Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 170
      Review Date: Sat April 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I have wanted to go here for a long time and finally had the chance. It was very underwhelming. The fish in the fish and chips was thin and way to crunchy...more breading than fish. The chips and dip I purchased were so hot they should not have been served. I really could hardly eat them even after some time. The food takes a long time to come out and the seating was pretty bad. Sorry, wanted to love it.


      For the best fish and chips head to Epcot!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sreynolds5

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri February 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Fried Fish
      Cons: Not nearly enough seating, Long Lines

       
      OK -- We knew going in that the lines would be long and there would probably be no available seating... and we were absolutely right. The line was LONG and SLOW. When we finally got to the register, the grumpy employee looked at us and said "I'm done!" and turned around and left. Hmmmm. The employee at the next register kindly helped us.
      We had read online that they served batter dipped fried Snickers bars here. It was the reason my daughter picked this counter service restaurant. There is a BIG sign over the register enticing people to try this item. When you order it, however, you will be told that it has been discontinued Sad
      Seating is, of course, limited, sigh. On the evening we were there, there were a few large family groups that put a couple of people in line while other family members grabbed up tables as soon as people were finished and pushed them together for their party. We watched this happening and by the time we were through the line, almost all the outdoor seating was "taken" by a few families. We stood outside in the chilly weather and gobbled our fish, which was good, as quickly as possible. Not the experience we were hoping for on our first night in the World, but there were magical moments ahead.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cmoranski

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sat October 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great fish and chips
      Cons: very little indoor seating

       
      We ate a on very hot sunny day. We loved the food. Generous portions. Nicely done fish not greasy. You are given a number to take to your table and they serve you. However, very few seats indoors. Had to sit outside in the courtyard of the Hole in the Wall bar. Nice bar, but very expensive. Courtyard is hot with very little shade. We will definitely go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 56
      Review Date: Sun July 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing chips (fries!)
      Cons: long line

       
      We had the lamb and beef pie, the kid's burger, and a huge order of the garlic and parm skinny chips. It was all delish. The meat pie was hot and the crust wasn't too thick. The filling was generous and not at all salty. The kids burger was better than most at Disney. It didn't have that "frozen disk" feel. The real winner was the garlic and parm skinny chips. Hot, fresh, crispy- perfect. The portion is massive and while the line to order was rather long, they were totally worth the wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dfan79

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Sat May 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Food, Food
      Cons: Restaurant's - Atmosphere, Size, Location

       
      Cookes is a hidden gem in the Disney World resort. It doesn’t really get talked about by foodies, but it is my personal favorite of the counter services. I really enjoyed the Chicken Tenders and Fries the last time I went their. It tastes like something you’d get at a table service not a counter. The French Fries are so good here that they seem to have no rival in Disney World. Their much different then the ones that you would usually get at a counter service. Most of the fries used in Disney counters are thin shoestrings. These are stubby uneven steak fries so they taste more like a potato then their counterparts. If you don’t want the Chicken there’s plenty of other stuff to choose from. I don’t think I want to try anything else though because the Chicken Tenders are so good. The Free Refill Machines are a plus, especially on a hot day.


      I was so stuffed afterward my Chicken that I had to get my dessert Cookie to go. There’s many desserts to choose from other then that though, like the Strawberry Roll, Fried Candy Bars, and Baked Meringues (w/ strawberry and ice cream). Plus these are things you can’t get anywhere else. Unlike many of the counters at Magic Kingdom which seem to have the same 3 desserts.


      The only reason I couldn't give this place a 9 is because of what this place looks like and where it is in Disney World. The atmosphere is very forgettable, all I can remember about it is the chalkboard looking menus. The restaurant is also very tiny, it feels like it's made for Leprechauns. The most that can fit inside the restaurant is probably four to five families. So me and my family had to sit outside at a heavy lawn table and chairs. The location of the restaurant is also really outta the way. Even if you are going to Downtown Disney/Disney Springs it is a bit of a hike to get there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneymee

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue January 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good Fast Food
      Cons: Limited Seating

       
      DF of 3 ate here twice during out trip last summer. We arrive in 179 days and this will be our first dining experience! My DH loves the deep fried burger.( once a year!) MY DD loves the fish and chips. It is an awesome place to grab a bite of food and a pint of beer, and relax after 2100 miles of traveling. Beer is good also...we always meet nice fun people here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mich97

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri August 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: seating

       
      We ate here this past July. The fish and chips are good. This place is very small, and seating very limited.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Daniellep93

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri June 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fish and chips
      Cons:

       
      Delicious fish and chips! The fish was a nice big filet of fish with a light but crispy batter. I was a little worried about all the grease but there was no grease at all. Mom enjoyed a nice Cobb salad, Dad had the fish and chips as well and my sister LOVED the deep fried cheeseburger. Worth the counter service credit. Little confusing since you order and go have a seat at a table and it is brought to you but still fantastic! Not having to carry a tray of food and drinks is a huge plus!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slapps

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Tue January 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not bad prices.
      Cons: Fish

       
      My family and friends returned from our annual Disney vacation on the 6th of January,2013. We dined at this eatery twice this time down from Upstate New York. The fish and chips were just OK. WE have dined here on several occasions in the past. We found that the fish did not taste as good as it has in the past. We think maybe they have changed the type or brand of fish they serve (maybe cost cutting). The fish also seemed to be a little greasy. On the other occasion we dined there on this trip I had the chicken strips. They seemed to be over cooked and dry. The meals we had were just o.k., I would still recommend this eatery, we may have just hit on a bad day.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.