Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • hilsommer

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: St. Louis, MO
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Sun April 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice bar area, good wine selection, good service
      Cons: not the best Italian menu

       
      If I were just reviewing going to the bar for a drink, I'd give this a 9. However, I also wanted a little something to eat and the menu just wasn't that great (at least in my opinion -- and I love Italian food). That said, I went with the meatball appetizer and it was good. Service at the bar was top notch so we'll certainly return.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      HannahLvsMinnie

      Registered: September 2007
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon October 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): none
      Cons: loud !!!!! mediocre food

       
      Due to a large conference this restaurant was over run with attendees and had a large cocktail party atmosphere. The restaurant was incredibly loud and it was impossible to carry on a conversation. In addition to the noise, the food was terrible. My husband had veal parmegian which was served with nothing - not pasta, not a vegatable - nothing! I had the spaghetti carbonara and it was SWIMMING in butter. The restaurant confirmed my reservation three weeks ago and had the opportunity to mention that a large conference would be taking over the restaurant. I supect the food is bad with or without a convention. The service was not good or bad - compared to everything else it was not noticable.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      VGonzalez

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Saint Petersburg, Florida
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Wed November 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice atmosphere
      Cons: Food quality is poor

       
      I wish I could give this place a good recommendation but I can't.


      This time we stayed at the Swan and decided to have a drink and pizza on the way to nightime fun at epcot, since pizza was the only thing we liked there last time.


      THis visit the place was dead with a really lovely piano guitar duo playing.


      Started with a really nice muddle tequila lemon drink. DOnt' remember the name of it but it was good.


      Had the carpaccio, hoping they really couldn't do anything bad to it. It wasn't good, I mean not terrible, but not good. Served over sauteed greens with no hint of olive oil or seasoning whatsoever. Terribly bland, terribly boring dish.


      So we moved on to sausage and mushroom pizza for dinner. It was delicious! Lots of thick sliced sausage and wonderfully different mushrooms. Ultra thin crust, done perfectly.


      THe pizza is the only redeeming food here. We saw several diners in the dining room area sending food back and dishes that went by looked like they had been sitting way too long.


      I would come back for pizza and a drink, but would never venture anything beyond that.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyfan50

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu November 17, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, food, service
      Cons:

       
      Husband, young son, and I had a wonderful experience at this restaurant on 11/13. Our food was fantastic. Live music, wonderful wine and service, and the Lemoncello after dinner drink made for a great evening. They also provided a lovely dessert with a candle for a birthday celebration. One of the best dinner experiences ever!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wendy Writes

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue September 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): AUTHENTIC ITALIAN FOOD
      Cons: SERVICE

       
      FOOD WAS DELICIOUS, AND PLENTY OF IT. THE FEELING OF THE RESTAURANT IS DEFINITELY NOT DISNEY AND THAT WAS OK. THE SERVICE WAS UNFORTUNATELY JUST OK, WE HAD TO LOOK FOR OUR WAITRESS A FEW TIMES. TOO BAD BECAUSE OTHERWISE IT IS A GOOD CHOICE.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      illini33

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed June 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): scampi alla francese!
      Cons: dirty dishes, expensive

       
      We ate at Il Mulino at the end of May '11. We normally wouldn't have chosen this restaurant, but had found a gift certificate to use here, so we decided to try it.


      The decor was nice, but I found the lighting a bit strange. The big light fixtures everywhere are painted orange inside, which to me gave the impression of sitting under giant heat lamps!


      When we arrived we were seated promptly and given bread, marinated eggplant, and a few slices of sausage to start. it looked great and I couldn't wait to dig in, but when I reached for my bread plate I found that it was covered with a slimy, oily residue that even left a huge ring of oil on the table. It took a few minutes to flag down a server to ask for a new plate, and then several minutes before he brought a new one. The starters were tasty and we enjoyed having them to munch on while we waited for our entrees.


      I ordered the "scampi alla francese" which was 4 gigantic delicious shrimp lightly battered and served with a lemon butter sauce and broccoli rabe. It was fantastic! The shrimp were cooked perfectly and the batter was very light and crispy. The sauce complimented them perfectly. My boyfriend ordered the "tortellini alla panna" which was meat tortellini with peas and a cream sauce. It was tasty but very rich. He didn't feel very well afterwards,probably just form eating too much too fast. So if you opt for one of the more decadent menu items, take it easy! Or even better, split a pasta dish between two people. One portion was plenty to share.


      At the end of the meal, we were each given a small glass of limoncello. While the liqueur is not my favorite, it was a nice touch to end the meal.


      Overall, we liked this restaurant, and because we had a coupon, it was worth the price. However, we definitely won't be back again unless we have a similar deal. Our 'splurge' meal of the vacation was at Citrico's, and that definitely blew Il Mulino out of the water.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      VGonzalez

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Saint Petersburg, Florida
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Mon March 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice atmosphere, great drinks at the bar
      Cons: Pasta dishes are horrible!!

       
      We stayed at the Dolphin for a very special occasion and had reservations at the Blue Zoo but changed them at the last minute to come here.


      Checked in and was told there was a 50 min wait so we sat in the lounge area,had a drink and listened to the singer (and backup bongo player??) who was ok, but overly friendly.


      After 40 minutes, two stools opened at the bar so we sat there had a drink and decided to order to bring back to our suite, since it had all items needed to dine in room sufficiently.


      The bartenders here are super busy, super fast and uber efficient at making a plethora of drinks!We ordered the beef carpaccio ($14) , the caprese salad ($13), a margherita pizza ($16) , pappardelle ($21) and the spaghetti carbonara ($21).


      The carpaccio was very thinly sliced and served over a bed of broccoli rabe with baby pickles . Unfortunately the pickle juice absorbed into the beef and overwhelmed everything! There were a couple pieces rescued and they were ok, but way to thinly sliced, less than paper thing and practicaly tasteless. The caprese salad was nicely done with sundried tomato, roasted red pepper, capers and large pieces of buffalo mozzarella. The pizza was delicious with a nicely fired crust and a delicate sauce. Pappardelle was disappointing . The pasta here is obviously cooked ahead of time then sauced and plated when ordered so all the pasta was stuck together and gluey. The sauce was such a basic tasteless tomato sauce it was as bland as could be. The spaghetti carbonara was inedible!


      The pancetta was raw, I don't mean under cooked, I mean RAW! The egg sauce was disgusting and it had an offensive taste to the whole dish. If we had dined in, we would have sent this plate back as soon as it hit the table.


      We saw others plates come out the same, dried looking pasta on each dish.


      So yes, it's very pretty here, quite lively, busy and some food is ok.


      However, the pasta dishes seriously lack any care in the making of them and the sauces were awful! If you go I would recommend sticking to appetizers or the pizza and avoid the pasta dishes all together!


      Wines were no less than $12 a glass, beers (even American) were $6.50 a bottle.


      Maybe a place to try once, but we'd never return for anything besides the caprese and the pizza, everything else was less than subpar!!
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.