Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • belle12877

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue September 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super fun character breakfast!
      Cons: None!

       
      We had a wonderful character breakfast at Storyteller's Cafe! We had a late morning reservation (thank goodness b/c the wait time for walk-ups was 60-90 minutes) and were seated within 15 minutes of checking-in. The buffet is delicious with lots of variety to choose from (several egg choices, meats, fruits, waffles, etc) The three members in our party were adults and all ordered fun alcoholic beverages in addition to the juice/coffee that is provided. Our server Tom was excellent. And the characters are GREAT! All "critters" such as Brother Bear, Chip and Dale, Brer Bear, Brer Fox, Meeko etc. They also get up and dance/have a little parade through the restaurant every so often. Whether you're 5 or 50 years young, this is a fantastic place to have a yummy breakfast and enjoy characters.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Sun May 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent buffet, able to be seated early
      Cons: Unorganized character rotation, rushed by server

       
      We had reservations here on 5/23/14 at 9:30am. By 9am we were hungry so we stopped by to see if we could be seated early and it was no problem. This is now a buffet only meal, there is no longer an a la carte menu.


      Jacob started off as our server while our "real server", Pao, was on her break. Jacob was excellent. We enjoyed many of the items on the buffet; the muffins, Mickey waffles, french toast, bacon, and fruit were all great. The pancakes were hit or miss. Loved the oatmeal. My friend raved about the eggs benedict.


      The characters at our meal were Chip & Dale, Meeko, Koda, Kenai, and Br'er Fox. Chip came by about 20 minutes after we were seated, and my friend missed him because he was up at the buffet. Meeko visited about 10 minutes later. Then it took almost another 30 minutes before Dale came to see us, and another 15 minutes for Koda. By this point, we had been there for over an hour. Pao was trying to rush us out the door. After another 10 minutes, we stopped Kenai on the way out to get a photo, which he happily granted us. We never did get to see Br'er Fox, unfortunately.


      The food was great and the price reasonable. We enjoyed getting to see some rarer characters, but the lack of organization in how they made their rounds and the extreme amount of time it took to see them, knocked it down a point in my mind.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tiggabump

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Everett, Washington
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food and character interaction
      Cons: a bit crowded

       
      We had the character breakfast 2x during our visit 9/16 & 9/20. We had purchased the meal tickets and they saved us quite a bit of $$$. the characters were few but good interaction with kids 10 yrs-7yrs & 21months. The little one loved the characters and they spent a lot of time with him. We enjoyed the buffet as we could pick what we wanted. Coffee and juice kept filled and Mickey waffles brought out hot and fresh as much as we wanted.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Stanton

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: Dallas, TX
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Mon August 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      This was probably the closest character mean "experience" to WDW that we had in DL. The food was excellent, but could have had more variety (the scrambled egg whites where a pleasant--and delicious--surprise). The characters, while not very well known, were entertaining.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FamilyOfSix

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Sat July 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service, Kids' parade, setting
      Cons: None

       
      I loved this Character Breakfast and would definitely go back again. The setting in the Grand Californian hotel is really great. I loved the theming in the whole restaurant. We were seated near the buffet, and our waitress kept our drinks and coffee constantly filled and topped off. I was very pleased with the service. One of my kids asked if they have Mickey Waffles, and the waitress said that they could make some in the kitchen. 5 minutes later we had a plate of Mickey Waffles! Very nice! I loved the eggs benedict (what a vacation treat!) and all the other fresh fruit and more upscale type breakfast offerings.


      The characters were all outdoors types, and they were very nice. I kept calling Brer Bear "Ballou" (my son corrected me)-- he didn't act offended at all. The characters can't all sign autographs, because some of them don't have fingers, but they were ready to smile and pose and joke around (especially chip and dale).


      My kids actually took part in the kids parade they had in the middle of the cafe, which ended with some type of ceremony near the buffet. The kids were all given a button at the end of the ceremony. It was fun- they were excited by it.


      This was a breakfast that we added on to our trip on our last day as we were leaving Disneyland. It was a great way to end the Disney experience. Great food, fun characters, and outstanding service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      stephieb64

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: Parker, CO
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue April 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: inconsistent rotatation of characters

       
      By far the most "gourmet" of the character breakfasts. Beautiful presentation and setting with a huge selection and everything was very good tasting. All the characters are ones with masks so if you have young children who have a hard time with them, make other plans. We saw Chip, Dale, Koda, Terk, Mikko.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      2LeoTravels

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Seattle, WA
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri February 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Attentive and quick service; better value than Premium Character Meals (less expensive)
      Cons: Don't expect the Fab 5

       
      We (2 Adults: late 30s, late 60's) enjoyed the character Breakfast in December 2011. Great Value for the money compared to other character meals (and the buffet is certainly a much better value than La Brea).


      My mother selected to order eggs benny from the menu; I opted for the buffet (unlimited Mickey waffles!). The wonderful thing about Storyteller's is that - unlike Goofy's kitchen -they don't have the waffles or pancakes piled in a pan under a heat lamp; instead they are delivered from the kitchen fresh and hot. The attendants were right on top of requesting additional waffles when I was ready. We never waited for a refill.


      The characters were as described by others: Coda, Kenai, racoon, terk, chip & dale. (Although we only saw Kenai for a second, Coda came by twice).


      It is important to note that this breakfast is not described as a "Premium Character Breakfast". The overall cost is less than the premium meals (contrast with Goofy's Kitchen or Ariel's Grotto). The characters are fewer, and more woodland themed as appropriate to the nature theme of the Grand Californian.


      If you are looking for a meal convenient to your hotel room or to the parks (we stayed off -property), where the characters are just a nice plus to the meal experience, and you want more of a low-key feel - then this is the place for you.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      parksutton

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Mon May 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): GOOD FOOD
      Cons: PRICE, WEIRD CHARECTERS

       
      Went there on Monday May 9th with my wife and three kids. The hotel looks great, the food is good. The characters were a little weird, it was the two bears from Brother Bear, the raccoon from Pocahontas, and Chip and Dale. The characters seemed rushed even though the place was not busy. We have been to almost every single character meal at Disney World and have loved every one of them. However, this one was expensive and not really worth the money at all.


      I am giving all of the other places good reviews but this one was not worth the money.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.