Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • girldrgn8

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Sat June 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Rooms
      Cons: None that we found

       
      We stayed here June 7-11, 2014. Everything about our stay worked out perfectly. Our room was not a theme park view but we could see the pool if we looked down from our window. The room had 2 beds and a day bed which was great for us because our children (13 and 7) do not like sharing a bed. However if you have 2 larger children the daybed may not be very comfortable for them. Housekeeping was great at making sure our room was well stocked and clean. We didn't eat at our hotel so we can not comment on that. All the staff that we encountered throughout our stay was very helpful and friendly. We hope to make a trip back here again soon.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdetrick

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Mechanicsburg PA
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Wed December 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, whimsical room decor, some rooms have a fabulous view
      Cons: Not the usual Disney atmosphere, but they try

       
      I didn't expect much from Paradise Pier; however when bad weather made us stay in California longer and the Grand Californian couldn't give us a room for an extra night, we went across the street to Paradise Pier. The outside of the hotel is pretty standard as are most of the inside spaces, but that makes sense, since Disney didn't build the hotel. I think they did the best they could with what they had, and found the room d├ęcor to be charming. We had a 12th floor view of California Adventure, which was awesome! It was a very pleasant, if short, stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      crazered

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Independence, MO
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun November 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice location-comfortable
      Cons: food not good

       
      The pictures of the rooms shown on this site are NOT up to date.Room decor is much nicer. Beds were very comfortable.Hotel is a nice walking distance from the park and Downtown Disney. Elevators are very slow and the food at the hotel is just so so and overpriced.
      Staff was very nice.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cinderlisa

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri October 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean, extra magic hours benefit, Surf's Up breakfast, roomy
      Cons: Check in issues, slow elevators

       
      We were very excited for our family's first DLR onsite stay. I was so happy that the room was clean and perfectly maintained upon check in. We loved the Disney touches and beach ball pillows.


      There was a snafu at check in where we were told our Fantasmic viewing tickets were included in the paperwork given to me-they weren't, and I spent about 2 hours tracking them down but City Hall at Disneyland was finally able to help me. They turned out to be at PPH front desk the whole time...extremely frustrating.


      Every afternoon there was a pool party and the staff was wonderful with our 3 year old son. He was too little to really do or understand most of the games but he was enthusiastic and the activity directors helped him feel included every time.


      The Surf's Up breakfast was the best character meal we've ever done, and we've done many.


      Loved being able to walk through the Grand Californian Hotel to save time, and so nice not to have to rely on shuttles to get to the parks. We are sold on onsite stays and will definitely be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      omalley1118

      Registered: May 2007
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Fri August 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, staff
      Cons: Small pool

       
      We just stayed here this week for 7 nights and loved it!!! This was our first stay at DLR with the kids. The room was light and airy with a cute beach theme. Loved the beach ball pillows and lamp!! It was great having the fridge, but we could have used a bigger bathroom. I am used to staying in the DVC rooms with extra room...


      The meals were good that we had there. We LOVED the Surfs Up character breakfast!!! The characters were great.


      The only thing I didn't care for was the pool, although the kids loved it!!! I thought it was very small with few tables around it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdnwebster

      Registered: November 2009
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Sat February 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean room, friendly staff, location to Downtown
      Cons: thin walls

       
      We stayed here for the Tinkerbell Half. Loved the convenience of staying right by the start and finish line. We didn't go to the parks since it was a short weekend for the race only. Just my husband and I were traveling and it was perfect for us. We were just a short walk to Downtown where we had a few meals. The decor was very cute with a beachy theme. The pool was nothing spectacular but water was nice and area was clean. Our only complaint was that the walls seemed thin. We heard neighbors and people in the hallway during the day. The night was quiet though. I would stay here again. I must mention that we did rent a car and expected to pay the daily self-park fee. At check-in, the cast member was kind enough to inform us that the fee was waived for DVC members and reminded us to ask about DVC discounts as more places were offering them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      arielwatcher

      Registered: April 2007
      Posts: 94
      Review Date: Tue November 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): got the great view we asked for!
      Cons: housekeeping

       
      Would be a 10 if they sold different beer or alcohol in the guest shop and the guest shop had broader hours.


