Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jenniemouse

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue January 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and characters
      Cons: none

       
      One of our favorites! Love the food choices. Mash potatoes were so good. Love everything. Missed a few characters when I was at buffet but CM made sure we saw everyone and got pictures. Fun place!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      goofy284

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): charactors
      Cons: limited buffet

       
      I thought I would try this restaurant after reading reviews on this site so I knew about the photo purchase and everything beforehand.


      When it was our turn to have our picture with Donald we told them we where not buying the photo and asked them to please just use our camera which they did happily with no problem so if you are watching your pennies just ask. We still got a great photo for free. Smile


      The staff here are great! we missed Goofy when we were at the buffet and they made sure he came around to us before we left.


      We really did not enjoy the food here that much, there is better food at other buffets. The buffet was small and the selections are not that varied. I actually left here hungry. Sad If I had paid for this I would not be happy but since we used the dining plan I just grabbed a snack and continued on our way.


      We have been to Disney many times so it is always nice to try something different and realize that they can not always be winners. What works for some does not work for others. Just because it did not work for us don't let that stop you for having fun trying it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pls

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 78
      Review Date: Wed January 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food and good selection
      Cons:

       
      My family group of 10 all completely enjoyed our buffet dinner. The selection was really good for all palates, and the food was delicious. The decor is pretty, and our waiter was also fun and interacted well with all of us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mirner77

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu January 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and characters
      Cons: None!

       
      We had a yummy lunch here on January 5th, 2014. We had purchased PhotoPass+, so we received the photo that we had taken with Safari Donald delivered to our table. Donald was very personable and we really enjoyed the picture! We really enjoyed all of the food here! The salads were delicious, the salmon was really good as was the roast beef. The bread pudding with vanilla sauce and the berry cobbler were outstanding! I think that the only thing that I didn't like on the buffet were the samosas and that wasn't because they weren't tasty, just not my personal taste. The selection was outstanding! Everyone ate plenty including my 15 year old and my 7 year old. Our waiter was extremely friendly as was the woman who seated us. The characters were amazing! At a table next to us, they had a crying baby and Mickey and Daisy Duck were so attentive to the baby trying to soothe the baby, it truly was touching to see! A real Disney experience! We really enjoyed Tusker House and would not hesitate in recommending this to anyone. It's a nice little break in the day to sit down inside the nice restaurant, fill your belly and relax. One of the better buffets we all had for sure! We were a party of 6 and not one person was disappointed.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MWS

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Cols, OH
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, food
      Cons:

       
      It’s always fun to attend character meals while at the parks. You can see multiple characters and not wait in line. There were plenty of different food choices and several kid friendly options. They were switching over from breakfast to lunch and there were still several breakfast items on the buffet – bagels, bacon, waffles and such. There seemed to be more healthy dining choices than at some of the other buffets around WDW, but a few had nuts or other allergens in the ingredients, so if you have food allergies, you might want to consult with someone before dining here. I didn’t like the cold green beans, but everything else was flavorful and tasty.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jme2

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat December 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, lots of time with characters
      Cons: check in process is time consuming

       
      We had a 1:50 reservation and we checked in at 145. We were then led to a courtyard where we had our picture taken with Donald. We then waited till 2:20 to be called to be seated. The tables were nicely spaced and our party of 8 including a stroller/wheelchair fit just fine. I loved the characters. They spent plenty of time with each table. Staff members checked to make sure we had seen all the characters and sent Goofy back since one of the kids missed him. The food was fantastic! They had kid fare and some run of the mill buffet food but then they had more exotic and yummy dishes. Loved the Marrakesh Couscous with Roasted Vegetables, Tamarind Seafood Stew and the coffee BBQ pork loin. Lots of fresh salads and fruits and yummy desserts. I did not feel rushed and the characters were amazing with our daughter who has special needs. I would recommend this place since it has something for the parents as well as the kids to enjoy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jringue

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed October 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Unique food, great character interaction
      Cons: none

       
      Attended lunch buffet with Disney Characters. Now consider it the #1 character lunch at WDW. The Crystal Palace has been bumped... Food was the most flavorful and unique of any buffet compared to Crystal Palace, Chef Mickey, 1900 Park Fare & Playhouse. Service was very good, characters we met were Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, and Donald.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Brandon

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu September 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Air Conditioning on a hot day
      Cons: Food Choices & Waiting area

       
      This was our 2nd character meal of our trip. It was extremely hot out that day and waiting out in the hot sun without shade didn't help. The food was subpar as were the choices. It wasn't horrible but I wouldn't schedule it again in the future. Maybe it was just a bad day for us, but I didn't feel that way about all the others either.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      igpg826

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu August 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food choices, service, characters
      Cons: Nothing negative at all!

