Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • cheermom

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat March 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, smaller hotel, nice pool
      Cons: a bit dated, beds are a little hard

       
      We stayed for five nights 3/17 - 3/22. The hotel did not become super crowded until the day we checked out. We were staying on Hilton points and got the extra benefit of a free two room upgrade, free breakfast for two and free parking due to Gold status. If you are a HHonors member be sure and ask what perks you can get! The staff was outstanding and friendly. Every staffer we encountered struck up a conversation, asked about our stay, etc....from the housekeeper in the hallway to management in the elevator. The rooms were very clean and spacious...loved the huge countertop in the master and oversized tub great for soaking after a long day. They provided the oversized fluffy towels and plenty of them. The 2nd bedroom had two dbls and an extra table outside the bathroom that allowed both our teenage girls to get ready at the same time (huge plus). We could have made due with the one room and pull out, but he extra bathroom was awesome. There are only 5 2-bdrm on property. Fridge and microwave, you'll need paper plates/utensils if you want to eat in the room. The pool area was nicer than I expected, bar was open and plenty of chairs. There is some minor construction going on and we were told a complete renovation was starting soon. It is a bit dated in the public areas and the beds and pillows need an updgrade...probably the worst I've encountered in any Hilton property.
      The big plus to this property is that it is not a huge high rise...you can park and be in your room in minutes - a big perk after a long day. We remembered those long trips home with sleeping pre-schoolers and even with some Disney properties you face that exhausting long walk. No long elevator waits or long walks to your room. Location is right at the entrance to Downtown Disney resort area, so if you want to run to Goodings or MacDonalds it's right there. A nice 10 minute walk to DD. We had a rental car so we did use their buses.
      My only real criticism was breakfast...the food was pretty fresh and fine but exactly the same every day! If you don't eat melon or pineapple you were out of luck. The restaurant staff was a little harried and disorganzied (we asked for to go boxes...they always had to look around for utensils and cups). You have to go to the gift shop to get a coffee cup (most places offer free coffee in the lobby, but this place gives you a ticket you have to exchange for a cup - really?)
      We will try it again (especially free on points!) and look forward to the renovation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ninna03

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun November 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Huge suites!
      Cons: Pay to park

       
      This is the second time that we have stayed at the Doubletree. Once again, we had a great experience.


      I love that our suite has two rooms, so the kids can go to sleep in the bedroom and we get to hang out in the living room and watch tv for a bit. The rooms are so spacious.


      The staff is super friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is great!


      Even though they are not an official Disney resort, they do offer free bus service to the Disney parks. It certainly helps save $$ every day.


      The gift shop in the lobby offers items that you can find at other disney stores and for the same price, so don't be afraid to shop there, at least you don't have to carry your bags too far. Smile The pool is also very nice.


      This property is located down the street from Downtown Disney. So you have an abundance of choices for shopping or dining whether you stay on property or venture into the neighboring area. There is a grocery store just across the road, but they are very expensive!


      Overall, this property is a great choice for a Disney vacation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      heartse

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed September 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Suite, great staff, free breakfast
      Cons: pay to park

       
      This is our favorite place to stay in Disney (granted, I haven't stayed on property yet, but I will be in December)! The rooms are FANTASTIC... lots of space, and we can stay up in our bedroom while our daughter goes to sleep in the living room.


      We went down over Labor Day weekend, a surprise visit for our daughter's 5th birthday. I had asked for balloons in our room because the day we got there was her birthday. Not only were there lots of balloons in our room, but there was also a card AND a cake! It was such a magical birthday for our daughter!!! Thanks DoubleTree!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WldRos1091

      Registered: May 2006
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon July 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Price, room size, on Disney property, staff
      Cons: pay to park, bus schedule

       
      Aside from having to pay to park our car we loved this resort. The suites were HUGE and spotless clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The cookies at check in were a real bonus. It is located down the road from Downtown Disney and very close to many more affordable restaurants. We would definitely stay here again and again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Rob-in-AL

      Registered: February 2011
      Location: Talladega, AL
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sat March 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Procimity to attractions, 2-room suites, staff
      Cons:

       
      March 14 - 18 2011 This is the second time I've stayed here and will not be the last. According to the one of the valets, the hotel was at 100% capacity. Despite that, from the time we (party of 3 adults) arrived until the time we left, the hotel staff we encountered were pleasant, cheerful and helpful. Now I'm naming names in case anyone with Hilton/Doubletree reads this: Thank you to valets Rolando (? - sorry, my memory is shot) from the Virgin Islands and Joel from Orlando, you guys were tops. We were in our room and car taken care of in a flash then out of the room, loaded up and on the road just as fast. Sasha at the front desk, Спасибо! We never found mom's hat but yours, Ulla (? - again with the memory; evening desk) and the gift shop ladies were a great help none the less. Ted at the bar, Capt. & cola and keep 'em coming, buddy! You all were an oasis of normalcy amidst the crowds, chaos, and seemingly endless lines in WDW. Thanks again from RM 208
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.