Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 258
      Review Date: Fri October 16, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food, lots of characters

      We had a 10:30am ADR here on 10/1, our last day in Disneyland. Our original plan was to participate in Early Entry at 8am and knock out a good amount of rides. Well, my mom decided not to go along with that plan, but that's another story. So we arrived here around 10am. There was a short line to check in. Then they take your photo, as a previous poster said, with no character. It *is* included with Photopass+; they will give you the folder in the restaurant with a 5x7 and four 4x6 photos, plus they are available to download as part of the Photo CD. After that, you pay up front before being seated. We were seated inside, in the room to the left.

      Suzy, the mouse from Cinderella, came around almost immediately. Other characters we saw were Eeyore, Tigger, Winnie the Pooh, Rafiki, Max Goof, Dale, and, of course, Minnie. Captain Hook did not make it to our table, but we were able to catch him on our way out, and we never did get to see Chip.

      For other people who have been to WDW, this restaurant reminds me of Crystal Palace at Magic Kingdom, with its Victorian theming.

      The restaurant is essentially self-serve, though they do have cast members who put together plates of bacon, sausage, hash browns, eggs; bowls of oatmeal, and french toast and Mickey waffles. Other items include cereal, fruit, pastries, and jello or yogurt parfaits. There are cartons of milk, dispensers of juice, as well as a regular self-serve soda dispenser.

      This is one of the most inexpensive sit down breakfast options at Disneyland Resort, and the sheer number of characters make it an excellent value. We did not feel rushed at all...in fact, we were ready to go but had not met all the characters yet!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon September 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food LOTS of Characters!
      Cons: Restaurant didn't open on time

      We ate here on Sept 20th, 2015
      We had reservations for 8:10 am (park opening was 9 am)

      The restaurant was 30 mins late opening, I will talk about that first.

      There was a Character breakfast line to the left to enter the park we arrived at about 7:50am. At 8 am they weren't letting any of us in. Many folks were getting very upset.

      None of the Cast members at the front of the line knew anything. Alot of complaining was happening. Finally they started letting us in about 8:20 a. We all walked back together and a manager from the restaurant came out and said they weren't opening the restaurant until at least 8:30 am.

      Apparently there was a CM event with their kids that morning related to halloween, but that has nothing to do with restaurant reservations that were made 2 months in advance. Lots of folks were so upset. They registered us and started seating around 8:30 ish.

      They take your picture outside (no character). They won't put it on photopass because they expect you to pay for the picture pkg.

      You pay when you go in the door, before they seat you. The buffet area had alot of really nice choices. It is all serve yourself. You even get your own drinks, so gratuties are not accepted here.

      Characters started coming right away! I was glad we had an early reservation. The characters came around quite fast since the restaurant was pretty empty. The 30 or so of us with early ressies were seated all around the restaurant.

      We had 10 characters!! The most of any character buffet I have ever been to between DL and Disney World. We saw Fairy Godmother, Rafiki, Chip, Dale, Captain Hook, Minnie, Tigger, Pooh, Eyeore and Max.

      We really enjoyed the food as well. My son enjoyed the omlette station. I enjoyed the Mickey waffles and brioche french toast with caramel sauce. There was an abundance of fresh fruits, pastries, cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and many more items.

      I think an early reservation here is the best thing because as we were leaving it was taking the characters a long time to get around because the inside and outside was full and they had alot of tables to visit.

      Despite the restaurant opening late we highly recommend this breakfast. Get an early reservation though. As the restaurant fills up it takes long time for the characters to get around to all the tables.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Tue June 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): best character interaction for character dining!

      Best character interaction for character dining. We had Rafiki, Max, Peter Pan, Fairy Godmother, Tigger, Eeyore, Captain Hook, Chip, Dale, and Minnie! Good mix of classics and more rare charcters. Food was all right. Buffet had nice selection.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Everett, Washington
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food and character interaction
      Cons: Crowded

      We had the Character Breakfast 2x while here for a week 9/17 and 9/19. The food was good and plentiful but when you sit outside you don't get all the characters coming to you. My grandson (21 mo) really enjoyed chip & dale and Tigger but that was all we got to see on both meals. Since this is not an inexpensive breakfast they need a better way to bring the characters around to see everyone. They took a picture when we got there but never brought it around for us to see either time.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu September 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food was good
      Cons: very poor service

      We had priority seating 30 days in advance. Did not have a table ready for us. We had 4 adults and 4 children. We asked to sit inside and the person seating us told us it would take too long to fix a table. We were seated on the outside patio away from everyone else. Had no table service at all. We had to move our trays to another table if we wanted to go back for refills. Had to ask for the characters to visit our table and in fact eventually moved to another section before leaving breakfast so that the children could meet some characters. Would not ever go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Fri July 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of Characters, quickly seated
      Cons: Seated outside, Characters skipped us, Far away from buffet

      I have been to a lot of character breakfasts. This one is the worst. I really can't say a lot of good things about it, but I'll give it a "5" because the food wasn't terrible and the service from the person clearing the table was decent. Plus the hostess tried to get the characters to come visit us at least. Otherwise we wouldn't have seen any.

      Basically for character breakfasts, where you are seated can make or break your experience. We were seated inexplicably waaaaay out in the outdoor seating, in a whole section all by ourselves. I have no idea why. There were only a few families scattered through the outdoor seating area. Clearly, being indoors is better for ambience and for seeing characters.

