Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • feenie20

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: New Hampshire
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Wed April 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenient
      Cons:

       
      When our trip plans do not allow for a lot of table service meals, I tend to get the quick service dining plan. However in March we wanted to take things a little slower and do some sit down meals.
      I don't do the dining plan to save money. I use it because I hate paying out of pocket at the point of service for food on vacation. I want to relax and enjoy rather than talk myself out of something that I might enjoy.
      My husband and I often share meals, so we are usually able to try more places and enjoy different foods.
      I really liked that we had 2 snacks per person and no desert with the quick service meal. We used snack credits to try some treats at the flower and garden festival kiosks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommom

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Sun March 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): amount of food
      Cons: tip not included

       
      got the food plan because I didn't feel the price for a child's meal was worth the price. this way with the dining plan the children get 2 snacks, a refillable mug, a quick service meal and a sit down character meal. otherwise I would have paid $24.00 just for 1 meal. oh yeah I thought I got my money's worth just with the children meal alone.


      a 3 year old doesn't eat as much as a 9 year old. I feel they price should be change to reflect the eating habits of a 3 year old.
      even a 11 yr old doesn't eat as much as a adult and to charge them an adult price isn't fair.


      had a party of 2 with us, that didn't have the dining plan. was 1 adult and 11 yr old. if they 11 yr old ate more than 4 things her mother was lucky. so her mother paid $47.00 for her dinners and she hardly ate anything. I guess she paid for the experiences of eating at Disney restaurants.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Injector

      Registered: February 2017
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri February 17, 2017 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convience
      Cons: Need to use table service

       
      I gave the plan a 5 because there were good things and there were bad things about the plan. The good thing was convience only activating the key pad and putting in your pass code. The bad thing was way to much food and the time to use the table service part of the plan. I don't care to spend this much on park tickets to sit at a table. There was 2 of us. We paid $800 for the plan for 6 days. We did eat more than we paid for the plan. I wrote on each receipt the cost of the meal. With the plan you are almost forced to eat to get what you paid for the plan. I would not recommend the plan. Our son, daughter in law and 3 kids took the plan. Between all of us there was a lot of food wasted. We ate many desserts that we would not normally order. Yes food is very expensive in WDW, but if I were not on the plan I think I would have only spent half as much.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 71
      Review Date: Sat October 1, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenience
      Cons: Doesn't include tips, alcohol

       
      We have been using dp since 2006. It has changed through the years and not all for the good. I do like the fact that meals are prepaid for but doesn't include tips so you still have to either carry $ with you or charge them. Also having an alcoholic drinks also isn't included so have to pay oop or charge. What I really don't like is when servers get confused when you order extra items not included and they bring out separate bills with tips on both. I just wish it was all inclusive. Or Ala Carte also make recommendations for F&W should have plan just for festival where you could be able to use those credits. We did use our snack credits which worked but wasn't enough
      Click here to see this users profile  
      abipes07

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri September 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ease of use, better planned budget
      Cons: none

       
      Disney Dining Plan Review – I was recently at Walt Disneyworld and utilized the 2016 Dining Plan. With this plan we had 1 quick service, 1 table service, and snack each day of our stay. I would recommend these plans for anyone who is planning on staying at a Disney Resort and planning on visiting the parks. During our stay we were able to utilize the table service meals to have meals with Disney character’s. This was the highlight of our trip and my children loved meeting all of the characters. In addition, having prepurchased our meals it allowed us to better control our budget and plan out how much money we needed to bring with for the trip. The only out of pocket meal planning we had to budget for was money for tips. When deciding if these plans are right for you consider the types of meals you plan on eating and where you would like to eat.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      michellemouse

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon January 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Super convienent.
      Cons: Gets more limited each time I visit.

