Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • senseicj

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: waltham, ma.
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed August 16, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The views and amenities are incredible
      Cons: too far from the rest of WDW

       
      This is an amazing hotel. The restaurants including the counter service are delicious and can accommodate any palate. The views of the animals are amazing and I love the story time around the fire pit. Last time we were there a cast member gave my son a shark tooth which he has since put on a necklace and will remember that forever.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allec999

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 49
      Review Date: Fri July 7, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed here for a couple nights in late June, in a studio with a Savannah view. At first, I was not at all pleased when I looked out the balcony to a view of another building maybe 100 feet away. Not exactly the view of animals I was hoping for. I was proven wrong the next morning, by a giraffe, a zebra, and a few other animals lounging around directly below our room. Great resort overall.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 122
      Review Date: Fri March 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room, more peaceful than some resorts
      Cons: Some of the Disney touches gone after refurbishment

       
      We stayed in a one bedroom villa the beginning of March. The room had a savanna view. The villas here are smaller than the one bedroom villas at Kidani Village, but the room was fine for just the two of us. The refurbishment here was not as modernized as in some other villas. Sheer curtains were plain and the animal motif was gone. Animal print carpet was replaced with plain carpet. But the lighter paint on the walls really brightened it up and the African decorations are still there. Bed was very comfortable. Love the duvet instead of a full spread. Cast members all friendly and helpful.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clayalex02

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Thu October 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful surroundings
      Cons: check in

       
      Our stay did not start out to well. We had a not so great cast member checking us in. We had two rooms that I had cross referenced requesting that they be adjacent or adjoining. I realize that the cast member was not in charge of the room blocks but the way she handled it was not in the typical Disney style. We eventually got two adjoining rooms at the very end of the hotel, an extremely long walk each day especially for our 75 yr old mother. While it was a savannah view it was not a great one. Animals were only there during the early morning hours and when they were taken to the barn. The rooms were lovely, smaller than the contemporary but fine for us. We did enjoy the pool and the food court. The buses were inconsistent one day running smoothly the next we waited and waited. Our mugs were stolen at the pool one day and the cast member in Mara replaced them with no issues. We did enjoy our stay but would not rate this as a must return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Angelakc6yit

      Registered: May 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri May 27, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Basically EVERYTHING
      Cons: None

       
      Trip timeframe (Mid May). 4 nites at Jambo , room on Kudu trail , floor 5 and boy was the view to die for. Had tons of giraffe, zebra, gazelle and others basically all times of the day . Odd # rooms seem to have a better view of savannah though no guarantee of course:


      Room: Very elegant , roomy, well taken care of . Had full kitchen (1 BR) but totally didn't need it .


      Restaurants: Boma , Boma, Boma. Did I say Boma? We did the breakfast and I don't care what you like or don't like, there is something for you to eat. Pastries and bread pudding are to die for and for like $20 or so, you can't beat it. A quick serve meal is $10 at Mara . While Mara is okay, found there could be a few more cooked options to choose from but the African stew again to DIE FOR! Flatbread not too shabby either.


      Walk to and from rooms is hit and miss. Sometimes it seems a bit far but oh so worth it.


      Busses: ONLY issue we had was to Hollywood Studios both times - not sure if that was a coincidence or not. But even so, no longer than like 15 minutes. All others were 2-10 minutes MAX


      Our home DVC resort and we keep saying we'll try somewhere else - never happens as there is just too much to love about this place
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      disneymom35

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 68
      Review Date: Tue November 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, great theming
      Cons: MK busses

       
      I love Jambo House. It isn't even my home resort, but as soon as I walk through the doors I feel like I'm at home. I've always had nothing but good interactions with all the staff there. The pool area could use a little improvement. It's just so small and loses sun so early. Bus service was great except when going to MK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinkmama60

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon October 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Resort
      Cons: Room smelled mildewy

       
      We always love staying at the AKL. Resort is beautiful, clean, and great cast members. The only negative was that the room had an odor of mildew that never really went away. We were only staying a few days, so we didn't complain. It would not keep us from staying there again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      purplestarlisa

      Registered: November 2009
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon December 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The entire resort is beautiful; quiet
      Cons: Long walk from lobby to room

       
      We stayed for 7 nights in a deluxe studio villa with a savannah view. The resort is themed beautifully. The lobby is breath taking. Our room was comfortable. The lighting in the resort is very dim so putting eye make up on was a challenge! I think the lighting added to the ambience of the resort, though.
      We have avoided staying here out of fear for how long it would take to get to the parks via the Disney bus system. We were very pleasantly surprised at how efficient the buses were. We never waited very long, and the furthest park was at most a 20 minute bus trip.
      The Mara (the quick service restaurant on site) was excellent, although a very long walk to our room if we wanted to bring food back.
      The staff were friendly.
      All in all, we had an excellent stay at AKL Jambo House!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Theme, Clean, Friendly Staff
      Cons: Lighting

       
      We stayed one night in a deluxe studio room in Jambo House on September 19, 2014. Our room had a great pool view. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was a little harder than my wife would have liked, but I thought it was fine. Our daughter stayed on the sofa bed which she said was OK for one night.