      Concierge had menus for a Chinese Restaurant that delivered and we had food for 2 days!


      I am a DVC member who spent extra points for a prefered view. Had great seats for the World of Color at California Adventure. We've seen it from the front before so missing some of the images by seeing from the back was OK - I was in my jammies!


      When we checked in Sunday night there was a dinner plate on the floor between our front door and the next room. We left early Monday morning and returned at lunch for a nap. PLATE was still there. We went back to the parks and at 10 the plate was still there....


      10:15pm I went to get ice and a man in a Disney suit coat asked me where I was going/where I came from etc. (I was barefoot in pajamas) but the plate was still there....


      Room was perfect as I expected it to be.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lfigment99

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun April 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Distance from hotel to parks
      Cons: Hotel lobby doesn't have much to offer. Not much in the way of eating establishments or entertainment.; however, Downtown Disney is a short walk away and they have some really good restaurants.

       
      Had a wonderful stay in the hotel from April 10 to April 14. Stayed in room 828 and enjoyed a beautiful view overlooking California Adventure. To get into California Adventure was a quick walk across the street, into and through Grand Californian, taking only 7 or 8 minutes. To get to Downtown Disney or Disneyland only took a few minutes more by traversing through the same hotel. The monorail to Tomorrowland is only about three blocks from the hotel which is another option. I would certainly recommend this very clean hotel. Rooms were plenty large and were spotless. I would definitely stay here again. Front Desk staff was very friendly and gave us some great tips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      minniemom

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri January 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Monorail use, large room
      Cons:

       
      I was a little apprehensive to book this hotel after reading the reviews, but to my delight, this hotel is great! We stayed Jan. 12 through 16. Checking in was a breeze with a happy cast member from England who was so enthusiastic about our vacation and she provided a lot of great tips.
      Our room was larger than most traditional rooms with two queen - not full- sized beds and a daybed that was very comfortable. Outside the bathroom is a coffee pot shelf area with a mirror that we used as a second vanity. There is a mini fridge - very mini, not much fit in there, but nice to have anyway. We have 5 of us in our family - parents, kids ages 13, 12, and 8 and we were not bumping into each other at all. The room and the bedding were very clean including the bathroom. No complaints at all, not even with the elevators.
      Our room overlooked the pool which was being renovated. We were invited to use the Grand California pool or the Disneyland Hotel pool, but it was too cold to swim.
      I would definitely stay here again!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      arielwatcher

      Registered: April 2007
      Posts: 94
      Review Date: Tue June 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Close and I used DVC points
      Cons: No turndown, no towel animals, NADDA

       
      June 9-11
      My husband and my writing partner went to LA and Disneyland. We had adjoining rooms 841/839


      It has taken me almost 2 years to get reservations in Disneyland. Every time I call for reservations there are NO DVC rooms available. With this trip I needed to conserve cash so I just booked with DVC points in the regular rooms.


      Check in was easy, they pushed hard to have us view the Hawaiian property model. No room available, but gave our cell for a text. We went on with our business in LA and came back to the hotel very late. Around 10:30 we went to the desk for our room #, as it hadn't been texted to us and the automated phone number did not reveal the #. Things were going south fast.


      The parks had just closed and there were about 40-50 people trying to use the small elevators. With the huge strollers people use it was slow going.


      We were given our room numbers and taken to the service elevator, but not escorted up to make sure we found our way out of the "CAST MEMBER ONLY" area.


      The rooms were dark, the new energy saving bulbs take a long time to brighten up. The bathroom light was never bright enough to apply makeup. As I mentioned, no turndown either night.


      Breakfast was either an expensive buffet or what seemed like take out. The staff was nice but the food wasn't a full conventional breakfast served. More in the food section about that.


      We were there for such a short time we did not use the pool, but there was scant furniture to sit or lounge on.


      The furniture was cute and the desk area OK for us to do a little business on my laptop.


      It seemed cramped in the common areas and you could tell it was an old building. The Bathroom was on the second floor of the lobby - a long walk for anyone.


      I would prefer to use the other hotel I don't think I'd go back to PP.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.