       
      Love the dinning plan. That said I can remember when you received unlimited meals way back when on my first visit to Disney World. Like the Water Parks and more option loosing Disney Quest access the Dinning plan is also less than before. It is still a good value and plenty of food. Was Super Excited!!! to read that soft drinks and deserts included in your meal could be exchanged for snack credits BUT then I checked with Disney's chat service and was told this is NOT True! Please correct your information so you don't mislead people.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Koon

      Registered: December 2015
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu December 31, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient, character meals
      Cons: Rigid schedule

       
      We did the DDP for the first time recently, since we got it free. It was so nice to eat at many restaurants we wouldn't consider when paying out of pocket. But that aside, it's great that so many character meals are included as well as buffets, which is great for families with kids under three who eat at no cost. I would crunch the numbers, but if you're considering the QS plan and a couple of character meals out of pocket, this might work better. My only complaint was that we're so rigidly tied to the schedule since you San no longer witch reservations day-of. I would book at hotels for the most part next time, so there's more flexibility with which park you visit before and after.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Wed November 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Plenty of food
      Cons:

       
      The dining plan can be great and not great at the same time. It requires preplanning to ensure you get the most out of the table service credits and your money’s worth since the dining plan isn’t cheap. We also spent a great deal of time during our trip checking how many snack credits and quick service credits we had and if we would use them all by the end of the trip. Since we didn’t spend much time at our resort, we only used our refillable mugs a couple of times. It’s nice not having to worry about how much money you’re going to spend on a meal and we tried several places we wouldn’t normally try, which is a huge plus. There were a few times we ordered items not because we wanted to, but to make certain we used all our credits. We used most of our snack credits on items at the F&W which made it nice to try different offerings, but dessert with every meal can be a challenge, even when you’re on vacation. With a little planning, okay a lot of planning, you can make this work but you can also eat for less with a little planning. The dining plan isn’t for everyone, but as with the rest of your vacation a little planning can go a long way.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wanda

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon August 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Way to much food and wasteful
      Cons: Everything from what I saw and read

       
      Was at WDW last week. My husband prices out the cost of the dining plan and what we eat. It costs us about $600 less without it. However, we used to get it in the past. Way too much food. I was very observant of this plan. First, due to the 9 and under rule, the amount served to 10, 11, and up year olds is just wasteful. I must have watched a ton of food be thrown away last week. Also, Disney has the healthy kids meal on the menu so I guess if a child is over 9 yrs old Disney does not think they need to eat healthy. I watched a girl of about 11 at Prime Time eat one piece of her four pieced fried chicken meal, and two bites of her huge sundae. The rest went in the trash. Such a shame. I saw this happen many times. I think if the parents want to be in the plan, the kids should not be forced to be on it just because they are in the same room. Food is so expensive there, and also, the dining plan is so expensive that it goes to waste. Half the women waste half their food. We order what we want and usually not dessert or appetizer because the amount of food in an entree is usually more than enough, and I love to eat.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 188
      Review Date: Fri June 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Money Saver
      Cons: None

       
      My family of 4 enjoyed the dining plan for our 5 night stay at POFQ. We dined at BOG (lunch), Yak and Yeti, Chefs de France, The Plaza, Katsura Grill, Sassagoula Floatworks and Food Factory and Narcoossees. Out of pocket, we paid for a few appetizers, alcoholic beverages, and tips. We didn't have room to fit in 4 counter service meals, so we were able to trade them for 12 snack credits instead. This worked out wonderfully, because we wanted to bring a bit of Disney back home with us. So we were able to pick up gummy candies, rice krispy treats, cookies and pretzels.


      Narcoossees, although 2 credits per person was well worth it, because 2 of us had lobster.