      We had many characters pass right by us and not stop at all. I think they didn't see us. Chip and Captain Hook passed by completely. Twice. Finally, after being there for about 40 minutes and not meeting ANYONE, we were finishing the breakfast and I asked the waitress when the characters were coming. She was surprised we'd seen no one. I was getting a little ticked because we'd already paid a lot of money for mediocre food and no characters. She told us she'd send all of them our way, including the Fairy Godmother, Minnie, Chip, Dale, Captain Hook, and some other random characters. Like the teenage son of Goofy. I don't know his name.

      We waited another 30 minutes for characters. It was ridiculous. Finally we went TO Minnie when we spotted her and we basically waited for her to pose for pictures. There was another family waiting after us too--- they said she'd passed them by 2 times already.

      The Fairy Godmother never came. The hostess said, "Oh, she only comes sometimes." Too bad she'd told us that she would send her out to see us! That's code for "I forgot to tell her to see you and now she's gone."

      As a final insult, as we were finally finishing I think they were getting ready for the transition to lunch. Anyway while we were still finishing breakfast, some kids jumped the fence into the restaurant seating area with their hot dogs and sodas from the hot dog stand outside the restaurant. The characters that we flagged down to see our kids stopped to see these bozos too--- and the waitstaff saw these kids, and said nothing to them like, "This is seating only for the Character Breakfast."

      What a sloppy, slow, disorganized mess.

      But my kids saw some characters and they really liked the pastries and the food. What can I say. We will not go back there again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2006
      Location: Duluth, Minnesota
      Posts: 43
      Review Date: Tue April 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun character meal
      Cons: none

      Ate here for breakfast on April 8, 2013. First time to Disneyland and we wanted to have a fun character breakfast. My 8 and 14 year old thought this was fun and a great way to start a day at Disneyland. Good food and fun character experience. We were surprised just how many characters came by (Captain Hook, Pooh, Chip, Dale, Minnie, Pluto, Tigger, Eeyore and Fairy Godmother)! A great meal for a good price!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: Parker, CO
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue April 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Really fun character interaction
      Cons: none

      A don't miss! We always love this character meal because all of the characters visibly have a great time interacting with the kids and with each other. We were there previously in April 2006 and this time was 7 years later (March 2013). Looking back at the photos we noticed that the same woman is playing the Fairy Godmother. She is charming, kind and has the most wonderful twinkle in her eyes. Character meals are more expensive than regular meals, but they are worth it. Don't waste your time waiting in lines to meet characters. Good food, large selection, including mini Mickey waffles. The kids each get a button and a helium balloon to take home, the extra details that makes Disney special every time!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon December 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great food and lots of characters

      We were here during our June 2012 visit. We have been to WDW and had character breakfast there also and this is one of the best we have ever had at either park. Food was good and the picture was great. I think the different characters made it worth it. We will do this one again on our next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Mon September 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great buffet, lots of different characters

      We really enjoyed this buffet. There were so many characters and several of them seemed to enjoy their roles. Tigger actually bumped his head entering our room and Captain Hook of all people went over to comfort him!

      There are no waiters or waitresses so even with a picture included in the meal the cost was under $100 for the four of us. Well worth it! Rather than serving yourself there are cast members who put your selections on a dish for you...different but not a problem.

      Besides Tigger and Hook we saw Winnie the Pooh, Eeyore, Alice and the Mad Hatter, Minnie, a penguin from Mary Poppins, Max (Goofy's son) & Rafiki. Quite the variety!

      We had a great time and we would certainly visit again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri July 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): tons of characters
      Cons: none

      We had reservations for the first seating of the day at 7:10. We were the first family in. One thing different about Disneyland from WDW is that you pay first. Upon getting our table, the characters started coming immediately and never stopped. Its was hard to eat because there were so many characters coming right after another. We saw Minnie Mouse, the Penguin from Mary Poppins, Chip, Dale, Eeyore, Captain Hook, Tigger, Max, Gepetto, Fairy Godmother, Perla the mouse and Rafiki. 13 in all!! Some even visited our table more than once. Character interaction was better that expected. I highly recommend this breakfast if you want to meet characters.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon January 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: What good is a PS???

      Went Sunday, Jan. 15. We had PS for 9 a.m., but when we got there we were told it would be a 45 minute wait because it started raining and so many people decided to eat there. What good is a PS? Maybe I don't understand how it works, but we were offered immediate seating outside (in the pouring rain?) I get it that it was busy, but for $39.99 per person for breakfast and $27.99 for my 8 year old, I just thought it was a bit ridiculous.

      I wasn't going to let it ruin our experience there but because it was so busy the characters were busy as well. Good selection including: Fairy God Mother, Captain Hook, Tigger, Pip, Rafiki, Minnie, Pooh, Chip & Dale.

      The food was surprisingly good. Good hot selections including eggs, bacon, sausage, our favorite was the ham, biscuits/gravy, a Mexican casserole dish, pastries, cereals, fruit, chocolate milk, juices, hot chocolate.

      Would probably not do it again but would recommend to those that want to spend the money. I probably wouldn't have gotten as many character pictures out in the parks, so it was worth it for that.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.