Gingerbread Christmas tree). As we neared the top flight the freshly baked aroma of the traditional holiday spiced dessert wafted through the air. The display was truly incredible, I couldn't believe the entire gingerbread was made using all edible ingredients. To the side of the display a selection of assorted bakery items were on display for sale. My aunt decided to buy a luscious looking linzer tart cookie and a chocolate gingerbread cookie, which was designed to replicate a shingle like the ones used on the Christmas tree display.


      All in all I'd say my morning turned out to be quite enjoyable, I had a delicious vegan breakfast and had an amazing time spending the day with my Aunt.


      The Wave is a great spot for Breakfast, Lunch, Or Dinner. At breakfast the restaurant offers both a breakfast buffet, which looked quite nice, and a sit down menu. I highly suggest the Wave, the cast members here are extremely accommodating and the food is delicious!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      ktomak

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri October 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service
      Cons: No Natural Light

       
      We had an outstanding breakfast. Michelle, our server, was outstanding and made several recommendations. We started with the French press coffee (forgot how good it was) and my wife and I split the Multigrain French Toast (with Fruit Compote & Chicken Sausage) and the Egg White Frittata. Both were excellent. However, if you are not into healthy choices like multigrain breads, etc, I would not recommend the Wave. But we loved it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ckennedy26

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: NYC
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun October 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and service
      Cons: maybe a little dark inside for breakfast

       
      We ate here Thursday Oct 6th. We also had Tim as our server, he was very nice and made great suggestions! We ordered bloody marys and mimosas and the bartender was not there yet so Tim also made out drinks, they were very good. That morning they were offering a buffet of all the items on their menu. We tried the sweet potato pancakes with honey pecan butter. They are so delicious, if you go there for breakfast get them! We also tried their homemade granola with fruit and yogurt, its delicious, very crunchy with lots of almonds. The press pot coffee was also very nice. Te multigrain waffles and the small breads and muffins were great too. The only thing I didn't love was that it felt very dark and lounge like at 9:30am, it would be nice if it was a little brighter for breakfast time. I will return here at least one morning on my next trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwamanda

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: MA
      Posts: 65
      Review Date: Thu September 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Healthy choices, convenience at Contemporary
      Cons: Food and service just okay

       
      My family (3 adults) spent 3 nights at the Contemporary, and decided to try an early breakfast at the Wave as soon as they opened (7:30 AM). It was good timing because we walked to the MK for park opening at 9 right after.


      There were only 2 tables occupied during our entire breakfast - ours and a table full of cast members enjoying a 40% discount. The servers naturally gravitated to the table of cast members, which I understand, but I felt like we were ignored through the majority of our breakfast. While I understand that camaraderie, it just did not sit well with me. I did the college program at Disney so I know what it's like to be a cast member, but at the same time, no guest should ever feel ignored, especially when there are only 2 occupied tables in the whole restaurant!


      The food itself was okay. My brother was happy that he could get a normal, non-multigrain waffle. I had a multigrain waffle and it was pretty good - a little gritty, but not bad. I liked the healthier option. I honestly don't even remember what my mom had, which is probably a bad sign - whatever it was, it was clearly underwhelming. I was disappointed by the thin, buffet-style bacon, too (I love bacon and enjoyed some delicious, thick slices the day before at the Grand Floridian Cafe).


      I wouldn't recommend breakfast at the Wave unless you really want that extra healthy option and were already staying at the Contemporary. Or, I suppose, if you are a cast member looking to use a 40% discount..
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.