       
      This was our first meal in Disney. Day 1, AK. We had the deluxe dining plan for our family of 4 and I booked one character meal every day of our week long stay. The food was good, lots of options. The kids loved what they ate too. The service was amazing. Characters come around in a very organized fashion to each table. Would definitely make reservations for this again in a future trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AddictedtoDisney

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Character Breakfast, friendly service, selection of food
      Cons: Waiting outside in the heat, long line to get to the food

       
      Great for kids due to it being a character breakfast, (Photos and autographs without the lines). Good selection of foods. Friendly service, very loud atmosphere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vickie1016

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Yonkers, New York
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Wed July 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, Donald & Daisy
      Cons: nothing

       
      After eating breakfast here twice before, this year we tried lunch and WAS NOT disappointed. The food was excellent.


      Upon checking in, we took our picture with Donald. The picture was brought to our table during lunch. Being we had Photopass + it was included. Friendly CM showed us the buffet area & explained all the different foods before showing us to our table. Our server greeted us & took our drink order. She also explained the rotation of tables the characters appear too. This was very helpful in order to get the camera, the autograph book opened, etc.


      Now lunch - the food was excellent. DH & I tried almost everything. From the cold salads to the carved meats, there was nothing we did not like. DD(7) ate from the adult buffet - roasted chicken, carved beef & pork, vegies & fresh fruit. I loved the different breads they offer. I also like that there is fresh fruit offered. Dessert was just as good - brownies, cookies, little cakes, yummy!!


      The character interaction is great here - each take their time to meet with you, sign autograph book & take many pictures. Because it was raining very heavy Donald came inside to take some pictures as well. Not sure if that always happens or if it was just because of the rain. (Never happened when we went to breakfast in 09, 10 or 12)


      Overall - we loved our meal, CM were super friendly & the character interaction is great. Can't wait to return!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allearsfan

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: So. Carolina
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue July 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): charming host, character interaction, FOOD!
      Cons: cost of photo

       
      I ate lunch at Tusker House last week. This meal was fantastic! I loved the fresh fruit, the vegetarian and African-inspired dishes, and the salmon. I was brave enough to try the seafood mix (I don't normally try anything with mussel shells in it) and it was fantastic! Both kinds of couscous dishes were great. Oh, and the samosas with the mango chutney! It could just be that we don't normally get to eat anything remotely exotic where I live, but I thought this was one of the best of our trip (tied with Garden Grill) for freshness, variety, and flavor. I didn't even try the carved meat because I was enjoying the variety of foods I can't get at restaurants back home. My daughter, unfortunately, would eat only the mini corn dogs, mac-n-cheese, desserts, and maybe one other thing, so she missed out!
      When we first arrived, we got our picture with Donald. I wasn't planning to purchase it (it is way too expensive at $35 or so dollars with no cheaper option), but it turned out great, so I bought it. Then a friendly cast member led us in and oriented us to the place on the way to our table. He was from Italy, so we joked around about how he got all the way to Africa (he pointed out it is just across the Sea from Italy, after all!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      buntingd

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: FL
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sun May 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): a great variety of great food
      Cons:

       
      We had lunch here on May 4th. Our granddaughter was all excited about seeing Donald and Daisy. We checked in and were handed a pager and sat for about 10 minutes. We were then called to go in. We got our group picture in front of the mask. We sat in a nice quiet alcove. I love the food at Boma and Sanna and was not disappointed here either. The beef was some of the best I have eaten anywhere. Even the picky little one found lots to eat She enjoyed her visits with the characters and we were abet to get lots of pictures. Our service was wonderful of course. We have never had bad service at any sit down Disney restaurant. We don't visit AK as much as Epcot or MK but Tusker House will be the go to place if I can't get a Boma reservation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      geneandcheryl

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed April 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): selection of food,waitress
      Cons: none

       
      First time trying lunch here. Even my picky 10 year old twins really enjoyed the selections and no one left hungry! Wonderful waitress who did not rush us.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ashjay921

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Canton, Ga
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Wed February 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food selection for everyone & Characters!!
      Cons: It's a buffet

       
      We come to Disney each year and this was our first time trying Tusker House. We tend to shy away from buffets, but the original appeal was the characters. We were delighted that they give you plenty of time with each character and they pose for pictures. On the other hand, we were surprised by how well we enjoyed the food! All vegetables and salads were very fresh, and many different flavors appealed to everyone in our group. Our personal favorites were the Curry Chicken, Mango Salsa, Apple/Blue Cheese Salad, Salmon, Seafood stew, and the bread pudding were all to die for. We will make this an annual stop from now on.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.