      We either do the regular dining plan or the deluxe every trip. We saved our receipts, and found this was a definite money saver, as always.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 87
      Review Date: Tue March 31, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of food
      Cons: price

       
      First off let me say that this is the first time in all our years visiting WDW that we haven't purchased a dining plan of some sort. We did like the convenience of not having to worry about how much money we were spending as the plan is pre-paid. You get plenty of good food to eat, but many times we said to ourselves "We never eat this much food at home. We could probably split some of these meals and at times skip a meal altogether." There were 2 of us traveling this year. Well we decided to not purchase a dining plan for this visit and see how we made out. We saved every receipt and did the math. We did eat at several sit down restaurants and on those days we ate lightly for our other meals. We never felt hungry or like we had eaten too much either...just right. We purchased 2 refillable mugs for length of stay at our resort. That cost us $35.98. We will rethink that on our next trip. Those mugs were figured in on our tally with the food we purchased. We found that we SAVED $478.00 by buying our own food instead of purchasing the dining plan. We stayed at WDW for 10 nights. We would have had to pay $1212.80 to purchase the dining plan. (2 people) No brainer for us. Had the dining plan been free we would have considered it, but we were offered the choice of a free dining plan or a percentage off our resort stay so we chose the percentage off. Glad we did. That's the route we'll take again if possible. When we started buying the dining plan years ago it was like $32.00. The cost has gotten way out of control and not possible for families with children who are planning a longer stay. Do your math before you buy it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rak2418185

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun January 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING
      Cons: NOTHING

       
      This is a must have! If for anything ,the fact that I didnt have to worry about cash or credit cards for meals. We got anything we wanted. We've been SIX times with the plan and cant believe people go without. This year we are trying the deluxe. We like to go to character meals and to different restaurants so this enables us to do so. The free refill mug is great! There is no problem finding a place to eat,all you have to do is carry the map or brochure.You can now even use the DISNEY PARK AP to find places. Last year we have regular dining spent 300 "out of pocket" the plan covered another 950. We paid 750 for the plan- so worth it if you plan it out.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Conte

      Registered: December 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu December 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Huge Portions
      Cons: Limited menu

       
      I purchased the Disney Dining plan for our latest trip. Since we are a family of 5 I thought it would save us money. The problem is that when you have a sit down meal you are limited to what you can order. Usually it is a main entree which is normally fine but there were times we would have liked to get just a salad and soup or an appetizer for the meal. The food was good but I felt that the variety was limited it seemed like we had more to choose from last time we used the dining plan 5 years ago. Plus the dessert is a waste. Most of the time we barely ate it and yes we did bring some back to the room only to throw it out untouched. I feel instead of entree and desert they should give you the option of either an appetizer or dessert and entree. Since the tip is not included we spent around $35 in tips for every sit down meal. Next time we go I won't bother with the dining plan because our family would not spend $1500 for meals in 5 days. By not being on the dining plan we will have more menu options during a sit down meal. I have to say the snacks and counter service meals were fine.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney_Dreamz

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Wed November 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything...
      Cons: none

       
      Ever since we started going in 2005 we always went with the basic dining plan. We (my mom and I) love it. We get the basic which comes with 1 QS 1 SNACK and 1 TS per PERSON + The Refill Mug.


      We split the breakfast (usually the Bounty Platter w/ French Toast) and split lunch, that way we both have something. They give us a lot of food so splitting is not hard.


      The Table Services are AMAZING.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mochridh

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Tue November 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): You'll try more restos than usual
      Cons: Too much food, very little flexibility

       
      The first time we went to Disney World in 2008, the Dining Plan was different and we loved it.


      Back then, we had the choice between appetizer or dessert and as I am not a big dessert fan, the option was very appreciated. It also included a gratuity, but we always tipped more on top of it.


      We also noticed that the restos were waaay emptier than they now are.


      Since then, we've become incredibly disenchanted with the DDP and will give Tables in Wonderland a go in a few weeks (DVC members). Being that we would rather share an appetizer and I enjoy a glass of wine with my meal, our calculations (on a detailed spreadsheet based on our usual trends) show that we will not be spending more for TIW, may even save some $$, but will enjoy flexibility and not feel pressured into cramming in 48 snacks because we paid for them.


      If more people dumped DDP, they would likely revamp it to make it more attractive.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.