      The resort is themed with an incredible eye for detail. Every aspect of the resort reflects the “African” theme. The lobby is very inviting and quite large. We wished we’d had more time to explore the resort so we plan on returning for a longer stay in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peachmermaid

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu September 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): view, comfy furniture
      Cons: distance from mk, epcot

       
      Our first stay at jambo house & hopefully not our last! We stayed on the 5th floor, giving us a good view of some of the property. The lobby is gorgeous. The staff we came into contact with were very nice & worked hard to make our stay a good one. Our room was a nice size for just the 2 of us. The tub was a nice size but the bathroom was a bit tiny. I'd give up a few inches of counter space for a few more in the bathroom. I'd stay here again for sure, even if it's a bit longer to get to the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      acwade11

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon August 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): size, pool, atmosphere, restaurants, gift shop
      Cons: none

       
      This is our favorite resort. We love everything about it. It is further from the parks, but it's a nice secluded feeling resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      acwade11

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon August 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): animal views, pool, atmosphere
      Cons: size

       
      We love everything about Jambo house, except for the size. We really love the little sitting areas they have, the pool & the proximity to buses
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Nicklissa

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: North Carolina
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Fri December 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Savanna view; most cast members; on-site restaurants; theme/Disney magic
      Cons: aged accommodations; some cast members

       
      Our family of four (husband and my in-laws) stayed at Animal Kingdom Lodge Jambo House on DVC points in a 2-bedroom lock-off with a savannah view December 22-27, 2013. The lobby never fails to amaze us, as we have seen it on numerous visits to the on-site restaurants. Our home resort is AKL Kidani and this was our first time staying at Jambo House. The theming is magnificent, the savannah quite beautiful, and the feeling of the Disney magic is definitely there. Check in was easy and cast members were very nice.


      We stayed on the 5th floor (I believe all DVC units are on the 5th floor). We had a 2-bedroom lock off and both rooms had a musty/old smell. The larger 1-bedroom was hot all of the time - the a/c was not working well and the occupancy sensor was deformed, as if someone broke it. The fridge was also beat up - large, and I mean LARGE dents in the fridge were not exactly Disney-level. The small "island" in the kitchen had damaged legs, was uneven, and wobbled. The dining room table legs were also damaged and was wobbly. Some of the chairs were damaged and were also uneven.


      The worst part was the studio lock-off. My husband and I shared this space. The couch had a VERY LARGE and VERY WET stain on one cushion - we were afraid to use the couch at all and put the bedspread on it and avoided both the entire week.


      The 1-bedroom kitchen/dining/and living room were very small - VERY SMALL - especially compared to our stays at Beach Club, Wilderness Lodge Villas, Boardwalk, Kidani, Saratoga Springs, Hilton Head, etc. etc. We were always bumping into each other. The main bedroom was fine, the bathroom a good size. The studio lock-off adjoining the main 1-bedroom was also small. The bathroom was ridiculously small - barely enough room to turn around in to shut the door. We found it claustrophobic. TV's in both rooms were nice - a fair size and they pulled out from the hutch and were able to be turned. Ceiling fans appeared old, and were very, very noisy.


      We enjoyed the savannah view, which made up for a lot. However, with the very obvious dents/damage and size - and the large amount of points required for a Christmas Week stay (not to mention the price if one were to pay cash), it was disappointing. It needs updating, cleaning, and repairs.


      The Mara quick service restaurant was nice - my husband and I are vegetarians and we were able to find items to eat without asking for special accommodation - a huge plus.


      The resort itself, outside of the rooms, is beautiful and well maintained. Yes, we would go back - but only on points at the Kilimanjaro Club level. Otherwise, if staying in a regular 2-bedroom, we'll go to Kidani every time until updates are made.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Siage77

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu November 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All!
      Cons: None

       
      The most beautiful resort we have stayed in. Animals are literally right outside your window. They even give you an animal guidesheet to identify the animals you can see. Beautiful pool area and great restaurant!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NJDzneMom

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful Theming; Views of Savana Animals
      Cons: Small Rooms

       
      We stayed Nov 2nd - 8th in Jambo House on the 4th Floor. While rooms are very nicely decorated and well suited for the African safari theme, they are very small in comparison to non-Disney deluxe hotels. I wish Disney would rethink this. Housekeeping was good and we had a few towel animals during our stay (not daily). The staff in the Club Level and throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The pool was very nice - though a little cold for my liking this time of year. Transportation was good. The longest trip was to MK (about 25 minutes).
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.