Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • annebill

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon October 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): interesting speaker, lovely meal
      Cons: none

       
      Enjoyed this special experience on Sept 26th, lunching at the Hollywood Brown Derby....our imagineer, Sarah Matthews, was a member of a graphic design team....she was very personable and even brought along several pieces of their latest project, menus & print work for the new Aulani resort...she was open to all our questions & the time flew by....our 4 course meal was wonderful and our waiter, Daniel, was so very good, you never seemed to know he was there...the hand signed plate, was a lovely take home souvenir....we even asked for & received, tickets for the guaranteed Fantasmic seating that evening.....equally as special, was sharing the magic between our group of ten....obviously, if you were attending this type of event, you must be a "Disneyphile" in some way and we ALL were!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jnvic0105

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Metairie, LA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed February 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food and the company was great. We had 3 hours to spend with our imagineer.
      Cons:

       
      My family and I had lunch at the Brown Derby in Hollywood Studios with an Imagineer on Jan. 11, 2012. Let me tell you it does not disappoint. The food is great and so was the company. We were served a three course lunch that lasted about three hours. Our Imagineer was David Shirley and he was awesome to talk with. He gave us a short history about his work at Disney and then we were able to ask him questions. My husband loved it, he was in his element and wished he had 3 more hours to talk to David. Even my 12 year old daughter had fun listening to all the stories.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      idoeyes1

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed September 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Imagineer, Food, Experiance
      Cons:

       
      My husband and I dined with Dustin on 9/14. There was only supposed to be 10 of us there but another couple tagged along thinking they were just seating us all in a room. In true Disney fashion, they did not ask the couple to leave just told them the price and proceeded to make them up a name tag, menu, and plate.
      Dustin is a set designer for Disney and talked to us about all of his duties and all the things he designs that we may miss. He figures out how to hide wiring, speakers, fire extinguishers to make it to code, but without losing the Disney feel. He talked to us about the process things go through from planning to execution. It was really neat. It was amazing how the conversation never died down over a three hour lunch! The food was delicious as always and we even got a group photo and photo of Dustin on a Brown Derby Menu as another keepsake. Our plate was clear and square and he signed it only if you wanted him to. It was a really great experience and something different from the norm. Would do it again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ArtsyMom

      Registered: July 2009
      Location: Syracuse, NY
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon September 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The imagineer, the food, the company, disney name pin
      Cons: None

       
      I dined with an Imagineer on Monday 8/29, at the Brown Derby. To say it was excellent, would be an understatement. I arrived very excited and just little guilty as my DH and DD7 went off to Pizza Planet. I was given a cool Disney name tag (I wore it all week, and will post a pic on FB Allears). We had a short but awesome tour of the Brown Derby. Then we were ready to enter the Bamboo Room and meet our imagineer Robert Sias, as an art teacher my heart sank a little when when he said he was a manager and worked on business side(marketing), but I worried for nothing. Robert has worked for Disney since 1990, and done many things from selling as he put it "t-shirts and plushies". He honestly loves Disney and his job and jokes all this and I can golf all year around. He has worked with new cast members, tested many rides(like tower of terror), he works with companies like Coke and Hanes, and talked about corporate partnerships. Plus he answered our questions.


      I got a little ahead of myself, Robert introduced himself and went around the table asking us to say our name, where we were from and either our 1st Disney memory or our favorite ride. The make up of the table was a woman from Denver, a family of 4 from Canada 2 adults and 2 teenagers male and female (the young lady is interested in working at Disney, Robert told both of them about the program for students working at the Canadian Area at Epcot), a family of 4 from Darby, England 2 adults and 2 boys one around 8 and the other maybe 10 (they were delightful and asked good questions and drew Disney characters from a how the draw Disney book. Robert said they should come back to animators), and me from Syracuse, NY.


      We asked questions about everything from Phineas and Ferb, to Fantasy Land expansion, blogs, and as to why Disney does certain things. Robert was engaging and really interesting. I really loved the experience. I wore the pin all week and when people asked, I told them about the great time had. Some asked how knew about the experience I replied AllEars. Many said I love this site and others plan to check it out. So this is Kelly and I hope this review is helpful.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JacquiRuxton

      Registered: June 2010
      Location: Florida
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Fri March 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The Imagineer and the food
      Cons: The initial greeter

       
      We dined 3/18, with our imagineer Alex Carruthers. He was awesome, he answered everyone's questions and started by finding out about each of us and what we were interested in.
      The whole event lasted nearly 3 hours, there was no sense of being rushed and he was very informative and entertaining, he even called a few other people to get answers to a few questions he did not know.


      The only down side to the venue is the parade outside, each time the high school musical thing comes to the top of the street to have to shout to be heard in the dining room, but otherwise the bamboo room is great, although seems to get warm quickly on a hot day.


      The greeter who walked us around the restaurant and took us to the dining room spoke very quietly and seemed very unsure of what she was going to say, so most of us could not really hear her. But she did point out a few hidden Mickey's outside the Brown Derby.


      Overall, an experience well worth doing, and would certainly consider it again in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.